Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Kitchenaid Grain Mill not good for flour
 from Huntsville, AL,  Feb 17, 2011

I have been using this mill for about 2 months now. The mill is heavy-duty and seems to be made to last. However, it does not produce a fine enough grind to make flour, no matter how many times you put it through the mill. Also, it siezed up and stopped working after the fifth series of grinding. The flours apparently heated and melted/adhered to the gears. It took several hours of scraping after taking it apart to get it working again. I love my Kitchenaid mixer, but would definitely not recommend the mill attachment if your goal is to make flour for baking.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product
 Feb 9, 2011

This is a great product. The other reviews were correct in the sense that it does not grind very finely, even on the finest setting, which is bad for making breads. The coarseness of the flour makes for crumbly bread.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great mill
 May 22, 2015

I am using the KGM for several months now. Great mill. I am using it mainly for making buckwheat flour to add to my breads. This mill makes things very easy. Baked buckwheat is very hard, so I use my mixer on a lower speed. Milling it with a manual mill was quite a chore.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I purchased it while it was on sale for $**. How can I complain about that?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bjw1002002
 May 1, 2015

it's a good mill but it heats up the machine very fast so you can only do so much so many times

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pdb
 May 1, 2015

Great product and addition to my Kitchen aid stand mixer!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I use this at least once a week to make bread, pancakes, waffles, etc. It is almost perfect for milling grain to make bread - doesn't mill grain quite fine enough for me, though. I mill the grain (I use spelt, hard and soft red wheat, and white wheat berries) into a sifter, then run what ever won't go through the sifter grate through the mill again - about 20% of what I put through the first time. I found that without doing this, the bread was coming out a little dense because there was too much bran not getting pulverized (the bran is very course and can interfere with gluten development - store bought flour has most or all of the bran removed). I only ever use the finest grind setting for making any kind of flour. The mill is o.k. for milling oats, but takes much longer than wheat berries and the unit starts to heat up. It works better if you use groats vice processed (flaked) oats. Overall, this attachment is super convenient and easy to use! I have limited counter space and not having to have a whole grain mill taking up space is ideal for me.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very well made.
 Feb 27, 2015

This attachment worked great. I'm very happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great attachment
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Sep 6, 2014

Great product! So glad we purchased it!!! Great for making flour & grinding up grains. Will use it often for our baby's cereal.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
KitchenAid KGM Grain Mill Attachment
 from Staplehurst, NE,  Jun 7, 2014

I am very happy with the use of the KitchenAid KGM Grain Mill Attachment. It is very easy to use!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
KitchenAid KGM Grain Mill Attachment
 from Boston, MA,  Feb 19, 2014

Even though I got this product two weeks ago and used it once so far, it looks sturdy to me and easy to use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bulldogorange
 from Artesia, NM,  Nov 16, 2013

I really like the way it makes the flour I can make just enough flour for my gluten free recipes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this!
 from Portland, OR,  Apr 18, 2011

Sure, it isn't FAST like a machine that is MADE to grind wheat, but it's a heck of a lot fast than using the manual wheat-grinding machine we have been using! We're very happy with this product and the shipping was very fast!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 from Pimpinio, Victoria, Australia,  Jan 27, 2011

Fantastic buy. This attachment is so much better and way way cheaper than the one available in Australia as its all metal (not plastic). It is exactly as described. It did take a little while to get to me, but there were quite a few public holidays in between. Extremely happy with my purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
grain mill
 from WI,  Jan 11, 2011

It does the job, but it is very slow! Wonder how long it will take before having to replace grinding plates?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought