Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exactly as I expected - Great Rug!
 from Atlanta GA,  Sep 16, 2012

After much deliberation and reading many reviews, I decided on this rug - So glad I did. We live in a townhouse with a giant living room, and this rug added just the right amount of coverage and charm. Our house is a mix of upholstery, leather, metal, seagrass and wood - so this was the perfect "toned down accent" In addition I have two bulldog puppies that get confused about going to the bathroom outside - rarely, but it happens - I've gotten two urine spots since I put the rug down about a month ago - I cleaned them immeadiately with spot shot and you can't tell where they are - which is nice. Nor can you see footprints, paw prints and the likes. When I vacuum, I just turn off the brush setting and it's great. If there are loose strands, I just clip them. I have only had it a month but it's perfect for the rustic, cozy look - nothing formal about it! If you're looking for a well made, high traffic, casual "beachy" jute rug - this is it. I saw one seriously close to it at Restoration Hardware for over 1K - it didn't have the tassels but the look was very close. I didn't notice any smell, it's pretty even for a jute rug - It came in just a few days - The rug pad is a necessity - just remember if you clean up any messes, not to forget to clean the rug pad as well... If we ever buy a vacation home, I'm getting another one. Thanks and Happy Shopping!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I LOVE! this rug!!! It's a true jute rug. If you've seen a jute rug, you know what to expect. It's a fairly chunky weave -- it's not seagrass sisal, which is a narrower fiber. It is rustic-y, but it is NOT too rustic to go in a contemporary/transitional/cottage-y formal living room (unless you're going for more of the Blue-haired Grande Dame Floral Aubusson decor style -- I wouldn't pair it with that LOL). It does need a pad underneath because it slides otherwise. Rugs this large are hard to find -- and especially at this price point. It is a pale jute, but it is NOT flaxen-colored -- more like a pale seagrass sisal hue. I'd buy one again in a heartbeat.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Rug Except for the Smell
 from Havana FL,  Oct 4, 2011

I really like the looks of this rug, and for this size rug the price was excellent. When I first unrolled it the rug had a straw-like smell. Not a bad smell, really not objectionable, and a light enough smell so that after you were in the room for a while you got used to it. I figured the smell would go away pretty soon. But I've now had the rug going on two months, and when I enter the room I still smell the rug--a straw smell. I really don't want to smell the rug. I guess I'll try putting something on the rug to maybe replace the straw smell with some other smell, but I'd prefer to smell nothing when I enter the room. If I had known the rug would continue to smell I would have more than likely sent it back. If it weren't for the smell, I would have given the rug 5 stars. So my conclusion is that if you don't mind a slight straw smell in your room, the rug is a great deal.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Milwaukee/WI/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Nicely woven, lays flat, beautiful colors. Does not smell like some of the "grass" rugs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great rug
 from New York metro,  Apr 15, 2014

The online reviews convinced me to order this and I'm glad I did. I got the largest size, 10 x 14--which for some reason is less expensive than the 9 x 12--and it is thick, smooth, and lovely. The rug has no odor whatsoever. The bleached color is not too light, and in fact I it's clear that the natural would have been too brown in the room. The fringe that was rolled to the outside in the package is perfect, while the fringe that was crunched on the inside of the rug roll looks less than wonderful. I am hopeful that it will straighten out in time. There is also a noticeable crease down the middle where it was folded; again, I hope this will resolve. You cannot beat the price for a rug this size--the FedEx shipment says it weighs 100+ pounds and I believe it. There is nothing flimsy about this. If you get the largest size, make sure you have help getting it into the house! To top it off, the rug arrived from Georgia to the NYmetro area three days after I ordered it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT RUG!!
 from Plano, Texas,  Oct 16, 2011

The quality is superior. Very happy with the way it looks and feels. It is in a large living room with a rustic casual decor. It said it would take weeks to be delivered but it came in 2 DAYS! I love it

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect, just as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superior
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Value!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 7, 2006

This is my 2nd rug purchase from Overstock. Both times I got a different rug than what I ordered, so if you aren't somewhat flexible think twice. Both times it worked out for me to keep the rugs. I ordered this rug bleached and got unbleached. I also got it in a bigger size. I put it in my sunroom and it looks great. If you have a cat, buy a cat scratching mat, or your cat will use this rug to sharpen it's claws! I priced a much smaller jut rug than this, for $799 today. Great value here on Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Precisely what I was hoping for
 from Baltimore, Maryland,  Jan 17, 2014

This is exactly what I wanted. Really difficult to purchase rugs on line....esp. jute, sisal type rugs because hard to tell the tightness of weave, thickness (even though usually mentioned in description) and color. Kind of a crap shoot. Weighty and tightly woven, this rug is slightly less thick than previous jute rugs that have lived in our home and suffered the wrath of six animals. The color is, what I would call, the typical (natural) jute coloring. Light tan with some striations in lighter tan and darker tan. Overall...light tan (not golden, more neutral). Works with so many styles and color schemes. Because it is tightly woven, not nubby, and has fringe on either end...it is rather elegant and not so rustic as some other jute rugs. Brightens a room and looks particularly swell on wood floors, dark or light. Had little odor. I had to put my nose to the rug to smell the slightly grassy fragrance which I love. There will be dust beneath the rug which can easily be swept up periodically. It is the nature of jute. Vacuums well. Our animals have made mistakes on previous jute rugs. I have always used a combination of vinegar, baking soda, dawn and water and most stains came up without a trace. BUT...I imagine it will be easier to clean this rug because it is not quite as thick. I do not use a rug pad because our furniture anchors it. If I had this in a hall way I would likely add a rug pad to keep it in place. The rug is not rough...soft to the touch.....comfortable on the feet and I believe a baby could crawl on it happily. Hope this helps. It is a beautiful rug. P.S.~ I ordered this on the 14th and received two days later, on the 16th. Geezy peezy.....I call that lightening fast!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thicker than described
 from SF, CA,  Nov 9, 2013

The rug measures at about 0.8 inches thick, not the 0.1 ias described. It's a pretty rug, just very thick.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this rug!!
 from Woodbridge, VA,  Oct 3, 2013

I am SO glad that I purchased this rug! I was on the fence about it, then I read all of the rave reviews, and have to say that I agree! This rug is exactly what I was looling for and is the same quality as similiar products I have seen in the higher end stores. I can't believe I got it for this price! This is why Overstock is ALWAYS the first place I look when I shop!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beach House Rug
 from CT,  Oct 22, 2011

Bought this for the guest bedroom in my home on the beach. My sister stays here often with her big, hairy dog & this rug still looks perfect! It doesn't show the hair and any sand falls into the rug so you don't feel grit or nastiness beneath your feet. Very happy with my purchase...as usual!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurately described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
2nd same rug purchase
 from Gainesville, GA,  May 30, 2014

We had to replace our first purchase after a visit from our grandpuppy chewed the edge off our 1st rug. Liked it so much we replaced it with the same rug.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unbelievable Price for a very large Jute Rug!
 from Richmond, VA,  May 2, 2014

I have a design business and when I was searching for a jute rug that was in this larger size, most other sellers online did not offer the larger sizes! Not only did Overstock have the size, they had it in several colors from more than one manufacturer- and to boot, at really an unbelievable price! It is exactly as shown on the website, it was delivered quickly, and I could not be more impressed. Thanks again, Overstock! Keep bringing the good stuff!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this rug!
 from Charlotte NC,  Apr 30, 2014

Great, beachy rug. Not prickly like some natural fibers - soft underfoot. Great neutral color. Not too yellow or tan - just a light beige color. Really happy with this purchase.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rug perfect in cottage bedroom
 from Martha's Vineyard,  Mar 5, 2014

This rug is perfect in the guest room of our cottage, which has painted bead board paneling throughout. The size is large to fit the room. The price is amazing. Wish they had it in a slightly darker shade and I would buy that for my dining room.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So happy with this rug. Better than I expected!
 from Northwest Arkansas,  Nov 5, 2013

I read all the reviews in various jute rugs on this site and others. The positive reviews and price of this rug on overstock convinced me to purchase it. I'm really happy I did! The rug is perfect and exactly what I was looking for at a price my husband was happy about too :) We just purchased furniture for our living room that is very rustic, yet comfy, with a few reclaimed wood pieces. This rug fits the style perfectly and really pulls the room together. I was very worried the rug would be scratchy and not feel nice underfoot. But thankfully it is soft and not scratchy at all. I'm not saying it feels as soft as a wool, plush rug, but for this natural look, its soft. There is just a little shedding but it doesn't seem as bad as some reviews on other rugs. The color I got is bleached. Highly recommend this rug!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
unraveling after 8 weeks
 from Los Angeles,  Nov 1, 2013

The rug is starting to unravel in various locations that are being walked on. The edge is holding up well so far. The rug appears to be made of multiple bits and pieces of jute, ie. short strands of the fiber, maybe surplus pieces, which requires multiple knots to make a whole rug. These knots are located on both the upper and under side of the rug (I don't know if this is normal). Some of these knots are now loosening up and opening. Other ends of strands are not even knotted, just loosely stuck down into the weave, and these are now starting to pop up. I find myself knotting and sticking these ends back down constantly, even though the rug is placed under our coffee table and thus getting very little traffic. This should not happen. I am very disappointed and would not have purchased this rug had I known about these quality issues.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome rug
 from Charleston, SC,  Oct 7, 2013

Love this rug. It is my 2nd one. Fits perfectly! Two kids and three dogs can't hurt it. Vacuums great! Overstock ships quickly, as always!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expectation!
 from Anacortes, WA,  Sep 2, 2013

This rug was better than what I expected! It was thicker than I thought and the color is beautiful! Was worried it would smell "grassy" but the smell was very light and after being aired out a few days its gone. Shipping was super fast and the price you can't beat!!! Highly recommend this rug... Simply stated and goes with everything. I will be buying more rugs on Overstock after this great experience. Excellent product, excellent service, speedy shipping and killer prices!! Happy customer!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Substantial and pretty!
 from By the beach, CA,  Jul 26, 2013

Thick and well made. Beachy feel with substantial weight. I would highly recommend this carpet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matches the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top