Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 90 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Los Angeles,  Mar 13, 2008

I ordered this for my bedroom, and it works well for my purpose. It's larger than a night stand, but small enough to work as one. I can put a lamp, the telephone and a clock on top. I keep a variety of necessities in the drawers: medications, manicure supplies, magazines, personal phone books, bedtime books, etc. The bonus was a pull-out shelf over the first drawer. It matches my bedroom furniture, and best of all -- NO ASSEMBLY NEEDED! I recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely Chest
 from Boston, MA,  Feb 12, 2013

Love this little chest. It came in a single box which was very well packed. The colors in the design are quite as vibrant as they are online. We use it a night stand. The drawers are very shallow so don't plan to use it to store clothes.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The colors are a little less vibrant than on the site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The chest did not have hand painted detail on it.
 from Hoboken, NJ,  Sep 13, 2011

I ordered this chest to use as a night stand for my platform storage bed. I am satisfied with the height and width of this chest it was perfect to go with the height of the bed, that is why i am giving it a Fair review. I am extremely disappointed that there was no image on the chest. In the picture a lovely gold hand painted image is on the chest, which was one of the reasons I purchased this item. With the painted detail missing I just feel that the chest is not the accent piece I was looking for to give character and elegance to the room it just is a black night stand. I have ordered furniture from overstock before and have always been 100% satisfied, this was the first item i am unsatisfied with.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hand-painted Onyx Accent Chest Review
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Aug 22, 2011

I was very disappointed because I chose this chest for its stencil design otherwise I could have just bought a plain black chest. When it arrived it DID NOT have any stencil design showing. It i sturdy, no assembly required, and the measurements are correct.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Did not have the gold stenciling as shown in photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Was well built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate in height and width.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from New York, NY,  Jan 30, 2011

Had to say that this is a good "decoration" piece only. The quality is bad, not long after we had it, the drawers stopped functioning, I could not even pull them out correctly. Now I am seriously thinking of getting rid of it and buy something else. This is a disappointing piece for us, among all the furniture we have bought from overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great chest of drawers
 from Philadelphia,  Aug 25, 2010

This chest came in a few colors but this one seemed best. The desription and other reviews were very accurate. We were in no hurry so we chose the least expensive delivery method. To our surprise, it arrived on the 3rd day after the order was placed. It was factory sealed and very well packed with no nicks or damages. Since it came a long way (China), it had an unusual odor which I suspect was from the manufacturing process of the paint. It disipated after a couple of days and is perfectly fine. All in all, a very good online shopping experience.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
onyx chest
 from New Jersey,  May 12, 2008

this chest was anywhere from $50 - 200 cheaper on Overstock than elsewhere and that is before others charge a ridiculous shipping fee. It is beautifully made and decorated. It shipped very quickly. I highly recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Presence
 from McAllen, Texas,  Apr 1, 2008

Absolutely Beautiful! I am an Interior Decorator and Home Stager, everyone who sees this chest raves about it , I would certainly purchase this item again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
if at first you don't succeed
 from Texas,  Feb 23, 2007

I ordered two (for nightstands). One arrived in perfect condition the other had a defective drawer. Because I had read the reviews about receiving damaged products, I opened them on the spot. I didn't accept one of them and sent it back with the UPS driver. I quickly ordered another because I was afraid the process would take too long and I would be without a matching chest. This did create some problems during the return process, but with perserverance I did get my credit on the original defective chest. The chests are very nice, but will require attention (ie: "Honey, don't just throw the keys and blackberry on the surface ... use the little tray." and "Honey, please use the coaster...don't let the condensation accummulate on the top." ) I'm thinking of having glass or lucite cut to fit the top surface to avoid use damage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just as pictured
 from atlanta, ga,  Jun 18, 2012

I received this chest in 3 days, unfortunately the first one had a major scratch on top - the return was simple, and if was gone the next day. Luckily I did not take the chest out of the box - that would be a problem packing it up again if it had been out of the box. I got the replacement this morning - top was fine - so I tore the box - all is well and it looks great. I think the price is excellent and it fits the small space in my entry quite well. This was my first experience buying furniture from Overstock, and I know it will not be my last. Excellent customer service!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Second time around, very good - 1 tiny dot of something on the top
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
table
 Mar 6, 2008

It arrived perfect. The painting is very faint but it is a lovely piece of furniture. We are very pleased. There is no assembly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty Chest
 from Northern California,  Mar 3, 2008

It was a little smaller than I expected. The only trouble I had was that 2 of the drawers wouldn't open without some serious tugging/pulling. Once I was able to get them out, which was not easy, I changed the placement and they open/close OK. It is very pretty and the gold painting is quite lovely.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
FAB_U_LOUS!
 from New Mexico,  Feb 29, 2008

I love this little cabinet! It arrived quickly, no assembly (love that!), and it looks amazing. Tucked into a corner of my living room with a brass lamp on top it is the perfect accent to the room. Provides a little bit of storage in drawers. Has pull out shelf on top, but it really isn't usable, just looks nice. As a whole, the cabinet is unobtrusive, yet noticable. What can I say? I love, love, love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks good, but not sturdy.
 from PA,  Feb 3, 2008

Nice looking piece but on inspection the quality of the wood and the construction is poor. Hand painting is nice. Drawers are flimsy. I am using it as a spare bedroom piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very elegant
 from Nashville, TN,  Oct 19, 2007

Took me a long time to finally order this piece. I read all the reviews and one thing that was important to me was that it came fully assembled. It arrived in a few days in perfect condition. Very well packed and, yes, fully assembled. It is a very nice chest.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great
 from New Jersey,  Jul 27, 2007

Overstock is wonderful! I received this chest and it was damaged. I called and they replaced it immediately. The second chest came in and it had 2 large scratches and one drawer was stuck and broken. Luckily, I was able to use a drawer from the first piece so the scratch was a thing of the past, and another drawer th fix the broken one. It looks terrific now. The quality is not there. I was surprised reading the other reviews. Thank goodness Overstock is so wonderful. I will always shop them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Originally this was shipped to me damaged and I was a little disapointed, but overstock has great customer service and had a new one sent to me. The second time around I received the item it was in great condition. It is a little shorter than I thought it would be. The chest is a quality piece of furniture, the material is very sturdy and the hand painted designs look great, I am very pleased with this. Thanks for your great customer service Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 from Vienna, VA,  Mar 19, 2007

This onyx chest is beautiful. It's a bit smaller than I expected (didn't look at the measurements) but it's perfect for what I needed. I use it as a lingerie/stocking chest. It's a wonderful addition to my bedroom.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from SanFrancisco,  Dec 28, 2007

We just got this accent chest for our bedroom and it is trulya lovely piece. Its craftsmanship is superb and the detail of the painting is very beautiful. You should pay attention the size and measurements since this appears a bit smaller than the picture, so we measured our wall space beforehand and this fits perfectly! It is VERY well packaged and no assembly required! The painting is very soft and not as bright as pictured, which makes this piece even that much more beautiful! You will truly love this great piece of furniture!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very heavy and stylish
 from mpt ohio,  Dec 8, 2006

This is a real piece of furniture. Couldn't love it more. Its small but perfect as an underwear dresser in my loft bathroom. Love it. So nice to the eye. The doors pull at smooth and its has weight to it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 90 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought