Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Caution -- don't go by photo
 from Southern Maryland,  Jun 6, 2014

Be careful when buying the stand alone tower. It looks like it comes with shelves and drawers based on the photo on the Overstock website but it doesn't. By the time you buy some shelves and drawers, you'll more than double your cost. It's a good product, just not as complete as it looks, so be prepared.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from St. Petersburg, FL,  May 30, 2014

Easy to put together. Sturdy. could not be happier with purchase

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
2 John Louis Standalone Towers and 4 sets of shelv
 from Cleveland Ohio,  May 26, 2014

This is a junky piece of furniture AND you have to purchase the shelving units separate. The shelves would not stay stable in the base, we had to stabilize it by screwing the middle shelve into the unit permanently to keep the other shelves from falling down after placing clothing and accessories on them. We would have returned them, but didn't realize they were so unstable until we started filling them with items. By that time we had already thrown all the huge boxes away. We bought 2 towers and 4 sets of shelves at a ridiculous price for such a poor product. ***

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The picture is not what you get!
 from San Diego, Cal,  May 22, 2014

We just received this and the deluxe closet system, (which we haven't opened yet!). I never noticed that it didn't include the 2 middle adjustable shelves! So, do we keep them or return them?! They look nice, but I need shelves. They will cost another $** for two. PLUS, I can't find the shelves in mahogany! We have to decide, but READ THE FINE PRINT BEFORE YOU BUY!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
JMH
 from WV,  Apr 10, 2014

Easy to assemble. Takes more than a few minutes, more ;like a couple of hours. Good sturdy product and people who have seen my closet transformation are amazed at how good it looks.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, but unnecessarily difficult to assemble
 from St Pete Florida,  Nov 3, 2013

Requires very precise placement on the wall or the shelves will not fit. If you are not comfortable with getting two parallel lines absolutely plumb on your wall and installing 22 wall anchors, you may want to think twice about this product. Very attractive shelf once installed. The Honey Maple color was slightly darker than shown in the photo, which is nice.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DISAPPOINTED.....NO SHELVES included!!!
 from Colorado,  Oct 24, 2013

This is the second item that I order and disappointed when I received the item. The photos advertised and name description used with each item are very misleading. It seems that the closet tower SHOULD have shelves included. It seems obvious Who would need one without shelves!!!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look and quality
 from Lk Havasu City, AZ,  Apr 16, 2013

I got the standard closet set-up and this tower and 2 additional shelves. Took some study of instructions and diagrams (patience and time) but two of us installed closets on both sides of a large walk-in and it looks terrific...class and great quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

It's a good storage unit. wish the tower had the option of having slots for drawers on both sides, so one could combine two units to have three rows of drawers if needed. It's a very decent looking unit and doesn't looking overwhelming in the room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality for its price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tower system adds options to walkin closet
 from Southeast Massachusetts,  Jan 2, 2012

I had purchased the organizer system and liked it, so bought two towers to create additional shelving for folded garments, pocket books, etc.. Unfortunately, I didn't realize that I had to purchase shelves separately, so had to place another order. Some of the shelves fit perfectly while others keep falling out. I think the pegs should be longer. All in all, I'm happy with the units and would recommend them since it makes a walk-in closet look custom for a fraction of the cost of hiring someone to build a custom closet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly, but too "red" for my taste
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Consistent quality, soft wood dents easily
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? quite accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good quality for the money
 from Maryland,  Jul 29, 2011

Very nice, but a little difficult to put together. Took some time to figure it out, but turned out nice.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I just wish it would have been more clear that the one unit didn't include shelves.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Holds a lot.
 from Hilton Head, SC,  Jul 21, 2011

Recently installed two towers. Drawers were a little difficult to get in. Towers have a lot of shelf space. Probably will get some canvas organizers to hold additional stuff. One tower has a dent in it. Not sure if it was there when unpacked or put there by someone putting it up.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Standalone Tower
 from Tacoma, WA,  Jul 21, 2011

I just opened the box to set it up and the shelves do not come with it! For the price I paid there should be shelves! I am sending it back and will never shop with this company again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? horrible
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive theses units are beautiful
 from Payson, AZ,  Jul 16, 2011

beautiful and functional, picture does not do this unit justice. easy to install and manufacturer makes it pretty fool proof

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? better in person, deep and rich
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality, solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful!!
 from Marion, IL,  Jul 15, 2011

I just love this closet system! It is gorgeous! My only complaint would be that this shelving unit did not come with all of the shelves shown in the picture- this was a bit deceiving. I ended up needing to order more shelving.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from NY,  May 27, 2011

This is an excellent, well made product. Very sturdy. The red mahogany is beautiful. Much better quality than other products at similar prices.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, but tricky!
 from Raleigh, NC,  Apr 14, 2011

I had someone put this together for me, and I recommend that. I sat with him and saw his confusion over the design and the way this unit's pieces fit together. Since the description states that this piece can be free standing, we tried it that way. It was way too unstable. The sides actually bowed outward to the point that the shelves were too short to fit. My carpenter then braced it to the wall, so it is fine. However, if you do this, be sure to put the shelves where you want them first, because you will never get them out, and if you do not have them in, you will never get them in. The wire basket simply did not fit the unit, though I bought the size recommended. My guy rigged it so it does work but cannot be pulld out unless the cabinet is open. The end result is lovely. I bought the frosted glass doors, and the size is perfect for the spot where I put it. But, truly, the design is terribly flawed for functionality. Because of this, I consider this item to be overpriced. I expected smarter design for this price. I am still recommending it because the wood, though soft, is beautiful, as is the finished product if you can get it together.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent materials, flawed design for function.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Everything except the phrase "free standing."
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent
 from pooler,ga,  Apr 13, 2011

i thought it came with all the shelves not just 2 shelves.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? no, i thought it came with all the shelves not just 2.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Negative Review Title
 from Mpls, MN,  Apr 3, 2011

as much as I liked the product, very difficult for one person to put together. Shelves and or drawers are not included in the tower and nowhere did it state shelves and or drawers sold seperately. For the price shelves should be included!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good one!
 from NY,  Jan 25, 2011

I purchased this stand alone to complete my walk in closet. I also got the doors and drawers for it. While it took some time to put together, I really love it. I also got the closet system. It looks wonderful and I'm very happy with my purchase. I did have one problem with one of the drawers. I contacted the John Louis company about it as they shipped me 2 left sides for one drawer. They were absolutely wonderful and within 2 days the correct side was sitting on my porch. They shipped out to me immediately. Yes, I'm very happy with this company, my purchase and Overstock! Thank you!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
John Louis Deluxe Closet System
Add to cart to see special price
(30)
John Louis Deluxe Red Mahogany Closet System
Add to cart to see special price
(51)
John Louis Deluxe Adjustable Shelves Kit
Add to cart to see special price
(34)
John Louis Stand-alone Tower Shelf Standards
Add to cart to see special price
(32)
Back to top