Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A lot of work - marginal quality for the price
 from Eastern Iowa,  Jan 6, 2012

I was excited to purchase this filing cabinet because I had a difficult time finding one that locked mulitple drawers and looked like a decent piece of office furniture. I read in the reviews that it was cumbersome to assemble, and I can tell you that my husband's frustration with this fully supports that notion. It took him nearly a day to assemble partly because we received instructions in Spanish, not English. Also, there are multiple parts that do not fit together well. As a result, the drawers needed to be adjusted quite a bit and I don't know if they will ever be perfect. Once I added my regularly-sized files, I had to shim up the front of the cabinet to avoid it trying to tip over when the bottom drawer is open. I am happy with the look and functionality of the cabinet, but at this price point it doesn't weigh out the frustration it takes to put it together and the fact that the parts don't fit together nicely. Two corners on the particle board for the backside were damaged as well, even though you will never see it. I just expected a little more for the amount of money I paid but it will work for a home office. I would hate to have to use it every day! The bottom of the drawers use particle board, and I laid some larger files there because they don't fit in the stand file hangers and the weight is supported just fine.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not as expected
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All reviews are consistent!
 from Long Island, NY,  Jun 4, 2013

All the reviews same the same thing and I should have listened. I experienced the same: 1) the directions are horrible. It did take a while to put together, and the assembly wasn't that difficult - after you figure out on your own what to do. It would be MUCH easier with better directions. 2) the top two drawers align with the frame, but the bottom two (file cabinets) do not. AT ALL. They are about 1-1.5 inches indented from the outer frame. 3) the lock is shoddy. It locks, yes, but when you give locked drawers a tug, the opposite side of the cabinet still tugs open a little. Also, note that the lateral drawers don't hold files laterally. Instead, they hold two rows of files per drawer, perpendicular to the front of the drawer. Sort of a waste of space, as if the files were held laterally, you could get a lot more in each drawer. I should have noticed this in the picture with the drawer slightly open. Overall, it looks nice, but I expected "espresso" to be chocolate brown - this is more blackish brown - and doesn't match my espresso desk. For the money, it's not worth the piece of furniture purchased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a little darker than "espresso" - more on the blackish with some brown side.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. durable pieces but shoddy when put together
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? half
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do not buy
 from New York, NY,  May 14, 2013

This is one of the most poorly manufactured pieces of furniture that I have ever put together. I'm pretty good at putting furniture together, but this took an entire day because so many pieces didn't actually fit - holes had to be adjusted, pieces had to be forced together to fit, etc. When we finally got it together, it managed to stay together for just a few months before drawers started coming apart and literally falling onto the drawers below. This is the biggest waste of money ever.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very, very poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wasn't even close
 from GRESSHAM. OR,  Mar 23, 2013

I will never buy the product again and not ever tell anyone to buy it. Cheap lock. every thing about it was way below any thin that should be on the market...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not even close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. cheap, to light weight, not sturdy, hard to asemble
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not even close
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Recommended
 from New Jersey,  Apr 30, 2013

Product was poorly made. Instructions were terrible and also were wrong. I would never buy any product from this company again. It was a waste of my time and energy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. terrible quality. Many pieces were damaged. When cabinet finally ( after 2 days) was put together it did not close
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? less than 50%
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
File Cabinet
 from Miami,  May 6, 2013

This file cabinet arrived with several damaged pieces. I have assembled several furniture products from Overstock and other companies without incident. The directions for assembly and the parts were horrible. Difficult to see parts, not clearly labled, and unable to see the positioning from the directions.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It looks good, too bad it's such bad quality
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jul 30, 2012

Summary: • Drawers do not align • Cabinet topples forward if one if the file drawers is filled and open • File drawers may have a design flaw causing them to fall apart I purchased this file cabinet along with some Inval desks on behalf of the office I work for. The desks were as to be expected for the price- meaning they are particle board (standard in this price range), but sturdy and look nice. The cabinet however, looks OK, if you are willing to ignore the fact that the drawers do not align (the top 2 smaller drawers align with the frame, where to bottom large drawers sink in). But the bigger problem is how unstable it is once the drawers are filled with files. The cabinet is not heavy enough in the back, so we have to be careful when opening the drawers as it easily topples forward. In addition, the front of one of the bottom drawers dislodged causing it to fall apart when I was filing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impoosible to put together.
 from usa,  Jul 10, 2013

The cabinet is entirely too complicated to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Should state assembly is required.
 from West Coast,  Mar 13, 2013

Product is very nice one assembled. It comes completely disassembled. The directions are a bit confusing and assembly takes some know how. Once assembled its very nice.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice material
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT PRICE. FLIMSY DRAWERS..BUT GREAT PRICE
 Apr 5, 2016

Probably wouldn't have ordered it if the price was higher. Other similar cabinets cost over $***. 2 small drawers on top were perfect for what I needed. I wouldn't expect it to last for generations. I haven't filled the file folder drawers so I'm concerned that the weight and daily use might be a problem. But it looks great in the office. Color was perfect to match my other furniture

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Garbage
 Jan 21, 2016

Save yourself 5 hours and a massive headache and skip this one. There are way too many pieces and the directions lack clarity. I had to contact the manufacturer because one of the pieces wasn't in the box. (customer service was great) not worth the price or the time investment.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Should have read the the reviews
 Oct 3, 2015

Worst assembly project ever. The instructions were some of the worst I've ever seen. Finally managed to put it together and it just looks really flimsy and cheap. Oh well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4 drawer cabinet
 Aug 20, 2015

top drawer and locking mechanism is a little flimsy, but the rest of the cabinet is solid.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mr. Fix it to my rescue
 Aug 6, 2015

This is a nice enough unit for the price , once it is put together. A bit of a challenge to assemble and the directions not the easiest to follow.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent
 Apr 21, 2015

Difficult to put together. Initially put the top drawer lock in backwards but even after it was refitted correctly the drawer still doesn't lock. Doesn't really matter as I didn't plan to use the lock anyway. Deep enough bottom drawer for hanging files to hang properly and the top three drawers are long enough to lay plans flat.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Instructions are not for idiots
 Feb 27, 2015

To all of those who wrote reviews on this item that indicate the instructions are flat out wrong, just a note, I put this thing together in about two hours, ALMOST made a mistake on the placement of the tracks for the lower file drawers. The picture makes it look like the tracks are misaligned. They are not. It's a raised perspective shot that's almost impossible to see, but it's there. Use common sense when reading these poorly-written instructions, and at the end of the day, you will have no problems. The only reason I'm not giving this item five stars is because the drawers wiggle back & forth a little bit (bad tracks, I'm assuming) when they are pulled out fully. Aside from that, it's a pretty solid piece of furniture that looks very nice in my home office.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for $$ spent.
 Feb 6, 2015

I was hesitated in ordering this because of problem reviews. My husband, who is handy said that he would make it work. However, putting it together really presented no problems. The directions are horrible, but it worked well just following the numbered pieces. Some reviews cited drawers that don't fit quite right, but we had no trouble. The back pieces were cracked and from other reviews, I believe that Overstock would have replaced them. However, once they were put in place, the cracks were difficult to see and once the drawers were installed, they couldn't be seen at all, so I decided not to seek replacement. By no means is this a fine piece of furniture, but for the price paid, it is good value. It's in a home office and provides much storage space with two additional drawers which I use for extra printing and office supplies. I also purchased the desk which matches this and it's a nice set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Inval four drawer file cabinet
 from Raleigh NC,  Dec 8, 2014

This product looks pretty good in the pictures, but the quality is not terrific. I don't believe it would hold the amount of files it's sized for as it is not all that sturdy. It was a little difficult to put together compared to some of the other home assembly furniture we have purchased in the past. My husband ended up adding an additional panel of plywood on the back to give it more rigidity. It looks nice, but I don't imagine it will hold up well and we will would not purchase this name brand product again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Flimsy
 from Florida,  Sep 24, 2014

It's very flimsy and cheaply made...not the quality I expected. It was also missing a part.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Four drawer organizational system
 from Oswego, NY,  Aug 31, 2014

This item is exactly what I wanted to include in my office space for my new business, no other product exists like it, therefore I bought it, knowing the reviews were so bad. Not happy! No directions included, very poor construction. A total nightmare to put together! Now that it is together, quality is very very poor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 33 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought