Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 43 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Finally!
 from RI,  Jan 4, 2009

Finally! A great system for organizing my closet! I have tried everything short of calling one of these companies that charges thousands of dollars to design a closet system. Note that the difference between the regular and deluxe is that one is 12 inches deep and the other is 16 inches deep. I emptied my closet and called on a handyman to install this stuff, because I didn't want to screw it up. He said it was easy to work with, and he will recommend it to clients. I have a 12" on the right, and a 16" on the left, and LOVE it to pieces.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
many satisfied customers
 from Seattle,  Oct 29, 2014

As a contractor, I have been encouraging my clients to go with John Louis. In the final stages of a new home or addition, spending $$$$-$$$$$$ on closet system is daunting. John Louis provides a great, quality option in solid wood and at a fair and affordable price. The kits are interchangeable and my guys can create any configuration for the client. Best to go with the metal rods for easy sliding of hangers - especially in master. Shelves with baskets prove better than the drawers. Only two issues I have noticed are: lack of color options (white would be nice) and the drawer kits are not as high of quality as the shelves, as they aren't solid wood. I highly recommend this product and continue to tell clients about it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I am very happy with the product. We bought two delux closet systems for both sides of our walk-in closet. My husband and I are not professional carpenters, but we were able to install the closets ourselves. We found the instructional videos on youtube which were great - they were very detailed and easy to follow. If you follow them to the T, you will have no problem with the installation. I think we would have been completely lost and frustrated if we only had the printed instructions included in the package. The first closet took the two of us three evenings, a couple of hours each. The second one took us only four hours (and I am 7 months pregnant!). Also, I need to point out that customer service is great. I accidentally ordered the two closets in different colors (one maple and one mahogony). I used the web chat option to talk to a representative and he made the arrangements for me to return the wrong color. They did deduct the cost of shipping but I got it back as a store credit, so in the end I didn't lose anything because I applied this credit towards the purchase of the second closet - this time in the right color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Some minor dents but otherwise excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Versatile Closet System
 from Palm Springs ,CA,  Sep 12, 2013

Purchased 2 systems for a new large walk-in closet in home reno project. Installation is complicated, but luckily I found a series of YouTube videos that show step-by-step what's needed. I would recommend that anyone watch the videos before installing, it makes the process so much easier to follow and gives you a few tricks that help you avoid potential problems with alignment. After installing the first system, the second system was a snap to cut and fit into place. With the parts I had left, there was enough shelving to fit out a small hall closet as well. They look great, are very solid, high quality and expensive looking. My contractor was impressed that I did it myself!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis Dx Closet
 from WA,  Jul 18, 2011

I've used JLH closet systems in two other closets. Sturdy, attractive, with flexibility that allows customizing. The O.com price was great, quick delivery. Thanks!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Honey Maple as I'd hoped. It was unclear online.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid system, requires much time to install
 from Colorado,  Oct 26, 2013

This is a high quality closet system, made entirely of wood (pine). All hardware is also excellent. I added 5 drawers and the glass doors to this base system, which eliminates the need for a separate dresser in the smallish bedroom. By comparison the closet is rather spacious and deep. Assembly is a fairly long and tedious process, particularly if you are adding accessories such as the drawers and doors which I added, and you should also consider the prep time to remove any existing closet hardware and repair any damage to the closet caused by this before you start. Total time with the accessories and demolition and prep was about two full work days for me. Mostly, with the exception of alignment of the drawers the assembly and installation process is fairly straight forward. It does require a fairly good collection of tools; I used (needed) a drill with various bits for pilot holes (I recommend that you use a pilot hole for every screw you use, for some this is a must). I also needed a powerfull power screw driver, you will be screwing things together for weeks otherwise. You also need levels and plumb lines. I used a table saw for custom cutting the shelving, though these could be done manually or with a circular saw. I also used a scissor jack, and piece of plywood to jack the box up on the wall and hold it as I fastened the box to the wall. Two helpers could have done this, but probably with somewhat less precision. A stud finder for locating the studs in your wall would certainly be a plus also. The base unit and the glass door accessory go together in a fairly straightforward fashion. The drawer units are somewhat more tedious to assemble and install. The cam locking mechanism that is used to assemble the drawers are somewhat fragile, its easy to break a cam/lock. Across the 5 drawers I was installing I had enough spare cam/locks to tolerate this breakage, but each drawer did not come with extras, it seemed hit or miss. One set of cam/lock holes was miss aligned, not bad considering the 30 to 40 sets of these in all the drawers, but this was not a serious problem, I replaced it with a simple wood screw (an appropriately sized drill bit with counter sink to counter sink the screw head and of course a screw also needed. Actual installation of the drawer rails and and drawer in the main box is in theory simple. The problem I encountered and one which I would guess is fairly common, is that the drawer rail system is very picky about the precise spacing between the rails, it really needs to be exactly 24" or the rail bind. Alas the box is 6 feet tall, and there is no intermediate bracing between the top and bottom to assure that the box sides are perfectly straight from top to bottom. The top and bottom pieces assure that the sides start off at the precise correct spacing, and the mount to the wall holds the back of the box with the correct alignment, but any slight warp in the box sides and cause the front of the box to be somewhat out of alignment with other than the precise side to side spacing required by the drawer side rails. (The instructions by the way do not exaggerate when they say the side to side measurements of the placement of the mounting hardware on the wall need to be very precise; they most certainly do). The wrap is not a cosmetic problem, the box is certainly aligned well enough that you cannot see any wrapping with the eye, but a 1/4 or an inch in the center of the box will cause binding in the drawer slides. I was able to accommodate this buy using shim washers between the box and the rails, not a particularly tedious adjustment, but of course you will need a bunch of washers to accomplish this. Fortunately, I my case, rummaging around in the shop produced enough suitable washers. Once installed, and aligned the drawer system is of high quality with full extension drawer slides, no complaint as to the quality. I did have one complaint, which is with respect to Overstock fulfillment of my order. The 8" drawer was clearly not new, it had been repackaged and returned by someone, who appeared to have been overwhelmed by the job of assembling the drawer. From the screw holes in the side of the drawer box (in the wrong place), it was apparent that he did not understand the assembly instructions, and he probably could not get the drawer installed. In any case he packaged most of the pieces in the box and returned them, and the used drawer was sent to me missing some of the pieces, fortunately nothing particularly critical, I was able to substitute for missing pieces with more rummaging around in the shop, or with extras from other drawers. There did not seem to be any cosmetic problems with the drawer so I just used it. Still did not expect to be shipped repackaged returned stuff to be sold as new, and it would have been a real pain if something critical had been missing. Bottom line this is a very nice system, once installed it looks great, and functions well. The installation is somewhat tedious though, and you do have to be light on your feet as you go along, particularly with drawers. This should probably not be attempted by novice DIY'ers, it takes a lot more than a Philips head screw driver to put this together,

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value for the money
 from Florida,  Sep 7, 2011

Nice alternative to the flakey partical board. The screws used to attach the units could be better quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good for the money but the wood is soft
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this closet system!
 from midwest,  Feb 2, 2010

We have just installed the Deluxe Closet system in our Master Reach-in closet. It looks great! The installation is a little time-consuming but can be done by anyone who has ever put together a piece of furniture. I will now be doing the walk-in and a 9'ft closet elsewhere in the house. Anyone who sees this closet system will be impressed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
xjynx
 Jul 8, 2015

nice looking but cams break easily

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 Jun 23, 2015

Great system! Beautiful and functional!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I priced a system with a closet company - more than $3500 for what I wanted (and not even real wood). Decided to get creative to save money. Ordered two systems and an extra tower. I'm not handy at all, so hired help for install. Glad I did - it took two pros 4+ hours to install two closets. The packaging was very good - no damage to units. One of the systems was missing its garment bars (the deluxe) but Overstock is sending me the bars now. Very sturdy and the maple finish is lovely. Five stars for product, four stars b/c install required paid help and garment bars missing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Closet System looks very good in my remodeled 3rd Bedroom. Directions were good, but some parts (screws) were the wrong size. The directions also gave the wrong size. I called Overstock and the screws were replaced, but took a few days. I also called John Louis and said they would correct mistakes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful closet
 May 22, 2015

Beautiful closet, shelves are easy to install but the tower thing in the center is so damn hard to get perfectly squared so that shelves slide in evenly top to bottom. I broke a lot of drywall anchors but they include extra so NBS. Make sure you have a 4 ft. level for this project, and a laser level helps.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Home Owner
 May 18, 2015

Excellent service. Let me explain - it took a few weeks before my son could come by to install the closet system. He was doing very well until towards the last when some hardware pieces were missing. Complete halt! Upon calling Overstock, the pieces were ordered and arrived within days. (Thank you) Then, it wasn't until a few days ago that my son could return to finish the job. Hence, the delayed review. So, Overstock is much faster than my son. But I'm a happy camper. The closet system is just what I needed in my office-bedroom.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We just installed the closet system and I couldn't be more pleased. It is the envy of my daughters and girlfriends. My only complaint is that my husband struggled a bit with the installation and he's a skilled carpenter. I think some of his problems had to do with the un-straight walls in my closet, but there was a lot of cussing going on. Installation may be a challenge for an amateur.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Not being too handy, this was a major installation job for us. We did it over 2 days, taking our time & watching the installation video. It was worth it. Love the 16" deep shelves & the tower. Looks great & holds everything in style.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great closet!
 Mar 3, 2015

We love the way we were able to arrange this to fit out individual needs in our new walk in closet space with this beautiful Closet System.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 Feb 7, 2015

Oh, how we love our new closet. We installed it about 6 months ago. There was certainly a learning curve in putting it all together, but we learned fast. It is terrific!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Love these shelf and hanging closet systems. So nice looking too. We have these in several closets in our house and can't be happier with them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my new space
 from washington,  Nov 18, 2014

Love this system, my son put it together while I was on vacation and it looks fabulous - my only comment would be i think they could include two more shelves for the tower for the price paid.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 43 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought