For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Balau patio furniture
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Nov 14, 2010

I purchased two Balau large rocking chairs, two matching chaise loungers and one matching storage chest. I am extremely pleased on the quick receipt of the furniture. I ordered them on a Monday, and they were delivered via Fed Ex within three days. I asked a friend to help me assemble the furniture. The assembly was much easier than expected, all the holes matched the screws, and only one screw was missing. The extra person was handy since the pieces were heavy, which I wanted due to strong Texas winds. The stain on the wood was honey-colored and evenly applied. The wood was smooth with no nicks. I researched the wood, and learned it's a hardwood comparable to teak. The only complaint I have is that items inside the storage chest are not completely protected from water. I put some cushions in the chest and checked them after a rain. The cushions were damp, so I plan to add a heavy, clear plastic on the inside of the box. The rocking chairs have a large seat and high back, which I prefer. The cross bar on the top, back of the chaise lounger is metal, so I believe it will be strong. The loungers also have trays that slide out on either the left or right side. Overall, I'm extremely pleased with the delivery, assembly, and final product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
comfortable, but rocking is a little too short
 from Northern California,  Jul 2, 2013

The chair itself is very sturdy and comfortable to sit in. Very roomy. Maybe it is because we are short people, but the rocking on this chair seems a little short - not quite enough back-and-forth motion for us to really love this chair. As a result, we use it less than we expected.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Can't wait to rock my grandchildren in it!
 from Lancaster, PA,  May 27, 2012

I love this chair. Got rid of an overstuffed, run down chair and replaced it in our bedroom. Perfect for getting little ones down for those naps while the mommies and daddies visit. Nice wide seat so the arms don't cut into my legs. Looks so good in our room I just put a nice throw on it and my new pillows and walla....gorgeous!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good solid chair
 from KY,  Oct 4, 2012

The chair was a replacement for a different chair I ordered that arrived with some cracked parts. I hadn't initially intended to get this, but it was the only one suitable. I wish I had ordered it first and avoided all the trouble. It's perfect. I use it as a computer chair (naturally with a vinyl floor pad to keep it from scarring my hardwood floor). The chair gives a great sense of solidarity in a small country-themed room. I'm 5'8" and 165 lbs, and it has good dimensions for me. It's very comfortable. Thanks, Big O. As usual, you came through!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy, holds up well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Difficult to put together and not comfortable
 from Central Florida,  Oct 25, 2011

I'm disappointed with this purchase. Neither the box, the tag, nor the item confirms the type of wood and whateever the wood is it's pretty rough. The chair is uncomfortable to sit in, and it doesn't rock well either. The chair, made in Viet Nam, has a very interesting system for assembly that requires both of the allen wrenches which were included. Two other tools, a small flashlight to line up the holes and a rubber mallet, made the process somewhat easier but it took me over 2 hours to put the chair together. Only time will tell if the joints will hold up under use but I have my doubts. If I could have seen the chair before I bought it, I wouldn't have spent the money on something of such poor quality. As usual, shipment was quick.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Questionable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Information on box and tag seem not to match the description given by Overstock.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good craftsmanship!
 from Fort Collins, Colorado,  Sep 3, 2010

Love it, recommend it and have! My husband is a master carpenter and even he was impressed about my "good find" on overstock. Also purchased the porch swing that is part of this set and it completes my front porch!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love my new chairs
 from Cedatedge, CO,  Oct 5, 2013

They were very easy to put together and they were delivered SO FAST... My husband is 6' 6" and needs a larger chair and these are GREAT and they have a really nice rocking motion to them. I have some physical issues with sitting too low and trying to stand up, with the height of the chairs seat it makes it very easy to stand up from a sitting position. I am so glad that I bought 2 of them.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Doesn't really rock...
 from Laramie, WY,  Jul 20, 2013

Called a rocking chair (and actually looks like one), but it doesn't rock... unless pump your legs like your doing a workout. Very disappointing. Terrible design. Don't buy it. I wish I didn't.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Has problems.
 from MA,  Jul 11, 2014

Had this chair on my deck for 2 months. Color is fading and upright posts are cracking from the top. Water will collect in the cracks and this is not good. Looking for a way to salvage this chair.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Gift
 from Pennsylvania,  Oct 5, 2012

A group of co-workers sent this to another co-worker as a gift. He says it is beautiful and really loves it.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate but it said it comes assembled but it does not. You have to assemble it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Comfortable Rocker
 from Orlando, FL,  Oct 23, 2011

We use these rockers on our covered patio area and they are wonderful. This patio area is decked and the rockers don't rock easily but they do rock. I think the decking prohibits a free-flow rocking. But we enjoy them very much while eating breakfast or having a late afternoon happy hour.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good, although a little lighter than the deep "teak" look
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very sturdy, large seat and back, very comfortable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would buy again!
 from Nebraska,  May 5, 2011

Have been looking for patio furniture for a couple of years. Was debating between this rocker and one from *** for about the same price. The reviews led me to buy from Overstock.com. Bought two rockers and two of the chaises. A little tricky putting together, but once I got going, had all four pieces together in less than two hours. Did some research on woods too before purchasing and balau is similar in density to teak, just less expensive because it's not on the endangered wood list. Very good quality, especially the hardward. Nothing missing, no extra tools needed. My husband and I will be enjoying these for a long time to come.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great chairs
 from NC,  Jul 22, 2011

Perfect chairs for our porch outside at the beach. Very heavy and won't blow away. Wood is a nice color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Theses are well made and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top