Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 103 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

I just can't say enough good things about this little chest. It came in three days. It was packaged so well that it was nearly a complaint- I had quite a time getting it out of the box! But.... it came in perfect condition. It is as appears on my display, and I'm glad to say the reddish color on the front is actually less "ruby" and more of a translucent cherry- red enough for an accent but not garish in the least. This piece is made of actual wood (although the underside looks like mdf, no issue, no one's going to be climbing underneath!), wood drawers that run on rollers with guides. The assembly took me a few minutes but that was me, not the piece (you can do it by yourself, but it weighs 70-80lbs and would just be easier with another person) and it was so simple a blindfolded monkey could do it. The hand painting on the front is also very delicate, not tacky at all. The shape is traditional but not so ornate that it wouldn't fit in with other styles of design. I am SO happy with this piece that I'm considering moving it from the foyer where it sits in a staircase nook to collect the mail to someplace where it will be used and seen more frequently. It is my new favorite thing! It's size makes it perfect as a nightstand, side table in a living room, small TV stand, bathroom storage... don't hesitate if you're considering this piece. I just wish this came in more than one size, I'd buy a bigger one, too!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
came damaged...
 from North Carolina,  Oct 10, 2009

This is a pretty good bombe chest, I suppose for the price. Unfortunately, mine arrived damaged and because the packaging was pretty intact, I believe that it was packed with the damage. It has scars around the bottom right side which I tried to correct with a furniture marker. I'm not shipping back because it's a hassle and even though the damage is moderate, you can't really see it because of where it is. Finish is uneven on top and the stenciling is almost impossible to detect on the front. However, it was very inexpensive, so I suppose it's a decent value (had it not been damaged).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from Algonquin, Il,  Jan 2, 2009

I received the chest 3 days after my order. The chest is heavier than I expected, which is great! The color is true to the picture on the website. All in all - a terrific find.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nowinca2004
 from Laguna Niguel, CA,  Sep 4, 2010

The Bombay chest is beautiful and well made. I bought two for either side of our bed and they are perfect height. Both chests were well packaged and arrived in excellent condition. Shipping time was quick and they arrived within 5 days. Terrific value for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Northern California,  Oct 22, 2009

This chest is nice but not exceptional. I guess for the price I was expecting a little bit better workmanship. There were lots of little areas where the finish was missing. Used my furniture repair pens to fix it. It is something that I would recommend to a friend but let them know exactly what to expect as far as quality. After the necessary touch-ups it does look nice in my entryway where I put it. With a bouquet of flowers and a mirror over it, it has brought my entryway to life. The drawers are small but nice for extra storage which most of us need. It is mainly used by my female guests to put their handbags on when they enter my home.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Workmanship
 from San Antonio TX,  Jan 7, 2008

The chest was packed very securly but once opened and inspected there were scratches and a deep scratch on the side of the chest. There was no information on how to return the product. I am not completely satisfied with the chest.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very well constructed, made in America! I'm happy
 from Deltona, Florida,  Aug 26, 2011

Very well constructed. Made in America!! That's a plus. All natural wood. Although the filligree on the front is barely visible, this piece of furniture serves my purpose. I put all my tableclothes, napkins, doilies, etc. in it. The top drawer has my card games, etc.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was fine, except the filligreen is quite dim.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Again, solid wood, made in America! Good construction.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good - I would guess the filligree (deisign) is hardly visible on the actural furniture.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fair
 from new york,  Jul 27, 2011

I was very disappointed and would have returned this item, except, I know there is a refund change associated with it. I ordered this as chest to go with a dresser I was getting for my daughers room. The size of it is nothing but a large night stand. I used it in my bedroom in front of my closet to display an item. A vase as they have on it is good for it. It Is small and it is not a chest.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was good compared to the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality was good, not disappointed there
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The size was not accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Chest
 from Daphne, AL,  Jul 3, 2011

I had been looking for a chest on and off for sometime now to go inbetween two doorways in the main gatherning room. I had seen this or something so similar in a very good quality furniture store and the price was over double what I paid in the end. The quality was exactly the same. Delivery was within a few days so a lot quicker than originally led to believe. Packed well you only have to screw in the legs and they are numbered so cannot really go wrong. It looks perfect. A great addition to the house. Quality is fantastic.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect color match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very very close
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from 01085,  Jan 7, 2011

Shipment was fast. The item arrived as scheduled. A little assembly was required which anyone could handle. I had a couple of little nicks on the front by the draws which could be covered by touch up. It is a great size for an accent piece of furniture. The piece was a little darker than I expected but overall I am very satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from AL,  Sep 8, 2010

I received it today. I purchased it for a side table for our sofa, now I want another one and it is sold out! I love it, very well made and you can't beat the price!!!! Beautiful!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mrs. Smith
 from Piperton, Tn.,  Aug 28, 2010

Lovely small chest. Drawers glide well. My guests are impressed with it`s look. It had a small damaged spot. I repaired it with a crayon.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
accurate
 from west virginia,  Dec 25, 2013

Very nice and good quality, I use it in a small bathroom for socks, tee shirts etc, works great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombay Chest
 from California,  Nov 6, 2013

Love the style of this chest and it works well with my Decor. I found the quality average to good given the price of the chest.It came with some nicks and scratches or I might review a bit higher.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I wanted
 from Dallas TX,  Aug 20, 2013

This small chest fits perfectly into an alcove in my entry and is very attractive. I had looked for a Bombay chest in retail stores, but in this price range, the quality was pretty shabby. I was concerned about possible damage during shipping, but it arrived in excellent condition, due in large part to the protective way it was packaged.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small Bonbay Chest
 from Tampa, Florida,  Aug 15, 2013

This chest is very nice. It is heavy and substantial. However, it is quite small. I did read the dimensions but it definitely is not for someone who wants a lot of storage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from New York, NY,  Jul 24, 2013

Just love my new piece. This chest will be showpiece of my living room. Crafted very well. Just love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smaller than I expected
 from Minnesota,  Jul 12, 2013

I really need to pay attention to the size and measurements, it is a nice piece, but smaller than I expected.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cute chest
 from Portland, OR,  Mar 27, 2013

As stated before and by looking at the measurements, this is a small chest especially in height. this was exactly what i was looking for. it arrived in excellent condition and was packaged very well. the only assembly was attaching the legs on the bottom, easy. Looks like it should cost more than it does. Drawers operate smoothly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? just as expected based on pictures and reviews
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ruby & Brown Bombay Chest
 from Poinciana Florida,  Jan 17, 2013

love the chest - it fit perfectly in the spot for which it was ordered!! Packing was outstanding, I was concerned as the box was a trifle smashed on one side, but the inside packing, all in styrofoam, perfectly protected the chest & all we had to do was install the legs which was a snap. I would recommend this chest for anyone who would like an accent piece.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description of the chest
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 103 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought