Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Kirby G5 Vacuum
 from New York,  Aug 7, 2008

I have NEVER seen a more powerful AND easy to use vacuum as the Kirby G5 I have just received! If I had ALL the money I spent on every type of vacuum that didn't do what it promised to, I should have bought a Kirby years ago. This vacuum is and does everything it says it can and more....we have pets and I was forever chasing around the fur, stuff spitting out the back...with the Kirby...none of that...not a spec left behind. The suction is so strong on the Kirby, it actually lifted up my area rug and sucked out every single bit of dirt, sand and fur!!!!! AAAHH, clean at last! I can finally say my home is clean after I vacuum with the Kirby G5...I couldn't stand it before as I would vacuum and it wouldn't look like it....NOW, my carpets are down deep clean. As far as everyone thinking that these are hard to manuver.....absolutely NOT TRUE! This is effortless! A HUGE timesaver! I can't express my satisfaction any more...I am so pleased with this vacuum, on a scale of 1 to 100, I give this vacuum a 150! Definitely worth every dime and then some!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ferocious cleaner....
 from San Antonio, Texas,  Oct 10, 2013

I recently purchased this model. I was skeptical before the purchase, as I've never owned a Kirby and was a little nervous about buying "refurbished". Once it arrived, I immediately checked for any damage or missing parts. None whatsoever and everything was in order. NOW...on to the good stuff. I was blown away after using this Kirby for cleaning carpeted, hardwood and tile floors. This machine is a monster. It's easy to operate too. The ultimate floor test was when I used it to clean a carpeted floor underneath a bed that hadn't been cleaned in NINE years. This Kirby did an outstanding job of cleaning and making the carpet look brand new. My previous cheap vacuums were a joke when it came to this type of job. I love the fact that I can convert to canister type cleaning with the hose and attachments. This bad boy has got LOTS of power and makes each attachment do it's job in a very effective manner. I use attachments frequently for things like crevices and hard to get to areas like behind a refrigerator or in between appliances. Cleaning dust off of walls or baseboards is a breeze with this Kirby. If you have blinds, you know the frustration of trying to clean them with a vacuum. This Kirby makes small work of cleaning blinds and drapes. Lastly, I used it to clean my queen sized mattress. It did an excellent job of that. Since I had the mattress/box spring off the frame of the sleigh style bed, I also cleaned the bed frame. Not a problem at all, using the duster attachment. Now I know why these Kirby's are so expensive brand new. They're built like bulldozers and have a reputation of lasting for years. I was fortunate enough to get this Kirby at a great price as a refurbished model. I'm 64 with lots of "vacuum cleaner" experience in my life. Sure wish I had gotten one of these Kirby's years ago. Everything you've heard about Kirby quality and reliability is TRUE. It's not pretty, but it most definitely gets the job done. I highly recommend this Kirby to anyone on a budget who is looking for a great product at an excellent price. Buy it, you won't regret it!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Heavy Machine!!
 from Montgomery, Texas,  Jan 31, 2013

I received this vacuum damaged. One important plastic piece was cracked. Overstock customer service is EXCELLENT! When I called with my problem, it was handled very quickly and professionally. Now for the vacuum, I would not recommend this vacuum for the simple fact that it is VERY heavy. It does have a "self propelled drive train" on it, but it is still heavy. It has a high profile, as well, so it is really impossible to get under furniture. The machine itself seems a bit antiquated. I ordered it because it was a great price on a Kirby. I have always heard they are good vacuums, but way out of my price range for a vacuum. I also recently purchased a Shark Professional vacuum. It is hands down a much easier vacuum to operate. Much lighter and tons of suction power. It's a great alternative to this Kirby.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The actual machine itself seems to be of good quality. It is some sort of metal which is hard to find. Most vacuums today are made of plastic.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SOLID!
 from Tampa, FL,  Aug 4, 2008

WAIT! A guy reviewing a vacuum? YUP! Consider it a shiny metal gadget! I recently purchased this vacuum when i moved into my new house. I was sick of spending $200 every other year on some piece of plastic that I'd end up breaking. I remembered that I kept seeing these metal vacuums at hotels and some of the B&B's that I've visited, and if it worked for THEM, had to work for me. I ordered one and it arrived packed like nobody's business! There was a whole box JUST for the accessories (most of which I haven't attempted to use yet!) This thing is HEAVY, which scared me a little, but the motor drive is fantastic!! When they say you can push it with two fingers they're not kidding!!!! Since I'm in a new house, I have NEW carpets. Well, does anyone warn you that new carpets shed worse than older ones? NO! (Guess what? THEY DO!) Before I finished moving in I vacuumed every room with the Kirby once with the wheels higher, and once lower. WOW! What a difference! It's amazing, when I'm vacuuming near the tile, I can see little bits of dust being sucked towards the carpet from 4-5 inches away! I've be soo impressed with this vac, its amazing! I've had a Dyson, and 2-3 Windtunnels and bagged or bagless, so far this Kirby trumps them ALL! I can highly recommend this vacuum.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
to happy
 from Kansas City mo,  Aug 20, 2014

I am happy that I bought a vacuum for overstock.com.i had a issue and email elliot and he was great at helping me and did all he could do for me...thanks guys

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't Do It
 from UPstate New York,  Jan 18, 2013

I would return this vacuum if I could. It is a BEAST to use. Yes the suction is great and the long hose for attachments very convenient, but it is VERY heavy and cumbersome to use. It is a major chore to get the front of the vacuum on and off to use the attachments. The attachments are obviously cheap imitations and are no where near the quality of the main vacuum. Maybe if you have all wall to wall carpet on one floor this is worth it, otherwise KEEP LOOKING!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. mixed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? mixed
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected!
 from Dearborn, MI,  Dec 24, 2011

This is a quality vacuum. There is no wear/tear even thought its a refurbished model. Most of the attachments were still in the original wrapping. If your looking for a vacuum you wont be replacing in a few years - this is it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wish I would have bought years ago and saved myself from having to replace less expensive ones.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a very nice vacuum cleaner
 from Wheatland, Wy,  Sep 10, 2011

Nothing beats a kirby vacuum cleaner when it comes to getting things clean. They are not made out of plastic, I have had those kind of vacuums and the most good you can get out of them is 1yr. So I am pleased that your web site was able to offer these refurbished vacuums at a reasonable cost. The kirby cleans very well and is easy to move around, love the long hose that came with it and all the other attachments. I would recommend this vacuum to anyone. Its great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I believe Kirbys are great vacuums, at least they are not made out of plastic that does not hold up.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was explained very well
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One Heck of a Vacuum!!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 6, 2008

If you have a lot of house to vaccum (or even a little) this is the elite unit to own. I've had mine for over 5 years and have never had a problem. Picks up anything, even shampoos if you have the attachment. The auto drive comes in helpful as well. Some might think it as an industrial vacuum and in terms of longetivity and durability it sure can be called that. But it's also a heck of a nice unit around 2400 sq. ft home like mine. Worry free!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Durable vacuum!
 from Ohio, OSA,  Aug 1, 2008

We had a Dyson that wore out and was beat up in under 5 years and needed to replace it with something more durable that would still clean well. We had owned a Kirby many years ago but sold it so we knew these were good vacuums. Since the older kids in our house do most of the vacuuming we definitely needed something durable. After reading a detailed comparison of Dyson vs. Kirby we decided to purchase a refurbished Kirby and are very happy with it's performance. I have no worries about letting my children use it and it is cleaning up after our 2 cats, 1 dog and 7 children quite well!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great vacuum
 from Burley,id,  Aug 1, 2008

Had the vacuum for a while, it works great no problems. Kirby vacuums are the best very I have seen

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great investment
 from Strawberry, AZ,  Jul 25, 2008

Purchased mine in 1996. Still going strong. Have never had a problem with the vacuum. It has worked wonderfully with my full house. Have dogs and cats, always has performed beautifully. Easy to use and does a great deep cleaning

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WASTE! WASTE WASTE
 from California,  May 19, 2008

I'd only get any good use out of this thing if i could blow it up! Worse thing i've ever purchased blows stuff all over if i needed a leaf blower then it'd be great! i have 2 dogs and a cat and it doesn't pick up hardly anything tried t get it fixed and Kirby was no help! I have never disliked something so much. Don't waste the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Houston,TX,  May 19, 2008

I do love my Kirby. I have noticed that I am missing one of the attachments that should have come with it which I will have to go and buy. Other than that, I don't have any complaints.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kirby G5 Deep Cleaner Vacuum with tools (refurb)
 from Lowman, Idaho,  Sep 19, 2008

Item arrived in a timely manner. Manual was missing and when requested was sent. I would have liked the packing list to include the list of tools and attachments that came with the machine. Had a problem putting the machine together as the parts were just put in a box with no description of waht did what. I immediately broke the belt and as I live 90 miles from town....borrowed a belt (not Kirby) from a neighbor. Maybe on these refurbished machines you could include extra belts. The machine is beautiful and so far works great. Thank you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought