Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk with some flawa
 from New York, NY,  Jul 23, 2010

I loved the design of the desk. The color is warm and cheerful. The desk is not heavy. Carving is little rough but looks nice from far. Price may be bit high but if you love the design, want can you do? My problem is that the desk seems to have been banged around during delivery and has few dents and chips. I would consider returning but there are only two desks of the same design in stock as of 7/23/10. I guess I will have to live with it... If you are not a perfectionist and understand to buy it as an overstocked item with possible minor flaws, then it is recommended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good dollar value
 from Milford, CT,  Mar 29, 2013

Item 12713013 Secretarial Desk I received, was shipped from warehouse in Texas on 26 Mar 2013, and arrived in good shape because shipping carton was double boxed. It was simple to assemble, requiring only the legs to be bolted into place. Pull-down writing surface measures 25.15 wide, by 12.4 inches deep. I was hoping a full sized laptop would fit inside the main drawer, whose inside dimensions measure 18.65 wide, by 9.88 inch deep. This depth is too small for most laptops, and a full sized laptop cannot be stored inside, when front panel is pulled-up into closed position. Construction was somewhat impressive, considering the price. Front & sides are furniture grade raised-panels, which will allow the unspecified hardwood to expand and contract with seasonal humidity changes, without cracking or checking. Even the drawer bottoms and rear panel are make of thin Luan board, not pressed cardboard like cheaper furniture. Carving on front panel, leg tops, and aprons is genuine, and of medium quality. However, it is obvious that reason cost was so low, is that this desk would never pass any decent quality control inspection. There were about six sample defects on the unit I received. They included finish flaws, minor checking on two of solid hardwood leg tops, and minor impact indentations. I sealed all four leg tops with some linseed oil before assembly, to eliminate any chance of further checking. I also fixed the finish flaws, and added floor gliders to all the leg bottoms, because this detail was not addressed by the manufacturer. All in all, it is a well made solid piece of furniture, at about a fifth of the cost of a perfect one, at a quality furniture store. Most importantly, my wife likes it because she says it got eye appeal, and is light enough for her to move about easily. So I can overlook a few blemishes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Minor flaws & dents
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Close enough, but country of fabrication and type of hardwood used should have been specified.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just perfect
 from IN,  Jun 10, 2011

Was looking for an inexpensive desk to fit the colonial theme in our office, and this turned out to be just perfect. So excited to find without having to leave my house!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? very good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? sure did
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hand-carved Hard wood small Secretary Desk
 from Wiscasset, Me,  Jul 7, 2012

I received it in fairly good time. When I took it out of box I was slightly disappointed. There was quite a few nicks on the front of it. and a few dents. It's a sturdy little desk and a cute design. It looks like an antique desk. My husband took a q-tip and some varnish and dab it in the nicks. You can barely see them now. They could have packed it better. We love it though and it fits perfect in our room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so so...
 from Palisades Park, NY,  Aug 17, 2011

very hard to assemble even if i only had to insert the legs. The quality itself is not that great, the wood is really cheap looking (made in china) but im just satisfied with what i got.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Secretary Desk
 from St. Paul, MN,  Dec 2, 2014

I was so excited when I got the package. But then I opened it..... What a disappointment! Scratched, not painted well, dry drops of varnish.... I could go on and on. I am just VERY dissatisfied!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from il,  Mar 29, 2014

heavy duty, well made. am so glad I found it on o.co. other sites had it but much more expensive and had tp pay shipping of 50.00 or so depending on site.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cute desk for the price, looks as described,
 from Odessa, Tx.,  Jul 26, 2013

I order this desk for a specific place in my den. I am quite satisfied with this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I looked in many of our local antique shops for a small secretary desk to put in my bedroom and wasn't able to find one. This desk was just what I was searching for and the size and color are perfect for me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The one i receieved looked just like the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not perfect but the quality was good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful desk
 from Solon Springs WI,  Mar 28, 2013

This desk was exactly as advertised, the little defects you can't even see, for the price it is a very good product

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. total satisfactory
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Secretary Desk
 from Pennsylvania,  Jan 30, 2013

I had been looking for a small secretary desk for some time and this one is exactly what I had in mind I just love it and it enhances by room with its apperance

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wood color and quality are superb
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Secretary desk
 from Glen Burnie, MD,  Dec 2, 2012

The desk came a week after i ordered it. It looked just like the picture online. It was easy to assemble unlike what the other comments said. I added my own knob to the top to make it easy to open. I love the hand carved hard wood. Just the right size for the space i needed it to be placed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. in great condition
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought