Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 178 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Look lovely
 from Wisconsin,  Jun 2, 2008

This system is lovely installed. I put two systems on opposing walls of a very small bedroom of my old house (which doesn't have much for traditional closet space) and it looks like a high-end walk in closet room with the addition of an island in the middle (I used a low dresser with a marble top for the island.) Instructions are easy to follow, but it does take a while to get up, particularly if you're working alone, and you will need another person to manage a couple things easily. (But nothing that takes more than a minute or so.) The materials were sturdy, there was more than adequate hardware (extras of things), the stain was even and pretty. TIPS: I have plaster and lath walls, so I could not use the plastic anchors provided, but instead took the time to find studs, and install (my own) longer wood screws directly into the studs when possible. For areas that needed attachment that were not on a stud, I used molly bolts. In addition, since plaster walls are rarely completely flat, I used some composite shims between the J-brackets and the wall where needed. (Wood shims would work fine as well.) But make sure you're using long enough screws so you are sure you go far enough into the stud, since you have the thickness of the bracket, shim, plaster and lath to get thru before you even hit a stud. All in all not much was necessary for adjustment to make the system work well on plaster - I would think you'd have some real problems if you tried to use the plastic stuff in plaster though.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Organizer
 from Belmont, CA,  Dec 3, 2010

I actually modified this organizer to fit in a small walk in closet instead of the intended use of a straight long closet. I used an on-line design tool prior to ordering to ensure that I could make it work. The result was very nice and very functional. I recommend that you design this carefully before attempting assembly. With the help of a skilled son-in-law it took about 5hrs to complete the closet. The wood is soft and easy to mar so be really careful. A color stick is included so I think they are expecting this. Assembly was a little tricky because of the intended use but all the hardware supplied made it easier. Also take care when cutting the shelves. A little bit of pre-planning on the cuts will help so that you don't cut into a slat. There are only 2 con's to the product that I see. The screws supplied to attach the shelves were tiny and I really question their ability to hold any heavy objects. I bought a size larger. Be sure to pre-drill or you will split the wood. The second con is the rod. The attachment method looks good but takes up a lot of hanger space and requires a number of them when the rod is over 5'. I also lost 3" on each end of the rod due to mounting requirements. Be sure to use ample screws and anchors when mounting to wall. This makes up for the wood used to make the organizer. A hardwood version of this organizer would be a killer product at a slightly higher price point. I liked the results so much that I intend on buying 3 more organizers to redo our Master Walk In closet. I will do something different for the rod to increase strength to enable hanging all of the clothes.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Closet Organizer
 from California,  Oct 5, 2009

I'm not mechanically inclined. The instructions were easy to follow and the manufacturer provided plenty of hardware. All pieces were included, there was no damage. The completed product is beautiful.Two notes: 1. If your closet configuration is 8', you are going to have to make saw cuts to the shelves.2. A decent 12" - 18" level is mandatory. (I saved $75 at Overstock.com over the warehouseprice for the same product).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Pennsylvania,  Jun 27, 2009

Definitely worth the money. We ordered only one for our walk in closet and plan on ordering another one. Very easy to modify to the size of the closet. It looks very professional and it certainly gives the closet a whole new look to it. Plenty of space and makes everything a lot more organized.The directions were a little confusing at first but once you figured them out it was not too bad. We were able to put all together in about 6 hours. We split it into 2 nights and that worked out great. It was a very wise purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with it.
 from Buffalo, NY,  May 6, 2009

The system arrived in a matter of days, faster than expected. There were no scratches on the wood and all the hardware was included. I hired someone to put my system in because it was to be installed in a complex space with a sloping roof, a light fixture, etc. Also because I'm all thumbs. In any case, the system was very, very flexible and we were able to adapt it to the problems at hand. It looks great - all hardwood compared to the other wire systems that are on the market - and it meets all my needs. The price compared extremely fairly to the wire models in the market. I recommend it highly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Get it and get creative! I've seen this system before for prices up to $80 more by the time shipping was included. Or, with the cost of gas and the hassle of traveling to pick it up in person from a retail vendor and full retail, why bother? This was THE lowes price on the net, we even saved a little more with Club O membership and it was delivered in under a week. (!!!) We used it in a small walk in closet (just about 6'x6' and created our own design to accomodate just 2 studs/side and the limited space to walk in once the clothes were hung (keep in mind, the hangers are at the edge of the 12" shelf so you need to account for the extra inches 1/2 a hanger adds. This was especially key for us since two (of 3) large racks provided were going to be mostly used to as hanging space and hold a lot of weight. What we found was that to maximize the use of the cut off shelf space, we created an extra 12x24 shelf by cutting that amount off the extra long shelf and it gave us another standard shelf to add to the sweater cubby unit. There's plenty of hardware, but one needs to be careful about which screws to use. I'm delighted with the outcome and once my 'caveman' got into a routine and refined the design as we went along, it was a cynch. We'll be ordering more soon for the rest of the house. Oh, the best part - there are other (more expensive sites) which do let you order more shelves and hardware if you do need it. It's got a very clean boutique retail look to it. It's VERY sturdy if installed correctly and by adding an 2 extra wall brackets on each long shelf, I've been able to hang 80 career jackets and trousers which weigh a ton. It looks really great with two long shelves on the right and one long shelf & cubby unit on the left with extra space for other items. This should be helpful: Standard Closet System Package Contents: (3) 12" x 24" Shelf; (3) 12" x 72" Shelf; (5) Wardrobe Bar; (9) Bar Spacer; (4) 12" Curved Angle Bracket; All Hardware

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look for low price!
 from Addison, IL,  Jul 21, 2010

If your looking to not spend a lot and get great looks this is what you want. I just finished installing this unit into my closet and it looks great. It took me about 5 hours to put it up and I would say I have a fair knowledge of carpentry. When I first opened the box and took everything out it was very intimidating and the instructions were not very clear but once you take your time, measure your closet then again then again and read the instructions a few times and pick out your choice of configuration (there are about 4-10' and 4-8' configurations not just the picture you see on the website) I have just under a 8 foot reach in closet and I had to trim down some of the shelves to fit into my closet, which this was the most nerve-racking part chopping into the unit you just bought. But like I said measure and measure and measure once more to make sure its what is correct. The instructions really don't give you the clearest description of how much your cutting, you have to stare at your chosen configuration and figure out how much to trim off. Also my house wasn't very level so leveling the unit in my closet would have just made it look crooked, so I took things into my own hands and used the measurements from the floor and ceiling. It's definitely recommended that you drill your hangers into studs in your walls if you have them. Once you get going the instructions start to make a bit more sense. The unit looks fantastic in my closet my only complaint is that the wood is very soft and dents quite easily. It's nice that they supply a scratch pen with the unit. If your looking for something a bit more durable you might want to go with the deluxe model that had the steel rods, but if your going budget minded this is the unit you want, great looks, great price and for the most part if you take your time and think before you start screwing into your wall it is a pretty easy install. One other problem I had was some parts of the walls in my closet were not straight so I had to shim some of the shelf hangers with some washers, might not be a bad idea to have a few of those around when you install. Overall a great option for your closet!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
VERY soft wood
 from Iowa,  Mar 14, 2013

This is a very attractive shelving system. But the wood is VERY soft pine. which was dented, chipped and gouged before it even arrived at the job site. I hope I'm wrong, but I don't expect it to hold up well. It would be great for a quick remodel that you planned to sell. It looks wonderful. We were able to conceal much of the damage by putting the dents and dings to the back of the installation. (We do have to get 2 shelves replaced that were severely gouged.) However, if you plan on living with the system for a long time, keep looking. (My husband and I discussed replacing this system with a harder species of wood before we even got the installation finished.)I worry that pine closet rods will be damaged very quickly (but you can order metal rods direct from the manufacturer.) Maybe the system is manufactured with a harder species of wood, but it just isn't available on this site. We did 2 walk-in closets, each 8' X 4', with the same (mirror image) layout in each. We developed our own layout, which is an L-shaped layout along the long wall & across the back (4' ) section. Two 10' systems provided enough shelving and hardware for both closets. Most of the metal hardware was excellent; but the plastic pieces (to be used where there are no studs) were very flimsy. We ended up buying metal hardware to replace the plastic ones, which kept breaking. And the heads of a few of the screws sheared off as we were screwing them into place. (However, we used an electric screw driver rather than a manual one, as was shown on the instructions.) It took us about 20 hours to do both installations. The first installation took about 12 hours and the second about 8 hours. My husband is a construction engineer and we are experienced at DIY projects. The instructions are good; a video would probably be better. All in all, the John Louis system is very attractive, but I worry about the quality. I wish the system was made with harder wood, unfinished (so that it could be stained to match other woodwork), and with all metal closet rods and fittings. It would have been more expensive "up front", but would have been a higher quality, longer lasting system.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The "mahogany" product is actually soft pine, stained a very deep red color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The design is beautiful and I think that it will look good for a few weeks. The wood is a very soft pine that was dented, chipped and gouged before it ever arrived.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The site should tell customers the species of wood.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the extra time
 from MN,  Dec 16, 2011

Just as the previous writer said, if you have a bowed wall, it throws you off. It took me three days, but I took my time after being frustrated with the wall. Now that it is done, it looks great, well made, great instructions. I would do it again, NOW that I know what I am doing, I feel like an expert!

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This product comes with all necessary parts and very beautiful wood. I was looking at the wire closets before but for the price you gotta have wood. Especially as how you can change the layout for yourself and add accessories later. My only problem was that the installation will take you awhile and for the price of an installed closet you cant beat this IF you are willing to put in the sweat equity!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. really beautiful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
need a little know how
 from Nebraska,  Dec 6, 2011

this is a nicely made product, but some DIY know how is necessary to make installation something that won't drive you to drink!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice closet
 from Atlanta, GA,  May 12, 2010

The quality of the closet seems really good. My husband put together and it did not seem too complicated (but he is very handy) -- took him about 2 hours. We've not moved in to the house yet so I am not using the closet yet, but it seems like there will be plenty of space for my clothes. There are about 10 different configurations on how to build depending on your needs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis standard mahogany closet
 from South Carolina,  Sep 25, 2009

I purchased three of these closet organizer systems for our master bedroom walk-in closet. My husband and son customized them to our needs. They said the installation was more time consuming than they expected; but the end result was certainly worth it. The closet is fabulous! It is beautiful and so very organized and functional. This was a great value, and the closet looks like a much more expensive custom designed closet . I love it; and only wish I had done it earlier! I would certainly recommend this product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy
 from NJ,  Jul 24, 2009

This is the 2nd time buying this exact item. I love it. I have both times hired a handyman to assemble. Many configuration options to choose from.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding Value
 from Rye, Colorado,  Jun 15, 2009

Definately a good buy! The product is not difficult to assemble as long you use the grid and create your closet plan prior to assembling. There are plenty of options and the manufacturer sends an abundance of hardward to allow for any number of possible creations. You can let your imagination run and the finished product is expensive looking! The wood is good quality and a marker pencil for nicks and scratches is even provided. I bought 2 to fill a large walk in closet.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis Closet System
 from Indiana,  Feb 4, 2009

This came very fast and was in excellent condition. I put it together and it is very solid and I loved being able to design it for my own needs. I put in more shelves as I didn't need alot of hanging space. I would recommend this. It also looks fantastic!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from Lake Tahoe, NV,  Jan 28, 2009

Overall, we really think this is a good value, however there were many scratches and marks on all pieces. We tried to cover them w/ the corrective pen that is provided, but it did not go on very well. The instructions did not make the least bit of sense so we went our own way and figured it out quite easily. We ordered two units and were able to configure them to cover over 18 feet of wall space. I would buy them again and wish Overstock sold individual pieces. We need 4 more feet of shelving and do not want to buy a whole unit.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from KCMO,  Jan 5, 2009

I ordered two units to redo our closets. We were able to do three closets with two sets. It looks GREAT! Both my husband and I were so pleased with the look and function. We had a handy man install the organizers...which was also worth the money. If you are used to doing some minor building then it should be fairly easy. The instructions are not written very clearly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice closet Organizer
 from Arkansas,  Sep 23, 2008

Very happy with this product. Have only had it up a short time but it seems to be holding up very well. We needed a few more pieces and they were very easy to order online. Very reasonably priced and looks beautiful. We are planning on doing 2 other closets when we remodel.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE MY CLOSETS NOW
 from Florida,  Mar 25, 2014

EASY FOR MY CARPENTRY EXPERIENCED HUSBAND TO INSTALL-LITERALLY TOOK A WEEKEND. WE LOVED IT SO MUCH WE ORDERED A SECOND FOR MY SONS CLOSET

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 178 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
John Louis Deluxe Red Mahogany Closet System
Add to cart to see special price
(46)
John Louis Deluxe Standalone Tower
Today $145.00
Compare $415.18
Save 65%
(27)
John Louis Deluxe Tower Door Kit
Add to cart to see special price
(18)
Back to top