Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 113 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice shades - beware of the sizes!
 from Alexandria, VA,  May 15, 2013

Nice shades, as advertised, no complaints. EXCEPT for the size. The description doesn't warn you that they don't take off the usual 1/8th inch from your measurements like most other blinds/shades retailers. Thankfully, my windows are old and not a true 36 inches and I was able to take the end caps off of the blinds to get them to fit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality; too new to tell how they will wear.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As advertised.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really does darken the room
 from Lakeville, MN,  Jan 28, 2013

I ordered two of these for a toddler's bedroom plus another for a guest bedroom.I have used actual "blackout" curtains in the past and although these are definitely not "blackout" by definition, they significantly darken the room and are much better than a previous set of non-blackout cellular shades I had purchased. The color is really not a bright white. Instead it is at the cool end of the white spectrum and appears almost silver or gray. I did not find this to be a problem because I am not using bright white in the drapery panels flanking these windows and the walls are a cool shade of a pale sage greenish-gray color so they go very nicely. The plastic handle that comes with these cheapens the overall look, but it is of course optional to install since you can raise or lower them just by gently pushing or pulling on the base. These were extremely easy to install and the price was great! I am ordering another one for a bathroom.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is actually a very cool white - almost a pale gray
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? overall good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wrong size, terrible installation
 from Bay Area, CA,  Jun 26, 2013

These are EXACTLY the same width they say they are. Unfortunately, in order to mount them, you need an extra 1/4 in on each side for the mounting brackets that come with them. It would have been nice if they had incorporated that into their measurements (or if they would chance their mounting hardware so the edges can still block out the light). If you want them to fit, you need to order 1/2" smaller than your window. Installation of these blinds was miserable. There were NO instructions! They didn't fit in the window. It wasn't even clear how they were supposed to fit in the window! There weren't enough screws and were too many weird plastic parts. My husband and I both have graduate degrees in mechanical engineering and product design from a top university and we spent hours trying to figure this out to no avail... I had to return them, which is too bad, because they are nice quality other than the size/mounting.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK, except size
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely PERFECT
 from Florida,  Apr 24, 2013

I'll try and make this quick...I purchased my fathers house while he moved up north. In the office...the sun came in so bright that he actually had aluminium foil on the window and then a cheap blind in front of it to keep the sun out. I wanted to be able to use the window when the sun was not blazing though....and this blind turned out to be absolutely perfect. I have some so called "Black out" curtains in my bedroom that do NOT blackout the sun. This blind does. I really like this blind. You simply use your hand to lightly lift up on the blind to raise it...and lower it. Doesn't take much pressure...doesn't make much of a sound. Super super easy to install. No taxes...shipping was quick...and right to my door. Perfect. Couldn't hardly ask for more.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? DEAD ON ACCURATE
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very very nice...not cheap looking at all.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Dead on.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for the money
 from Capitol Hill DC,  Sep 11, 2013

We bought these blinds for our bedroom, which faces west. The size is exactly as advertised. The fabric of the blinds themselves is very similar to higher-priced brands, and the metallic lining does an excellent job of blocking the light. I took a star off because they were a little difficult to install (there is a "right side" to face out although the directions don't say so. The flat side needs to face the back of the clips.) The clips to install the blinds are also slightly less substantial than more expensive brands, and the metal clip part is harder to disengage if you need to move them (or if you put them up wrong initially). But I would recommend them because the price is REALLY GOOD.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Blackout shade - doesn't look white
 from Northern Virginia,  Jul 20, 2013

These blackout shades really darken the room! The color is more of a gray than a white. The instructions could have been better. It comes with a box of brackets and screws. The instruction sheet was poor. It went like this, "Step 1 -Install the Brackets", but it didn't say HOW to install the brackets. Take your time - you'll figure it out. It took me 30 minutes for the first one and 10 minutes each for the rest of them. They function really well. I would recommend them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Blinds for the Money
 from Medina, OH,  Aug 10, 2013

We were trying to find an inexpensive cellular blackout shade for our baby's nursery; however, we were having issues finding something in our price range. These blinds fit the bill - inexpensive yet very nice quality. At first when I opened the package, I was a bit concerned by the lack of directions. We went back to the other reviews to see if we were the only ones with this problem, and it appears as though these blinds just might not come with any. After getting a bit dejected and thinking that we might have made a poor purchase, I looked at another set of cellular blinds that were already hanging in our house, and we quickly figured out how to hang these, as well. The blinds just snap into the brackets from the top, and there is no need to leave any additional space on the side for the brackets. Our blinds were measured exactly to the size of our windows, and they fit perfectly. Great blinds for the money.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shades for the $
 from Los Angeles,  Jul 9, 2013

Great shades. We were looking for something simple and sturdy yet affordable. Easy to install, blacks out light very well. Would definitely recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Honeycomb Cordless Shades
 from Ontario,  Oct 26, 2013

They were very easy to install. They fit properly and are easy to raise and lower. I am very pleased with the product and would highly recommend them.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love them
 from Brick, NJ,  Apr 9, 2013

no problems installing them. total blackout. easy enough for kids to pull down and push up on their own. Only need sheers no bulky drapes for the bedrooms.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? close little grayer but ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. strong material easy to use
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gtreat Light Blocking Shades
 from Syracuse, NY,  Aug 19, 2014

We wanted shades that blocked 100% light in our baby's nursery - and WOW these shades did it. Once we realized how they clip on to the bracket - it was literally a 4 minute installation. I cannot believe how they block ALL of the light in the room. Its perfect! They are also sleek and easy to move up and down - no ugly cords. They are a bit pricy BUT they are perfect for what we wanted. The room had stark white trip and these white shades looked perfect and not dingy.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
effective
 from Southern Illinois,  Aug 14, 2014

Take your time figuring out how to put it up. Then it won't be difficult. It blocks light effectively and is easy to raise and lower. I plan to purchase more for other rooms.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality and easy to install
 from Salem, Oregon,  Aug 12, 2014

Measure every window before purchase. I probably should have gone with a .5 inch smaller size just to ensure a good fit because my windows were 34" across so I ordered 34" wide blinds and it's a pretty tight fit. Overall, they move up and down smoothly and look great. The brackets were also easy to install and then the blinds just pop in. I ordered 6 of these and may order more. Very happy with my purchase!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Blinds
 from TX,  Aug 9, 2014

Easy to install and looks great. Woks smooth. Thanks

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shades
 from Thunder Bay, ON,  Aug 7, 2014

These shades were exactly what I needed to fit on a narrow window.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy shades
 from NJ,  Aug 5, 2014

I installed these shades on my back french doors that are off of my living room. In the middle of the day the sun glare was bad for watching TV, so these shades solved my problem. They are super easy to install on your own, although both times I installed them upside down. It was an easy fix. Then the shades just snapped right in place. I want to install these shades on all of my windows in the house now.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
negative review title
 from Westfield,MA,  Aug 4, 2014

Previously purchased light filtering shade from *** **** * ******. Fit perfectly on inside of 36 inch wide window frame. ***** didn't have room darken type which my wife wanted. Ordered it from Overstock. Looks good but does not fit inside of window frame. It is a fraction of an inch too wide. Cannot get it to go up & down unless it's pulled away from window frame & after moving it, must push it hard to get it close to the inside of the window frame.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great design, slightly painful installation
 from Issaquah, wa,  Jul 27, 2014

These blinds look great, they do an excellent job blocking out sunlight, and the price was very reasonable. The only complaint I have is how terrible the instructions were... The diagrams were such low quality and made no sense, I ended up just fiddling with the parts until I figured out how the braces snap together.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shades!
 from Warner Robins, GA,  Jul 26, 2014

I ordered these blinds for my first child's nursery to keep the room from becoming so hot. They're working out great! We had a little trouble installing them because they attach differently than normal curtains and our odd window configuration made it hard to install the mounts. We ended up using heavy weight command strips to adhere one set of the blinds to the window frame because we were scared to drill into it, but it worked! As other reviews say, the color does look kind of grayish, but overall it's a white and looks fine since all of the windows are the same color. These do completely block out the light, however they don't seal the entire window, so of course you're going to have some light leaking in the edges and top above the mounts that reflects off of the window casing. However, this would be the case with any blackout blinds so I'm still satisfied. For the price and the amount of different sizes available you definitely can't beat them!!!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Room darkening cellular shades
 from Northwood, NH,  Jul 23, 2014

I've been buying the other shades (light filtering) for privacy. I am on medication now that requires me to take a pill one hour before breakfast and decided to try the room darkening shade, because I was having a difficult time falling back to sleep. I couldn't belive the difference. I would highly recommend these, especially for the bedroom. Over the years, only one shade has given me trouble with going back up. A family member may have pulled it by the side instead of by the pull at the center as recommended.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 113 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top