Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Hellish Assembly, Color Off
 from Western North Carolina,  Mar 29, 2012

The color of the unit I received was more walnut than the cherry appearance in the photo. The finish on it is pretty smooth, typical of imported wood products. Mine arrived intact in two big boxes. The table is mostly as described, but there are two shelves inside the base, which is good. That having been said; I think that this Wooden Bar Table was obviously designed by the Vietnamese as revenge for the war–I have never had a more frustrating experience assembling anything. The holes that metal nuts go into are just slightly too large...this allows them to freely tumble around and not sit still so you can screw into them. Simply maddening! I can tell why other just gave up and used extremely long screws to assemble it. The best clue I can give you is that there are two identical hex wrenches included; to successfully assemble this, you will need to use them both at once; one holding the nut still, and the other to turn the bolt. Very difficult. As with most things on Overstock, it is far easier to keep the item than return it, so you just make do and chide yourself silently for being such a cheapskate.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The table was much darker and less reddish than the photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Assembly was a nightmare, as others had indicated.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The table has two hidden shelves inside the base, a nice bonus that wasn't mentioned anywhere.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
holding up well
 from washington dc,  Aug 8, 2011

I held off writing this review until i had it for a full year. The table is outdoors on a condo balcony that has a protective overhang. I live in the MidAtlantic which gets 4 seasons. I cover the table for 4 months in the winter but it gets wet on occasion. I try to wipe off water after a rain but don't get to it always. The table looks really good still. There is no warping or split wood and the color still looks nice. We set an electric grill on the table top and have spilled/splattered oil but it doesn't seem to affect it. We have overloaded the bottom shelf with lots of heavy things/beers on ice without any sagging. I agree with the other reviewers that it was very difficult to put together. In fact, there was a chunk of wood in what was supposed to be a pre-drilled hole that we had to re-drill.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. surprisingly good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Totally excellent!
 from Montgomery, AL,  Sep 11, 2010

I love this bar table. My husband was out of town and I couldn't wait to put it together to see it so I did it one night as I watched TV! It is absolutely the easiest piece I've ever assembled! The color is great and the storage behind is really nice. It is outside on our covered patio, it looks great and we have really enjoyed using it daily and for large parties!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bar table
 from Graford, TX,  Jul 4, 2007

This bar table is listed as outdoor, but I am using it indoors. Looks great with my southwestern decor. It wasn't too difficult to assemble, even doing it by myself. The back slat of the top piece ended up breaking off of that particular part, but it was very easy to fix using Gorilla Glue and you can't even see that there was a problem. The parts that broke (I am sure it happened in transit) are not in visual range - two dowels and two stabilizing pieces at the bottom/back of the top of the bar. I'm glad I didn't bother requesting a return/replacement because this bar table looks great! I am using three bar stools with it, one on each side and one in front, but it would easily accomodate four. I tried putting one behind the bar, but you have to sit with legs off to the side since there is a shelf that hits the shins. Nice storage space under the bar and overall a nice, sturdy piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK piece, be prepared for some minor issues
 from Palos Verdes, CA,  Mar 17, 2007

Piece was solid and packed well. However, several of the supports were cracked. Instead of returning we used wood glue and fixed them. They were not visible so we decided to keep the product. Also one of the holes for a support bolt was not drilled, we had to manually do it ourselves. Product assembled quickly and all parts were shipped with product. For the price, the piece was worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A very solid piece
 from Bay Area, CA,  Sep 2, 2010

The product is better and more substantial than I had hoped. The wood is heavy and of high quality, with an excellent finish. The pieces fit together nice and snug. My only compaint is that the instructions were lacking. Certain boards were shown as interchangeable when they were not, requiring a slight disassembly and a 2nd attempt at completing the bar table. I'm also not a fan of using an allen wrench for every fastener. Still, the end result is excellent, and I would recommend this product to other buyers.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
VERY STURDY!
 from Pasco, WA,  Mar 27, 2010

The solid wood construction made the table very sturdy. We haven't tried it outside in the weather yet, but hope the wood will be weather-resistant. There was some swearing by my husband as he put it together. It's definitely a two-person project! He's assembled a lot of furniture and said this was one of the worst, but the outcome was so good, I've given it 4 stars. I think the table will provide many years of use.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Value
 May 18, 2008

We looked everywhere for an outdoor bar to match our furniture, and couldn't find it anywhere until we found it on overstock. It took us a while to put it together, but it's worth every penny. It looks wonderful and we love it. I would highly recommend it highly to everyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with this purchase!
 from Texas,  Apr 30, 2014

We have a pool and outdoor kitchen so we frequently have guests over and entertain out on the patio often. Although I had been looking for a buffet style piece with doors for storage, I was unable to find such an item at a price I was comfortable with. Therefore, when I came across this bar at such a reasonable price I purchased two. The items shipped almost immediately. Both bars were in great condition when they arrived just a few days after I placed my order. I assembled both in a few hours with minimal help from a friend. They are beautiful and are perfect for our needs. I placed them end to end along a wall on my patio. I placed them in a way that the back of the bar is actually turned to the front so that I am able to use the shelves for the storage I needed. The top surface of the bars give me ample space to lay out a huge buffet or simple snacks for a small gathering. I purchased some decorative baskets to go on some of the shelves in which we put all of the items we want to have easy access to on the patio. The only disappointment I had was that some of the stain dripped down the sides of the rails that create the top of the bar. These dried drip marks are visible, but were not a huge enough deal for us to want to return these items. Minor aesthetic issue only in my opinion. I have only had my bars a few weeks so I cannot speak to the durability or how they will hold up in the weather long term. However, I have splashed water on the bars while watering plants. The wood seems to be very well treated as the water simply rolls off without leaving any kind of water mark or stain. So, in a nutshell, I am thrilled with this bar and look forward to using them for a long time.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple bar table with character
 from Latrobe, PA,  May 7, 2013

Classic bar table height and wood quality is good. Does require one person approx. 1 hour to assemble. A few pre-drilled holes were stripped so I needed to find longer screws. I wanted to add additional table area to a patio, but when not needed, the table's function becomes a serving table/bakers rack also very nicely!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor workmanship
 from La Crescenta, CA,  Aug 14, 2011

This is the first item I have ever ordered from Overstock that had issues. The workmanship was subpar. The instructions were very scanty and unclear. Screw holes did not line up. I had to redrill several of them. The wood showed signs of cracking and being glued back together. I only kept it because I needed it for a party.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not up to Overstock standards.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We love the finished product. My husband had some challenges in assembling due to one of the bolt things needing to be replaced. Go ahead and buy the piece if you are considering it, it's really great, just make sure you, or a helper, is up to putting it together. Once that's done, you'll have something really nice that's very functional.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality overall, but quality control on screw holes and lack of clear instructions made this more of a challenge
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
top not secure
 from East berlin pa,  May 14, 2011

It is a solid piece, nice looking. Directions r super bad. My brother happen to be over and i asked him to help....next time i will pick someone with patience. Missing screws. Back piece was cracked on bottom. Packing was poor. Put it together loosely first before u tighten anything we had trouble getting pieces and gave up on some. Let me put it this way we had bolts and pieces left over never a good thing. The main issue i have now is the top is not secure. I used a hammer to pound it into the side pieces that had the petruding screws and it is ok but i plan to buy wod screws and secure it better as it is too questionable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outdoor Wooden Bar Table
 from Long Island, NY,  Apr 20, 2008

Overall, this bar is attractive and a good value. However, the instructions are sub standard. There is no text, only pictures and it is not clear that all pieces need to be joined and ready PRIOR to screwing together. This point resulted in a lot of frustration during assembly. In addition, some of the holes/screws did not properly secure the wood. The top piece of the bar is discolored in 2 places, but I am optimistic that it will weather well with time. We have used it once for entertaining and received many compliments. We are pleased with this item.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great table
 from NC,  Jun 26, 2007

This table is beautiful, great quality, and easy to put together. We're using it as a cooking platform to hold a mini grill.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It doesn't fit!
 from New Jersey,  May 14, 2007

Well, that was 4 hours of a Saturday afternoon I'll never get back. Putting this bar together was a nightmare. In the end, the wooden rails that the shelves and top use to attach to the body were incorrectly installed by the factory. They were a half inch off (obviously measured on-center instead of outside edge) and had to be removed and moved closer together. Not easy since they were glued and screwed in. Also, one of the slats on the top came off and had to be repaired. Unless you don't mind some extra carpentry work, stay away from this one!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wooden bar
 from Rockland, NY,  May 7, 2007

great product!! Used it for a large party , got many compliments on it, everyone loved it. Had a glass table top made for it. Plan to use it as a potting table when not in use as a bar

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bar table problem
 from Annapolis, MD,  May 5, 2007

We received the product in a timely fashion. It was well constructed and easy to put together. When we notice significant damage to the bar top we contacted overstock by email. The next day we received an apology and within 2 weeks we had our new top at no additional charge. We love the product and it was exactly as pictured and described in the add. Thanks again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
satisfactory purchase
 from New York,  Sep 9, 2006

Aside from missing a few screws that came a week later, I am satisfyed with my purchase. It came promptly in two large and heavy boxes. It's a solid piece. Wood color is actually darker than shown on picture. took about 2hrs to assemble. I would rate this purchase 3 out of 5 stars

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Montego Bay U-shaped Bar
Today $384.97
Compare $649.99
Save 41%
(8)
Riviera Outdoor Woven Bar
Today $536.99
Compare $899.00
Save 40%
Bali Hai Natural Teak Finish Bar
Today $323.69
Compare $779.99
Save 59%
(5)
Bali Hai Natural Teak 5-piece Bar Set
Today $606.99
Compare $907.80
Save 33%
Back to top