Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 141-160 of 178 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 7 8 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Handsome
 from VA,  Apr 17, 2010

The finished product is very good looking - much better than those available at the Big Box stores. The instructions for installation were very clear and, if followed carefully, work nicely. Installation is a bit tedious and time consuming. Locating studs is imperative and a level is indispensable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The quality of the organizer is good; however, it does not hold/organize that much. If you look at the picture with this item, you will see there are only six dresses hanging in the closet ... where do you put the rest of the clothes if you are sharing a closet?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
TIME consuming
 Apr 5, 2010

This was much more difficult and time consuming to put together than you would of thought. We finally hired a handyman to put it in and it took him 8 hours. It is very nice, sturdy and looks good, but would of been much cheaper to buy one we could of done easily ourselves.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really Nice!!
 from Little Rock, AR,  Mar 23, 2010

We have just built a new home with mahogany floors. I wanted something that would compliment those floors -- this closet was the solution! It is elegant, and gets lots of compliments. My only complaint is that the rod is stained wood, and has already shown a propensity to scratch. It is something I should have expected, but it just hurt my heart the first time I placed a clothes hanger over the rod and noticed it mar. On the otherhand, once the clothes are in the closet, who will notice except me? We have installed closets in the past, so installation wasn't that hard at all. Yes, it helps to have a power saw to make clean cuts. Find the studs to secure the brackets to the wall and you don't have to worry about a closet falling.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product
 from wa,  Mar 19, 2010

These closet organizers fill a gap in the available products for closet organizing - between the white wire and pressed board laminates and the out-of-reach-too-expensive-for-most-people custom units. They look high-end, the wood quality is just adequate and the hardware is just adequate -- but all together the end result is very pleasing, looks great and feels sturdy. Installing them is a job for someone that knows their way around a few power tools and has a little experience in finish carpentry. One tip, whatever you do, find some studs to anchor to - the wallboard anchors don't work! Still in the end I am very pleased with the results. Good product if you can do the work.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy
 from PA,  Mar 16, 2010

This product looks professionally installed once completed. Just make sure you use a level!! It definitely increases the space of a small closet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sure thing
 from Florida,  Mar 10, 2010

This product is all that it claims to be. Solid wood great finish. As with all previous reviews easy to install the only thing that takes time is figuring out your configuration once that is done its just cut to length and install. Comes with everything needed including a pen to hide the nicks that you may create while cutting or installing. I plan to get one of these for every closet in my home. Searched for months and this is the best product and price anywhere.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great
 from VA,  Mar 4, 2010

Took a bit of time to install, however love the results. Seems solid, however finish is somewhat thin (easy to scratch). Luckily they send a stain pen to cover up marks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Second unit already purchased!
 from Baton Rouge, Louisiana,  Feb 24, 2010

We recently installed the John Louis Standard Red Mahogany Closet System in our home and I am pleased with the look and function of the unit. If you are a prospective buyer, here are the things that might be of interest to you as you consider making this purchase. First, if you want it to be structurally sound and look like it does in the picture, you will need some degree of proficiency in basic woodworking and design layout. The system comes with diagrams which lay out a 10 foot closet system, and you will need to modify both the diagram and components of the system to fit your closet (unless your closet is 10 feet wide, then you’re set). The system is made of pine (mahogany stain), so it is forgiving to work with, but the cuts need to be precise and square. Secondly, I have a slight concern over the way the clothes rods attach to the shelves. Don’t get me wrong, overall it is a solid unit. I would be apprehensive about allowing your kid to use it as a ladder, but it can easily support the usual stuff you put in a closet. But the rods are clearly the engineering weak point. The rods are connected to the bottom of the shelf with a wooden bracket. This bracket is secured using one screw in the shelf and one screw in the rod. It is a soft wood and not a very big screw. There are plenty of brackets and plenty of screws, so you could use more, but that means less space on the rod to hang clothes and it is not as aesthetically pleasing. Despite my apprehension, my wife hung her clothes in the unit and nothing has come crashing down, so maybe these guys know just what they are doing. But for my own piece of mind, when I do it again (yes, we just bought another one), I’m going to use wood glue at the connection points. In sum, if you have some minimal woodworking skill, or you can hire someone who does, you will enjoy the look and function of this closet system.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
tricky with plaster walls
 from New York, NY,  Feb 13, 2010

But I still give it five stars. I live in a prewar building with plaster walls/ceilings. It took a bit longer to install since the walls aren't even, the studs weren't always easy to find, and then drilling into the plaster etc... Plus I know nothing about carpentry. It also took awhile to figure out the instructions, but now I get it. Everyone is amazed at how good it looks, and assume that I had a professional come in and do it. But I've had it with overpriced NYC contractors so now I do everything myself.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Pennsylvania,  Feb 12, 2010

Having read the reviews...my husband and I were not sure we would be able to put this system in ourselves. While the directions leave something to be desired, it went up fairly easily. We are both very happy with the final product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!
 from Ohio,  Jan 8, 2010

I have to say it took awhile to purchase this since it is a gamble when buying on line. I am very happy with it because of the quality, color and workmanship. The builder wanted to charge far more for installing a closet not even close to this.We are buying another for the opposite side of the closet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love, Love, Love it
 from Central PA,  Dec 3, 2009

My husband and I purchased this for our new dressing room. We received it within 5 days and we were super excited to put it together. It did take my husband a little bit to decide on what configuration we wanted, but after we did it went pretty smoothly. He said the possibilites were endless as to how we could put it together. We are trying to decide whether to buy another system, or just accessory pieces. I am leaning towards another system because the accessories seem a bit pricey. I LOVE this new piece. My son came in and said wow mom it looks like a store in here. I can't say enough good things about this system!!! Will buy again for sure!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Run Forest Run
 from Atlanta, GA,  Nov 22, 2009

We purchased several items from this collection. First to put up was the John Louis Delux Red Mahogany Closet System. My husband found the directions to be somewhat user unfriendly, but was very pleased with the quality and materials. Final installed product was very nice, and we were excited about moving along with the other systems. We purchased the John Louis Standard Red Mahogany Closet System strictly for space considerations. The quality is night and day - I was sure we had been duped into buying some sort of knockoff, but the instruction booklet touts the name John Louis. The shelves were warped, the wood split once the screws were driven in. And the screws that don't split the wood are staring at everyone when they come face to face with the unit. First disasterous buy from Overstock! Waste of time, waste of money, waste of brand new walls in a brand new room.Hugely disappointed, disgusted, and may never be back.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice
 from palm harbor, fl,  Nov 19, 2009

Purchased this for a closet in a spare bedroom to store stuff and maximize the closet space. This product took my man an entire morning to install. More time was put in to measuring and designing the set up I wanted then actually hanging it up. It looks great, I am happy with the quality (real pine wood) and it seems sturdy. I like it so much I fully intend to purchase the 16inch one and some additional components for my master closet. I had shopped many home improvement stores and this closet system looks the best and was a better value compared to the pressed wood board ones we saw. Received undamaged and within 4 days of my order!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Closet Organizer
 from Oregon,  Oct 2, 2009

Bought this a couple of weeks ago...delivery took about a week. My husband installed it and was not too hard for him, but i could not have installed it myself. It's pretty good quality except for the little pieces of wood that go between the shelf and the rod that you hang the clothes on. They are flimsy and not very druable. Good thing they give you extra pieces because two of them broke just during the installation. The others have held up so far...but don't expect them to last too long. It looks great though!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
closet organizer
 from Portland, Oregon,  Sep 8, 2009

I bought 2 of these for my walk-in closet. It's a dream come true...an organized, beautiful closet. I had my contractor assemble it to my specifications. I've been showing off my closet to friends and they all love these units.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from C'Town GA,  Aug 21, 2009

Great Organizer! Love It!!! Looks incredible and very strong, so it will hold alot of weight. Might purchase more for my other closets.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Organization Heaven
 from Lake Placid, NY,  Aug 20, 2009

During a recent addition to our home I purchased 3 sets of these organizers. One for our 7 year old daughter and two for the master bedroom closet and they are wonderful. Our daughter keeps her closet organized and loves hanging up her clothes (that is worth the money right there) and now both my husband and I can see what we actually have for clothes - even things we forgot we had as we no longer struggle for space. I had the contractor put them in so I cannot comment on the ease of assemby myself but I know that the fellow got faster with each closet. The contractor thought they were "custom closets" and was quite surprised to know where I had purchased them. Everyone who has seen them can't believe the quality and different configurations that are available. A couple pieces did have nicks or a scratch but we just turned them to the back of the closet and you can't see them. I would highly recommend this product and I can see myself purchasing more for other areas in my home. Thank you Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking system
 from Washington, DC,  Aug 12, 2009

Great looking system. Good value. Fairly easy to install once you decide how you want it layed out. Recommend it to all.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 141-160 of 178 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 7 8 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought