Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
beautiful but . . .
 from New Jersey,  Oct 1, 2008

This is a really beautiful Safavieh rug. I know what this brand costs as I have another one already, so I really practically stole this one! It is very thick and the appearance has a nice lightness and airiness to it because of the rather delicate design. It is one of those designs that will go with just about any fabric I choose to put on my parsons chairs when I reupholster. I have dark hardwood floors and this rug really stands out against them! My only complaint is that it is not as yellow as the picture. I was prepared for that as I have ordered other rugs from Overstock in the past and returned every one because the colors were so off from the picture. The field is really just a very light ivory; the only yellow is in some of the pattern and the outside border which is a golden color (very nice). The dark rust red in the design is very thin in outline so it could be considered many dark red colors depending on what colors you bring into the room (burnt orange, burgundy, etc.) so it is very versatile. I love the values on Overstock; I just wish they would upgrade their color representation and/or give a more detailed color description. Rugs are such a pain to return!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased!
 from Key West, Florida,  Feb 16, 2013

I, of course, had a bit of trepidation about ordering a 9X12 rug sight unseen. I've done tons of shopping on Overstock and usually been extremely pleased. On the occasion I've had the send something back (usually shoes) it's an easy process. I knew this would not be so with a very heavy, very large rug. It took six of us to lay the pad and rug under my bed but it was immediately clear that the color was perfect and it's a high quality rug. It looks beautiful in my bedroom where I mix original deco furniture with funky lamps and mix match pillows and upholstered furniture. Just my style. This rug is a steal at the price I paid, delivery was very fast and efficient. I highly recommend. One note: with only myself to blame (I guess) I had typed in oriental as the category of rug I was searching for and most of the rugs were made in Pakistan, India and Iran. When we put the rug down on my floor and I looked at the tag that said "made in China" I was horrified. I referred back to the site and somewhere very small it does indeed state that. I WILL NOT BUY MERCHANDISE MADE IN CHINA until we work out a fair trade agreement. So, I was disappointed, in myself. I am usually a very careful shopper.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I read all the reviews and there were many who complained that the rug was more geige than gold, which was exactly what I was looking for.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. beautiful quality for a hand knotted rug made in China. Doesn't shed which is a huge plus. Very think and beautiful to walk on.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very except for what is always an issue with online shopping, not Overstock alone, just you have to expect that colors will vary from screen to screen and computer type
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Color more beige than gold
 from CT,  Jan 12, 2011

The carpet is of good quality, Safavieh. It's comfortable and on the thick side. The color however, in my opinion, was not as pictured. I found it to be more beigy and rust with touches of black - not the golden tone you see here. I kept the carpet because I did not want to go through the trouble of sending it back. I now use it in another room that has Hush Paint by Benjamin more and an attempted Ralph Lauren look - and it works perfectly in that room. It's a very nice carpet, good quality, and if the beige/rust/blackish-blue color scheme works for you, it's perfect. It has a Navaho/American Indian feel to it - which also works in the room I ultimately ended up putting it in.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sand Rug
 from Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX,  Dec 27, 2010

Once ordered, we received the rug and pad eithin a week! The rug is thick and cushiony underfoot. Although the description did not specify the color black in the rug, there are definite black accents in the pattern. Otherwise, the colors are soft and the blue/green border goes great in my bedroom. The sand color matches my light oak flooring and has just enough color to anchor the bed. The pad holds it in place and provides the correct amount of buffer between the rug and floor. It does not shed, did not have a strong dye odor, and shipping folds came right out.. All in all, the rug is a great bargain for the money. You would expect to pay much more in a rug store. Thanks, Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I am extremely happy with my purchase.
 from Westminster MD,  Oct 29, 2013

I am extremely happy with my purchases. Most likely I would recommend to my friends about the convenience of buying on-line from Overstock.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing price, thick wool rug
 from Stillwell, KS,  Oct 25, 2013

The color is sandy not gold. There is a little black that is perfect, it will work with a lot of different decors. unbeatable price for the size and very comparable to pottery barn wool rugs. I actually think this one is more dense than pb, which i like better. it did have an odor for about 2 weeks??

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
happy with purchase
 from North Palm Beach, Fl.,  Oct 23, 2013

I ordered this rug 2wks. ago. and I am very satisfied with this purchase. I had been looking for a rug for awhile and had not found anything I could afford and actually liked. The background color is sand (light beige/cream) and the design is similar to southwest Indian but it is subtle. The other colors in the rug are black, grey, very little gold in the pattern but it is edged with gold, and a dark (almost rust) orange. I used this rug in my LR & have a gold couch and chairs in a gold, light brown, bluish-grey and cream strip and I like how all the colors blend together. I used a rust colored lamp & vase in the adjacent dining room to bring the rooms together. I did hesitate to order a rug on line because of the cost of returning but after reading the reviews decided to give it a try . The price for 9x12 wool rug was GREAT!! and luckily I am not disappointed. The only draw back & the reason I did not give it an excellent review is the chemical smell. It is getting better but still present. I am in Florida and have had the a/c on but soon will be able to open the windows and hope that will help dissipate the remaining odor. I did not use any spray for odor on the carpet yet but if the open air does not work I will. I have not had much of a problem with shedding after the first few runs with the vacuum.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Interesting patter yet subtle
 from Chicago,  Apr 25, 2013

I'm pleased with the rug and make an effort to walk through the dining room just to admire it. I like that the pattern is interesting yet doesn't overwhelm the room. Pattern is also busy enough to hide accidental stains. I'm so happy with the carpet that I purchased a second rug for the living room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Happy with quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The sand color is a little darker than depicted and has a green tint. Otherwise beautiful. Dissappointed that this rug began to pill when vacuuming with a canister vacuum with a powerhead (new Kenmore Progressive vacuum cleaner) so recommend not using a vacuum with a powerhead on this rug. My more expensive rugs don't have this problem so I know it is not the vacuum cleaner.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The sand color is a little darker than shown and has a green, not gold, tint.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Rug began to pill when vacuuming with a canister vacuum with a powerhead (Kenmore Progressive vac)
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate but sand color is a little darker than shown and has a green tint.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handmade treasured sand wool rug
 from Evanston, il,  Jan 18, 2013

Beautiful rug but colors are quite different from what is described. Rug arrived within 3 days of ordering and unrolled perfectly and had no smell. It is a high quality rug and pattern is beautiful however I found colors to be quite different from site.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is lighter and has sand color greenish tint
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Site lists colors as gold, burgundy, sage and navy but the rug I received have rust, black, sage and main color is sand color with a greenish tint. Only outer border is gold.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
quality
 from northeast,  Dec 22, 2012

I had first seen this rug on someone's blog and she was sharing photos of her living room. She said she found it on Overstock. The rug arrived a day early, well packaged and there was very little new rug smell (as others had noted). I did search this rug and found it had been discontinued and had been selling for $1,200...another site had it on sale for $800+ and Overstock was $505 or something like that. The black in the rug is a little strong, but it is probably only something I noticed because I was feeling weird about purchasing a rug sight unseen. Very difficult to find a well made rug of this size for that price. I'm happy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color is more creamy in color and not gold
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very dense, thick rug
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? except for color, it was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Rug at an Amazing Price!
 from Washington DC,  Nov 4, 2012

The title says it all, this is an excellent rug at an amazing price. While it does appear slightly lighter in real life, it still fits very well in our living room. The first few runs of the vacuum cleaner did gather a lot of fuzz, but after that the amount picked up has been comparable to our other rugs. This rug has a nice thickness, and really is comfortable to walk on.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A little bit lighter in real life
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be of excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
outstanding rug
 from ri,  Jan 20, 2011

The rug is just beautiful! More beautiful than the picture can show. There is little or NO sage in it. The border that looks sage on the moniter is really a silvery blue. If you need sage or green this rug is not for you. That being said I could care less about sage because I am so pleased with this rug. I wanted a rug with ivory and gold some dark accents and good quality. I got all that and more. The black in the rug adds some drama! I bought it for my dining room and now I cant stand the thought of covering it! Also you will never beat the price. $ 920 to 1200 on other sites.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gorgeous rug
 from Sonoma, CA,  Dec 14, 2010

We loved this rug so much we went on to order a matching rug for our entrance and a runner for the hall. It is superb quality and the soft gentle tones we were looking for. We have not found these rugs to shed excessively and have not had a problem at all with odor. The only disappointment is that we wanted to order a 12 x 15 version also and it is not made in that size. If you are debating whether or not to buy this rug, do not hesitate further - you will not regret it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Rug; Incredible price
 from New Jersey,  Nov 19, 2010

I was reluctant to order a rug with out seeing the color and feeling the quality, but after reading other reviews I decided to take a chance. And it was well worth it. I was quite pleased and surprised when I open up this rug and found it was a Safavieh (which can be thousands of dollars). The muted tones are true as pictured and would fit in seamlessly in any decor. It looks especially beautiful on our dark hard-wood floors. The pile is plush and soft and very nice underfoot - I'm not even using a rug pad at the moment and probably won't need to. Overall great rug at an unbelievable price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful rug - but sheds a bit
 from Cambridge, MA,  Nov 6, 2010

This is a beautiful rug. The orange is burnt orange and the darker color could go well with charcoal, navy, or black. The ivory colored background is also quite nice and there is a bit of gold in there -- all very subtle, not too bright, which I love. Safavieh is a very chic rug store I remember being on Madison Ave in NYC. I passed it often when I lived there and admired the rugs. This seems to be the same brand (same logo) and if so, it is a quality rug. You can also feel that the pile is quite plush for an oriental rug. And the price is terrific as well. My only complaint is that at least for the first month or so that we've had it, it sheds like crazy. If my son sits on the rug to play, he looks like he's been attacked by 20 cats when he gets up. I've been vacuuming every other day to try and get rid of the shedding and it is helping but still there so far (we've only had it a month). Am hoping that settles down. But even with that, given the quality price and colors, I am happy with the purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Pros...Rug is really pretty, looks expensive at first blush, very soft, odor disappeared after a week or so, true to color descriptions and price is right. Cons...After 4 weeks and alot of vacuuming, it is still shedding ALOT...little tuft balls, especially when there is foot traffic. Also, lots of actual loose threads pop up, which i have had to clip with scissors. Conclusion... U get what U pay for...ok purchase if you are really stuck in that budget...otherwise, save your money for a while longer and go for a better quality rug. Hopefully shedding will taper off, or I will have to save for another rug, as this one will likely disappear b4 my eyes.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from Chicopee, MA,  Oct 16, 2010

I ordered this rug for our basement that we are finishing...nearly there so we just opened the rug and placed it last night after it had been sitting wrapped for about a month. I was anxious to see what it looked like and I am very happy with it! The background is an almost gold, almost tan color...somewhere in between those. The colors are pretty true to what you see. Nice pile and thickness and the design is beautiful. Not the first wool rug I have ordered from Overstock and definately won't be the last. I also saw this on another website for around $1600 so this is absolutely a great price. This rug solidifies the Napa wine cellar look and feel of the basement we were trying to achieve. It really brings everything together. This is now my favorite rug in our home!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Warning - REEKS
 from Atlanta,  Jun 12, 2008

I purchased this rug and it was delivered tightly and expertly wrapped in several layers of plastic and brown paper. Opened it up, and found good and bad things: On the good side, it's lovely and exactly what I wanted. The colors are as described; sand-yellow, very muted sage, and some thin burgundy lines which could easily pass for burnt orange (as I wanted) with the right accent fabrics in the room. The rug appears well-made and is relatively plush, maybe 5/8" thick and tightly woven. However, on the bad side, the very bad side, the rug was damp all through (from the warehouse, I guess) and absolutely reeks. Perhaps this was the 'herbal wash' that wasn't allowed to dry before shipment (?) This is a return item, unless the smell goes away. Have only had it 1 day, and we'll be taking it out in the hot sun for 3-4 days to air and dry out. Then it'll come back indoors and if the smell's truly gone, great! If not, it goes back. The smell is really strong, not just new wool rug smell. Not sure if there's mildew and mold smells in there too, who knows how long it was damp like that, but as of now the odor is unacceptable in nature and strength. Too bad, because the rug is perfect for my room. Here's to hoping!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Cleveland, OH,  Jun 12, 2008

We are very happy with our purchase. The colors were true to the picture. The pile is thick and the design is nice. It is shedding, which I understand is common for wool rugs. Overall, very pleased. I don't think we could've gotten a new rug of this quality for less money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Oushak Cream/ Blue Powerloomed Rug (8' x 11')
Sale $292.49
Was $324.99
Compare $583.95
Save 50%
(2)
Handmade Mahal Ivory Wool Rug (9' x 12')
Sale $515.69
Was $572.99
Compare $1119.00
Save 54%
(17)
Back to top