Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
One Big Summer Clearance
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 50 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Do not order this desk
 Dec 14, 2009

The desk arrived all scratched and a corner of it had fallen off. There were assembly pieces missing such as screws. In addition, when I was assembling the desk, the wood would break when I screwed in the screws (especially true on the corner pieces). I wish I had read the reviews prior to ordering the desk and Overstock does not allow this product to be returned.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely piece!
 Oct 1, 2008

I really only have two complaints concerning this desk: I'd purchased it thinking I could use the large drawer for filing space, but wasn't paying enough attention to its actual size... and there are *very* visible gouges in the veneer of the desktop itself, not to mention a few dings in the rest of the desk. I know the desktop came out of the box that way, but the other dings could very well be my fault.HAVE A DRILL HANDY! There are about a zillion little screws, and it takes a good two to three hours to assemble the desk, but once it's together it's such a great product, especially for the price. Just remember to take your time and read the instructions CAREFULLY. The diagrams aren't as detailed as one might prefer, so be careful that you don't put the cabinet bottom on backwards (like I did, wups). Overall, I recommend this piece, the color is beautiful and the quality is fantastic for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the effort
 Dec 9, 2010

Clearly, the person who wrote these assembly instructions will not be winning the Technical Writer of the Year award anytime soon...but the instructions weren't the nightmare I feared they would be after reading many of these reviews. I recommend having a cordless drill on hand because you will most definitely need to create a few additional holes. The parts are clearly labeled but the illustrations leave a lot to be desired. That said, I was able to single-handedly assemble this desk in just about 5 hours. I think anyone who has assembled ***** furniture should be able to handle this job with some patience (and a glass or two of wine). As others have said, the desk drawers stick a little but I expect with a little WD-40 and continued use that should hopefully go away. The desk itself is beautiful—solid, sturdy, high-quality wood. There were no chips or damaged parts on mine. I'm deducting one star only because of the less than stellar assembly instructions.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Computer desk
 from Massachusetts,  Nov 18, 2009

The desk is beautiful and went together easily. HOWEVER. when it was delivered, the box was broken open and some pieces suffered minor damage. Old English will fix the scratches. fortunately all the pieces were there. Overall we are satisfied but think the way it is delivered should be reviewed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big disappointment
 Oct 14, 2009

I should have read through all of the reviews before buying this desk. It came scratched, banged up (some parts were broken, but we nailed them back together), screws were missing (went and bought more), and there were so many pieces with awful instructions. It took us a total of 10 hours to put it together over 3 days. The drawers are really small and don't slide in/out very easily, so don't buy if you need lots of storage. We're keeping it as a temp desk in our office and will put it in a kids room later. You're better off paying a bit more for better quality!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking desk, but beware of assembly
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jul 2, 2009

Shipping was very fast, only took about 4 days. Assembly took me about 10 hours total. Some of the illustrations made it difficult to understand which size screw to use, and which piece went to what, and vice versa. Some of the wood I received came with a nicks and small scratches on the edges, presumably from the shipping. Overall I like the desk, in spite of the difficult assembly I'm glad I bought it and took the time to put it together myself. Looks great in my room with the dark hardwood flooring.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk
 from New York, NY,  Feb 21, 2009

As others mentioned, you need to set aside plenty of time to assemble. Like others, there were not enough screws included. We also have small gouges on the desk top which are quite visible. Waiting to hear how Overstock will handle this. You definitely need an electric screwdriver. The direction manual is not as helpful as it should be. Its guidance is particularly lacking with the keyboard drawer assembly. Once the desk is assembled, it is very nice looking as shown in the picture, and it doesn't look cheap as I worried it might since the price is pretty low.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleased with desk
 from Virginia,  Feb 19, 2009

This was my first purchase at Overstock. I was impressed when the desk arrived in 4 days. The top and one other piece were damaged so I called the customer service number and they sent replacement pieces which arrived very prompty. The drawers do not glide smoothly, but maybe with use they will get better. The desk looks nice and is the size I wanted. It is 90% wood and that was why I chose it over all the pressed particle board type furniture that is a waste of money. I think this desk will serve me well for many years.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Okay I guess
 from Raleigh, NC,  Oct 22, 2008

It was not packed well and UPS damaged the corners. Not their fault it should have been packed better. If love assembling a million little pieces that sometimes fit together and sometime not then you'll love this. I am VERY experienced with this type of work and it took me 3 hours. The rails for the draws were not the best in quality or fit. Once it is together it is workable. We put the damaged corner to the wall and it works. it is a step up from our old pub table which now we can use as a PUB table.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent desk
 from New York, NY,  Jul 5, 2011

The desk is nice. The only thing I don't love about the design is that the space where your feet go is pretty low, but I am tall so this may not be a concern for you. Now why the low rating? Putting this desk together was a pain, it is missing a drawer handle and because the instructions were so poor, we didn't get all the drawers to line up well, so that sucks. For now I haven't revisited the drawer issue, I am still traumatized from putting this desk together. Would I buy it again, NO! Am I glad I have it now all assembled? Kind of, there are still issues.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Computer dest.
 Jul 17, 2016

A lot of work to assemble, but when your done it looks great. Also strong won't fall a apart .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 May 7, 2016

Love, Love, Love this desk. The size if perfect, the color is as rich.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great addition to my study
 Nov 13, 2015

Love it! What more can I say?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Computer Desk
 Aug 6, 2015

I was a little disappointed but I liked it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 Jul 28, 2015

Only think I did not like is that I got a chair that is too big for the Desk Wish the Desk was a little higher

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NIGHTMARE
 Jul 26, 2015

This desk was a nightmare to assemble. The laminates are cheap and started to peel away after six months.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
C Kollman
 May 15, 2015

Very nice, easy to assemble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good piece for the money
 from Metairie, LA,  Jan 13, 2015

The desk "does the job well" for what we wanted. It looks good and is sturdy. It is heavy and, while it isn't a top quality piece, it does pretty well at looking the part.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent when properly assembled
 from Houston, TX,  Nov 4, 2014

Desk is all hardwood. Even the drawer bottoms. To maximize the quality, take the time and effort to properly assemble. The directions make no mention of glue but you'll get a truly solid desk if you add glue to the dowel fittings and anywhere the wood joins together. Especially the drawers. Glue where the sides meet and the groove the bottom slides in. Otherwise I can predict the drawers will lose their sqareness and stick. I generously glued and wiped clean. The next day the desk was solid as if carved from a tree trunk. Heavy too. The design is practical and makes great use of the space used. Computer tower and keyboard tucked away yet easy to access. The keyboard drawer hangs slightly low so you'll need a chair that will lower an extra inch or two. The finish is excellent. Rich brown with a tint of cherry and gold. A fine desk for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bottom drawer doesn't open and close properly.
 from Sun City West, AZ,  Aug 19, 2014

It took two of us 3 hours to put it together. The desk looks great! I just wished the bottom drawer hardware functioned correctly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 50 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought