Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
It's like having a pet
 from Indiana,  Sep 7, 2011

I would not recommend this anyone with hardwood floors. Might do better on top of another carpet. I was fed up in 2 days, I had to roll it up because I could not stand vacuming 5 times a day and still have fibers all over the house.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The carpet sheds more than a full size dog. I vacum and 5 minutes later the floor is covered again. Might work better for someone who does not have a dark hardwood floor.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not very happy
 from Rye, NY,  Jan 14, 2012

This rug is a nice color and the material is nice as well. I have a problem with how thick and heavy the rug is. It is hard to walk on because of the very large and long rug fibers which form mounds of carpet. Also the rug sheds terribly and my kids can't play on it without getting full of white lint which is hard to get off their clothes. It is very difficult to vacuum because the fibers are so long they get tangled in the vacuum. I do like the way it looks but in not at all practical. I would like to return it but I can't afford the return shipping cost because it is such a heavy rug.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on the site was acurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was somewhat accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sheer Luxury!
 from Greenwich, CT,  Sep 11, 2012

I am a designer and while I buy top quality (which equals top dollar) for my clients, I live on a much more realistic budget when it comes to my own decor. One thing I will NEVER compromise is quality. I have been waiting to find a shag rug that is high quality, wool and super thick...and I found it. I am beyond thrilled with this carpet. The pile is amazingly high and when you walk on it, it remains thick and lush. I love walking barefoot on it...it's pure luxury underfoot. I have the rug in my bedroom which is perfect. It's not a low maintenance rug, so I wouldn't recommend it for high traffic areas. You can't just run a vacuum over it, you have to use the hose to really pull up the debris & pile. I'm a neat freak so I don't mind vacuuming regularly. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this carpet. Truly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect. It's not pure white which is perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exquisite quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous!
 from San Diego, CA,  Oct 13, 2011

LOVE the look of this plush shag rug. Tons of compliments on it. Only thing to note is that if you need to place furniture with two legs on the rug and two legs on a wood floor, the rug is so thick that it throws the furniture off balance. Don't get me wrong, though, it is so plush under your feet you'll love walking on it and returning it didn't even cross my mind. Now if I can just get my dog to NOT love it as much as I do! She rolls around on it as if it's her very own GIANT dog bed. Not ideal for keeping a rug clean, but funny to watch. Happy buying!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I think the rug appears a little more oatmeal/ivory than the image appears on my screen.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This rug is extremely thick and rich looking.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super soft shaggy rug
 from Naples, FL,  Apr 27, 2011

I ordered this rug for my dining room and am very happy with it. The color is a true ivory (no yellow cast) and the fibers are long and plush and surprisingly soft. I love walking on it with my bare feet. Mine has not done much shedding like some of the other reviewers mentioned, but it doesn't get walked on too much. It gives a contemporary retro twist to my old world dining table and I really like that. Very happy, Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bring back memories of the 60's/70's
 from Boston, MA,  Jun 21, 2012

My dog and I love the rug. In fact, I have one of his beds on it but he'd rather lay on the rug. It is a new rug so shedding is expected and it keeps mu furniture from sliding all over the place. If I needed this rug for another room I would buy it again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? almost perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Right now the rug is new so shedding is expected and the rug is not so easy to vacuum but it's just me and my dog and I am lazy so that really isn't too much of a problem.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
thick & cozy
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Apr 17, 2012

This rug is SUPER thick and cozy on the feet. It's much thicker than I expected - probably 3-4" or so. It's really soft and quite beautiful too. The strands are natural tones and blend together to form a pretty warm ivory color. Oh, and my pets absolutely love rolling around on it! The only downfall is that it sheds small, fine fibers quite a bit - just have to keep up with sweeping around it. I can't vacuum it normally because of the thickness - strands get caught up in the vacuum - but it can be vacuumed with an attachment. Overall, we love it and definitely recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ivory as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
amazing rug
 from oh,  Sep 1, 2011

this is exactly like a rug at *** that costs $1,300. i am thrilled with the purchase. my friends, including an interior designer, think it's awesome.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the ivory color was perfect. just like in the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality is top notch. and i have experienced no signifcant shedding. it is kind of a pain to vacuum b/c i have to use an attachment, but the rug is well worth the extra effort. it's gorgeous and thick and soft.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but High Maitenance
 from Dallas, TX,  Mar 1, 2011

This rug is gorgeous - really, the picture does not do it justice. The color is perfectly creamy and the wool shag seems like very good quality, especially for the price. However...we've had the rug approximately one month and it is still shedding. I vacuum it about every other day (with the hand held attachment from my Dyson), but the shedding still has not stopped - it's like we have a new pet it in the house. I have dark wood floors, so the light wool hairs are quite noticeable. If the shedding eases up, then I will change my rating to a 5. At this point, it's a 3. The ordering process was very easy and the rug came within a week of purchase. Very pleased with my first Overstock.com experience.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stinky
 Jul 12, 2015

If you're going for a genuine midcentury style this is your rug. However, it smelled so terrible, like wet wool dipped in chemicals, we had to return it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Woolley Mammoth
 Apr 24, 2015

This rug is thicker than I thought it would be. Feels like heaven under your feet. The pets roll around in it like they're in a state of bliss. That its New Zealand wool and hand made is evident when you see it. Very high quality rug. Would have been considerably more anywhere else. But here are some things to consider before you buy it. It's not white, but off-white. Up against something white, you will see a big difference. I don't have the problem of extreme shedding that some reviewers did, but it does shed a little. It's difficult to vacuum. That's my biggest problem. My Dyson super vac struggles with it. You can't use the beater brush when you vacuum, because the pile is too thick. My rug is under my bed, so it's not such a issue. No way would I put this under a dining table and have to fight all the crumbs. Not worth it!! But I love it where it is and I'm glad I bought it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks expensive
 Apr 22, 2015

Love this rug looks amazing in front of the fireplace, a little hard to clean but worth the extra effort.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great rug!!
 from California,  May 9, 2014

This rug is fabulous! The color is ivory and looks gorgeous in my living room. It is a perfect fit for our house. This rug has not shed as indicated in some responses...but it is lush and full. High pile.. The delivery was on time and was protected during shipment. I would highly recommend this rug to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just OK
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Aug 20, 2013

I wanted a big, plush, long shag rug for my living room so I ordered this based on the picture, description, and reviews. Some were good and some were bad, but I took the risk. Overall, it's a nice, big, heavy rug. Be warned that it's wool and not very soft and plush as the picture would indicate. It can be kind of itchy to lay on with bare skin. Next, the rug is clumpy. I had to buy a small rake to unclump it. Because it's a long shag, that can be a little difficult. It flattens out quite quickly after raking. It also makes cleaning (and spot cleaning) a little tough. I haven't figured out how to give it an overall cleaning yet. So far it's been just spot cleaning. It's also a challenge to vaccum. First I rake it to get the fibers and dog hair up, then I can vaccum it with just the hose. It can be quite time consuming. It does shed as other reveiwers stated, but I have dogs so I have to sweep everday anyway. I decided to keep the rug because of the price point and the size of it. Overall, it's a nice rug and looks great in the living room against the hardwood floors and leather furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I've had this rug for 2 years exactly and everyone loves this rug. I've had friends over for girls night and they have down right fallen asleep on it - that's how thick and comfy it is. Now for the down side. This rug sheds like an animal. When asked how many pets I have I say two: my cat and my shag rug. The only thing I have found to remedy this is a Roomba. aside from that I absolutely love this rug.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rug
 from FL,  Feb 11, 2013

really sheds a lot....alot....alot RUG IS NOT THE BEST QUALITY

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not really
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super fluffy
 from New York, NY,  Sep 6, 2012

The rug is awesome, fills up the room, great color and very soft but it sheds like crazy beware of that. Its like having a pet.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
heavy weight and durable
 from Atlanta, GA,  Apr 30, 2012

The shag rug was exactly what we were looking for and expected based on the product description and picture featured on the website.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? product description was spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from Washington,  Mar 28, 2012

I read the reviews before I purchsed this rug. The rug is thick and the fibers longer than I expected. I did not experience shedding as one review wrote, but do still have small fibers on end tables, etc. I purchased a special suction head for my vaccum cleaner and just vaccum it all in one direction and it is settling down a lot. It was rolled up very tight so may take awhile to complete wake up. One reviewer was right, it is like an extra pet and everyone wants to lay on it. I did purchase a rug pad to go under it as we have hard wood floors and I didn't wwant it to slide around of scratch the floors. Would definiteld recommen to anyone looking for an unusual rug to go in front of a fireplace.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very true in color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very heave and very thick
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My feet are so happy!
 from Memphis, TN,  Mar 8, 2012

We read and were a bit concerned about the reviews regarding the shedding, and it does shed, a little. I was expecting clumps and clumps of lint, but it isn't really that bad. We have a Roomba and just turn that on once a week and it is adequate to pick up what has shed. Regarding vacuuming, our vacuum has a hardwood floor option, which just lifts the brush up so it is suction only, and I can vacuum the rug this way. Of course the self propel doesn't work on this thick of a rug, so I get a bit of a workout when I vacuum, but it is SO worth it. This is in our bedroom, and is the first thing our feet touch when we get up in the morning. The nap is SUPER thick and I love to squish my toes in it. Because this is a natural fiber, it doesn't necessarily clump evenly. I read a review about this and someone else thought that it was cheap because of this, but we just feel like it is a factor of it being natural fiber and having a SUPER long nap. We love it!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was what we expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. We are happy with the quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought