Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 196 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Remarkable value for superb workmanship!
 from Pennsylvania,  Aug 22, 2007

It is difficult to describe my delight with this piece! My family owned a small furniture store years ago, so I believe I am qualified to highly recommend this chest . The finish was beautiful, and even the drawers had a "snag-free" finish on the inside. The manufacturer is a long-established firm based in Virginia. I am so grateful to Overstock for providing me the opportunity to purchase this item at almost half the retail price! Kudos to everyone!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible experience
 from Pleasant Hill, Iowa,  Jun 28, 2010

I received this chest and was very excited to get it out of the box and set up in my new home. Imagine my disappointment when the chest was removed from the box and the bottom contained several significant chunks (not chips) missing. The top drawer would not open and on closer inspection the entirety of both sides were out of alignment. The box contained minor damage on the top, but no damage to the base where the chest was damaged leaving me to conclude that it was shipped that way. No stray pieces in the bottom of the box, so they must still be at the warehouse. Very disappointed in the response from Overstock customer service as I was treated as if I was an annoyance to them and that I should just be willing to accept the damaged item. This was my first purchase from Overstock. It will likely be my last.

Was This Review Helpful?
Response from Overstock.com
     By Review Response Team
Thank you for writing this review for the hand-painted chestnut bombay chest. We apologize that your item arrived in an unacceptable condition. All pieces will be inspected prior to shipment to assure that this does not happen again.
 
 
Rating
Very damaged straight out of the box
 from Austin, TX,  May 11, 2010

This items looks nice in the pictures, and arrived promptly. I had read a number of comments here about chips and dings and severe damage straight out of the box, but thought people were being hyper-picky. I was wrong. There was major damage in one corner (as if it had been dropped and smashed in), many edges were scraped, and there were quite a few good sized chips in the finish in very obvious areas. Because I used to work in a warehouse, I inspected the box for signs of mishandling in delivery but there were none. This item was packaged this way from the factory (it was not a reshipment of someone else's return). Needless to say I returned it and for the most part the people at Overstock were good and helpful on this, but the last guy I spoke with seemed a bit put off that would not say it was shipping damage. One other thing - since there was a lot of damage I could see underneath the finish quite well. There is a lot more MDF in the construction of this than wood, at least under the surfaces. The finish itself has to be entirely artificial (like a sprayed on sheet of thin plastic) and though it looks nice, I think for the money some real wood surfaces would be nice. Still if it weren't damaged I would have kept it, but also would have been disappointed with the construction quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

If you are thinking of purchasing this piece, note the height--it is rather short. Don't think of it as a dresser--It is more of a wide night stand. It has a nice appearance and I will use it in a guest room where it doesn't get high use. Decent but not fabulous.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a Pulaski Piece of furniture!
 from Mississippi,  May 26, 2007

I was surprised to see that this was a much better piece of furniture than I had anticipated. It was very well packed, however, there were a few small scratches on it, which were easily covered with a walnut stain felt-tipped pen. Its siize was as described ; it truly is a lovely piece. Its color is rich and the hand-painted embellishments are beautiful. A very good value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 from Johnston, RI,  Oct 6, 2010

Great buy. This chest came to me well packed and arrived without any scratches or unwanted marks in it. There were no moldy smells, only the smell of furniture polish. I am so impressed by the appearance of this chest. The workmanship of this chest is of high quality. Very impressive piece of furniture. Glad I decided to purchase it..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Tampa, Fl,  Apr 26, 2012

I'm very pleased with this chest. I've shopped around and not only is this a phenomenal price, it is a beautiful piece. I received this item within 3 days of ordering it and only had to attach the bottom feet (quick, 5 minute process with provided alan wrench). The drawers slide nicely and provide lots of storage for a hall or living area. No scratches, or deformities upon arrival. Very happy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? is darker in person than in the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wow- thats nice furniture
 from New york, ny,  Aug 16, 2007

is what my husband said when we took it out of the box, the price made it a reasonable buy while our kids are still in destructo toddler stage. I can see what people said about using a furniture pen to maybe cover a few white marks on the piece- but I have not gone and purchased one yet, and I can also see how someone might be dissappointed with the size of it if they did not read carefully- if it was larger, I could see it in a foyer or entry hall- we are using it as a bedside table- and if you have a small bedroom - it might be too big for that. - we are enjoying it so far- it is a really nice piece of furniture for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 from ct,  May 15, 2011

unreal for the price look like i got it at a pricy furniture store and paid alot of money for it eveyone loves this peice cant beat the price

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chests
 from Texas,  Jan 16, 2011

I received 2 of these to be used as bedside chests. They were delivered as promised. They had a few nicks near the bottom, but were easily covered with a furniture pen. They look beautiful in our room and add a touch of elegance and detail. Love them, would have given 5 stars if not for the nicks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Flower Mound, TX,  Aug 10, 2010

I love the Bombe Chest. It is exactly what I needed for my entryway. The color is a little darker than pictured but is still a very nice color and goes perfectly on the short wall of the entryway. The product was shipped on time and arrived without a scratch. I would recommend to all my friends.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the chest
 from Eugene, OR,  Nov 21, 2007

This is the perfect bedside chest. Just the right height; large enough to hold clock radio, lamp, tissues, night time water. On the other hand it is not so large that it dominates that space. Like other reviewers, there was a small nick, but it is on the side next to the bed. Therefore I didn't bother with trying to "repair" it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BOMBAY CHEST
 from Las Vegas,  Oct 9, 2007

The chest is beautiful, however mine came with water damage in the rear right bottom corner. It is not visible if I cover it with a knick-knack or a plant, so I kept it. I figured it would be too much trouble to deal with returning it. Otherwise the chest is priced nice and very beautiful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombay Chest
 from Arizona,  Mar 3, 2008

I like everything about this chest except the one leg pre-drilled hole lost its casing inside the chest and the holes were off by about 1/4 inch. It wasn't worth the effort to send it back for the one leg so I'm making due with a less than perfect product. Most people don't know by looking at it but I know. It is a very attractive and functional piece of furniture except the one leg is incorrect.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BOMBAY CHEST
 from INDIANAPOLIS,  Jan 2, 2008

CHEST IS BEAUTIFUL BUT HAS ISSUES...DRAWER TRACKS NOT INSTALLED PROPERLY...UNLESS YOU ARE PREPAIRED TO WORK ON THIS ITEM LOOK AT SOMETHING ELSE

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombe chest
 from Ruthie from MO,  Nov 27, 2007

The bombe chest was better quality than I expected. The wood is beautiful. the hand painted design very tasteful. The directions for putting on the legs was easy to follow. The overall quality and looks is worthy of an entrance or as a focal point in any room. Size was as stated, description was accurate.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombat Chest
 from MCHENRY, IL,  Nov 12, 2007

I love this piece! Much nicer than I expected for the price. It is very heavy....not flimsy at all. The only thing that could make this chest any better is fully suspended drawers.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great except for damages
 from Austin, TX,  Aug 27, 2007

I loved the piece, it was just what I was looking for, but when I received it, it has a fairly good size damaged area near the back, and another area in the front. I did the repair work myself rather than have the hassle of sending it back.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Nashville, TN,  Dec 2, 2009

It is more beautiful in person. I want to purchase one for both of my children.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bombay Chest
 from Bay Saint Louis, MS,  Jun 20, 2007

I wanted a bombay chest and this chest is great. The color and design is beautiful. This chest is a small chest, but not that small, it fits alot of stuff. This chest is very nice to have any where in your home. I only had to put the legs on. I love it and would get another. Dealing with Overstock was great, I will shop at Overstock always.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 196 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought