Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
John Louis Tower
 from Atlanta,GA,  Jul 2, 2009

I bought 2 of these units and they worked out really well. They give you a lot of shelf space, but the shelves are not included. You have to buy them separately, which is a little unusual. The assembly instructions are a little confusing, so I would suggest you read them several times and play with the parts before starting assembly. Once you get the unit assembled, it is very sturdy and looks really good. When comparing it against other shelf systems, this one was far ahead for value and looks. My wife likes it so much; I will probably be buying more in the near future!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good product
 from wa,  Mar 19, 2010

These closet organizers fill a gap in the available products for closet organizing - between the white wire and pressed board laminates and the out-of-reach-too-expensive-for-most-people custom units. They look high-end, the wood quality is just adequate and the hardware is just adequate -- but all together the end result is very pleasing, looks great and feels sturdy. Installing them is a job for someone that knows their way around a few power tools and has a little experience in finish carpentry. It took us all day (14 hours!) to install two kits plus an extra tower with doors and drawers. It was not simple and there were some spots that took a little extra engineering. Still in the end I am very pleased with the results. Good product if you can do the work.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, but tricky!
 from Raleigh, NC,  Apr 14, 2011

I had someone put this together for me, and I recommend that. I sat with him and saw his confusion over the design and the way this unit's pieces fit together. Since the description states that this piece can be free standing, we tried it that way. It was way too unstable. The sides actually bowed outward to the point that the shelves were too short to fit. My carpenter then braced it to the wall, so it is fine. However, if you do this, be sure to put the shelves where you want them first, because you will never get them out, and if you do not have them in, you will never get them in. The wire basket simply did not fit the unit, though I bought the size recommended. My guy rigged it so it does work but cannot be pulld out unless the cabinet is open. The end result is lovely. I bought the frosted glass doors, and the size is perfect for the spot where I put it. But, truly, the design is terribly flawed for functionality. Because of this, I consider this item to be overpriced. I expected smarter design for this price. I am still recommending it because the wood, though soft, is beautiful, as is the finished product if you can get it together.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent materials, flawed design for function.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Everything except the phrase "free standing."
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent
 from pooler,ga,  Apr 13, 2011

i thought it came with all the shelves not just 2 shelves.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? no, i thought it came with all the shelves not just 2.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Negative Review Title
 from Mpls, MN,  Apr 3, 2011

as much as I liked the product, very difficult for one person to put together. Shelves and or drawers are not included in the tower and nowhere did it state shelves and or drawers sold seperately. For the price shelves should be included!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good one!
 from NY,  Jan 25, 2011

I purchased this stand alone to complete my walk in closet. I also got the doors and drawers for it. While it took some time to put together, I really love it. I also got the closet system. It looks wonderful and I'm very happy with my purchase. I did have one problem with one of the drawers. I contacted the John Louis company about it as they shipped me 2 left sides for one drawer. They were absolutely wonderful and within 2 days the correct side was sitting on my porch. They shipped out to me immediately. Yes, I'm very happy with this company, my purchase and Overstock! Thank you!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Caution -- don't go by photo
 from Southern Maryland,  Jun 6, 2014

Be careful when buying the stand alone tower. It looks like it comes with shelves and drawers based on the photo on the Overstock website but it doesn't. By the time you buy some shelves and drawers, you'll more than double your cost. It's a good product, just not as complete as it looks, so be prepared.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
storage tower
 from Grosse Pointe, Mi.,  Oct 6, 2010

The quality of this storage unit was great , but it is too difficult to put together. I would have given this product 5 stars but the unit didn't come with shelves, so you have to spend addtional money to purchase shelving.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good
 from Milpitas, CA,  Apr 28, 2010

good but too expensive quality is ok.. made in china material.. overpriced..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from New York,  Mar 14, 2010

We bought the towers and added our own bars. Much cheaper than buying the whole system. The instructions were hard to follow but they were correct and in English! LOOKS GREAT!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
john louis standard closet system
 from orlando, fl,  Feb 10, 2010

great product, great price. looks like a custom installation.. because it is! give yourself an afternoon to complete, take your time and follow the instructions, you'll enjoy the finished product more knowing you did it yourself. some items in the kit arrived damaged, but we just mounted those parts facing the wall. installation starts out slow and gains speed as you move along. the configuration options are endless. we installed this in a 5 ft w X 4ft deep walk-in closet and only ended up with 1 3 ft length of shelf. I had also purchased the stand alone deluxe for this space or else i'd have been able to utilize the additional 3 feet section. Quite impressed with the finished product. It easily doubled our available hanging space plus a stack of shelves. Looks professional and i'm willing to bet it adds to the resale value of the home. It surely can't hurt it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Looks- Very practical
 from Cleveland,  Oct 19, 2009

This is the second product I purchased from John Luis. First was the Premium closet kit. The Mahogany looks great and upscale. It is a great start in making your room look modern and organized. The standalone tower has more depth than the premium closet kit and folded sweaters dont hung out of the shelves. I was happy to observe this because I didnt pay close attention to dimensions. It is disappointing to see that the tower and the 2 shelves are purchased separately because the 2 are inseparable. And if one adds the 2 prices, the total is questionable. Assembly is not difficult but not trivial either. The final product is sturdy and built to last, so take a breath, get out the drill, and give it some time. The instructions are clear. I also have great service experience with John Luis- I called to request an extra part, not because it was missing, but because I wanted more. They were so nice and quick. Overstock delivery was quick as well, which is pretty normal in my numerous interactions with O. Overall, I recommend the tower if u need a little extra storage space in a corner of your room, but the premium closet kit is much better if u need large storage space.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Closet organizer
 Apr 28, 2015

The quality is good, but I did not read the fine print. This organizer did not come with shelves. They have to be ordered separately which they takes the *** price tag to *** plus! The locking nuts break easily so do not over tighten. The wooden plugs for the screw holes are to small

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
micknsally
 Apr 7, 2015

these tower units are easy to put togetherBUT must be hung on a level ,plumb wall or you must shim them to level. Quality could be a little better some of the units are a little bowed out, but if you hang them with care and level everything it will minimize any bowing of units. The finish is good and comes with a scratch cover marker so you can fix any boo-boos.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

It's good quality made of REAL WOOD after all. If you seen the bad review claims that it fell from wall, he didn't mention if it's the shelves themselves broken (means poor quality), or the shelves falling away from the wall as a whole (means poor installation, nothing to blame the product). I guess that's the latter. To make a proper installation, ALL SCREWS MUST BE IN STUDS. NO ANCHOR SHALL BE USED. Use your brain to solve the problem when the location is not just right. Buy extra painted/stained wood stick or wood panel to reinforce if necessary. Drill holes on the shelf and install long screws where studs exists. These can make sure that they stick to the wall forever until the shelves themselves broke into pieces.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice quality
 Feb 17, 2015

Very red in color- not mahogany at all. Be aware - you only get the top and bottom shelves, not the four or five as shown in the pic. Would still buy as it is very good looking and nicely made but you definitely have to order extra shelves.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It
 from MI,  Jan 13, 2015

The towers are roomy and the quality of workmanship is outstanding. I would like to see stops at the back of the tower so shelves can't slide past the back, for those who want their closet systems to travel to next homes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really nice closet organizers!
 from Seattle, WA,  Nov 4, 2014

The towers are easy to put together using the provided hardware. The finish is great and makes it look nice inside your closet. They are tall so we installed them sitting on the floor of our closet, not hanging on the wall as shown in the photos. We did attach them to the wall though so that they are secure. The only down side is that they come with only the top and bottom shelves to construct the tower but do not come with the middle shelves, those must be ordered separately.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from St. Petersburg, FL,  May 30, 2014

Easy to put together. Sturdy. could not be happier with purchase

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
2 John Louis Standalone Towers and 4 sets of shelv
 from Cleveland Ohio,  May 26, 2014

This is a junky piece of furniture AND you have to purchase the shelving units separate. The shelves would not stay stable in the base, we had to stabilize it by screwing the middle shelve into the unit permanently to keep the other shelves from falling down after placing clothing and accessories on them. We would have returned them, but didn't realize they were so unstable until we started filling them with items. By that time we had already thrown all the huge boxes away. We bought 2 towers and 4 sets of shelves at a ridiculous price for such a poor product. ***

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought