Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I wanted!
 from Spokane, WA,  Apr 28, 2012

I did a lot of research before buying this system. It arrived securely packaged, assembled quickly and functions simply and easily. Most importantly, my seedlings this year are the healthiest I've ever started. I am very pleased with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was just as pictured onsite
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I originally purchased one of these a few months ago from a different web site and was so happy with it that I decided to order another one and thankfully Overstock.com had it in the lowest price range that I was looking for. I was pleasantly surprised that the stand was a little taller than the 1st one that I bought and the lighting system works well allowing me to start my vegetable garden seeds indoor early. Otherwise I would have to wait until May to plant my seeds given the long New England winters. I liked this system so much that I purchased one for my brother-in-law, for Christmas, who is also an avid gardener.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is really good quality for the price and works well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? as described.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good little light
 from NM,  Mar 29, 2012

I set up the grow-light and ballast and purchased 2 trays of Jiffy starter squares and some organic 'strating' soil. I also purchased a timer and have the timer programmed to have the bulb running 18hrs a day. The sprouts are coming out very quickly and easily overtook the plants I placed outdoors almost two weeks earlier. I would recommend that if you have the indoors, get a "space" blanket to put over the light and ballast system because the light is very strong. Happy growing!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Reasonably well constructed, intelligent, simple repairable ballast design
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy Stand, easily assembled
 from Leavenworth KS,  Mar 23, 2012

I am a 67 year old grandmother and was able to assemble this by myself following the directions in under an hour. It took me a few minutes to realize I had to remove the blub and pull off the foam holders that protected the blub from jostling and then replace the blub before it would light. I have been using it for 6 days and have seedling sprouting.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Colors were dark green with black caps on the feet
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a study stand, better than others I have viewed on line
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate, little vague in places
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Grow Light
 from Wisconisn,  Mar 11, 2012

For some reason I thought there would be two bulbs in this light. However, I think the grow light is good. It is what I expected otherwise. If I were to buy this again, I think I'd buy two 2-foot grow lights instead of this long one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Grow Light
 from Ohio,  Jul 3, 2014

This grow light is great. My only complaint is the plug does not stay in well. All and all I really like it and now have plants in my garden thriving from starts under my grow light.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent seed growing system.
 from Springfield, MO,  Mar 19, 2014

Easy to set up and works wonderfully. It was a better price than anything I could find and fits two planters underneath not just one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for Winter Indoor Gardening
 from Cedar City, UT,  Nov 20, 2013

So, this would be a five star review if the assembly had been a bit easier, and one of the feet on the legs hadn't broken. In spite of those two minor problems, I love the product. You can easily fit a large earth box under the light and you might also be able to fit two junior earthboxes. Also good for growing seedlings. Works with a three prong timer from the local hardware store.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fine, but bulb arrived broken
 from Kansas City MO,  Nov 24, 2012

I had one of these already, purchased at a local garden shop. I wanted another, and decided to order when I saw it marked down here. The day after it arrived, my husband and I unpacked it and set it up. When he carefully opened the box to get the bulb out, it basically exploded in his hands. He wasn't hurt but tiny shards of glass went everywhere. The package was not exposed to extreme temps nor was it dropped, at least not once it arrived at my house. Although we saved money on this light, we immediately had to buy a new bulb, and we had to clean up a bunch of teeny glass shards in the greenhouse. I didn't send it back because that would have just cost more money. I assume that the damage happened in transit but the packaging was inadequate as well. I kept it because I would have had to replace the bulb eventually anyway, but I wish I'd just bought another locally.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great!
 from Cape Coral, FL,  Nov 14, 2014

I plan on buying a second one as soon as my budget allows for it. I've already jumped started a bunch of seeds, comparing them to ones I started at the same time outside. The ones indoors are 33 to 50% larger, and germination rate is near 100%, even for some that have a lower germination rating from the seed supplier! One recommendation is for the design. I'm already looking at a way of stabilizing the light/hood to the frame as it can swing when moving it and is a bit top heavy, depending on where you have the light height set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
neg review
 from ohio,  Mar 11, 2014

iten does not work bad bulb, when contacted sent wrong bulb to long to fat bad experience, was a present

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice but the light fixture did not work
 from Hurley WI,  Jan 21, 2013

can't wait to start using this fixture for my houseplant seedlings.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality was excellent - just what i thought it would be - and the company is going good for the broken light fixture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works to get a start on the growing season
 from West Virginia,  Jan 4, 2013

This worked well to get seedlings started for the short growing season we have here in WV mountains.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hydrofarm Jump start Grow Light System 4'
 from Takoma Park, Md,  Dec 18, 2012

I love this jump start grow lite. Instruction on how to put it together was very easy. To my surprise if I want to make a future purchase in having an extension I have the opption in ordering two more frames to make the lamp taller. I'm using the light source for growing my Tillandsia & Australian Droseras 'sundews'. Very please that Overstock had this item for sale.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very east to install
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate information
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Grow Light System
 from Duluth, MN,  Sep 5, 2012

I had purchased 2 of these earlier this year to start my vegetable plants and they worked so well that I decided to purchase 2 more. It would be better if they each had two bulbs. The light does deflect quite well and the plants grew amazingly fast.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from New York,  Aug 29, 2012

Exceptional product for the money. A wonderful seed starting system. Exceptional grow quality for the amount of energy used.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? could be improved
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exceptional with few character flaws
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Sufficient
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought