Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
THE SHELVES ARE NOT INCLUDED!!!
 from New York,  Jan 8, 2013

Buyer beware......I am very disappointed. I cannot help but feel a bit duped by the way this product was marketed. Though written in the description, I would never have guessed that this "tower shelf" would not HAVE the SHELVES!! I was under the impression that I was buying what was shown in the picture. All I bought was a frame. The four shelves shown in the picture are $96 extra. Overstock, if you are to be fair to your customers the name of this product should be: " John Louis Stand Alone Shelf Frame (shelves not included)" OR require that John Louis submit a picture that does not include the four shelves that are currently in the picture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is represented accurately on the ad
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is of a quality construction, but you may reconsider when you have to add an additional $96 to get what is depicted.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ***READ THE DESCRIPTION THOROUGHLY**** SHELVES NOT INCLUDED***** BUYER BEWARE ******
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Misleading furniture
 from New York, NY,  Aug 2, 2013

This item is very misleading. From the picture, one would expect to get the full tower - as pictured, shelves and all. However, for ***, what you're actually purchasing is the 4 walls of this towers with no shelves. If you want the shelves, it would cost you approximately another *** for 4 shelves, which would bring the total for this complete tower to *** - quite expensive for just a wooden tower with no hanging poles. Otherwise, wood is very sturdy and nice looking, but I find it extremely annoying to undo the package only to find, you're still missing parts to complete the rest of your wardrobe, which is why this listing warrants 1 star.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great add on
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Nov 16, 2011

This is a great add on to the John Louis closet system. Just remember, you must order the shelves separately.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality and solid wood. not flimsy at all
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis Stand-alone Tower Shelf Standards
 from Tampa, FL,  Oct 4, 2011

Very good quality product and looks very nice. I didnt realize that the drawer kit isnt for this tower though and ordered 3 drawers which I had to return to overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product is very well built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
tower
 from ky,  Jul 10, 2010

this is the standard tower, purchased the deluxe system initally,then added this for extra space, the shelves did not have the metal pens included, luckly had some from the deluxe system so did not have to contact customer service. Husband put up and together, was a 4hr project,, a handy man put the deluxe tower system up and took him 4-5 hrs, You pay for what you get and the deluxe system looks better and has the options for drawers and doors, which we have. The tower would work ok for simple things, but is not cheap ,considering the time and value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These shelves are really sturdy
 from Northridge, CA,  Nov 20, 2011

Make sure to allow an extra inch in the height and width. Tower is a little larger than listed. Other than that, it is real nice product

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matches the description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Tower is 73" high not 72" as listed
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice Tower
 Apr 15, 2015

Nice Tower, but you have to buy the shelves and drawers separately. The glass doors are an excellent addition. Trick to installing this tower is to make sure it is plumb and spaced properly. If you don't, then you will have problems installing the drawers and shelves.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Indiana
 Mar 27, 2015

I too thought it included shelves. When it says two shelves it means the top to hold the sides together and the bottom to hold the sides together Very misleading and a bait ad.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Apparently you have to hit the more button in the description to see the Shelves not included. SO this is just a square frame you hang on the wall, and now go order at an additional 2/3rd of the price more shelves. Additionally, I have put many pieces of kit furniture together before with no trouble, but these directions just needed pictures of the important aspects. It had pictures but of useless things like a guy drawing a level line (DUH). How about including important pictures of the pieces fitting together? The wall anchors are cheap and at least 3 of mine broke, do not install these with a cordless driver ( even on slow) , just use a hand screw driver or buy better ones. Overstock and all retailers should bundle price break the shelve Kit. And make it really clear shelves are not included...by the reviews i was not the only one who missed this important aspect.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

We have this closet organization system in 2 master bedroom closets and we love them. You can set them up as shoe storage by tilting the shelves or use as regular shelves for your clothes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
add a tower
 Jan 31, 2015

nice for adding a tower to your system

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Misleading picture and plain lying
 from Wayland, MA.,  Jan 12, 2015

Having previously purchased a John Louis closet organizer from Overstock I decided to add a tower since I was pleased with the product and believe that's good value. Big mistake . The pictures on the web site clearly show towers with four (4) shelves and the description states " featuring adjustable shelves " . The title of the product states " John Louis tower standards" ; I don't know what they mean by standards but the Merriam-Webster dictionary describes STANDARD as " a level of quality , achievement etc. that is considered acceptable" . The description of the product also states " FEATURING" adjustable shelves . The same dictionary describes "FEATURING" as " an interesting or IMPORTANT part , quality , ability , etc. . . If I am buying a car featuring leather seats I certainly expect leather instead of cloth seats ; maybe Overstock expects paper seats . I have purchased many products at Overstock before I became a member , reason why I signed up, but will never again buy anything at this web site .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful closet tower
 from Harrisburg, PA,  Sep 7, 2014

This is a great looking product that is easy to install. The only minor problem is that their packing is not the best and some of the wood comes through damaged. fortunately I was able to hide the worst parts.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Boylston, MA.,  Jul 21, 2014

This is my second one to add on to a John Louis closet system I have. Adds character to your closet. Much better than the closet systems you can get at Lowes or Home Depot.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SHELVES WITH NO SHELVES - DUMB!!!!
 from New York, NY,  Jun 19, 2014

I agree with other comments. It is a "tower shelf" that has NO SHELVES. The description says it has 2 shelves - but what they really mean is that you get the top and the bottom panel - so you are purchasing a frame. I am extremely aggrevated with this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fix and Flipper uses these often
 from Denver, Co.,  May 27, 2014

Be sure you know if this does or does not come with shelves, and whether it is 12 or 16 inches in depth. (IT may MATTER to you)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great with the closet system
 from Annapolis, MD,  Jan 29, 2014

This is a really quality product. It's real wood and not just particle board. It actually smells like real wood. Thanks to the other reviewers I realized that the shelfs do not come with the tower so I made sure to order them separately. It should really state that better right on the image.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding Closet Storage Unit
 from Washington, DC area,  Nov 7, 2013

I really like this product. The material appears to be some type of maple with choice of either a honey or dark color finish. The parts are beautifully finished and the towers assemble very easily. I like to mount the towers off the floor but resting on the top edge of the closet base board. That way it is easy to vacuum underneath. The modular design allows one to adjust the dimensions to fit your particular application (I shortened the height of one of mine by trimming about a foot off the base and re-attaching the base oversize-shelf using screws into the vertical struts). The wall-mounting hardware worked perfectly. I am not a fan of the twist-cam assembly systems (the aluminum cams break too often for me) but these work reasonably well here. As an added improvement, though, I beef up the joints by adding a single screw at each joint - - I find a 2" or 2.25" #9 auger tip finish screw (very small, star or square-drive head) in a one sixteenth" pilot hole works very well. It should be noted that you will need at least one additional shelf kit. I have two systems mounted right now and I plan to add the same in two more closets. Great system!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad but scratches easily
 from CT,  Nov 1, 2013

Product looks good and is easy to assembly but scratches easily. That must be why they give you a touch-up pen as part of the kit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis stand alone shelves
 from Eau Claire, WI,  Oct 17, 2013

First of all, throw away the included directions! Watch the assembly instructions on YouTube. I am a handy person and could not make any sense of the written instructions...was almost ready to return them wheni pulled up the web site. Overstock SHOULD mention there are NO middle shelves with this unit...just the four pieces, top, bottom and two sides. You need to purchase extra shelves. Il using them in my weaving studio and each unit has 6 shelves. Once assembled, it's easy to hang and use. Quality workmanship, nice appearance....too bad most of the time they're hidden in closets!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought