Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
This cart is a winner for small kitchens!
 from NC,  May 6, 2014

I treated myself to this cart because I was fed up with my existing one (cheap materials, the top kept coming unattached and flipping everything off and it wasn't a good fit in my kitchen). The cart looks exactly like the online photograph and description. I ordered it to fit in my (to me) tiny kitchen that has no prep area to speak of and I needed it to be narrower than my existing cart. Unlike other carts in this price range it is mostly solid wood, made in the USA and fits together nicely. I have had another cart made by this company that wasn't thrilling, but that was some years ago so I took a chance and glad I did. I fit most of it together myself (I am retired, not handy), needing my son-in-law only to help with final assembly. I oiled the cart well after assembly and repeated this a week later; the cart looks great. It has a useful drawer, and the shelf and cupboard are also well sized. The sides have narrow shelves that take spices and condiments and I am using S hooks to hold cutting boards and measuring cups and spoons on the rather narrow towel bars at each end. I particularly love the arrangement of the drop leaf along the length of the cart. That allows the cart to be narrow and so a good fit in my kitchen. It makes a really useful prep area when I am baking or fixing a dinner party. Overstock has an excellent price on this item; I highly recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Catskill Heart of the Kitchen Island with Drop Lea
 from Cincinnati, Ohio,  Feb 8, 2009

I am only rating this product on the assembly part. I like the wood and the style, however, instructions were difficult to understand and had to add some bolts of my own and request the 4 L brackets that secured the top down to be sent to me. Too difficult for the average person to assembly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome - be ready for a long installatin
 from Long Island, NY,  Nov 14, 2009

We love our new butcher block. Be ready for a long install. It took two intelligent people about 5 hours to put this together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A very nice piece of furniture
 from Plymouth, MA,  Sep 2, 2014

This island was a lot of work to assemble--not difficult if you are handy, but a lot of steps and pieces. The workmanship was superb and all the pieces fit very well. The manual and website videos were very complete and easy to follow. I finished it with Danish oil as recommended and it looks stunning. I would recommend applying the stain/finish BEFORE assembly to make it easier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heart-of-the-Kitchen Island with Drop Leaf
 from CT,  Aug 20, 2014

This is a very quality built cabinet. The wood is top notch. All the drawers and doors work good, after you put it together that is. The reason why I rated the quality good and not excellent, was the work required to put this together. The directions are quite complex and we had to order some replacement hardware due to the poor quality of the draw handle, door magnets and a couple of screws. Their customer service was great and they got the new parts out to us quickly, no questions asked. All in all, I love my new cabinet, it seems very sturdy and useful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good sturdy product, some issues with constructing
 Sep 28, 2015

Comments on Kitchen Island with Drop Leaf Model 15445 Contents of package were extremely heavy so there was damage to the shipping box at corners and one plastic packing strap was broken. Need to reinforce corners of packaging. Need to offer the option of an unfinished (unoiled) product so that one could more easily personalize the finish. Checking inventory of parts. There should be labels/stickers on wood parts designating them. Inventory included 4 1 ¼” screws for the back of the drawer as per the written instructions (and video instructions) however on an small zip top baggie, there was a label that said in place of the 1 ¼” screws for the drawer back use 1 ½” screws, but only 2 of the 1 ½” length screws were included in that baggie along with the hinges. Instructions call for 2 hinges for the drop leaf but three came in the package. Do not know if one is a spare or there should be another use. Inventory called for 20 #8 5/8” screws for drop leaf hinges. There were 26; not sure what the others are for. #7 5/8” screws- there are 12 in two separate tiny zip top baggies. Not sure why they are packaged separately. Inventory calls for 4 #5 5/8” screws for drawer sides but there are only #6 screws left after accounting for all others. One locking caster does not want to stay seated in its position and both locking casters were too tough to lock/unlock. A bit of WD40 and down on the floor manually rocking the lever back and forth loosened them up to where they can now be locked/unlocked somewhat more easily. One towel bar handle’s attachment was apparently drilled too large for the provided screws. This was solved by using one of two 1 ½ screws that had been provided for the drawer back. Instructions Written instructions on Bastion fastening system works are very confusing. Video is better but there needs to be close up shots of the components of the Bastion/Cam systems. Drawer Assembly: Confusion on necessary screws for attaching drawer back. Drawer handle: Instructions say “Attach the drawer handle with one 7/8” Truss head machine screw”. First it takes two screws to attach the handle. Second, in the video instructions the gentleman says to use a 1” machine screw. Constructing If you have a lot of experience in building things, I am sure that you will find this a piece of cake to put together. For those of us less skilled but willing, it is a bit of a challenge. I recommend a large area, lay everything out, read the instructions thoroughly and watch the instruction videos. Once the unit was put together, it is beautiful and gets a lot of compliments.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too much assembly - not as sturdy.
 from Monroe, LA,  Jul 19, 2011

I was missing some hardware, luckily I had some in the shop that served the purpose. The assembly was fine otherwise, but still took about 2 hours to get everything snug and in place. The unit looks nice superficially, and has a few nice features (like the spice racks), but these really don't overcome the inherent lack of strength/rigidity of the legs and rails. The unit appears to be a nicer, higher "quality" piece than it turned out to be... not worth taking apart and sending back, but I guess you get what you pay for. Not sure I'd take a chance on CatSkill again... we'll see how it holds up after a couple of moves :( Derek Smith

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mid-grade quality wise - better than Wal-M furniture, but not exactly the best either.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Mostly accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great kitchen island for small space
 Jan 22, 2016

Not quick to put together, but well worth the effort. Don't forget to treat the wood once it is done.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 Dec 2, 2015

Would of liked a better quality of hardware. The screws seemed to have very soft heads. Took about 5 hours to assemble. After reading the reviews decided to assemble when the room was quiet and could concentrate. All went well. Would recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love, Love, LOVE it!
 from Louisville, KY,  Nov 6, 2013

This is exactly what I was looking for. The wood is high quality, and the size is perfect. It is truly a beautiful addition to my kitchen. I read all the reviews and knew the assembly was going to be a little tough. However, I took my time, organized the pieces, and read the instructions line-by-line. When the instructions weren't clear enough (several times), I watched the online videos...they were excellent help. It took this 62-year-old lady approximately 6 hours to complete the process with no other assistance. My only disappointment was with the top. It felt a little rough and pourous. I was concerned that a drop of cooking oil or wine might discolor the wood, so my husband sanded and polyurethaned the top. I would highly recommend doing this if you plan on actually using the cart for food prep or serving. It is now PERFECT!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from New York, NY,  Jan 17, 2013

This piece of furniture is gorgeous. Beautiful, well made, from quality hard woods. Took two of us 9 hours to put together. Not truly difficult to understand, but a lot of pieces to put together. Again, it is stunningly gorgeous, I cannot stress this enough, but it is a lot of work to put it together. On the plus side, the instructions are clear, if you need help, they have videos online, and customer service with Catskill Craftsmen is wonderful. Do not hesitate to buy this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Extremely well made, very high quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not at all. Dimensions might be correct, but description said came assembled, and it didn't.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
josangels35
 from Fairland,Indiana,  Aug 1, 2008

I enjoy my island very much,but had a little problem with assembling the product because the wrong instructions and part was different than what was illustrared.Unfortuntionly,there aRE @ ISLANDS VERY SIMILAR.oNE WITH A DROP LEAF AND ONE WITHOUT.As a result, the directions and scematics are completely different,making for confusion when assembling.But once this was sisserned,the finished product was very nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly anxiety
 Jun 15, 2016

The carpenter I hired to put my island together just brought it in and I do love it. However, He spent 6 hours here on one day and wound up taking it home. He followed directions to the letter. One drawer support had no holes drilled so he had to do that. It was missing 4 cam sets and a screw was missing when he put on the handles. He had to purchase 15$ of additional hardware. A novice could never do this in less than a week. If you are or know a contractor - get this it's a beauty but if you think you can put it together yourself - NOT!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not EZ to assemble, BUT NICE
 Feb 6, 2016

Took some "ooomph" to assemble, but worth the effort! Be sure to oil the top when done!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kitchen tool
 Nov 13, 2015

Somewhat time consuming to put together. Very well built unit when you are done.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Piddler
 Sep 7, 2015

This is not meant for the average Joe or Joan to build. It is extremely confusing as the written instructions are not at all clear and the video does not follow the steps in the written instructions and also the audio is very poor. Some advice don’t try to watch the video and also the written instructions since they don’t follow the same steps in order. The kitchen cart is a beautiful piece of furniture once it is completed but my suggestion is to have a cabinet maker or an experienced person to assemble the cart; lots of pieces. It took us approximately 10 hours to complete the assembly. Sturdy cart and I know I will certainly enjoy the extra counter space and storage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks good
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Oct 3, 2014

The materials are of good quality and the finished product is well designed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought