Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 78 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Died before two months old
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 14, 2010

Before you buy into these glowing reviews, read up to see who is posting months after the purchase to see if this thing is reliable. Why did I bother to give this brand another try? About 8 years ago, I purchased two different models of Honeywell HEPA filters from a store in town, and the motors on both started rattling like a dying helicopter within a month of purchase. Returned and bought a Holmes, and it worked 24/7 for over six years without incident until the exterior was just so funky, I tossed it and bought another, larger Holmes, which also worked 24/7 without incident (and which I still use in another room). For a larger area, I purchased this item thinking, hey, it has been years. Surely Honeywell has gotten their motors fixed by now. Nope. A month and a half after I started using this item, the motor startled me awake with its extremely loud death rattle. I shut it off, checked to see that everything was in place and that the filters were not choked with dust, and later turned it back on. It worked quietly for another week, then of course it waited until 4am to die again in rather loud fashion. Overstock.com has told me they do not take direct return of this item, so I have spent loooooooooong hold times on the phone with Kaz Honeywell just trying to raise a human. As this is a rather large item, you can imagine it's a pain in the butt to return. Thankfully Kaz is allowing a return, having asked me to cut the cord off and mail it in (strange, I know). We'll see how long it takes for the replacement filter to arrive, but I'm guessing weeks. Then we'll see how long that one takes to die. If that one dies, forget it, Kaz, I will only buy Holmes from now on.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
KAZ Honeywell Hepa tower
 from Boston suburb,  Dec 9, 2010

On low this hepa filter is quiet and non intrusive, on medium it is noisy and high it is extremely loud. The air it blows is COLD while filtering the air in the environment. The design is good, the tower works well. Overally, compared to the early Honeywell Hepa filters this is an improvement. But i am disappointed as I was early on in the first designs. The noise factor is great on any level but low. The COLD air is prominent that it blows back out in its cleansing the air . 3 stars

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fans gave out in less then 2 weeks
 from colorado,  Oct 4, 2010

The two fans started rattling after 2 weeks of night use only. Then on the lower speeds the fans would not run at the proper speed and still made strange noises. This maybe a good product when it works properly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ok
 from Indiana,  Sep 16, 2010

I spent days searching reviews to find just the right air purifier. So much so, that I was beginning to get more confused. I FINALLY decided on the honeywell HHT-081, in part because I was just too overwhelmed with the choices to look at anymore reviews. My expectations were a little high for this, I think. I have allergies and wake up every more stuffy and with a headache. Hoping beyond hope that this unit would alleviate some of that. Unfortunately it did not do that. Our bedroom does smell fresher which is why I gave it a 3*. The filter looks spotless so I am having my doubts it's actually filtering anything. I have been using it for about a month now. It's possible I just expect an air cleaner to do more than it is capable of......but I was hoping for a little more from this. The noise is not bad at all. Yes on high it is loud, but I only use that setting when I am not sleeping. The med. and low give just the right amount of "white noise" to help my 3rd shift hubby sleep during the day. For this reason, I guess it is worth the money. But if you are looking for something to alleviate those nasty morning allergies, I would look elsewhere.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Disappointed
 from Florida,  May 12, 2012

I do not like to write negative ratings. I prefer to go with 'if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all'. But - I am writing this in hopes of helping others not make the same mistake I did. My hubby is a smoker. I saw in past reviews that stated it helped with smoke. NO! It does not help with cigarette smoke. None , nil, nadda. I keep it on high (even though the TV must be turned up louder to hear it) right next to the smoker. Not across the room, middle of the room - right next to him. It makes no difference what-so-ever in the smoke smell. None! Cannot even tell an Air Purifier exists. It's away from the wall as stated in instructions, etc., all instructions/directions followed to a tee. Yes - it is very loud. Live in an apartment and have to keep the TV turned up loud, which bothers the neighbors. Save yourself some $$ and buy a higher quality purifier - one specifically for smoke. This does not do the job at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same Color
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Have had this product for a little while. So far it is doing it's job. Two negative things: I bought this purifier because it states that it has a permanent filter, it does NOT! It clearly says on both the filters to replace every 6 months. Also the description on O.co for how effective this product is states 99%, but in fact the box states 95%. Just be aware of this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Removed odor but not dust
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? NOT ACCURATE! ONLY 95% EFFECTIVE & NO PERMANENT FILTER.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great air cleaner
 from Rhinelander, WI.,  Aug 26, 2010

The very first night using this air purifier I slept better. It is almost silent on low, I use on medium when I sleep and it is still quiet (but I like white noise when I sleep). On high it is louder, but I bet all machines are. Air is fresher, less dust in the room. Highly recommend this unit.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 Aug 10, 2010

Product works well, I noticed a difference after a few hours. After a few weeks, it has continued to make a difference in terms of the amount of dust around, and I breathe better. It is very loud on the highest setting, but the lowest and middle settings are no worse than a regular fan. Note that it includes a "HEPA-Type" filter, not a true HEPA filter.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 Jul 30, 2010

This purifier is the perfect size for my bedroom. It has made the air smell so fresh, unlike the musty smell I am used to. I am waking up with a less stuffy nose now.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
If you have a litter box no one will know it
 from Monterey CA,  Sep 28, 2012

I have 4 cats and we use very high quality litter and 2x daily scooping but I do not want any odor...this does the trick beautifully and quietly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy in VA
 from Suffolk, VA,  May 14, 2010

I got this within 24 hours of ordering, which surprised me. I leave it on the low setting (which is very quiet) all the time in our main living room. I am very happy with my purchase and it has greatly reduced the amount of dust on our entertainment center and Plasma TV (both are black, so dust shows instantly)! Am considering getting one for our upstairs bedroom.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Clean & Quite
 from Shoreline, Washington,  Oct 28, 2009

I am very pleased with my Kaz Honeywell HEPAClean HHT-081 Tower Air Purifier. It is nice and quite and does an excellent job of cleaning the air for me. I have dealt with allergies for a number of years and have a problem with dust mites etc. I have the filter in my bedroom but keep the door open and as I have a fairly small apartment it seems to be doing an excellent job of taking care of allergens.I do plan to get another one just like it to put out in the kitchen area just to make sure I am well covered. If I turn up my purifier full tilt there is more sound; it is gentle much like

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
no more ach-ooooooooooooo
 from rhode island,  Jan 28, 2014

since my daughter came home from college (with her cat that I'm seriously allergic to) I started some meds, but the cat has taken to a blanket on my bed to perch through out the day. So that still left me coughing. Got the purifier, and the coughing seized dramatically. I run it at night when the cat is snoozing with my daughter and it has made such a difference. Looks good and fits unobtrusivley in the room. and the gentle sound masks outside noise. Good value.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The air purifier is doing it's job. I can feel the air is fresher and crisper. I notice that there is far less dusting in my bedroom than I had before. Breathing is easier and my husband is not coughing like he used to.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product
 from Texas,  May 12, 2012

Purifier funcrions very well. Noise is only noticeable on high. Shipping was amazingly fast!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Mesa, AZ,  Feb 28, 2012

I am very pleased with this air purifier. It's been running non-stop since it arrived and we can definitely notice a difference in the air. It's nice and fairly slim so it fits into the room without being bulky or in the way.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I've had this plugged in and running since it arrived. Love it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good as a transplant
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Feb 23, 2012

When I looked at the prices that various friends have paid for their air purifiers, I was worried that this one would be inadequate. I am happy to report that instead of needing more ibuprofen every five seconds, I have only been taking it once or twice a day. Not only that, I have cut the amount of antihistamines I need by 2/3. This air purifier is very good! The room where I'm using it has wall-to-wall that isn't new, so the filters really are all they're cracked up to be.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Easily unpacked. Easy to start using, insructions were clear. My sinuses are improving daily.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Life Saver!
 from Orange, CA,  Feb 21, 2012

I waited 7 months to write this review, to make sure the product lasts and does what it's intended to do. I would totally recommend this air purifier! I have asthma and I have cats, bad combination I know... I was in desparate need of an air purifier to be able to sleep at night and have to use my inhaler every 6 hours. My air purifier is a literally life saver! The lowest setting has a slight hum, but quiet enough to leave on throughout the night.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HHT-081 HEPA
 from Las Vegas,  Jan 3, 2012

Was a little concerned about fan noise at first, but now we don't even notice it as we have had it running 24/7. I believe an add-on to the item might be additional HEPA filters available for purpose. It is an excellent filter, so and we are pleased with it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched the ad
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far, it appears to be working as advertised.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate, but should mention that HEPA filters are not cleanable and will need to be replaced after time.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just a glorified fan
 from Ct,  Jan 3, 2012

It is ok. I ordered it as a gift, and the condition of the box left a lot to be desired, but product was not damaged.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is working fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 78 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Tower HEPA Air Cleaner with Ionizer
Today $99.65
Compare $168.34
Save 41%
(1)
Honeywell Quietcare HEPA Air Purifier
Today $139.99
Compare $182.25
Save 23%
(20)
Bionaire BAP825WO-U Air Purifier
Today $79.62
Compare $156.83
Save 49%
(2)
Honeywell Enviracaire Air Purifier
Today $145.99
Compare $225.93
Save 35%
(11)
Back to top