Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
THE SHELVES ARE NOT INCLUDED!!!
 from New York,  Jan 8, 2013

Buyer beware......I am very disappointed. I cannot help but feel a bit duped by the way this product was marketed. Though written in the description, I would never have guessed that this "tower shelf" would not HAVE the SHELVES!! I was under the impression that I was buying what was shown in the picture. All I bought was a frame. The four shelves shown in the picture are $96 extra. Overstock, if you are to be fair to your customers the name of this product should be: " John Louis Stand Alone Shelf Frame (shelves not included)" OR require that John Louis submit a picture that does not include the four shelves that are currently in the picture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is represented accurately on the ad
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is of a quality construction, but you may reconsider when you have to add an additional $96 to get what is depicted.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ***READ THE DESCRIPTION THOROUGHLY**** SHELVES NOT INCLUDED***** BUYER BEWARE ******
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Misleading furniture
 from New York, NY,  Aug 2, 2013

This item is very misleading. From the picture, one would expect to get the full tower - as pictured, shelves and all. However, for ***, what you're actually purchasing is the 4 walls of this towers with no shelves. If you want the shelves, it would cost you approximately another *** for 4 shelves, which would bring the total for this complete tower to *** - quite expensive for just a wooden tower with no hanging poles. Otherwise, wood is very sturdy and nice looking, but I find it extremely annoying to undo the package only to find, you're still missing parts to complete the rest of your wardrobe, which is why this listing warrants 1 star.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great add on
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Nov 16, 2011

This is a great add on to the John Louis closet system. Just remember, you must order the shelves separately.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality and solid wood. not flimsy at all
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis Stand-alone Tower Shelf Standards
 from Tampa, FL,  Oct 4, 2011

Very good quality product and looks very nice. I didnt realize that the drawer kit isnt for this tower though and ordered 3 drawers which I had to return to overstock.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product is very well built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
tower
 from ky,  Jul 10, 2010

this is the standard tower, purchased the deluxe system initally,then added this for extra space, the shelves did not have the metal pens included, luckly had some from the deluxe system so did not have to contact customer service. Husband put up and together, was a 4hr project,, a handy man put the deluxe tower system up and took him 4-5 hrs, You pay for what you get and the deluxe system looks better and has the options for drawers and doors, which we have. The tower would work ok for simple things, but is not cheap ,considering the time and value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These shelves are really sturdy
 from Northridge, CA,  Nov 20, 2011

Make sure to allow an extra inch in the height and width. Tower is a little larger than listed. Other than that, it is real nice product

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matches the description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Tower is 73" high not 72" as listed
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful closet tower
 from Harrisburg, PA,  Sep 7, 2014

This is a great looking product that is easy to install. The only minor problem is that their packing is not the best and some of the wood comes through damaged. fortunately I was able to hide the worst parts.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Boylston, MA.,  Jul 21, 2014

This is my second one to add on to a John Louis closet system I have. Adds character to your closet. Much better than the closet systems you can get at Lowes or Home Depot.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SHELVES WITH NO SHELVES - DUMB!!!!
 from New York, NY,  Jun 19, 2014

I agree with other comments. It is a "tower shelf" that has NO SHELVES. The description says it has 2 shelves - but what they really mean is that you get the top and the bottom panel - so you are purchasing a frame. I am extremely aggrevated with this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fix and Flipper uses these often
 from Denver, Co.,  May 27, 2014

Be sure you know if this does or does not come with shelves, and whether it is 12 or 16 inches in depth. (IT may MATTER to you)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great with the closet system
 from Annapolis, MD,  Jan 29, 2014

This is a really quality product. It's real wood and not just particle board. It actually smells like real wood. Thanks to the other reviewers I realized that the shelfs do not come with the tower so I made sure to order them separately. It should really state that better right on the image.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding Closet Storage Unit
 from Washington, DC area,  Nov 7, 2013

I really like this product. The material appears to be some type of maple with choice of either a honey or dark color finish. The parts are beautifully finished and the towers assemble very easily. I like to mount the towers off the floor but resting on the top edge of the closet base board. That way it is easy to vacuum underneath. The modular design allows one to adjust the dimensions to fit your particular application (I shortened the height of one of mine by trimming about a foot off the base and re-attaching the base oversize-shelf using screws into the vertical struts). The wall-mounting hardware worked perfectly. I am not a fan of the twist-cam assembly systems (the aluminum cams break too often for me) but these work reasonably well here. As an added improvement, though, I beef up the joints by adding a single screw at each joint - - I find a 2" or 2.25" #9 auger tip finish screw (very small, star or square-drive head) in a one sixteenth" pilot hole works very well. It should be noted that you will need at least one additional shelf kit. I have two systems mounted right now and I plan to add the same in two more closets. Great system!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad but scratches easily
 from CT,  Nov 1, 2013

Product looks good and is easy to assembly but scratches easily. That must be why they give you a touch-up pen as part of the kit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis stand alone shelves
 from Eau Claire, WI,  Oct 17, 2013

First of all, throw away the included directions! Watch the assembly instructions on YouTube. I am a handy person and could not make any sense of the written instructions...was almost ready to return them wheni pulled up the web site. Overstock SHOULD mention there are NO middle shelves with this unit...just the four pieces, top, bottom and two sides. You need to purchase extra shelves. Il using them in my weaving studio and each unit has 6 shelves. Once assembled, it's easy to hang and use. Quality workmanship, nice appearance....too bad most of the time they're hidden in closets!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shelving without shelves
 from Fairhope, Al,  Aug 15, 2013

I wish I had read the reviews better. I can not believe that you can buy shelving without shelves. I had to order the shelves because of the hassle of returning what I had. And I could of bought another shelving set for less and not had all the hassle. They look now but I can't believe they come without the shelves

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality
 from Florida,  Jul 30, 2013

We bought this long shelf to put in the bathroom next to the dressing room in which we put two John Louis closet systems. Excellent quality, great looking and easy to install. Great price also at Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tower shelves
 from new york,  May 5, 2013

Excellent tower shelves really complaments our matching closet organizer

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect t
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very sturdy
 from New Jersey,  Mar 19, 2013

We needed these shelves for a very tight space. The measurement given was for the shelf length, not the overall outside of the unit. It's a very sturdy, well made piece. Just be sure to add the thickness of the outside, about 3" onto the overall measurement.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was redder than we expectected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality shelving
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate for the self length not the outer edge
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid
 from Florida,  Mar 16, 2013

Great quality easy install was able to put in alone however it would be easier with two people. The one thing that would be better is if they added a few shelves in the kit just two would be nice (they are not included) however the product is a good one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
super
 from florida,  Mar 16, 2013

recommend this product for a closet, looks nice and fit nicely in my storage

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? nice and the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? many
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought