Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Different experience to the bad reviews...
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 4, 2014

There aren’t a whole lot of options when it comes to this style of bookshelf/room divider. You can order something made of real wood and pay 5x the price or you can order this. Just so you are aware this product is made of MDF it’s similar in assembly procedure to most MDF furniture made by other brands such as Sauder, ClosetMaid, and the like. On the upside the MDF thickness of the shelves itself is far beyond anything I’ve ever seen at a retail outlet such as Target, Home Depot, Lowes, Walmart, etc. One support is made of thin MDF which is about the same as your standard MDF furniture you can get at those locations but it is the small support. The product shipped quickly, and arrived at my home with minimal damage. There was a bit of a scuff on a few pieces, and one dent. But I assembled the product in a way where those would not be visible. The instructions weren’t all that great, but if you’ve ever assembled this type of furniture before you really shouldn’t need them. I took my time assembling the shelves, and made sure to use some gorilla glue in the dowel locations (buy separately) because of other reviews that mentioned the shelves were unstable. The assembly procedure involved using a phillips screw driver to install the hardware by hand and then I tightened it via cordless electric screw driver to a torque of about 9. This resulted in a pretty darn stable bookshelf. There was no wobbling, and moving it by myself didn’t cause things to crack or break like other reviewers have mentioned. On the downside of things the bookshelf laminate looks like it was poorly done. The laminate is actually visible on the corners where 2 pieces of laminate meet and it looks like it will age poorly. Additionally the hardware I received was missing a couple of pieces. And I’m not a fan of how poorly the actual chrome bars between the shelves attached…it was far too loose for my liking. For the price I think this shelf offers style & stability. For some additional cash like money for Gorilla Glue, white touch up paint (to fix any blemishes), and some wood epoxy (to tighten up the fit for the chrome bars) which shouldn’t run you more than $15 you can have a pretty nice looking/sturdy shelf. If you want to go the extra mile you could spend a little more for some good paint and you’d have something that looks and functions as good as the bookshelf that costs 5x more.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The World's Most Interesting Bookcase
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 14, 2014

Honestly, I fell in love with this in the catalog, and I wasn't disappointed when it arrived. It's good quality, and it looks fantastic. I only have two minor complaints about this item. First, it should have probably come in two boxes instead of one. It was very difficult to get everything where it Second, the individual shelves are not quite tall enough for all the books I want to put in them. As I said, really minor complaints. Aside from that, it's been good. It's attractive and solid, and I expect it to be good for some time to come.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good purchase
 from Norman, OK,  Sep 12, 2014

Overall very happy with the shelves, I purchased two. Liked the style and the overall look, looks great paired together in my living room. Assembly was easy, just takes a little time when you do it alone. Only suggestion I would have is to have all sides colored and no raw sides: when you put the shelves together some of them did not come exactly together so you can see the part of the would not colored, I had to go over with a black marker. There were some scratches on some pieces of the wood but it gave it some character. Overall pleased w/purchase

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Piece
 from NY,  Sep 4, 2014

The order came very quickly. The instructions were very clear but it did take some time to put together. It was hard to do by oneself because the entire bookcase is very tall and I had to stand on a couch to put the last shelf on (I had to build it vertically instead of horizontally because of the small amount of space I had in the living room). Other than that the piece is beautiful, the wood is pretty sturdy i just wouldn't shake the entire thing too much.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid shelf, easy assembly
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 21, 2014

Assembled pretty easily and tons of great space available in my office now.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bookshelf
 from Austin, TX,  Aug 11, 2014

I had no problems with assembling or putting a lot of stuff (heavy books) on this bookshelf. It went together well, didn't come damaged at all (no scuffs, no dents, no nothing; it was perfect), and is very stable. We did end up using a nylon bracket to attach it to the wall since it does have those heavy books and is on our 2nd floor, but I have no qualms about the stability of the shelves. The only downside is that when we did drill into the top shelf, it felt like the middle material was foam, not MDF. Time will tell how this bookshelf fares, but so far, it's been absolutely perfect. Large, beautiful, and sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Could be better
 from Oklahoma City, OK. USA.,  Jul 22, 2014

It looks pretty decent, but it has a major design element you should know about before you buy. The shelves aren't tall enough to accommodate 8.5''*11'' documents vertically. I have a bunch of binders and bound documents that I can't fit in the shelf unit in the normal orientation, so I have to lay them down. This isn't really a problem, unless it's a problem for you. I know if I had known about this limitation, I would have kept shopping. I didn't take off another star because it's not really the designer's fault- I bought before I did all the research I needed. But before you buy, make sure you know it has this limitation. Otherwise, the unit is made of very lightweight veneer panels. Rather than come off as cheap, it strikes me as a design feature to make my life easier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelf, great price
 from Knoxville, TN,  Jul 19, 2014

Purchased this on sale. Very worth it! I loved the style already, but wasn't willing to buy it full price. I got an email it went on sale and we went for it! Love the shelves. They are stylish looking. And don't look cheap. Only challenge is they Are very tall. We rigged a wall anchor as it didn't come with one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It
 from Raleigh, NC,  Jul 18, 2014

As soon as someone sees it they ask me where I got it. It finished off my modern city loft decor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap quality with bad instructions
 from Union City, CA,  Oct 28, 2013

the shelf has looks but every thing else is bad. The package came with some of the face panels chipping off, scratches and the wood is badly pressed. one can fell the shelf give by pressing the board hard.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
attractive but fragile
 from Holden, MA,  Feb 18, 2013

Assembly was not complicated and took about 90 minutes. Once I attempted to move the item, however, screws ripped out of their sockets and dowels sheared off as the item snapped in half. Mind you, this was as 2 people were delicately attempting to position the item. Hopefully will be able to get refund. Stay away.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. waiting to break
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelving
 from Myrtle Beach,  Jan 17, 2013

This shelving is great. I needed a place for my collection of books 50+ and counting and ceramics. This fit the bill because it isn't a plain shelf system/bookshelf. I have been able to put all my books and ceramics on this shelving. Shelves are strong and all-around gorgeous to look at.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bookshelf
 from Dallas, Tx,  Jan 11, 2013

I have this bookshelf up against the largest wall in my living room. The shelving is absolutely gorgeous and serves as more than just a shelf for books. It is the new home for my vintage plates, porcelain elephants and books. The shelving is sturdy and I don't have to worry about it toppling over. There are six shelves so this is more than enough room for my items. Great buy for my home!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous!
 from Ft. Lauderdale,  Jan 8, 2013

This bookshelf is gorgeous. It looks great in front of any type of paint you may have on the wall. The unique design makes the shelf stand out in any room. One of the great things about it, is that you can organize your books, as well as place ceramics, vases or crystals on the shelves. Shelving is truly elegant and modern- love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks cheap
 from Omaha, NE,  Dec 15, 2014

It looks nice on Overstock website, but the quality is very poor. Looks cheap with low quality wood. Not recommended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique and modern
 from NE,  Dec 15, 2014

Love these bookshelves. I wanted something modern for our entryway sitting area/library. I ordered the ones in white, and I love the combination of white and the metal bars on the sides. We also bought 2, and side-by-side they almost look like 1 unit unless you look close, which I also love. The only possible downside is that you can't adjust the height of the shelves, but that's not a big deal to me. They were very easy to assemble and I love the finished look.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Zig Zag OK
 Dec 13, 2014

It is a cool look...the shelves are thin pressed board and not standard in size...so notebooks won't fit on them unless they lay down...ok for small objects but not good for office use

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handsome shelves
 from Ohio,  Nov 29, 2014

These are really handsome book shelves. A bit different from the usual plain book shelves, easy to put together although instructions could have been a bit clearer and bigger type. I bought two of them to go side-by-side and they really look nice together. I like the fact that the shelves are a bit thicker than any shelves I've bought before which makes them, along with the metal pole inserts, look like a more expensive unit. I was surprised how lightweight the whole thing was. I managed to put it together all by myself. Nothing was damaged at all upon receiving, was well packed and protected. I would recommend this shelving unit to anyone who wants a bit of a flare and style to their room. I don't think it works as a room divider though because of the way it is set up. I bought the espresso color and it's nearly black but goes well with my decor. Very happy with it and it's very roomy for all my books and nic-nacks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Nov 16, 2014

I love this piece. It's exactly what I wanted and looks even better in person. It's sturdy (though a wall anchor is a good idea), and it was easy to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shelf!
 from San Diego,  Oct 22, 2014

This is a great Shelf, it's the perfect size and looks very modern. The overall construction of the item isn't that great, a lot of the pieces feel loose but overall the design is great, it's functional and the color is as well really nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought