Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Our Biggest Labor Day Sale Ever
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Murphy Fold-Out Desk
 from VA,  Feb 15, 2011

Received this Murphy Fold-out Desk quickly from Overstock. Solid and Heavy and well-made. However, there was a chip with missing veneer on the edge of the desk's table that was stained at the factory to cover the flaw. The overall staining on the outside of the unit was good but some areas inside were missed. VERY heavy item required more screws to make sure it would be securly attached to the wall. We drilled more holes through the back panel of the unit and attached to studs in the wall to secure it. Murphy beds were a clever design and so is this desk. You can fold it up and get it out of the way when not in use, and quickly fold it down when you need a desk for writing, crafts, or to use your laptop on. When closed, I place a bench underneath the unit, and use the same bench to sit on when it's open.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Murphy Black Convertible Desk
 from Virginia,  Jan 25, 2011

Really great desk for the price! I needed a desk for my mother, who moved in with us and needed extra room for her computer, etc. She loves that she can fold the Murphy Desk up when not in use and "hide" her stuff, but easily fold it out and put her laptop on it. She is 60/short and cannot lift much, so this gives you an idea of how relatively easy it is to lift and pull out the desk top. There is not enough room for her little printer, but we have the desk next to her dresser, which allows for "overflow". There is definitely more than enough room for her rather over-sized laptop, some paperwork, and her various pictures and things she likes to keep around. The desk also keeps her organized in terms of having three little pockets for her papers, a nice little bulletin board for her memos and notes, as well as three little adjustable shelves for pens and note pads. Some notes: the desk is definitely black, not espresso colored (a previous reviewer said it was more espresso); it definitely takes two people to hang (everyone says this...they aren't kidding!); the instructions say to hang desk from studs, but we used some of the mega anchors--the ones that support 200+ lbs. each--and the desk is doing perfectly fine. Pros: easy to use once it is up; easy to pull up and down; keeps my mom fairly organized; adequate space; comes already put together Cons: definitely black (a previous reviewer said this was more of an espresso color...it is NOT); hangs lower than you think and looks somewhat odd when closed--like a really, really low cabinet; can only be set to one height

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Murphy Desk
 from Los Gatos, CA,  Sep 29, 2010

I needed a small desk with a lot of power for my teenagers room. They share a room and I wanted to reduce the clutter. This desk is the perfect option. It was very easy to put up; but you do need two people....also when using the template, take into account whether or not you have carpet. I need to lower the unit by an inch because of the carpet-when opened the desk would slope otherwise. All in all, Im very please and the kids are actually using it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cool desk
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Feb 18, 2014

I bought this for my 7-year-old daughter. She has a closet-sized bedroom (in NYC!) and it is just the solution we were looking for. It is VERY heavy--I could not lift it (single mom, no one here to help!), let alone install it on the wall on a stud as recommended. I just set it on a shelf in her room that was the right height and it works fine. She absolutely loves it and I do, too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect for small rooms
 from Brick, NJ,  Jan 27, 2012

Fits in my sons small room great. Keeps it off the floor for when he wants to do connect or has friends over but big enough for his laptop and school work.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Product matched the description
 from Northern California,  Aug 30, 2011

No damage from shipping, had to drill additional mounting holes-but that is to be expected. Throw away the mounting hardware that comes with it and invest in longer screws and/or molly bolts. The unit is quite heavy and needs to be mounted well-or use a cleat across the bottom to support the weight. Wife loves it and it fits in laundry room perfectly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good-it was Black!!!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. For what it is, made in China, it shipped well and there was no assembly-which was great. components were strong enough for intended purpose
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great purchase
 Feb 10, 2016

I am so happy with my purchase. It is exactly as how it is pictured. It is heavy and pretty sturdy. It's perfect for smaller rooms where you want to maximize space. I would definitely purchase this again

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Must screw into studs
 Mar 9, 2015

Find out where you want this before ordering and verify stud locations. The two upper screw hole thru the back are ~16" apart and the directions say must go into wall studs. Its heavy enough that you want some studs there! Product looked good. Directions looked good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lives in Michigan
 Jan 22, 2015

I adore Murphy style products as functional and space-saving. This Murphy desk was the absolute best purchase for my guest room. Wonderful quality for the price. Timeless look. Highly recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent purchase
 from Roselle, NJ,  Jan 10, 2015

Strong sturdy piece. Great for small spaces. Directions made a assembly more difficult than needed. Happy with purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
hinges were loose.
 from Bronx N.Y.,  Dec 13, 2014

After tightNing screws on door hinge it was fine.Besides that it's a good product.Grandson loved it

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool idea. Love it
 from Ga,  Jan 14, 2013

This desk is great for a teenager or small spaces. My daughter had a big desk that took up so much room in her bedroom. She is a preteen and of course needs as much room as she can get. I saw this thought it was a cool idea showed it to her and she wasn't thrilled. After contemplating on whether to get it I decided to buy it anyway. Sooooo glad I did not only does she LOVE it, she actually uses it versus her other desk she never used. It hold everything she needs to do her homework. She even uses it to put her makeup on, what little I let her wear.lol. And it gives her so much more room. She is thrilled and told me she was glad I didn't listen to her..what do ya know moms REALLY DO know what's best...lol!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superb
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Awesome
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My 12 year old loves it!
 from NSB, FL,  Nov 30, 2012

My 12 year old loves it so much, and now my other 12 year old wants one! It really is a great space saver and hides the mess that my 12 year old makes at a "normal" desk. This desk forces her to be organized! That it is very unique and not like thier friend's desks also appeals to them. It does take a lot to hang correctly, to get the right angle, etc. but it's worth the effort.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool Desk
 from Apex, NC,  Apr 26, 2012

My teen son likes this cool desk and so do I. It really is a space saver but is also a neat look if you don't have to have a desk open at all times because you accumulate piles, like I do. So, for a student who's backpack is their life, this is a great place to work on homework.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD CONCEPT - POORLY MADE
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Dec 17, 2011

This is the perfect space saver; however, the quality wasn't up to par. The upper left corner was coming apart, so I had to get the old super glue. When folded up on the wall, the leg part doesn't lay completely flat (can't tell if it's because the wood is warped or the hinge is off). The clasp that holds it all up is kind of loose and janky, but it holds everything up ok. It definitely takes two people to build this, and I would say the difficulty level to put it together is a 6. I also advise to add a 4th hole/screw to secure it (it only comes with 3). These are all the detailed flaws of this desk, but they're easy to tweak.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly how it looks in the pic.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not the greatest.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad BUT...
 from Seattle, WA,  May 8, 2010

I was really excited to get this and was more excited because it came pre-assembled. But then that excitement started to subside when I noticed that 2 of the corners were damaged. I thought about exchanging it but decided it wasn't that big of a deal because you could hardly see it when installed. And it was wicked heavy. But after we put it up on the wall I realized that one of the pieces was upside down and I wasn't able to attach the 2 shelves. I ended up using wood glue. It's a good table for the price and I use it everyday. But the manufacturer has to do a better job with assembly and packaging.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ana Garcia
 Aug 5, 2016

Very nice and looks just as the picture. Very sturdy and heavy. I will require strong hardware so that it holds well on the wall. Highly recommended for small spaces.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 Aug 4, 2016

Great quality! Works great for my teenage son!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this Murphy Desk
 Jul 25, 2016

It was easy to mount, needed 2 people though, it is not a one man job. The desk is heavy and sturdy. It is a very nice piece for anyone who wants a desk, but wants to fold up when not in use. I would recommend and purchase again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 May 5, 2016

This desk is the perfect size for small apartments.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought