Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Finally!
 from RI,  Jan 4, 2009

Finally! A great system for organizing my closet! I have tried everything short of calling one of these companies that charges thousands of dollars to design a closet system. Note that the difference between the regular and deluxe is that one is 12 inches deep and the other is 16 inches deep. I emptied my closet and called on a handyman to install this stuff, because I didn't want to screw it up. He said it was easy to work with, and he will recommend it to clients. I have a 12" on the right, and a 16" on the left, and LOVE it to pieces.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
many satisfied customers
 from Seattle,  Oct 29, 2014

As a contractor, I have been encouraging my clients to go with John Louis. In the final stages of a new home or addition, spending $$$$-$$$$$$ on closet system is daunting. John Louis provides a great, quality option in solid wood and at a fair and affordable price. The kits are interchangeable and my guys can create any configuration for the client. Best to go with the metal rods for easy sliding of hangers - especially in master. Shelves with baskets prove better than the drawers. Only two issues I have noticed are: lack of color options (white would be nice) and the drawer kits are not as high of quality as the shelves, as they aren't solid wood. I highly recommend this product and continue to tell clients about it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch YouTube Videos for Assembly Instructions
 from Albany NY,  Jul 30, 2012

I am very happy with the product. We bought two delux closet systems for both sides of our walk-in closet. My husband and I are not professional carpenters, but we were able to install the closets ourselves. We found the instructional videos on youtube which were great - they were very detailed and easy to follow. If you follow them to the T, you will have no problem with the installation. I think we would have been completely lost and frustrated if we only had the printed instructions included in the package. The first closet took the two of us three evenings, a couple of hours each. The second one took us only four hours (and I am 7 months pregnant!). Also, I need to point out that customer service is great. I accidentally ordered the two closets in different colors (one maple and one mahogony). I used the web chat option to talk to a representative and he made the arrangements for me to return the wrong color. They did deduct the cost of shipping but I got it back as a store credit, so in the end I didn't lose anything because I applied this credit towards the purchase of the second closet - this time in the right color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Some minor dents but otherwise excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Versatile Closet System
 from Palm Springs ,CA,  Sep 12, 2013

Purchased 2 systems for a new large walk-in closet in home reno project. Installation is complicated, but luckily I found a series of YouTube videos that show step-by-step what's needed. I would recommend that anyone watch the videos before installing, it makes the process so much easier to follow and gives you a few tricks that help you avoid potential problems with alignment. After installing the first system, the second system was a snap to cut and fit into place. With the parts I had left, there was enough shelving to fit out a small hall closet as well. They look great, are very solid, high quality and expensive looking. My contractor was impressed that I did it myself!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis Dx Closet
 from WA,  Jul 18, 2011

I've used JLH closet systems in two other closets. Sturdy, attractive, with flexibility that allows customizing. The O.com price was great, quick delivery. Thanks!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Honey Maple as I'd hoped. It was unclear online.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid system, requires much time to install
 from Colorado,  Oct 26, 2013

This is a high quality closet system, made entirely of wood (pine). All hardware is also excellent. I added 5 drawers and the glass doors to this base system, which eliminates the need for a separate dresser in the smallish bedroom. By comparison the closet is rather spacious and deep. Assembly is a fairly long and tedious process, particularly if you are adding accessories such as the drawers and doors which I added, and you should also consider the prep time to remove any existing closet hardware and repair any damage to the closet caused by this before you start. Total time with the accessories and demolition and prep was about two full work days for me. Mostly, with the exception of alignment of the drawers the assembly and installation process is fairly straight forward. It does require a fairly good collection of tools; I used (needed) a drill with various bits for pilot holes (I recommend that you use a pilot hole for every screw you use, for some this is a must). I also needed a powerfull power screw driver, you will be screwing things together for weeks otherwise. You also need levels and plumb lines. I used a table saw for custom cutting the shelving, though these could be done manually or with a circular saw. I also used a scissor jack, and piece of plywood to jack the box up on the wall and hold it as I fastened the box to the wall. Two helpers could have done this, but probably with somewhat less precision. A stud finder for locating the studs in your wall would certainly be a plus also. The base unit and the glass door accessory go together in a fairly straightforward fashion. The drawer units are somewhat more tedious to assemble and install. The cam locking mechanism that is used to assemble the drawers are somewhat fragile, its easy to break a cam/lock. Across the 5 drawers I was installing I had enough spare cam/locks to tolerate this breakage, but each drawer did not come with extras, it seemed hit or miss. One set of cam/lock holes was miss aligned, not bad considering the 30 to 40 sets of these in all the drawers, but this was not a serious problem, I replaced it with a simple wood screw (an appropriately sized drill bit with counter sink to counter sink the screw head and of course a screw also needed. Actual installation of the drawer rails and and drawer in the main box is in theory simple. The problem I encountered and one which I would guess is fairly common, is that the drawer rail system is very picky about the precise spacing between the rails, it really needs to be exactly 24" or the rail bind. Alas the box is 6 feet tall, and there is no intermediate bracing between the top and bottom to assure that the box sides are perfectly straight from top to bottom. The top and bottom pieces assure that the sides start off at the precise correct spacing, and the mount to the wall holds the back of the box with the correct alignment, but any slight warp in the box sides and cause the front of the box to be somewhat out of alignment with other than the precise side to side spacing required by the drawer side rails. (The instructions by the way do not exaggerate when they say the side to side measurements of the placement of the mounting hardware on the wall need to be very precise; they most certainly do). The wrap is not a cosmetic problem, the box is certainly aligned well enough that you cannot see any wrapping with the eye, but a 1/4 or an inch in the center of the box will cause binding in the drawer slides. I was able to accommodate this buy using shim washers between the box and the rails, not a particularly tedious adjustment, but of course you will need a bunch of washers to accomplish this. Fortunately, I my case, rummaging around in the shop produced enough suitable washers. Once installed, and aligned the drawer system is of high quality with full extension drawer slides, no complaint as to the quality. I did have one complaint, which is with respect to Overstock fulfillment of my order. The 8" drawer was clearly not new, it had been repackaged and returned by someone, who appeared to have been overwhelmed by the job of assembling the drawer. From the screw holes in the side of the drawer box (in the wrong place), it was apparent that he did not understand the assembly instructions, and he probably could not get the drawer installed. In any case he packaged most of the pieces in the box and returned them, and the used drawer was sent to me missing some of the pieces, fortunately nothing particularly critical, I was able to substitute for missing pieces with more rummaging around in the shop, or with extras from other drawers. There did not seem to be any cosmetic problems with the drawer so I just used it. Still did not expect to be shipped repackaged returned stuff to be sold as new, and it would have been a real pain if something critical had been missing. Bottom line this is a very nice system, once installed it looks great, and functions well. The installation is somewhat tedious though, and you do have to be light on your feet as you go along, particularly with drawers. This should probably not be attempted by novice DIY'ers, it takes a lot more than a Philips head screw driver to put this together,

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value for the money
 from Florida,  Sep 7, 2011

Nice alternative to the flakey partical board. The screws used to attach the units could be better quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good for the money but the wood is soft
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this closet system!
 from midwest,  Feb 2, 2010

We have just installed the Deluxe Closet system in our Master Reach-in closet. It looks great! The installation is a little time-consuming but can be done by anyone who has ever put together a piece of furniture. I will now be doing the walk-in and a 9'ft closet elsewhere in the house. Anyone who sees this closet system will be impressed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Best!
 Jan 29, 2016

My closet looks so professional and posh! This system is super easy to install (with two people -- not sure my five-foot self could do it alone), and the wood is so warm looking. Far superior to those mdf systems. We were missing a couple parts, called John Louis corporate, and received them two days later. Excellent customer service!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Turned out nice but difficult to assemble
 Jan 27, 2016

This took my husband and father-in-law many, many hours to assemble. Lots of sawing of wood to accommodate baseboard trim at the bottom of our walls. Looks good and seems sturdy otherwise.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Uneven walls making installing quite difficult
 Jan 24, 2016

The shelving is beautiful, real wood. Lots of details in installing shelves and with very uneven walls (not shelf units problem) it is much more difficult to install. Took quite a lot of time to install and secure. Am happy with results once adjustments were made to make it fit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
my bedroom
 Jan 22, 2016

The instructions need to be clarified on how to put the things together...At first we were little frustrated with instructions but now we know how to put together...Other than this, now it is done...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality
 Jan 16, 2016

Product is excellent in every way - instructions, materials, and design.....

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Home owner, purchaser, and constructor/installer
 Dec 23, 2015

Nice piece of furniture. Best of the lot for closet organizers. Requires a thoughtful, well equipped, patient, installer with substantial time to think through and execute the installation. Not for the faint of heart or impatient, ill equipped.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
owner
 Dec 22, 2015

perfect, perfect, perfect

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EAC
 Dec 15, 2015

Quality merchandise. 4 stars due to quality control. At least 2 pieces had indentations in the wood. Watched the video 2 times prior to installation. Helped a lot in avoiding future problems with stability. My closet was 1 foot shorter than the intended install size. Install guide provided information on re-sizing unit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
S Wolf
 Dec 9, 2015

Solid construction, elegant looking wood

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW
 Sep 17, 2015

what a difference..new home came with wire racks..this is so classy, gives you room for everything...we added a few drawers too. Planning how to lay it out was easy...we went pretty much with the picture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
xjynx
 Jul 8, 2015

nice looking but cams break easily

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 Jun 23, 2015

Great system! Beautiful and functional!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought