Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very disappointed
 from bloomington,  Apr 16, 2012

This product was a big disappointment. The design is gorgeous: engineering all makes sense, and once it is up, fully extended and open, it looks beautiful. HOWEVER, the base is too flimsy to withstand wind, even when weighted down with sandbags per intstruction. The aluminum base bars simply bend, even though weighted, and the thing falls over. In addition, the one element that supports the umbrella (which is big and heavy) when fully extended is a flimsy piece of plastic that broke after a few days of use. Which makes the entire unit now unusable. It would be too expensive and backbreaking to box it back up for return, so I have to drag it to the curb for trash pick up, and just eat the $*** price tag on the product. What's worse than that, though, is that the base, in bending, left scratches and gouges in muy beautiful deck. Permanent damage. Even if you were to bolt the base to your deck, the lightweight aluminum base would still bend with pressure, and probably tear a deck board out. A real shame, since it is beautiful. It needs to be built with heavy gage metal to support the weight of the ten ft umbrella. A total loss.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? slightly misleading
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the $$$$
 from Portland, OR,  Mar 29, 2012

The umbrella arrived within a few days of ordering. The hardware was loose in the box and I came up one bolt and washer short of a complete kit. But I'm one of those guys who keeps spare hardware just for circumstances like this, and I happened to have the hardware in my garage. If I hadn't, a quick trip to the hardware store would have solved the problem. Annoying? Yes. Insurmountable? Definitely not. I put the umbrella together in less than 30 minutes and everything functions fine (for now). I anchored the base with about 150 pounds of sand bags. Seeing how much weaker this umbrella is than the one it replaced, I will always have it folded away when not in use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK when base is modified
 from Fairhaven, MA,  May 22, 2012

I had one of these umbrellas and knew what to expect. The base needs to be either bolted down to a concrete slab, or do what I did: use an existing fence post to secure it from falling during light winds (I used four stainless steel hose clamps, with a few wooden spreaders to allow the sliding mast to work correctly.) This umbrella also needs one or two bungee cords when the wind starts picking up. Other than the above, it gives a good amount of shade for a few chairs under the sun....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be OK, but I can see the base is the weak point.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the cranberry color was pink, not cranberry
 from Georgia,  Jun 3, 2012

biggest issue besides color was a $**return price that I had to pay--the color on the webpage was what I wanted, however the color was completely off and I have to pay to return. Not good, in my opinion. Probably will not deal with them again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not even close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sent it back
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate except color
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cantilever umbrella works well
 from Columbus, OH,  Jul 7, 2012

The size is just right to keep the sun off our dock. The fabric is heavy, so you have to be sting and adept to uncrank and crank it. Once it is open, it's just a happy sight!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was just what I wanted
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mechanism to crank works well. Fabric is sturdy. Assembles easily.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was good. You should know that the base requires 4 patio blocks, which might work in a lite breeze, but we slid out umbrella down over a pier pipe.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
3 meter cantiever umbrella
 from NC,  Apr 7, 2012

Didnt know if the base was included, so I called. The lady couldn't find the umbrella on their site. I ordered it anyhow, hoping it would be included. It was. Happy with the purchase. And it arrived on time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Favorable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MUST USE (4) 12" Concrete Pavers for Base Support
 from San Fernando Valley, Los Anegles, CA,  Dec 14, 2013

I'm surprised all the people who bought this and complained it falls over. They did not read the description on the sales page here, that it MUST be weighted down at the base with (4) 12' square concrete patio paver stones, otherwise it will fall over. Duhhh... I first bought one of these 6 year ago from my local patio store, who came out and delivered and set it up with the required patio paver blocks for the base weights at a cost around $***. I bought it then because of its affordable - nicer patio umbrella this size cost around $****. It works and looks great for the first few years However for this price, long term reliability is an issue. And I live in Socal where the weather is moderate Here's what happened to mine: New - The pull cord cup that opens the umbrella arms doesn't really mate up well with its cord socket when the umbrella is open. No big deal. Not really noticeable to anyone but the owner. 2 years - the wind spun the umbrella arm around and broke the center locating bolt in the support post that allows rotating the umbrella from side-to-side. I am a mechanic, so if was able to drill a larger diameter hole in the support post and install stronger bolt, no real problem. Do remember to close the umbrella in windy conditions over 10mph or it can break the arm or flip over. 4 years - the internal cord that opens and retracts the umbrella, rotted and broke (it must be cotton?). I took the Crank Assembly and Umbrella stand/arm apart to install a new heavy duty 3/16' nylon cord/rope. Not having done it before, it did take a few hours to figure it out and simple hand tools. 6 years - The hand crank ratchet mechanism wore out and the umbrella would no longer stay open. It was not repairable. The umbrella cloth is rotting and tearing. Time to replace it - so you can expect an outdoor life for it of about 4-6 years. So why am I buying another one with all these reliability problems and short working life? Because I know its flaws and how to repair it, and the low price on Overstock.com at just $***.** with free shipping and no sales tax is so dam cheap. I can't afford not to. The cost of replacing it over the long run, is still probably much less than buying a more expensive model. And the design only takes up a small foot print on my patio next to the 6' round patio table and chairs that it covers quite well.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

