Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 78 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A very pretty item
 from Lexington, KY,  Jun 17, 2008

I got this Bombay chest for the bathroom to store makeup items, hair dryer, etc. Space is limited and this fits perfectly between the wall and my pedestal sink. The Bombay shape also works well with that style of sink. This is a light-weight, easy-to-move, attractive piece of furniture that looks like the image shown. It arrived well packaged and undamaged. No assembly; just take it out of the box and fill it up. Can't store large items because drawers are only 8 inches deep (front to back) and 3 inches high (except bottom drawer which is about 4 inches high). Width of drawers vary due to shape of chest. Top 4 drawers range from about 6.5 inches to 11.5 inches wide. Bottom drawer is about 12.5 inches wide at the top, but narrows toward the bottom of the drawer. Drawers open/close easily and have peg stops that keep them from being pulled all the way out. Good for avoiding spilling the contents. If you want to take a drawer out, open it and feel in the center at the back of the drawer for the little wooden peg. Turn the peg sideways to remove the drawer. When you replace the drawer, turn the peg back to its original position if you want to stop the drawer from coming out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombay Chest
 from Paso Robles, California,  Nov 24, 2007

I purchased two of these because I wanted something unusual to use as nightstands for a bed that sits quite high. The carving is intricate and lovely and the wood is a rich warm color. You can tell it's handmade because one of the drawers doesn't open smoothly and I had to tape a penny under one of the legs for perfect balance. These were minor inconveniences to me considering they are beautifully unique and a great value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This product is superb!
 from San Diego, CA,  Jun 26, 2009

This little chest is beautiful, functional, well-built, and a conversation piece ........ all rolled into one! I especially appreciate the ease of opening and closing the drawers. It's a very sturdy, all-wood piece; and the fact that the back is also completely finished is an unexpected plus. The carving is absolutely gorgeous - I love this item!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 Dec 8, 2010

I purchased this cabinet for my bathroom and it fits perfectly in the corner since it is not too big and does not overpower the space intended. The one I received has a little bit darker finish than the one pictured on the website, but that was perfect for me and the rest of the decor in the room. The drawers work well and I like the backstop feature which keeps the drawer from falling out. I had been looking for the perfect accent piece for this room for some time and am thankful I finally went on the Overstock.com website and found this little gem.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from NJ,  May 21, 2011

Beautiful piece of furniture. It is a bit darker than the picture. Very lightweight and nicely carved. Worth the $$.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombay nightstand
 from Aurora, IL,  Apr 13, 2011

Beautiful nightstand or occasional chest. Can be used anywhere in the house. I just ordered another one! I like it!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? It matches my Cherry wood!
  • How is the quality of the product? perfect, packed extremely well~
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? it is better than the description!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely!
 from Louisiana,  Mar 29, 2011

This was my first furniture purchase online. I ordered this beautiful piece on a Friday morning and received it the very next day! I opened the box and pulled out the chest. No assembly required! It is absolutely gorgeous. I placed it in my guest bedroom, but could easily use it in a variety of places with its versatile look. Almost wish I would have ordered another to put in the guest bath. I would highly recommend. Thanks Overstock! This was easy and convenient and the shipping was awesome.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LUV-IT
 from California High Desert,  Mar 23, 2011

I absolutely LOVE this chest. It is adorable, fits in perfectly where I had intended it to be, is very well made, holds more than I thought it would, and I cannot say enough good about this product. I wish I could order 2 more of them. You will NOT go wrong by ordering this item. It came boxed so that all I had to do was pull it out of the box and begin using it---nothing to put together on it. It is beautiful and I have already taken a picture of it and put it on Facebook. Thank you for this item---I am more than pleased.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from NYC,  Jan 24, 2014

I was looking forward to this chest based on the reviews. While it's well-constructed, the finish looks nothing like the photo. Instead of a warm brown, it's a reddish color that looks somewhat cheap and does not fit the rest of my brown furniture. Even though I just got it and it's not listed as a final sale item, I cannot return it as OS has classified it as "nonreturnable" Upset that this wasn't made clear at time of purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it but very small
 from Orlando, fl,  Oct 2, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I dedicated to order as night stands. These came in within 3 days from ordering very quick. They are very nice the only complain I have is that they are very small. I could only put a lamp on top, unable to fit alarm clock. They are beautiful and I still love them for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so cute!
 from Montclair, VA,  Mar 22, 2013

I ordered this as storage for my guest bath. The drawers are a perfect size for toiletries, and the carving and details in the wood make it look very luxurious. The top is just the right size for a small vase and a box of tissues. The odd shape of the drawers makes it impossible for there to be glides, but the wood drawers fit well and move nicely. There is more storage than I expected - over all, a perfect accent piece!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid wood from top to bottom
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's Perfect
 from St Louis MO,  Mar 20, 2009

This lttle chest is the perfect fit for my small bedroom, just the right height for a bedside chest. I think I'll treat myself to another!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique...
 from Charlotte, NC,  Dec 28, 2008

Very nicely constructed dresser. To be used for jewelry. Just needs to be lined. Not compartmentalized but could easily be made if desired. A unique and nice looking solution to jewelry storage. I do not like all the laquered, fake brass, etc. that so many other manufacturers put out there. I'd recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Carved Wood 5-drawer Bombay Narrow Chest
 from Tampa, FL,  Oct 18, 2007

Excellent piece of accent furniture. The online picture does not give it justice. Stain color is darker and richer than pictured. Unique, versitile, and a good value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely, but . . .
 from New York, NY,  Jul 25, 2014

This is a beautiful piece, but fair warning, the drawers are very small. I did see the dimensions in the Q&A before I bought, but it didn't really become clear until I saw the drawers. They are tapered from top to bottom, like a bowl, so are smaller than the dimensions given. Still, it is beautiful and makes a very nice nightstand.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive narrow chest
 from Ft. Collins, CO,  Jan 7, 2014

We use this in a narrow space in our front hall for keys, dark glasses, gloves. Needless to say, it gets used a lot. It is holding up well. Drawers slide in and out easily and the piece looks very nice. It is inexpensively made, but having said that, I am still pleased with the overall appearance of it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL!
 from Austell, GA,  Mar 8, 2013

I LOVE this piece! I'm using the pieces as a night stands in my spare bedroom. They are exactly what I imagined and are so beautiful. The carvings are elegant and the wood nice quality! I actually ordered two but only one came in. I called customer service and the representative was very helpful in processing a replacement order. Just in case the 2nd one from the original order does come in along with the replacement order, I was advised to call back and they will send me a shipment label to send the replacement back. Customer service was AWESOME and I am very happy with my purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombay Chest
 from Fallbrook California,  Mar 3, 2013

I am pretty pleased with the Bombay Chest. It is well made and very stunning. I've received several compliments.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Brown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made beautiful.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate a little smaller then I thought.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I was looking for
 from Monroe Twp., NJ,  Jan 24, 2013

This piece is beautiful, but turned out to be what I would describe as a large jewelry box and not the size I was looking for. I did note the measurements, but because of its shape, was smaller than I needed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looked exactly the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smaller than I expected
 from New York, NY,  Oct 31, 2012

Perfect accent piece. The only concern is the size. I thought it was taller.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not as accurate, I thought the chest would be taller.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 78 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought