Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 161 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
No Longer Hemming and Hawing
 from Fort Lewis, WA,  Aug 6, 2010

Just buy it already! If you are stuck in indecision about this rug like I was for weeks, let me assure you there is no need to be. I finally took the plunge and could not be happier. The colors were the biggest issue for me--I wanted blue and some say it is blue in the border, some say it is sage green, some say the overall color is more taupe than beige. Let me just tell you that this rug is so soft and muted, that depending on the light in the room and the time of day, I see all the colors mentioned. There is silvery gray, silvery blue, silvery sage, the yellows are buttery and the red pops right through it all. This rug would work with many color schemes in my opinion and looks terrific with my chocolate brown leather chairs, pale yellow sofa and red wingback chair. The shedding, for me, has not been a problem and I've had it for over a month now. Yes, there has been a bit, but not enough to get me worked up. It is soft and plush and feels great underfoot. It has also proven to be dog vomit friendly after my labrador spilled the contents of her stomach on it. As for my 4 kids, they are so far following the rules of NO SHOES, NO DRINKS, NO FOOD anywhere near this gorgeous work of art!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Recommended
 from Chicago,  Sep 8, 2007

The rug is a good value but there is a reason for that - poor workmanship! The rug sheds but worst of all - a large amount of individual wool threads were partially pulled out when the rug arrived and after vacuming - simply came out of the rug leaving holes. Makes one believe that the rug is an "irregular" from the factory which would explain the value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Long Island, NY,  Apr 6, 2011

We ordered it on Sunday; it arrived that Wednesday. Beautiful colors & texture. Some shedding, but really nothing major. The colors are beautiful. I see why some reviewers might say that the actual colors look different than the ones displayed online, but just zoom in; this gave us a pretty good impression. The colors are modest and subtle, with pops of red (this sounds more drastic than it is). Overall, very pleased with our purchase. Impressed with the ease.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Depends on the light in the room; certain colors stand out in natural light, while others pop when you have lamps on.
  • How is the quality of the product? Great
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only buy if you have time to vacuum daily!
 from Arkansas,  Jun 8, 2010

I received this rug almost a month ago. Even though the color was not exactly as pictured (very blue/gray on the outer border) I still loved the rug & it was beautiful. I would've given it 5 stars! I read the other reviews about shedding but mine didn't shed one single strand.....for about 3 days. Then it shed in GOBS. I only have this 8x10 rug in my downstairs and the rest is hard floor (and previously had a 8x10 rug also from Overstock.com). Then carpet in my upstairs hallway. Normally I can go 6 months between changing vacuum bags. I have just put my THIRD vacuum bag in my vacuum since I received this rug. And that doesn't count the daily pile (about the size of a basketball!) of carpet fuzz I sweep up from every corner of my downstairs, plus I have to pull it out of all the air returns that get clogged with it. I also have to stop in the middle of vacuuming at least once to unclog the vacuum. In seeing the amounts of fuzz I've cleaned up, I almost can't believe there's anything to the rug left. I wish I could share photos because it's unbelievable. There's not a lot of traffic on and after being gone from the house all day yesterday, I came in and there were balls of fuzz all over the wood floor......no traffic on it at all. Nothing more frustrating than leaving a house clean & coming home to a mess when no one has been there! I'm disgusted with this purchase. I've bought several rugs from Overstock.com and most/all were much cheaper than this one & never had any problems--even with a jute rug.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Philadelphia PA,  Jun 28, 2011

It is beautiful. The colors are less gold than on the website. More light blue but love it. The red really pops out which is what I wanted. There are also shades of moss green. I really like it. Shipped quickly.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? kind of
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Tampa FL,  Jan 5, 2012

I received this rug just before Christmas. It was beautiful from the get-go. I did read most if not all of the reviews before purchasing. When mine arrived there were no flaws, no bare spots, no long threads and at first no shedding. I vacuumed the rug a couple of times & indeed my vacuum canister collected a very large amount of shedding and I did notice a few longer threads of carpet. I did some on line research (where I found the exact same carpet at a reputable Oriental Carpet Store & it was listed at more than double the price I paid) and found out NOT to use the brush when you vacuum. Apparently it's normal to see a few longer threads but don't pull them out, cut them off instead. I stopped using the brush attachment on my vacuum and all is well. If I have any complaints, it would be the very strong wool carpet smell. I have allergies and it did affect me for the first few days. No one else in my family complained about the smell and it's gone now anyway. I am very pleased with my purchase!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is what it is
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 4, 2009

Folks - Just an observation from a rug industry veteran and former buyer for several large retail operations - I came across this rug and read the reviews - Have a few minutes to express some thoughts...This rug, and many like them for sale on this site, are HAND-TUFTED - This means they can accurately describe them as handmade (they are made with a handheld tufting gun) - This also means they will shed (as will almost any rug made of wool). Just don't confuse the terms HAND-TUFTED or HAND-MADE with HAND-KNOTTED.Hand-Knotted rugs involve exponentially more labor and finishing techniques and are typically higher quality (i.e. the wool is generally a better quality) - There are always exceptions...I have a knotted 5'x8' Ghabbeh style rug in 1 of my sons rooms that may never stop

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
more than pleased!
 from florida,  Feb 7, 2012

more than pleased w/the rug--great quality esp. for the $. soft underfoot.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color isn't as dark as photographed--a "greige", not tan.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. lovely quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sheds, sheds, and sheds some more!
 from Pinehurst, North Carolina,  Oct 12, 2011

When the rug arrived, which shipping was fast, I was so excited to open it and lay it out. The color and softness are wonderful. However, after following manufacturers' instructions on how to care for the rug, I vacuumed the rug. I vacuumed the rug four separate times and filled up the vacuum canister each time. I vacuum the rug two to three times a week due to the rug fibers on everything. Each time, I fill up the vacuum canister. I notice tons of loose threads, some which had to be removed. I really love the style, size, color and softness of this rug, but the maintenance has been a pain. I don't think that I would recommend this rug to someone else due to the amount of maintenance this carpet requires. I expected some shedding but nothing like this! I would return the rug but what a pain to get this big sucker to the UPS store!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The colors are more beautiful than the picture shows. Colors are subtle. The burgandy is pronounced but not overbearing.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The rug is soft, feels sturdy however sheds and the threads pull out.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shedding is unbelievable
 from Florida,  Oct 9, 2011

If I had written this review the day I got this rug, I would have given it five stars. I love the color. The thickness is nice. It really is beautiful. However, the rug has been on our floor for over a month now. It has been vacuumed repeatedly. It literally clogged our vacuum with fuzz the first time. I had to take the vacuum apart and fix it. Only this past week did we vacuum without filling the vacuum. We have tried turning off the beater bar on the vacuum and then tried using it. Nothing seems to help. We find the little balls of carpet lint all over the house. You cannot sit on the carpet without being covered with them. I am starting to thing the shedding will not stop until the carpet is completely gone. I hate to write this because it really is a beautiful carpet and would be a great price if it didn't cause such problems! Perhaps we got a bad one. It is hard to imagine that a first quality carpet could produce this much lint! It certainly is beautiful. If you can risk the insane shedding, go for it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Colors match well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The shedding is out of control even a month later!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
we love our new area Ancestry Tan Ivory Wool Rug.
 from Retired/sales. Carmel Calif.,  May 11, 2011

We love our new area rug. It fits in our home beautifully. I get a lot of compliments from friends, and they are all amazed that I found it on line. Thank you for this wonderful quality area rug.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No regrets
 from Westchester, NY,  Apr 18, 2011

This rug is even nicer in person. The color is pretty close on the site. It looks biege/tan most of the time and the little red accents really show up. In dimmer light you can see the slightly silvery-slate on the outer two edges. The colors though are so muted that it doesn't make a difference in the beauty of this rug. It is pretty low pile which was perfect for us since it is in out dining room. It is not very plush or cushioned so if you want extra comfort, get a good pad. It is very soft underfoot though. The shedding is typical for a wool rug and will go away eventually. It needs to be vacuumed daily for a while but it's so worth it. It really is so beautiful and of such good quality. You will not be disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lovely rug, good price
 from wichita, kansas,  Aug 4, 2010

I have to agree with previous reviews that said initial vacuuming produced loads of lint, and after a few weeks, I still vacuum up a full canister, but that's because I didn't vacuum it six times to begin with. That being said, it doesn't seem to be getting any thinner, and the kids and dog LOVE how soft it is underfoot. I didn't put a pad under it only because it's so heavy to move once in place. The background color is definitely more taupe than beige, as it appeared on my screen, and the tans, reds and golds are muted, however this makes it ideal for complementing a great many color schemes and furniture styles. We have mission-style wood and leather furniture (chocolate brown and deep red), and the rug looks beautiful with it, as well as great on top of our light oak floors and next to a red brick fireplace. It definitely makes the room more polished-looking than it otherwise would. In spite of frequent vacuuming (which you have to do anyway with kids and pets), I would buy this rug again in an instant. I did not give it 5 stars only because I haven't had it long enough to comment on its durability.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty but sheds
 from CA,  Jun 16, 2010

The rug is thick, pretty colors and design. But ditto on the shedding problem. I can only hope it subsides after awhile or I may have to dispose of the rug and buy one that doesn't shed so badly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A beauty!!!
 from Boston MA,  Nov 11, 2009

Gorgeous colors; just as pictured. Soft, muted tones. The red really pops, as we have a "cinnamon" (red) couch. Thick & soft, almost plush feel. Our dog loves it! It does shed, but I think after vacuuming a couple times it should be ok. Very neutral tones; would work well w/ all styles, from casual to somewhat formal. It's not something you see everyday, which is nice. Background is a pale taupe, with accents of almost a sagey- green/gray, along with ivory & the touches of red, which is really a burgundy or rusty-barn red (not a bright fire engine red).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Green Machine
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 20, 2009

Believe the previous reviews about the green hue - they're true! Received the rug two days ago, one week after ordering. If the overall color of the rug were closer to the tan/ivory palette, and not so light green, it would be the perfect rug. But it really should be described as a light sage and ivory rug.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased.
 from Redlands, CA,  Aug 22, 2008

I am thrilled with this rug. It looks beautiful and is a great value. I'm 100% pleased and am planning to purchase another similar rug very soon.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Has issues
 from Tulsa, OK,  Jul 27, 2008

First off, the overall rug color is not close to the image on the site, so don't expect it to match. It's more of a dingy, latte brown with with ochre and tan highlighting. Depending on your lighting (flourescent, natural, incandescent) you may see a slight hint of blue in the inner border. The reds are deep and are fairly accurate though, the one redeeming quality of the rug. Secondly, this rug sheds worse than a dog. You will be constantly picking up balls of wool.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent
 from Texas,  Jul 24, 2008

This rug exceded all my expectations. The colors of beige, sage green, golds, browns and that pop of burgandy blended in with all my remodeling I just have done on my home. I put this on my golden oak wood floor and it is beautiful. This is a wonderful rug.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely perfect
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 30, 2007

I love this rug! I received it in four days and it is exactly as pictured online. It's an incredible value - great quality and so beautiful. Just what I was looking for!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 161 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Handmade Ancestry Tan/ Ivory Wool Rug (6' x 9')
Sale $269.99
Was $299.99
Compare $343.49
Save 21%
(79)
Handmade Mahal Ivory Wool Rug (9' x 12')
Sale $515.69
Was $572.99
Compare $1119.00
Save 54%
(17)
Back to top