Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 197 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

Everyone in our house is getting good zz's late into the morning (or as late as to be hoped for with kids). They are simple enough not to stand out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Does a great job blocking afternoon hot florida sunlight. They weren't too hard to install, listened to review tips. We don't pull them up and down so I can't comment on durrability.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Performed as I hoped. Looks good to boot. Easy to install.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

These make the room so dark. They are awesome for nap time. I bought mine a little over 2 years ago and they are still in perfect condition in the kids' rooms.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Love these blinds easy to install and they are really blackout shades price was good as well will be purchasing more in the future

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice shades
 Jul 3, 2015

Really happy with the price and quality for the most part. One of the four I ordered won't raise as far as at should, but otherwise they all look good and work as expected.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The quality is great but they are very hard to install

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dark
 Jun 22, 2015

Has an unusual look, cover so grey, inside black, so looks weird against white trim.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

We bought these for our son's room to help him get to sleep at naptime, and during bright summer evenings, and they've worked perfectly. Even in the middle of the day, with these shades drawn, his room gets nicely dark enough for him to fall asleep. I'm going to buy these for the other bedrooms in our house now, too!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Color is off
 Jun 18, 2015

My order was for white blinds, and the invoice and package said white, but these are greige. Gray-beige. I work as a graphic designer and am aware of the range of color in white... you've got warm whites, blue-whites, balanced whites, etc. This isn't any of those. Both the plastic housing and the fabric are greige. It was cheap, easy to install, and I need something to block the sun in a west facing window. Most of the time it'll be hidden by a curtain, so I'll keep it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cordless Shade
 Jun 18, 2015

Great quality, absolutely love them, I have ordered several and have them all over my newly built home. I get lots of compliments on them!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very dark!
 Jun 18, 2015

Excellent purchase. This blackout is very dark but looks white from outside.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
total darkness!
 Jun 15, 2015

These shades are great for our little guys, who are 1 and 2. Keeps their rooms really dark. I gave 4 out of 5 stars because they don't stay down all the way unless you drill a clip into the bottom of the window frame to attach the handle to. I chose not to do this because I didn't want to put more holes in the window frame. It lets about an inch or so of light in the bottom. Otherwise, this is a good shade.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The top part of the blind is made of pure white plastic. The fabric shade part that comes down is soft gray in color ... I think it's because of the metallic black-out material inside. This white and gray color scheme works GREAT with my apartment. It's very sturdy, with clean smooth lines, and it doesn't look cheap at all. We have a door to the outside in the bedroom, and it has a rectangular window on top of the door (transom window), which lets in lots of light. Too much light for sleeping in past 5:30 a.m. in the summer! Because it was above a door, we didn't want to put in curtains, as they would get in the way of the door. We could have gone with a roller shade, but we decided to try this honeycomb cell blackout cordless cellular shade. The shade was easy to install, but you have to look at the diagram very carefully that comes with it. For installing flat against the wood frame above the window, install the bracket so it looks like an upside down L. The squiggly part of the bracket goes on the bottom (against the wall), and the smooth corner part of the bracket goes on top (that's the part of the L that is hanging out in space). You will need a drill (I used a hand drill) for drilling 4 holes into the wood frame. Then you will need a screw driver for screwing the 4 long screws into the wood frame. Also you will need a level and a yard stick or ruler or something like that for making your 4 holes all in line with each other and level, and for measuring where you want the brackets to go. They recommend placing the brackets 4 inches in from the edges of the shade. After you have the brackets installed, then you open the fabric of the shade up a little bit, center it on your 2 brackets, and then tuck the bottom of the top plastic part into the squiggly lower bracket piece. After you've tucked the top plastic part into both of the squiggly lower bracket pieces, then you snap the top of the top plastic part into the clips. Voila! Installed! Hurray! Now, how about the operation and functionality of this blind? Well, first of all, the shade slides up and down very easily. I just have to get up on a footstool to reach it (because it is installed above the transom window), then pull it down as far as I want it to go. Of course, I also have to move the footstool back to push the blind back up, but that's no problem. The few problems I have ... the little side clips that go into the bottom plastic part .... they don't stay in without tape. Right now I have them secured with some clear scotch tape. Hope that will hold it. The second thing is that the whole bottom piece, the part that you pull down and push up .. is able to slide about 5 inches off the end one way, and 5 inches off the end the other way. I don't see any way to tape it or hold it back in. So ... if the bottom slides out, of course it makes the blind look terrible. But the good thing is, all you have to do is slide it back. It's kind of annoying. I'm thinking about contacting customer service at overstock, because maybe something is wrong with the blind I have? Other than that, the blind works great. In my case, the transom window is about 35 inches, and the blind is 36 inches, so there's not quite enough overlap to block out all the light. There is still light that comes in through the sides. But it's OK, at least there isn't DIRECT light coming in on us while we're sleeping. The blackout of the shades themselves is not 100%, I'd say it's something like 90%. If you were to cover very possible light opening with these blinds (with no light bleed on the sides), I think you would not reach total 100% darkness. However, it would be quite dark. This blind is good (4 stars), and it's making a BIG difference for us.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I Love them!
 Jun 13, 2015

I love my new blackout shades! They really do block out the light & they look great! They were super easy to install!! Wish I had found them sooner!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCELLENT!!
 Jun 12, 2015

This shades are WONDERFUL!!! I bought these for my son's two east-facing windows that make his room bright and hot in the mornings. I read the reviews and was worried about the size but took a chance. I measured both windows at 34 3/4" wide x 44" high. I bought the 34 1/2" x 60" blinds and these fit inside the window frame perfectly... a little long but the width was my concern, not the length. These really do black out the light except for right a little at the top where it is mounted. If he had a valance on his windows, this wouldn't be an issue. Installation was pretty easy and instructions were generally clear. They came with hold-down brackets which had no instructions and are optional so that wasn't an issue for us. Step one said to add the end caps but the end caps were already on there... my husband realized that but I didn't so I was confused. Besides that, it's four screws (two per bracket) then click, click. They are white but, because of the black which makes these black out, they might have the slightest cool/gray tone to them. Not a problem for us since the walls are gray, anyway. I love these and am so pleased with them. I would recommend these to anyone and we are planning to buy more for our guest room, our room, and one of our bathrooms. Don't hesitate if you want a simple, black-out blind. You've found it here.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

They fit perfectly, so measure correctly. They completely block the light and dramatically reduce the temperature in the room in the hot months. It only took me 5 minutes to install them. Will buy again for other rooms!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

really great shades, high quality and the best price I could find anywhere !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shades
 May 27, 2015

Smooth action. Excellent light blocking. Very easy to put up. It is true that because of the blackout material that the shades are not a pure white. But we were pleasantly surprised overall.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shades
 May 26, 2015

Great product - very happy with them! Everything everyone else said they were!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 197 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought