Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 1922 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 97 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Really nice!
 from New Jersey,  Dec 30, 2009

I'm so happy with these blackout curtains! I ordered 2 sets for a large double wide window measuring 80" wide and hung them on a rod with matching clip-on rings, (also from Overstock,) that I extended to 106" wide. This creates the illusion of a much wider window and allows me to pull the curtains open and have the bulk of the fabric on either side without blocking the view. When the curtains are pulled closed there is still plenty of material to create soft folds across the window. This blocks about 95% of the light through this east-facing window.I bought the gray which is more of a blue-gray, as another reviewer mentioned. It works beautifully with my soft gray carpet even though there is no blue tone to the carpet color. The curtain fabric is the same color on both sides and has a somewhat heavy, yet soft, silky texture that drapes beautifully. I was surprised that the thread used was white, not gray, and the hem is just straight stitched, not a more hidden hem-stitch that I would have used if I made them myself. I thought that was going to be pretty noticeable but frankly, now that they are hung, it doesn't bother me enough to complain. I ironed them before hanging them, although they weren't overly wrinkled. Overall, the look is beautiful, they block the light effectively and I would definately buy them again at this great price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Already Notice A Difference
 from Detroit, MI,  Nov 9, 2009

I compared this product with 2 others sets of curtains from two major department stores. (one starts with "S" the other with a "K") These curtains were mid-range between both stores in terms of price, but the quality is superior! I have 2 large sliding glass doors that face West, so as the winter winds started to blow, I needed a solution. When this product arrived, I immediate loved the color and texture. When I hung them up, they definitely blocked out more light than the other ones I had tried. I can already tell a difference in the reduction of cold air that used to enter my living room. I never know what to think of these ratings when I read them. It's hard to order curtains without seeing them first. After shopping around, I had to leave a comment and highly recommend these.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Product & Great Value
 from Northwest Louisiana,  Feb 18, 2009

I liked these curtains enough to buy them for 5 rooms in my home. The feel of the fabric is soft and smooth and they drape nicely. They're not heavy or stiff. I have purchased Chocolate, Beige and Dark Olive. The two darker colors do a great job of blocking light, the Beige not as well but still very good--good enough to use in the room of my day-sleeping shift-worker.(The Beige is not a gold at all but more of a very nice Stone or Antique White color.) We have a room with a wall of large windows and they help a lot with insulating. Before hanging I tossed them in the dryer with a damp cloth for 10-15 min. , hung them up right away, and all wrinkles or folds disappeared.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
When they say "soft," they mean it.
 from Nashville, TN,  Jun 1, 2008

As someone familiar only with heavy, rubber-backed insulated drapes, I think the manufacturers seriously under-promoted that aspect of this product in the description. I can't believe how soft they are, and how well they hang and drape, nothing like the old insulated curtains. The fabric has a rich feel, but silky smooth, and it completely blocks the light, even direct sunlight. You may have a little light bleed through at the top where the rod is, but the fabric itself is totally, surprisingly, opaque. You can't tell if it's day or night, at least through the fabric. All of us online shoppers know the feeling of buying an item, and, once it arrives, finding out that it somehow doesn't live up to our expectations. This product exceeded my expectations, and will probably go into my Hall of Fame of Great Online Finds. Score one for the shopper!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black Out Curtains
 from Sartell, MN,  Sep 29, 2010

I loved these curtains, but I ordered the gray and they are not gray. They are a smoke blue, they look terrible next to anything that is gray. If you are looking for the gray, do not order them because gray will not be what you get. Other than the color being really off on this one, I really liked the darkening they provided to the room. Seemed to help with outside noise as well. I had to return them and no other color will work for the gray I need.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Insulated Thermal Blackout Curtains
 from Sugar Land, TX,  Jul 29, 2011

We've had this pair of curtains in my daughter's room for about a month and I must say that her room is definitely darker and cooler than before. Her room faces the east and since we live in Texas, well, it feels like an oven by noon with light blasting through the window beginning at sunrise (even though there are thick blinds covering it). These curtains block the light out (it's amazing to go from blinding light to pitch darkness) so much we have to keep them open a smidge to allow a little light to come in. Her room must also be at least 10 degrees cooler than before too- a really big thing right now in the midst of this horrible summer heatwave with highs soaring to 100 everyday. I'm sure they will keep out the cold in the winter as well. I highly recommend these curtains- they seem durable, have plenty of weight (but don't weigh down the rod), and do their job quite well. I like the way they look too- like I paid much more than I did for them. A great deal all around.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Overstock color depicted accurately on website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality! Holds out heat and light.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Overstock description was accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Totally Black!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 2, 2010

I love these curtains! I ordered the "pink" curtains for my infant daughters room. She has a very large "Bay" windows (so I had to order two packs), and these curtains are AMAZING! Her room looks like midnight at all hours of the day. I did read some of the reviews before ordering that said that some light is let in, and the only light that comes through is where the seams of the two curtains panels meet. Really - How else can you get rid of that beside sewing the two panels together? My only complaint, and it is not even a complaint, is that the pink color is BRIGHTer then the look color sample on the internet. I was expecting a toned down color, however, the color was very rich and dark, but also had a bright factor (not bright like a neon, but a rich brightness). The curtains are well made and very thick and nice. It helps not only with the light that comes through her very large windows, but also makes her room a constant temperature; no more drafts!! I like them so much, I am coming to replace my son's "Eclipse" curtains with a set of these.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Value in hard times!
 from Arvada,CO,  Feb 18, 2009

I have been looking for some good block out curtains without having to pay an arm and a leg. This is it! I read about 50 reviews before buying the first pair, and now you don't have to read anymore --they are that good. I like the way they do not have the white rubber backing--they are the same color as the curtain itself. And they help a great deal with blocking out the cold feel from the windows. I bought the chocolate brown first-rich warm brown; and then the navy ones--beautiful navy color! And the price is absolutely fantastic! I will be buying more...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
blackout curtains
 from Republic, MO,  Jan 30, 2008

I was unable to get the wrinkles out of these curtains no matter what I did...................I think they're permanently set in. The color did not look like the pic. Very unsatisfied with this merchandise.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great heavy duty curtains
 from Valparaiso, IN,  Jun 7, 2011

These curtains are very heavy duty. They definitely do the job in keeping out the heat in our west-facing bedrooms. They have an almost rubbery feel to the backs of them, but no odor at all. We ordered navy blue and royal blue, though the royal is bright enough to be considered an "electric blue". Navy is classic navy color and matches the "blue pulse rug" also on overstock.com and makes a nice addition to our room. The curtains have rod pockets across the top, but also tabs sewn into the back of the rod pockets which make hanging even easier, and you can hang them 2 different ways depending on what you need. An excellent and quality product and a very good price. I may purchase these in other colors to hang in other rooms in the house!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wheat Curtains
 from Nebraska,  Sep 28, 2010

The Wheat color is nothing like the picture. It is more of a gold-khaki color (there is no yellow). Material seems good. They are blackout but do not have thermal backing. They come with ties,if you have something to hook the loops onto. I expected them to be a little bit brighter in color than they are and to be a little more stylish than they are. My husband is not impressed. Still making up my mind whether they should be returned. First let down from Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Curtains fit just right
 from Baltimore, Md.,  Aug 18, 2011

I ordered these curtains for the sliding glass door in my dining room. I ordered the olive color and it is very close to the picture. One pair of the curtains fit my door. They keep out the afternoon sun and heat from my deck. My room is now darker and cooler. I am thinking about ordering more curtains for the bedrooms that get the afternoon sun. When the curtains arrived there were very little wrinkles and I could hang them right away.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I chose the olive color and it was very true to the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The curtains are a good quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The site description was very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Investment
 from Michigan,  Jul 3, 2008

These drapes are just perfect! Super soft right out of the package. They completely block out any light. We have them in an east window and you can't even tell if the sun is out. I was so impressed with these, I ordered more . Blocks the sun, drafts, cold, heat, etc. Exactly what they said they would do. I may change all my drapes to these.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from San Antonio, TX,  Oct 26, 2010

Very pleased with these blackout drapes! They get the job done. I previously had wood blinds with gorgeous crushed taffeta drapes that matched my bedding perfectly. Unfortunately I suffer from migraines and if I sleep in on the weekend, the room can get bright, and this makes me feel pretty bad sleeping in a room with sunlight. This brought me to search for blackout drapes. I was having a tough time finding gray ones. I finally found these and after reading all the good reviews, decided to give them a try. The gray isn't exactly the gray I needed, but that's my own fault, and it still looks good enough! I was actually able to layer these behind my other drapes and they sit together very nicely! I use a curtain rod with rings with clips, and the clips hold both sets of drapes. Putting them directly on the rod would have worked well too, but the rings allow them to open and close very easily. Overall, it's an attractive look having the two drapes layered together, and it adds much darkness to my bedroom. They do block out almost 100% of the light, but remember that unless you have it perfectly flat and sealed over a window, light WILL come in around the edges, but this is true for any drape. I just do the best I can with it, and it works very well. I'm very glad I gave these a try! I would recommend them to anyone needing darkening drapes. They are good-looking drapes and there are so many colors. Give them a try!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love them! Buying MORE!!
 from Charlottesville, VA,  Aug 18, 2011

I am thrilled with these curtains! I am so thrilled that I am ordering some for two other rooms in my house! The color was right on, TRUE NAVY and the wrinkles came right out as soon as I hung the curtains. They also arrived in just three days! I have never had a single problem with Overstock.com and continue to be pleased with my purchases!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match, exactly what was on the computer! NAVY!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent so far. I have not washed them as of yet but the wrinkles fell out as soon as I hung them up!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on!!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Best
 from Boston, MA,  Aug 5, 2011

These are curtains are the best! The quality and feel of the fabric is amazing not to mention the light blocking and thermal properties. No longer will I consider purchasing the described thermal backed curtains with their paper think linings that fall far short of these. The flexibility of having the back tab or the rod pocket option is terrific. I cannot speak for all though personally I would strongly consider these if you are curtain shopping.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Honestly, better than I could ever have anticpated for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from NY NY,  Dec 7, 2010

Very nice curtains, thick, substantial and great for blocking the sun's glare. I live on a busy street and they cut the noise too. Highly recommended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Best
 from Crestline, Ca.,  Nov 16, 2010

This is my third pair. Black-out, thermal, same color on both sides---what more can you ask for! I live in the mountains so these curtains do keep not only the light out but also the cold in the winter and the heat in the summer. The material is just fabulous--either hanging straight, using tie-backs or tie- backs with a sheer in the middle. So versitile and so great looking.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic buy
 from New Orleans, LA,  Aug 23, 2011

I hung these drapes and curtains in a rental. The drapes were able to be split into 2 windows (23" dormers), so 2 packages covered 4 dormers, the curtains covered both side windows. The temperature has been reduced by 6 degrees centigrade, reducing the load on air conditioning. I am so pleased with them, I'll be buying more for our house when th painting is finished.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Slight change. Was lighter than I expected, but it was my computer color calibrations' inaccuracies.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality...very soft and hangs well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Black curtains
 from North Carolina,  Dec 7, 2010

These are not designer curtains, rather they serve a purpose. Great at blocking sunlight and the street lamp outside my daughter's bedroom window. Looks better than shades. They don't "drape" really well but thats ok. They are also helpful on cold nights by blocking a bit of the chill from the windows.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 1922 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 97 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought