Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 112 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

I had a professional carpenter install this. I doubt I would have been able to do it myself. If you are handy with a drill, finding studs etc. I am sure you could do it. Looks great, very functional, and I personally like wood rather than most of these systems which are particle board.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product but difficult to put up
 from NC,  Mar 22, 2014

Directions are very hard to follow but once you get started it goes up fairly well.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
way to difficult to install!
 from California,  Mar 17, 2014

Looks like a good idea until you read the instructions. I read all the warning reviews about how hard this is to install and thought how bad could it really be? Its not worth the meltdown you'll have after you realize you bought some wood and a box of metal hardware to "build" yourself a closet. Its still sitting on the bottom of my closet in a pile and we built our own shelves and hanging rod with out getting divorced. Be warned.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

if you re looking for a cheap alternative to regular built in shelving from a closet organization co then this is for you. Its made of wood but overall not a very good organizational piece. The hanging bar is not round so its a bit difficult to hang clothes on and one of my shelves is sagging down because of hanging clothes even though there aren't too many things hanging from it. the shelves are narrow and slatted , so not appropriate for folded clothes. Not enough shelving and it took far too long to install. as directions and configurations were very confusing. the distance from the wall to the hanging bar is not enough for a shirt width, its too narrow like I mentioned before.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great unit for the Money
 from DC,  Jun 26, 2013

This product can be configured in so many ways. I bought several of the kits as well as a few of the extras It is well made and look great I used some of the long shelves in my office hung on the wall as book shelvels

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice fit
 from San Antonio,  Jun 21, 2013

I bought two of these wood closet systems in honey maple at different times. Recently I had some work done on my Master bath and a contractor installed both systems in my closets. He created a little different configuration than shown, but made it a perfect fit for my closets. In fact my contractor is now thinking of getting a closet system like that. I told him where mine came from.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? correct, very nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent, sturdy quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome solid wood product
 from Burlingame, CA,  May 3, 2013

I echo all the rave reviews for this product. We had outrageous quotes from a few closet companies who were selling laminate products, not solid wood. So far we have outfitted our two daughters' closets and they look and function great. The first installation does take longer than subsequent installations, as expected. It does help to know your way around a toolbox, but it's not essential. We have two more closets to outfit and I am thrilled so far.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate. The FAQs were also helpful when I was considering whether to purchase this product
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful condo closet update
 from Fort Walton Beach, Florida,  Apr 27, 2013

We are so pleased with the results of the closet organizer. We installed in our Florida condo and there were enough parts to install one long shelf for hanging clothes and three smaller shelves in the master closet, and enough of the long shelving to use as one long shelf in the guest bedroom closet to hang clothes on, and enough left over for our utility room closet to install over the washer and dryer. It looks stunning and professional. Very pleased with the overall results. We had a carpenter, who was putting in crown mold and custom cornice in our condo, install for us. It was no problem for him!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality. Looks custom and professional.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Looks just like the picture.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Closet Organizer
 from Middletown, NY,  Mar 23, 2013

We have purchased three of these closet organizers. They are well made and easy to put together. It looks like it was done professionally and there is lots of space for storage that you do not get with a regular closet..

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Tennessee,  Mar 22, 2013

Love it!! I bought 2 of these and it took my husband 2 days to put them up and it was totally worth it. I'd buy more if I had room for them!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product
 from Abbotsford, B.C. Canada,  Mar 1, 2013

This is the best buy on the whole website. I was looking around on line and in stores. When I saw this on overstock again I didn't believe the price. I ordered it it was beautiful and very simple to install. It's so beautiful and a great buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality for the prive
 from Charleston, SC,  Feb 6, 2013

This came with enough parts for me to do two closets. One walk-in and one smaller one. It has been installed almost a year now and shows very little if any wear.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Has held up well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Worcester, MA,  Dec 2, 2012

This is the second time I've order this closet system. I had a contractor to install it but he said it was very easy to install and did not take much time. Would recommend to friends and much better than the wood closet systems sold in some of the major stores like Home Depot / Lowes or those white wire units which is what I had before. Easy to clean and very sturdy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is the second time I've order this closet system.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate and plenty of closet varations to choose from
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great wood closet organizer
 from Boyton Beach, FL,  Nov 23, 2012

I got these the first time around for the master bedroom. I was so pleased with the quality and ease of installation that I got them for the other two bedrooms.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As expected - solid wood. Second time I've bought these
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product but....
 from edwardsville, il,  Oct 30, 2012

My closet looks great, product came in with all pieces and directions w/picture. But what really helped was going to John Louis website which has an instruction video. It helps to watch a couple of times before you install, will help with measure twice cut once philosophy. Having said that, I had to customize my closet for this product. my closet was 10ft. 24 deep and I need equal double hang for both sides which was not an option n diagrams. Made it work. My biggest problem, have older home with plaster walls, need to predrill every hole to install mollies, which ended up being about 100 holes. However even with that I would use again. they give you plenty of extra screws, mollies etc. However, I am sure it was not design for my situation. so in the end had to go buy a few more moilles. total project shelving $238 + 5.00 for extra mollies. still much better price than any closet store, And much better, than the white paper board stuff closet units at big box store. and sturdier. it took about two day for me to install unit., mainly because of all the predrilling, and patching of old holds where old unit was, then painting closet. but if you are at all handy and have a newer home with studs and dry wall will make installation much quicker. I took the time to count clothing to make sure everything could fit. great tip - used bags that u get sheets in to store shoes. if u r a size 7/8 u can get up to 3 pair shoes in a bag, more if flat sandals. they are clear and u can put on shelves below hanging clothes with out worrying about them getting dirty. so final words - wood soft, thus nicks a little to easy, pin they give to color nicks, dried out. did not mind because there where not to many. and after all it is a closet. Great product would highly recommend. go to website first, view add ons for inspiration.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a soft pine. So it does not feel per piece as solid as I had hoped
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? closely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Walk In Closet System
 from Florida Island,  Sep 22, 2012

5 days shipping time in one 7' box weighing 60 lbs, which I carried up to 2nd floor without difficulty. Items undamaged and wrapped well. Purchased on sale for around $$$ US. Solid wood structures with impressive quality. (As a teenager, I worked in NC furniture plants (now closed), and I am impressed by the quality of this system, which I didn't know was made in China until it arrived. Had I known, probably wouldn't have purchased BUT this is best Chinese quality I've seen; very comparable to US). All components including hardware heavy and well made and the latitude you have to make it fit your closet needs is amazing. My new walk-in is 84 x 62 x 28 (center door) and I was able to use shelving on 3 of 4 walls from this one system. 12" shelves enabled that, not 16". The system accommodates up to 10' walls, but plenty of diversity is available to design to fit your needs. After arrival, unpack and make a plan. Various plans are included in instructions, but don't be limited or intimidated; use your imagination and tape measure - and stud finder. Eventually, to cover 3 walls I made several shelf cuts; skill saw better than jig, as less likely to split edge. Pre-drill studs and find studs early. I used 4', 2' and 1' levels. DO NOT MIX SCREWS: KEEP IN THEIR SEPARATE BAGS, as some screws are intended only for certain hardware (size of screwhead matters). Read instructions and "dry fit" first - before making any cuts. This was a fun project on a rainy day. Did it alone in about 6 hours. Will probably order another 12" system from J.L. for my newly remodeled upscale pantry, which my old closet will become. Again, 16" shelves would have been too wide for my walk-in, as clothes take up room in center. Note: you will make some wall dings, so be prepared to touch-up with paint - unless your clothes cover the dings.....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect; Warm; Honey Maple mounted on Mint Green Walls matches Cypress molding
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent with outstanding engineering
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fast delivery!
 from Kansas City, MO,  Aug 30, 2012

Great product. Thinking about buying for additional bedroom closets. Shipping was fast!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was true to image on website.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. One of the wardrobe bars was warped but other than that, great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The unit arrived within 10 days packaged in a single tall box and unless you slide it on the floor, it is difficult to handle alone. The packaging was adequate and the individual pieces of the product are a nice blond maple color. I have combined a tall utility base cabinet and drawer base cabinets with two Standard units along with 2 wooden drapery rods (purchased elsewhere) that were of the same color to fill in the spaces of this large walk-in closet. I also added a beautiful ottoman to the room and it came out better than expected. The materials are solid wood of good quality and I suggest hiring a handyman to assemble it. It is leaps and bounds more attractive than the wire closet units.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is a light maple color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loves It!
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Feb 14, 2012

We had someone install this system for us. He is quite the handy-man and he said that it was somewhat difficult to put up, although we did span the pieces along two adjacent walls. The instruction manual was helpful and gave a lot of different examples; each example showed the pieces having been installed together on one wall. What we did was take one of the 3, 6' pieces and cut it down to fit on one wall at my eye level in between the corner and a window. Then our handy-man took the approximately 18" piece that was left-over from the initial 6' piece and installed that on the second wall, about 1' above the initially installed piece and about 1' out from the wall. This way I can stack my folded jeans and sweaters & hang my pants, shirts, skirts, shorter dresses, etc. along the first wall and then hang my longer items on that second tier right on the same corner. We then used the 3, 2' pieces along with another cut piece and created a column of 4, 2' shelves. 2, approximately 3' pieces (cut down from the other 2, 6' pieces) were then installed on the other side of the shelving, approximately 4' apart from both the floor and each other.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color matched very very well compared to the depiction online. It is beautiful wood.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The system is very well constructed and appears to be of high quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I was a little bit confused by what we were exactly getting into when my bf & I made this purchase; it was obvious upon receipt that this is a great product and just what we had been looking for.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Installation was a problem. Very difficult to install without the help of a handy man Shipment was an even bigger problem, most of the shelves were damaged. Overstock replaced quickly. Wood is really soft.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? WEll
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 112 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
John Louis Deluxe Closet System
Add to cart to see special price
(29)
John Louis Deluxe Red Mahogany Closet System
Add to cart to see special price
(49)
John Louis Deluxe Standalone Tower
Today $145.00
Compare $179.33
Save 19%
(31)
Back to top