First of all the box arrived so beat up it look like it had been toss off a moving train, The box had been taped and re-taped many many times. That made me concerned right away. The people who bought it before must have found the same thing I did. Once I got pass the mangled box, I opened it and could tell right away it was not going to be good. The canopy part of the umbrella was dangling from a string, but I continued on hoping that it would be alright. Well all was not well. I assemble the cross bar stand with the upright pole as the instructions stated. After that the instructions seem as if it was for an entirely different product. It referred to buttons and snap on that were not on this product. So, I continued with the assembly with just my instincts. Once I had it up, my fears can true. There was so much stress on the cranking mechanism I was afraid it was going to snap. So, I decided that this is a piece of crap and I need to take it down and send it back. Closing the umbrella was nearly impossible, because of stress on the pole I had to use a rubber mallet to remove the cap that hold the umbrella. Now I am sending this back and think I should expect to pay more if I want to get a good quality offset umbrella. My final advise is to disregard the favorable reviews. I'm not sure what umbrella they received, but it could not have been the one I got:(

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is bad
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
disappointing
 from amarillo, texas,  May 26, 2013

I'm not happy because I'll have to buy a new one this season.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was terrific until the string broke. We have high winds in west Texas so i was sure to have it down all winter. When i got ready to raise it'for the springtimethe cord must have rotted it no longer works very disappointed since i made sure to take care of it during the long winter
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
no hardware
 from tx,  Apr 24, 2013

Very disappointed- I was not informed that the hardware was not included- if they said that in the description I would have been better prepared- very disappointed in product

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far so good except we had to purchase our own hardware to put this together
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not very- since they didn't specify what was needed to put it together
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't place in a windy area
 from Milton, DE,  Jan 29, 2013

For the money this is a nice umbrella. If you are short, as I am, you'll need to stand on a stool to fully open this umbrella. It is very large and will cover a dining size table but it should not be used in a windy area. We live at the beach and wanted the umbrella for extra shade but it spent more time closed than open because it does not handle the wind well at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The rope connecting the umbrella to the lever could be a better quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? You could elaborate more on the quality of the base.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cantilever Umbrella
 from Temple Hills, MD,  Sep 13, 2012

I love the umbrella! It was easy to put together and the construction had some positives that did not exist in the umbrella it replaced. Because of the way these types of umbrellas are made, the weight of the canopy is a weak point and stresses the string that controls the opening/closing mechanism. (The Ikea version lasted less than one season.) This new one is very stable and has support pins to take the weight off that string - the initial failure point in the old umbrella. A great buy. I will probably purchase another.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color matched the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The product description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
International Caravan Three-Meter Cantilever Crank
 from Shippensburg, PA,  Jul 21, 2014

The item was easy to assemble (very little assembly required) and easy to erect. The base is not all that stable, and needs to be mounted on a board or screwed onto a deck floor (couple sandbags word as well). But it functions well, is sturdy, looks great and covers a wide area. Perfect for my needs at an exceptional price.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not even close
 from Home,  Jun 14, 2014

Total wrong color from what's pictured. Was a dark Forrest green. Of course overstock says its a monitor issue. What a joke.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
needs better fabric material
 from Boston,  Apr 26, 2014

The umbrella is very easy to assemble. Like most umbrellas, it must be anchored using concrete. And, like most umbrellas, you should close it in high winds and NEVER leave it open unattended for days when you will be away. A big winds WILL damage it. My concern is umbrella canopy fabric is so thin you can actually see through it. It is the cheapest fabric that I ever seen. Although it is brand new, I am in the process of seeking to buy a replacement fabric for it. If I knew the fabric was so thin. I would not have purchased it. In good faith, I can't recommend to buy it. However, I only paid ***. So, once again, you get what you pay for. I just might buy a more expensive one from a store so I can actually see it BEFORE I buy it. .

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not recommended
 from Bradenton, Florida,  Apr 21, 2014

It WILL NOT stand up. Falls over and stratches the base. Pretty when you hold it and covers alot, however, cannot use and having trouble returning it.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CoCo
 from CA,  Apr 10, 2014

It did not work anymore after one season. I don't know how to open it and it just get stuck. I will not recommend to others.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the color was great
 from florida,  Mar 11, 2014

the umbrella is great its a little wind prone but other than that just great on my porch.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value - needs a solid base if freestanding
 from San Diego,  Feb 14, 2014

Many reviews indicate that it's "flimsy" or "falls over easily" ... I knew that going into it so I also purchased a massive base from overstock (http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Shademobile-Rolling-Umbrella-Base/6771398/product.html). That base, filled with heavy sand, totals around 140# and for the most part keeps things in place. When we have more than a gentle breeze, the umbrella will move a bit ... so I don't leave it extended when not using. We bought the bright green color which looked fabulous when we purchased it. Our roof deck gets full-on sun in the spring-fall, so it has faded a bit in the 1st year - but that was not a surprise. There are "better" and heavier cantilever umbrellas out there - but at $XXX and up. This umbrella plus base (with coupon) came in at well under XX% of that, and I expect it will last a few years, so overall I'm happy with the value.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Way too tippy
 from Missoula, MT,  Sep 3, 2013

This product will really only work if bolted down! The idea of placing weights on it did not work at all in my situation.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top