Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Amazing Fan
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jul 15, 2011

The fan is amazing, the foldaway baldes give it a sleek and streamlined look. It is super quiet and very effective at cooling. The light is also very bright and white. I have no complaints, I love this fan!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? ver close to product
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfectly unique Fan/Light combo
 from Irvine, CA,  Jan 16, 2012

I've been resisting installing a ceiling fan because I'm just not into the look. but when this came out, it was the perfect compromise. The fan blades retract when not in use, and leaves you with a totally cool light pendant fixture. I almost had to return this and overstock.com was so quick and responsive. As it turned out, I found an electrician who was able to install it so that I can use a light switch instead of the built-in receiver/transmitter. I have a super slopped ceiling, and if you use the receiver/transmitter inside the canopy, the fan wouldn't hang down vertically. After googling many sites, it turned out that the wiring is just a standard 3-wire that you can attach to a 2-way wall switch. Went to Home Depot and got the Hunter 2-way switch and an extra long down rod, and the electrician was able to install no problem. Also in googling, people were complaining how the compact fluorescent was too "cold and bright", but it was fine for us. You can replace it with a warmer bulb which we may at some point, but we're happy for now. The price here was $100 cheaper than Amazon but the price has changed since I bought it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great and solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? They could have specified that out of the box and recommended by mfg that you "MUST" use the transceiver/receiver by default.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This fan is a true beauty..super silent and sleek!
 from Washington, DC,  Aug 11, 2011

If you love great design and engineering-you're in luck. The super silent retracting blades make this an beautiful and hardworking addition to any room. The light is a little too bright for me, but that is a minor thing. I am showing this number off to all my friends.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The product surpasses the image
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent`
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive
 from Spokane Washington,  Dec 24, 2011

This was a nice fan but not enough information about installation. When I got the fan I had to send it back because you need 8 foot ceilings to install it my ceilings are 71/2 ft. IIt would have been nice for that to be posted on the site. The return of this fan was very easy and good customer service.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing fan ... blades disappear when not in use
 from Boston,MA,  Jul 5, 2011

This fan is the cutest! The blades are see through and hide above the light when not in use. Would love to install more of these fans in the rest of the house.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superior quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review.
 from Long Island, NY,  Feb 22, 2012

The light part is like a big bright orb which is good for me in the dining room where I write letters, pay bills, etc. However, the amazing part of this ceiling fan is the way the blades are hidden until put into use - they open up like a beautiful clear flower. I cannot wait to use the fan part in the summer. Our friend who is a contractor installed for us so not sure about difficulty of install. My first reaction was that the light was too bright, but now I like it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A Hunter fan so... very nice quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome
 from colonia, nj,  Jan 28, 2012

The fan is amazing, the foldaway blades give it a sleek and streamlined look. It makes my kitchen appear larger. (My old fan had four lights that hung down). It is super quiet and very effective at cooling. The light is also very bright and white. I love this fan!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique fan
 from Vermont,  Dec 26, 2011

This product is amazing. It works very well in our new sun-room (with cathedral ceiling) to keep the air moving - even on the lowest setting. It's also quite a conversation piece! The blades tuck in over the light, sort of folding into themselves, and as the fan builds up speed they spread out and begin to look like a normal fan. When you turn it off, the blades slow down and just before the rotation stops the blades fold back in place over the light and out of sight. Really quite cool to watch. The only problem is that the length of the rod that attaches to the ceiling isn't quite long enough for the pitch of our room so we can't use the fan on the highest setting. Actually, it's not really a problem since the low and medium settings are more than strong enough to keep the room comfortable.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very well made
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Look
 from Huntersville, NC,  Nov 30, 2011

I recently purchased this fan, and because it has been cold days, we haven't used as a fan yet. The light is incredibly bright. It has a cool looking, we love this fan.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than I expected
 from Bronx, NY,  Jan 23, 2012

The only warning is that the light is large and flourescent-like. The hidden blade are a really nice touch as is the remote.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The fan is white as the picture showed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. We haven't used the fan on a regular basis yet
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description is very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant fan.
 from Anderson, SC,  Sep 13, 2011

I simply felt in love with this fan, or this lamp when is not a fan. Unique design and great idea to hide the blades when not in use. Downside... the price, a bit expensive although cheaper than lowes, about $100.00 cheaper. Overall happy with the product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? White is white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality built.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I saw it first @ ***
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Silence and style
 from NYC,  Aug 26, 2011

Love it in my kitchen eating alcove. Simple and innocuous when off, elegant, quiet fan on. Very little vibration at high speed. Foldaway blades are way cool. Great light. A little pricey, but worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent fit and finish, runs very quietly.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This fan is fantastic!
 from Oklahoma,  Aug 22, 2011

This fan is a lot of fun! It functions as described (works as a fan, but the blades retract into the light to be just a light).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High on Style and Technology
 from Falls Church, VA,  Feb 20, 2013

Beautiful; very stylish. Quiet operation. Remote control and fan work well. It doesn't look like a fan when blades are retracted, but functions well with blades extended. The blades are transparent, so are not noticeable when operating. The light is a nice style for the bedroom where we have it, but would look good in living room, family room or kitchen just as well. I can see why some people might think the light output is a little bright for a bedroom, but I find it just right for reading while sitting in my bedroom recliner chair. Family and friends who see it are fascinated by the retracting blade technology and remark how attractive it is. The cost is more than other fans I have/had, but those don't have this style or technology. In all, a fair price for what you get.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matches exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality; reliable and dependable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice fan and light
 from Boulder Creek, CA,  Mar 17, 2012

It's not as spiffy looking when just the light is on, but the light is nice and bright and the fan works well. No problem installing it. Actually it would look even spiffier with the fan on if the blades matched the frame instead of being transparent, but it's very nice, also it's of necessity here very close to a skylight and I love that it doesn't block it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oh's and Aw's
 from WI,  Dec 8, 2014

Blades are clear plastic, they don't looks strong, but hey, don't hang on them. They wind down behind the light, so it just looks like a light fixture when in use. This fan is very quite and sturdy. The light fixture is kind of big, but that's probably so the fan blades can't be seen. We get lots of compliments on this fan.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this Fan!
 from Staten Island, New York,  Aug 3, 2014

This fan lives up to the hype. The blades are translucent and fold into the light when not in use. The light is bright enough for what I needed. I like the modern style .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
History with Hunter
 from Chicago,Il,  Jul 10, 2014

Well even though I purchased two of the Fanaways in May in process of a 3 room Reno they were just installed July 9; anybody who has ever lived through a Reno knows why big delay. As the title says I've had history with Hunter fans over 25yrs and fully expect the same function&reliability as I've enjoyed in the past.When I went to the website to look for ceiling fans I discovered the Fanaway and it was love at first sight soooo unique and I had to have them; everyone who sees them thinks they're great too!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so glad my daughter talked me into this
 from Elgin IL,  Jun 6, 2014

I purchased this fan and had it installed over our new kitchen island. I had been warned against installing a fan in the kitchen by my general contractor, but my daughter talked me into this fan because of it's retractable blades. I am very, very pleased with the kitchen light/fan. It gives a lot of light and quietly circulates the air wonderfully. It is almost like watching a waterfall when the blades expand and retract. I found it so beautiful that I placed a short video on my Facebook video, and my cousin decided to buy one too! The fan was more expensive than I was hoping to pay, but I think it was worth the extra expense. I was able to take advantage of an Overstock coupon which reduced the price by 10%. I highly recommend this product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great fan - flourescent light tube
 from NY, NY,  May 20, 2014

This is a great fan. Whisper quiet, 3 speeds, and can run fan with light off. The design is lovely and the blades retract and open beautifully. The only thing I didn't know - - or didn't sink in before purchase - - is that the light is a circular fluorescent tube. That's perfect for a kitchen, etc. The light is VERY bright. For the bedroom (where I put the second fan I purchased), I'd like to see if I can get a light that's more natural, less harsh, and if I can install a dimmer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 66 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought