Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 49 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
John Louis Delixe Closet
 from Denver,  Oct 2, 2013

My 3rd John Louis closet. Pros: Once on the wall, rock solid, adjustable shelves(4), easily configured and trimmed to fit for your space, looks good. I cut a leftover fixed shelf (for a 2nd closet rod) to make an extra adjustable shelf; instructions for this are in the booklet. Plenty of hardware, appropriate sized fasteners, and GREAT wall anchors. A decent value (NO flimsy particle board with vinyl covering), and looks nice when completed. Cons: John Louis install instructions are strange, but this unit's install seemed more "informative" and realistic than my previous 2. You will need a helper to install the tower as it is large, bulky and somewhat floppy until fastened. All else goes smoothly. Finish is ultra-thin, scratches easily. Touch-up pen is included (previous complaints, no doubt) If your mounting wall surface is uneven, ANY modular closet system install will give you problems, regardless of who makes it.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice system.
 from Buffalo, NY,  Apr 30, 2013

This system is exactly how it looks. It is very sturdy. Installation took a long time but that is the nature of the product. Plenty of measuring and leveling. We did have a couple of broken cam nuts and the wood split on one of the tower sides but a quick call to the MFG. and they sent out replacements asap....no charge.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent and worth the money.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? completely accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Quality Item
 Apr 29, 2013

We received our items in a timely manner and since we were doing some other work in our home, we had someone else install the closet organizer. With the measurements he took it went well and we installed two of these, with one one each side of the room. Once he got the first one up the second one took a lot less time. We plan to add a couple more rods and shelves on the one remaining wall and will order these as well. Great product and very happy with the end result.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The shelving, braces, and rods are all very sturdy and there are plenty of brackets, screws, etc.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I believe the description to be very accurate since the one we have in our closet looks just like the one in the picture!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Incredible Closet System
 from Miami, FL,  Dec 21, 2012

I had a friend assist with the installation of the product and he found it very easy to install. All the hardware comes in little bags and there are extras of everything. The color is beautiful and the system is very sturdy. It is an excellent product and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a closet system.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Acurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what we were looking for!
 from Pennsylvania,  Dec 6, 2012

We must have looked for 9mos. before we found this closet system on Overstocked. Originally we thought we would just have *** install cabinetry to make up the open closet portion of our new design room but the cost was Outrageous! The John Louis Deluxe Closet was beautiful and affordable. We did read all the reviews before purchasing and decided to take a chance. Our project had a 12' back wall and two short side walls. We were able to use the closet system to stretch the whole 12', even had to cut a few inches off the long bars and added several shelves and 4 drawers to the center tower. We used an additional shelf to fill the gap at the top of the tower since we had added two feet to the total length. We also ordered two extra towers for shoes ( shelves can be place on a slant) and for sweaters ... Now to understand the directions, After reading and rereading a few times we checked youtube and sure enough, wonderful tutorials! Now we confidently proceeded with the project. My husband is quite handy, always using a level and measuring everything twice we had the unit and side towers up in a few evening and a Saturday. The whole project took approximately 12 hrs and it is BEAUTIFUL! We even used our Club O points for new hangers...Thanks Overstock for supplying such a great product with free shipping!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Even richer
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
That was easy!
 from VT,  Nov 26, 2012

We bought two of these. We installed one in a 6 ft closet and the other one in a 10 ft closet. It went very well taking a total of about 8 hours. There are videos on the John Louis Home website that make it easy. they have them for every product they sell. If you are apprehensive about the project just watch these first and you will get a good idea of how difficult it is. The product is well made and fits together well. We really like using then. It's a great design for getting organized.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ecettent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Ontario,  Nov 12, 2012

Purchased two sets of the deluxe red mahogany closet system for our new house. The carpenter installed for us, so I can't speak to the ease of installation but the end product is gorgeous. Looks very high-end. My closet was slightly larger than the unit so the carpenter built a matching shoe rack to go beside it and I am thrilled with the results.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to colour
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Closet Project
 from Wichita, KS,  Sep 30, 2012

This is a great closet system. Our biggest challenge was figuring out how to configure since it is totally flexible in how you decide to install it. You will need someone to help you get it into the house and unboxed as it is solid wood and quite heavy. My husband and I were able to install the system in an afternoon. We will be purchasing more for other closet re-dos.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
YouTube Video for Instructions
 from Albany NY,  Aug 5, 2012

I am very happy with the product - we bought two closet systems (one for each side of the walk-in closet). The quality is good but you need to be careful with the wood because it's very easy to dent. When we opened one of the boxes, I found dents on the two side panels of the tower but luckily they were on the side that faces the wall. The most important piece of advice - watch the YouTube video (three parts) for instructions. They are very detailed and super easy to follow for someone with no prior experience. My husband and I installed both closets ourselves (neither of us is a professional carpenter). The first one took us three evenings a couple of hours each day. The second one only took us four hours (and I am 7 months pregnant!).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly what I expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality and Easy to install
 from Point Roberts, WA,  Feb 29, 2012

We are now installing John Louis Closet Systems in all our closets. WE love the quality and the ease of installation (my husband is pretty handy though). The order arrived on time and was very well packaged.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is a little more reddish than it looks but it is very rich looking
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the John Louis Closet System is excellent. This is the third closet we are replacing.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Closet System!
 from NC,  Dec 22, 2011

Husband could not stop raving about the quality and ease of this this product. He is not easy to impress when it comes to manufactured products and would rather build his own. Due to time constraints I convinced him we should buy this instead. We have both been very happy with it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matches almost exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, hardwood, good hardware
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Quality
 from Colorado,  Oct 12, 2011

We ordered 2 sets for a 6x6 closet. Installed 2 sides plus partial back wall. Had enough parts and pieces to do lots of shelving. It looks terrific and very professional. To install this you need to be very very handy. We have lots of tools plus a table saw!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True color as shown online
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality, all pieces fitting perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description of parts and pieces
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice system for the price
 from Baton Rouge, LA,  Aug 23, 2011

This is the second house we have bought this closet system for. This system is a very good quality for the price. It makes the closet look like we paid alot more for the system than we did. We were able to incorporate the deluxe system with the regular 12" reach in system for our closet, which is larger than the deluxe system accomodates. I plan on buying drawers and cabinet doors to help the tower look more high end than it looks already. Installation was easy if you follow the steps closely. Definitely want to tie into studs where possible.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The system seems to be of high quality. Everything is solid wood, and it looks very nice when installed.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome design and layout
 from Houston, TX,  Jul 21, 2011

I love this closet system! It is exactly what I expected. It did take some time to put together but it was very easy to follow the directions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. first rate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive
 from Payson, AZ,  Jul 18, 2011

this closet system exceeded my expectations, beautiful, solid wood, great color and can be adjusted to fit the space, LOVE IT!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality and very sturdy, solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Closet
 from SD,  Jul 17, 2011

This closet system is fabulous! We installed it in our newly remodeled master bedroom and it really POPS when you open the closet doors. The installation was fairly time consuming - it took us 6-7 hours to install, and my boyfriend is pretty handy. The instructions were pretty easy to follow, but it takes some time to get everything level and anchored to the walls. I would definitely recommend this closet system!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality was good-no issues
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!!!
 from Marion, IL,  Jul 15, 2011

I really love this closet system. I cannot review how "easy" it was to install because I had my contractor install it; although he did not have any problems with it. He particularly liked that it was adjustable -compared to the other closet systems available that did not have the ability to make adjustments.He was impressed with the quality & the look as well. My closet can be seen from the doorway so it was important for the system to look good. The mahogany is a very rich looking color. Shipping was incredibly fast - I received it within 3 days of my order!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice units
 from N.H.,  Jun 28, 2011

Nice unit. I bought one for each side of the master closet (the second one goes up alot quicker than the first). Seems very sturdy and looks nice. A couple pointers that might save some trouble... -buy some different variations of plastic wall anchors to have on hand. The wide ones that come w/ the unit might not alway work (i.e. hit a stud). You may need a few of the narrower variety -Insert wall anchors w/ a screwdriver...a cordless drill may break them (although they provide plenty of extras) -I used oversized screws to mount the "L- Hooks" (the main supports) to the wall. I used #8 x 2" instead of the #8 x 1-1/2" that come w/ the unit -If you only have a 7-1/2 ft ceiling height, be careful to mount the top shelf high enough so that the "tower" bottom does not hit your baseboard molding. In my case, I drew the "top line" 1 ft down from ceiling, and would not have worked if much lower than that. -leftover shelf can be converted into tower shelves (2 feet long). Use a FIINE tooth saw (ie. hacksaw) for your cuts else you may come up short. -try to hit studs whenever possible....especially with at least one side of (3) mounts for the tower. Plan/measure accordingly. -I used a couple leftover slats from a shelf to make a wall mounted belt rack that compliments the unit.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good, arrived w/ no damage
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good bargain and well made
 from Knoxville, TN,  Apr 14, 2011

My contractor put up these shelves in my new home. They are well made and well worth the money compared to other shelving systems. The color is very red, so I wish the company had more color choices. I ordered the first one for a guestroom and just purchased 3 more for the additional bedrooms.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the color of the wood
 from Spencer, MA,  Apr 13, 2011

I was very happy with the product. Everything came in the box as described. It was a little hard to put together. Def, recommend this closet. The price was good also.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 49 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
John Louis Standard Solid Wood Closet System
Add to cart to see special price
(112)
John Louis Deluxe Closet System
Add to cart to see special price
(29)
John Louis Deluxe Standalone Tower
Today $145.00
Compare $179.33
Save 19%
(31)
Back to top