Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 121 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great system - see below for comparison to Deluxe
 from Asheville, NC,  Jun 23, 2011

I have now installed both the Standard and Deluxe versions of this closet system in my house. The Standard one is 12" deep, and the Deluxe one is 16" deep. The Standard one is also half the cost of the Deluxe one. For pure bang for the buck, the Standard system wins. From a fit and finish standpoint, the Deluxe system wins (but you're going to pay extra for it!) What I will tell you is that the Standard one is definitely worth the money, but is really more suited to a non walk-in closet or a coat closet due to the depth of the system. The shelf unit is not adjustable like the Deluxe one is and is a little trickier to install, but once it is in it really stays put. The hanger rod is slightly different between the two systems as well - the Standard one is a wood bar that hangs down from the shelf above with periodic supports, while the Deluxe system uses a metal rod that is attached to brackets from below. I wouldn't say one is necessarily better than the other, but just different. The fact that this system is meant for a 10' closet means that for most people, you'll be able to use the one system to outfit at least two or three closets. I used the shelf system and a short section of coat rod for my mudroom and still had enough left over to outfit two other small closets with shelf and coat rod. As for the fasteners and hardware included with the set, what I have run into on both the Standard and Deluxe systems is that they give you plenty of drywall anchors, J-brackets, and screws but just enough or not quite enough u-brackets (to support the shelf ends). This is easily rectified by buying L-brackets at the local hardware store as a substitute. Finish of the system is very nice, easy to cut, and fairly forgivable if you are off by a fraction of an inch here or there. In comparison to all other systems on the market, the John Louis systems are easily the best bang for the buck - both Standard and Deluxe. If you have the extra money and want to outfit a walk-in closet, go with the Deluxe. If you are tight on money or if it is not a walk-in closet, go with the Standard system. They both take time to put in, but well worth it in the end!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Very good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best
 from Washington DC,  May 14, 2008

It's imposible to beat this deal. In addition of being durable, affordable, easy to assemble and stylish, it is completely made out of wood, which allows it to be perfectly altered to ones needs. I had three smaller closets and was able to outfit them all with only two kits. There are four proposed configurations in the booklet, but in reality you have a lot more options if you use a little bit of imagination and planning. Excellent product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
closet
 from west virginia,  Dec 16, 2007

This is a very good product in comparison to most other types of closet organizers that I have seen. It is helpful to have an extra hand to level the shelves. Not too hard to put together. Took me about 3 hours total. Instructions have several different layouts already designed for 8 and 10 foot wall lengths. This is made of nearly clear of knots pine wood with a light maple tone finish. I would buy again for sure.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
luvit
 from wyoming,  Dec 17, 2009

Have bought 4 of these organizers and love the look and function they give to a closet. My husband installed them- the first one took longer but after the learning curve- it got easier. I would recommendto anyone. Shipping was fast, even to Wyoming and nothing was damaged.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice
 from Ca,  Nov 23, 2008

I'm no handy-man, but I'm patient and pretty good with instructions. The instructions are a little tough, as many have said, but good enough. I actually turned an entire 15' (or so) wall into a closet and put two of these together. Had to customize the plans since none are for that type of setup but it wasn't too difficult. They give a bunch of different plans and you can get the basic idea enough to make up your own. I did this by myself and it probably took me about 8 hours to do (taking my time to be careful as possible). I didn't actually have to do much cutting at all and just used a hand saw to do it, and then I just used a cordless screwdriver and that was about all I needed for tools. It's been up for about 4 months now and it looks very nice and still feels very sturdy, even though my wife has LOADED it up completely. It looks really good and she likes it a lot. Might buy another for my daughters closet (if they become available) and would definitely recommend to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome item
 from St Joseph, MI,  Apr 10, 2012

The product came undamaged and with all the necessary pieces needed to complete the closet system. You are supplied with a plastic template to use if you'd like to draw out your own design. Included are 4 designs each for a size closet that are very helpful. My husband installed both systems in our two bedrooms and they were pretty easy to do. We are very happy with them and they are such a bargain. If you shop at your local Menards, Lowes,or Home Depot for similar closet organizers there is no comparison in quality or price. Would highly recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product came undamaged and with all the necessary pieces needed to complete the closet system. You are supplied with a plastic template to use if you'd like to draw out your own design. Included are 4 designs each for a size closet that are very helpful. My husband put both systems in our two bedrooms and they were pretty easy to do. We are very happy with them and they are such a bargain and if you shop at your local Menards, Lowes,or Home Depot for ng sim
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Be warned!
 from NJ,  Sep 28, 2011

Its possible that this Closet System could be as it's described, assuming all the parts are in the box, and they all arrive in good condition. However, even in such an ideal situation, don't expect to install this system without some serious experience. The manual is pretty thick, but it's difficult to understand and the illustrations are awful. After several hours of frustration, I discarded the directions and did it on my own. Unless you have some experience with woodwork, metal, and a structural engineering background, be warned. Personally, I would not categorize this as the typical Homeowner DIY item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? OK, I guess.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Some parts were damaged.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Considerable poetic license in the description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My closet looks great!
 from Modesto,  Jun 23, 2008

We ordered two of these for our master closet. It took me at least 4 hours to finally come up with a design for the closet that would get the most space possible (the closet is oddly shaped and narrow) The actual building of the closet system took all day - even though my husband is extremely handy. The end result, however, is great. There is now a place for everything and I no longer dread going into my closet. Because we couldn't use any of the design suggestions that came with the system, we ended up having to get little brass end plates to keep hangers from slipping off the open sides in a few places - but that was neither expensive nor difficult. Bottom line: this is a great deal and has totally transformed our closet. we plan on buying more for the rest of the closets in the house.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great final product
 from Charleston, SC,  Mar 12, 2012

This is a monster of a project to put together. I have a fairly standard sized closet (not 10') so sizing it down to make it fit was a big task. I had to call in a handyman because there was absolutely no way I could cut everything down and get it installed with any confidence that it would actually withstand all my clothes once in use. For the price, I think it was worth it because even paying for the handyman, it still cost less than if I'd had a custom closet company come in. Basically, just be aware that this is not something that can just be put together in a few hours. Unless you're really handy, plan to pay for someone to help. The reviews I read prior to the purchase didn't indicate that it was much of a challenge, but my experience was that it is was definitely not a DIY project.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was just as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood itself is great quality, but the pieces included to put it together were not great, so had to use something sturdier
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The assembly was not nearly as simple as described, but once done, it's a quality product
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
classy closet
 from Portage Lakes Ohio,  Jan 6, 2012

remodeled our bathroom and closet. Provided tremendous storage and looks classy as heck. Will get this again for our next remodel in our new house.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellente
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful to be organized
 from St. Louis, Mo,  Aug 28, 2008

The Closet organizer is just what we were looking for. Its a wonderful way to up-date your home. If at all possble we will try to purchase another one.It was sent as promised, no damage and real wood. Have patience and make your own design! Just great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis Standard Solid Wood Closet System
 from Masachusetts,  Jul 10, 2012

this closet system was as advertised. It was easy to put together, good directions, and easy to adjust to fit our closet. We had parts left over to use in a smaller closet as well. I would recommend this closet system.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quaulity
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
godd looking closet
 from northern new jersey,  May 19, 2012

Love my new closet it did take my husband awhile to get it together shelves gave him most problems not an easy project but worth the time and effort instrution were very good sure gave you enought extra hardwear We installed it in a small bedroom we do not use anymore so it is like ihave a walk in closet

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellant quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Closet system
 from Philadelphia,  Apr 11, 2012

Took a chance after reading the reviews to buy 2 of these systems for a narrow walk-in. I've had to hire a carpenter to put them together, though. This is for an intermediate DIY'er at the least. Color and quality are fine, but it's costing us $1,000 to have them installed. It's still cheaper than having a closet system-store like California ***** or Closets ** ******. But a bummer that it's not an easier install.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Nice quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just right
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shelf Product
 from Dutchess County, NY,  Feb 22, 2012

As long as you can use a tape measure, know how to find studs, understand how to anchor if there isn't a stud, and can handle a power tool like a circular saw or screwdriver, this is a doable project! We bought two and made our own design for two walls that join rather than doing a straight 11' run on only 1 wall. The corner setup really makes it a showpiece and it's so nice to look at we have ditched the "install a curtain to hide it' plan we had originaly come up with. We made it so that on the inside of both walls the shelves join up on there are hanging areas on either side with more shelves. We didn't find the intersecting wall "L" layout in the instructions so just brainstormed and drew it out on paper first, then drew the line for the top shelf on the wall with pencil and a level and went from there. After we found the studs we marked them for each shelf and then screwed in the supports using a level to be sure they would be just right. Our floor is a full 1" off plumb where we did this install so we decided to make the shelves straight on the wall rather than following the grade of the floor. The way it came out you would NEVER know since the bottom shelf hides the floor anyway. And who would be laying on your floor measuring the distance anyway!? The only altering of the stock material in the box that we had to do was trim off about 1/4" on the very edge of the shelves where they adjoined in the center of the "L" layout with the circular saw. This is because we have an old house and the walls aren't square. We were able to complete the job with no real issues in about 6 hours. This was with an experienced person working the tape measure and the 2nd person to do the handing out of hardware and such. Excellent product and I would definitely recommend!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Constructed Wood Closet System
 from Seattle, WA,  Apr 15, 2014

For the price this system is a great buy. We had visited a number of different outlets and websites looking for an affordable and sturdy closet system and this product did not disappointment. The system is solid wood and looks great once installed. Be aware that you will have to cut the pieces to custom fit your closet. We had thought we could install the system in a couple of hours but it ended up taking us about 5 1/2 hours once we measured, cut and installed everything.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
john louis solid wood system
 from nj,  Apr 10, 2014

i liked everything about the system unfortunately there were parts missing from both boxes that i ordered, i felt like someone took parts from the box so i was disappointed in that, when the installer came to put it together i had to send him home because all the parts were not in there, and then i had to wait for the missing parts to come but overall the product if good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks more expensive than it is!
 from Delaware,  Mar 30, 2014

I love this closet system. This is my 2nd purchase of this system I was so happy with the 1st!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look but a little tricky
 from Connecticut,  Aug 10, 2008

I ordered two of the Standard sytems (in cherry) for my kids' rooms. I knew my husband and I had no shot assembling it so I hired a contractor/carpenter friend. The book came with some design ideas for different sized closets and I selected from those in order to make the process easier (and because they were functional layouts for me). My carpenter was convinced that the system could not fit an 8 foot closet based on the instructions. We ended up going to the John Louis web site where they had time lapse assembly videos (just video, no audio). After watching that, the carpenter figured out what to do and said the the written instructions were not too clear even for a professional. Power saws and very precise measuring are necessary and you must be very meticulous with your level tool. If you are not VERY handy, then hire someone to install these for you. With that said the end result is really nice!! I am thrilled with the look and the quality is excellent. There are several designs to choose from or you can get creative with your own ideas. If yoru closet is smaller then 10 feet, you will have some leftover shelving pieces that you can use for another project. The entire system came in one very long, rectangular box that will take two people to carry into the house (not too heavy, just a very long and awkward box). I definitely recommend this system.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Brought two of these for each end of our closet. The directions were a little rough to decipher. It took us about three hours for my husbands end of the closet to figure out and get it installed due to cutting around the posts and beams. It took only about 1.5 hours for the other one which went much more smoothly. Love, Love, Love this closet. It is installed at our camp and I brought some baskets for the other essentials you don't hang up to put on the shelves like socks, under garments etc. Actually, much more convenient than a dresser. They give you ample amount of screws etc. The solid maple workmanship was excellent and it looks absolutely beautiful in our post and beam camp. I would highly recommend this if you want a very substantial and quality product..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 121 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought