Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Do not buy
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jun 13, 2012

Apparantly the packaging is below par. The top appears to have been loose in the packing and wore some of the finish off. There also was a scratch on the top and an area where the drawer goes in that was not finished. I debated to send it back or not but I have done some refinishing in the past and I will fix it myself. I would not recmmend this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but with a couple issues
 from NJ,  Jul 9, 2011

Overall, it's a lovely piece, though there are a couple issues. It sustained some type of "bump" at the manufacturer that the manufacturer attempted to cosmetically correct. It's right on the very front of the table, noticable to ME though probably not to anyone else who might casually view the piece. I was looking at it more closely. The defect is about the size of a dime and appears to have been a "nick" or "dent" in the very edge. Some type of "wood filler goop" was applied and stained over, but the goop is lumpy and visible and the stain over the goop is darker than the rest of the stain. As I said, one might not notice it upon casual view but if you are really looking the item over for "quality" it is not 100% first quality with the defect. The stain overall is darker than pictured though I did read that in the other reviews. I hoped for the best. I thought perhaps I might luck out with a lighter-dye-lot, but did not. The color is similar to a medium or darker oak. The rest of the furniture in the room is a lighter golden honey oak but because of the position in the room on a wall by itself, it doesn't look awful that it's darker. I'm using it as a "writing table/laptop desk". I had a spot in my room that I measured out for this and the spot was not big enough for an actual desk or writing table but I estimated that a hall table or a sofa table would do the trick. I needed it less than 20" wide and less than 30" long, with the height the size of an average desk. The dimensions of this product fit perfectly in the spot. I am 5'5" adult female, and my legs "just make it under comfotably". If you are male or taller, it might be a tighter squeeze to get your legs under comfortably with an average size chair. Bottom line, it looks and fits nicely and functions as I intended. The drawers are a nice size to store desk type items like paper, stapler, sissors, pens, etc. and the laptop fits nicely. I still have enough room to write bills even with a lamp and the laptop on the table. The carvings work well with the furniture I have in the room because what I have had minor decorative carving. This item's carvings a bit gaudier in person than the rest of the furniture in the room, but it works and blends in and was a great overall choice for this spot.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? definitely darker than pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good/average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate except color is darker (the type of wood isn't mentioned though)
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful! Love it!
 from TN,  Mar 31, 2011

This a wonderful table! It is beautiful, I am not using it as a hall table, but instead, I needed something by a wall in the kitchen, and it looks great there, just the thing!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk for the $
 from Knoxville, TN,  Sep 3, 2010

I had been looking for something just like this for some time. Not only was the size perfect , but the price was very reasonable. The stain was a bit darker than pictured and I was very glad for that. Based on previous reviews, I was just what I wanted. When the desk arrived it was packaged well and very easy to assemble. Overall I am very pleased with this purchase, as I have been with all my overstock.com purchases to date.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
color not as described
 from new jersey,  May 13, 2010

this is a very nice table for the money looks like much more expensive peice of furniture, but be aware color is much darker than in picture more of a reddish color than the golden color in picture. very nice table but very dissappointed with color.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great table!
 from Highland Mills, NY,  May 11, 2010

We purchased this table for the front hall of our house. It was very easy to assemble...just the four legs needed to be screwed on. The drawers were pre-assembled and simply needed to be placed in the slots. There was some minor damage to the back of one of the rear legs, but it is well hidden. The table is beautiful and sturdy, and so far is holding up to the daily abuse it takes from my two children, ages three and 18 months. Excellent value for the price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just Lovely!
 from Knoxville, TN,  Feb 19, 2010

I had read reviews on this item and ordered it trepidatiously since some reviews were less than stellar. I was so pleased with this desk. It is very pretty. I didn't expect to get something of extremely high quality because it is very inexpensive, but what I did get is a lovely, sweet piece of furniture which will suit my purpose of a laptop desk just perfectly. I look forward to using it for many years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
carved wood 2-drawer hall table
 from O'Fallon, IL,  Feb 17, 2010

This product is very sturdy, the wood tones and carvings are true to the photo. I use it as a computer desk in my bedroom and its perfect for the space. The product is worth the money I spent. I have received numerous compliments about this piece of furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Central CT,  Dec 6, 2009

Could have spent twice the money and waited for 4-6 weeks for a similar product if purchased at a local retailer. Amazing selection allowed us to select exactly what we neededQ

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not like the picture
 from Charleston, WV,  Apr 23, 2008

This table does not look like the picture. It is a darker finish and the drawers have carving on the front which actually looks kind of cheap. The table seems to be sturdy and it is a nice size, not too large and bulky. I am using it for my lap top computer in the living room and it suits that purpose. However, of my many, many purchases from Overstock, this was my least favorite and I am a little disappointed. Due to the size I am keeping it. And, for the price, I think it's still a pretty good deal.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
French Style Hall Table
 from Tennessee,  Dec 16, 2007

This table is a great value. The style is elegant and refined. The carved legs are a wonderul interpretation of French provincial design. The other carvings are well defined. The color and finish are nicely done and compliment the beauty and functionality of the console.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of furniture
 from Virginia,  Dec 12, 2007

I originally needed an entrance table for my hall, and thought I would take a chance and buy this one. When it arrived, it was so beautiful that I decided to put it in my Living Room. A few weeks later I ordered another one for my hall. I am very proud of these wonderful pieces of furniture, and if I had the need I would even buy another!They arrived in perfect condition, and assembly was very easy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
TableManners
 from Chicopee, MA,  Dec 10, 2007

I purchased this hall/entry table as a writing desk for my mother. She has a small area so I was looking for something to fit into this space and this table size was perfect considering most desk are wider and deeper. When it arrived I had only the legs to attach. The screws were already inserted into the legs and I needed only to attach with a small flat head wrench that was suppose to come with the desk but did not, I have yet to find something small enough to fit into the tight space to attached the screws more tightly. Other than that assembly was a breeze the drawers came assembled. The table/desk has beautiful carved details, however the staining in spots is shoddy and there were some nicks and dents on the table. They also could have shalacked the table more (if they did at all). If you plan to use this table as a desk, note that the carved front piece requires that the chair seat be a bit lower than the average chair. Overall the table is a nice piece I would have like to have spent a little less for it, considering the missing wrench and other noted items.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top