Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Well worth the money
 from Seattle,  Oct 9, 2006

This rug is a great value. It is better looking in person than it appears online. The rug I received had some flaws and the border is darker than is shown in the picture, but it is very thick and heavy and well worth the price. In one corner on the backing, there was some damage and throughout the rug, there were a few minor flaws, but nothing that would make me want to return it. You would pay more than Overstock's price if you bought this identical rug in a store. I am very satisfied with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ugly rug
 from Westerville OH,  Jan 30, 2009

The background color in the photo looks black. The background color is actually a badly dyed mixture of brown and charcoal gray. It really has a damaged look to it. The border appears to have irregular brown striping on what should be a solid colored edge. Even the pattern colors are extremely different than the photo. The rug looks nothing like the photo. I'm really extremely disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gorgeous rug!
 from denver, co,  Mar 8, 2011

I just received this rug yesterday and I love it! As other people have said, the background color is not a true jet black, but a dusty black. I also see the subtle striping that others have been talking about, but I think this is part of the antiquing process. I think this gives the rug an overall aged and more muted appearance. I can't comment on the shedding - I have a whole house vacuumn, but don't notice anything. The colors are beautiful, but I don't see any blue. I think those areas on the website look more sage green to me. Overall the rug is thick, soft and beautiful. I was very wary of buying a rug without seeing it in person, but this couldn't have worked out any better for me.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice rug
 from memphis, tn,  Feb 24, 2010

This is a beautiful rug for the money. As has been said in other reviews, the colors look very different than online. It is a grey black brown, background and has a nice light sage green wherever it appears blue online. What I thought was red is a washed out burgundy, and what appears gold is beige. It is a gorgeous rug, even with the muted colors. It looks like an expensive rug, at the cost of a cheap thin lowes rug. It's is too bad they cant get a more accurate photo because people who are looking for a rug that looks like the photo may be disappointed, and someone who is looking for a rug with its true colors may miss out!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rug is different colors
 from Columbia, IL,  Mar 4, 2009

I loved this rug when it first arrived in December 2008. These hand woven rugs need to go through several vaccum cleanings before they start to show their true colors. Now that I have cleaned it weekly for several weeks, one half is revealing the most beautiful chocolate brown background. The other half is revealing a muted, dingy brown background. It is obvious there were two threads or two weavers or something. The change in color is exactly up a straight line in the middle of the rug. The rug was so much cheaper than I could find anywhere, locally or on line, but unfortunately, I think I now know why.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A beautiful rug!!
 from San Diego,  Oct 30, 2008

Received this rug yesterday and I'm thrilled with it altogether! I'm glad to have read the other reviews which were right on about the colors--the black is not a vivid black but a charcoal color and the beige is a more true, muted beige than a gold beige that the picture shows. The other colors of the design that stand out are a light green and a very subtle rust that may be a rich brown to some. Overall, the rug has an antiqued look to it--no one color stands out as vivid or overwhelming, it's just a nice neutral rug. The texture is nice and thick--I'm glad to have waited to buy the pad, it doesn't need a thick underpad at all and I have it on travertine tile. It does shed with vacuuming--I got three canisters full in my Dyson so far but I expect that to taper off over time. All in all, I think this is an excellent buy and a beautiful rug, thanks to Overstock for the great bargains and being such a good source of a hard to find size as well!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!!
 from North Carolina,  Aug 27, 2007

Love the Sultanabad wool rug, it is beautiful. Put it in our "Great Room," many compliments. Arrived quickly & was packaged very well. The colors are muted, which was exactly what we wanted. Plan to order another area rug soon for our dining room, can't beat Overstock when it comes to their rugs & the value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value but background is black not charcoal
 from Henderson, NV,  Oct 13, 2013

I bought three rugs in this design thinking they would match: This rug (7'6" x 9'6"), an 8' round rug, and a runner. All three rugs are soft and thick, and this rug and the runner (but not the round rug) have pure black backgrounds and look crisp. I love this rug and it was an excellent purchase. The reasons I don't give 5 stars are that the color was not accurately described and it does not match at least one other rug in the Sultanabad charcoal gray/ivory series. The colors in this rug, including the black background, do look exactly like the photo. The background color in the 8' round rug, on the other hand, is not pure black. It is presumably what they are calling "charcoal gray". However, the background is not comprised of all gray fibers as you might expect. It is actually a mixture of black and brown fibers in a pattern. The pattern is pretty subtle and from a distance gives the overall appearance of charcoal gray, I suppose. Unfortunately, in comparison with the rugs that have black backgrounds, the round one looks dull, like you might expect if they were worn or dirty. The difference is great enough that I would not put this rectangular rug or the runner (with their black backgrounds) in the same room with the round rug (with its 'charcoal gray' background). Bottom line: the 7'6" x 9'6" rectangular rug that I received has a pure black background (as shown in the photo) and looks great. I highly recommend it if the black background is ok with you. If you're expecting charcoal gray, though, or for all of your same-style rugs to match one another, you might be disappointed.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great rug - looks like picture
 from Oregon,  Sep 12, 2013

I was counting on this rug to do a huge task - pull together a new room with bold furniture and varying colors. It did the job! Rug arrived by UPS in great shape within 10 days after placing my order. No problems whatsoever. Quality very good, no smell, no irregularities. Makes my room look great. Excellent value and hassle-free experience. Would highly recommend this rug and OS.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rug looks great and is high quality
 from Houston, TX,  Apr 11, 2012

I installed the rug and pad and have only had complements on the rug. It is well made and the colors are true to the description and picture. It accents the room and is a pleasure to look at and walk on. I am very pleased with the purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it looked the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? it was exactly as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent rug
 from Warren, PA,  Feb 12, 2012

We've had this rug for several years. It shed A LOT at first but that has gotten better. We've moved this run from room to room as we've been redecorating...it's looked good in many different settings and has held up well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Colors are more muted than shown in picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rugs
 from Odessa, TX,  May 3, 2011

Rug is more beautiful than photo; very rich colors.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Very nice
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow!!
 from Sunny Southern California,  Nov 24, 2010

Once again, The Big O did not disappoint! This rug is beautiful. The colors are vibrate, but subtle. It makes the room!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not happy with it
 from Upstate NY,  Mar 25, 2010

We've recently ordered several rugs from Overstock. We've been thrilled with all except this one. We did read other reviews prior to ordering this, but didn't heed the warnings. The colors are not true to what was on our computer screen, as the other rugs were. Additionally, the background of this rug is a mix of a chocolate brown and black. The most visible result is that the dark border on the very edge appears to be a brown/black stripe - not what we had in mind. We're keeping the rug, only because we don't want to bother with returning it and finding another one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Quality
 from Chicago, IL,  Mar 13, 2010

Excellent quality rug. Colors are rich and beautiful. Pile is very soft and the edges are bound extremely well. A great bargain for such high quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sultanbad Wool Rug
 from Omaha, NE,  Feb 20, 2010

This rug is thick and very pretty. Looks just like the advertised photograph. One problem- it sheds allot. I have had my rug for about 2 months now and it continually sheds.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Rug
 from Port Orange, Fl,  Feb 8, 2010

I love this rug. Yes, the colors are more muted than shown but I believe it makes it feel more expensive. The rug does not shed unlike another I purchased and returned. This is a very, very pretty rug

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Softer Colors than pictured
 from Greenville, SC,  Jan 31, 2010

If you order this rug rest assured the colors are not going to be like the photo. They are softer almost like an older rug. I was disappointed but as others noted for the priced you cannot beat the quality at double the price. Since the cost to return it would be high I will keep it and put it in the dogs bedroom because it will not show the hair the true black one I purchased from here.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Rug!
 from Washington,  Dec 5, 2008

Its certainly the nicest rug I've ever had. Not a true black background, and colors are more muted than appear online, but just gorgeous. my one complaint is how much it sheds, but my friends who have had wool rugs in the past assure me that this will decrease over time. I hope they're right. But either way, its a fantastic rug at a totally unbeatable price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I'm glad I read the reviews first before ordering this rug. It arrived only days after I placed the order. The quality was fabulous. I'm sure I would have paid $1000 more at my local stores for this plush of a rug. The colors are muted as stated, but I felt the color descriptions were accurate. The black areas have alot of chocolate browns mixed in which mutes the tone. The muted colors keep the rug from looking more formal, not the luxurious blacks, golds and tans I was hoping for but nice anyway. Again, for the price and service you can't beat this rug--you won't be disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 37 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top