Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 Jan 20, 2015

Came fast and exactly what the description said. No complaints at all. I would recommend this to any sword collector or enthusiast.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This sword was as advertised. A very nice blade and handle. No plastic, no cheap metal. Came wrapped in a nice cloth bag nestled inside a lined wooden box. Also included a paper explaining the history and parts of the sword. A cleaning kit was also included. I would have given it five stars if it had come with instructions for how to use the cleaning kit. It was easy enough to look it up online. There was also some adhesive stuck to the outside of the cleaning kit box, but it came off with a bit of Goof Off.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good quality, well balanced
 from Kerhonkson, Ny,  Dec 28, 2014

Quality exceeded expectations. For the price, it was a perfect gift

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a beauty!
 from New York,  Jan 8, 2014

Got it as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend, everybody was impressed by it and he was in shock! He love it! No plastic or lacquer, has weights and a lot of presence. The wood box got screwed up by shipping but overstock immediately send a replacement. Overall Awesome good product and perfect unbeatable costumer services. Thanks Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is good for the price
 from Tucson, AZ,  Aug 21, 2013

It is good for the price. but the sword it's self is average quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the money but...
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Mar 14, 2013

For what you pay, this is a good buy, however there are some details that are NOT correct in the description. I just finished dissasembling mine and heres what I found- Yes, it is full tang, but it has only one pin and the blade is glued in. The tang is extremely rough and unfinished. It's a tight fit because the grip is hammered on. I needed to take mine apart because the fittings were loose and I wanted to see the quality of construction. The sword has a fake wire-brushed "Hamon". It is supposed to be differentially hardened, but the fake hamon covers the real one if it has one. I think I might be able to see a little of it in a tiny spot on the blade. I do not see any evidence of the sword being made of folded steel. There are no layers or patterns at all. The blade is also not very sharp. It doesn't slice paper. It does feel very heavy and solid. The surface and polish of the blade is good. The scabbard is well made. Overall I would say it's a great buy for the price, just know what you are getting. Looks like a strong blade but the fittings are cheap.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice katana
 from miamiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii,  Dec 26, 2012

buy ittttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very nice good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Forged sword
 from Mt. Clemens, MI,  Oct 27, 2012

Only problem was slight damage to the wooden gift box, and the oil container had sprung a leak and there was oil soaked everywhere in the cleaning kit box.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exelent sword. exstremely good deal for the money.
 from florence oregon,  Sep 7, 2012

got my sword ontime opened it and was suprised to see a nice handcrafted box ive only seen with swords costing 4 times as much. its made of good quality carbon steel and razor sharp. i use every sword i buy. i have 25 top quality sword and 10 midrange and this sword ranks up there with some of my most exspensive ones. i would recamend this to anyone who wants a high quality sword a a extremly low price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. supurb quality exelent craftsmanship
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I was impressed
 from Florida,  Apr 18, 2012

When this sword came in I was very impressed with the quality for the price. Even the the case it came with gave the whole kit a nice touch. The only reason it did not receive a five out five from me was because the box came in damaged. However as usual overstock immediately sent me a new one and it arrive fairly quickly. Overall I would definitely purchase this item again as a gift.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality of the sword, other parts are okay
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very acurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Katana
 from Fort Worth, Texas,  Sep 19, 2011

This is a really good deal. Nice sword for the price. Yes there are a lot of others on the internet, but for the price you really can't beat this. It had a small mar on the handle, but I'm not going to fret about it. Heavy, solid blade with a nice feel to it. It is NOT razor sharp, but that can easily be remedied with some oil and a whetstone. Nice presentation box and the care kit that came with it is a really nifty extra. If your looking for your first katana, I can't think of a better place to start. I don't think you could find anything comparable on ebay or anywhere else. Definetely worth the $xx!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fair
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for a beginning collector
 from San Diego, CA,  Sep 11, 2011

Bring honor to your home with a hand-forged Japanese Samurai sword -[pwz] Be sure to study up on your feng shue Sword placement in the home is extremely important to Prosperity an Health. Collectible sword features a high-tempered carbon steel blade - [pwz] blade is of average composition and presents well. Razor sharp sword comes with a solid wood scabbard - [pwz] not hardly, although definitions vary as do opinions, what they call razor sharp, I call it barely sharp. Scabbard is wrapped in genuine ray skin and heavy gauge cotton for superior grip - [pwz] as I am not able to test the claim, Ill have to take their word for it, it looks good though. Full tang - [pwz] yes Blood carving line on blade - [pwz] nice touch since the Japanese were the first to incorporate the feature into their weapons, for obvious reasons. Comes with a solid wood display box, cleaning kit and protective cover. - [pwz] probably the best feature of this buy, although the bottle of blade oil had spilled out in shipping and the cover is not the customary raw silk but it looks good none the less. Overall length is 41 inches [pwz] the length varies, the one I received is 40.2 inches, Blade length is 28 inches [pwz] as above, the blade is actually a little shorter than advertised, but nothing to get in a twist about, after all these are not from master craftsmen (made in china) in the manner of the Saichō monks of Japan or other sects for that matter. All in all I give it a B+ it looks good on the wall and it has some weight to it when handled. Since it is for decorative use its was a good buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Minimal variances in the product, but nothing worth a return
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for display, the sword while sharper than a display sword or a practice Katana, but it is not razor sharp.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As well as can be expected from a sales organization, taken with a grain of rice.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gift,is very happy
 from tamarac fl,a happy camper,  Aug 8, 2011

this is a gift to a collector, he went nuts! avery hard person to get vocal, he was very, a true success.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. top quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
amazing
 from ny, ny,  Mar 28, 2011

fast delivery, amazing craftmanship. this is my first sword and its not often an online purchase beats your expectations. the wooden box is a great case too

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT!
 from Virginia,  Mar 26, 2011

Absolutely great sword! It is sharp and is full tang. It has a nice balance to it as well. The box was very nice to. I can't believe the price. This is a steal. It could be a high end sword.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
tsok
 from OH,  Mar 12, 2011

Not spectacular, blade is not completely straight. But for the rpice, acceptable. If I had paid more I would be disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wow
 from d.tx,  Dec 8, 2010

this sword is amazing,it comes with a cleaning set,the word case is very nice,i wish all of the swords came like this,very good deal,very impressive set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome sword & more!
 from NW Indiana,  Oct 20, 2010

I received my sword yesterday and was totally impressed by the craftsmanship that went into it. It is simply beautiful in every aspect. I also loved the wood storage/presentation case and the sword care kit that came with it (which I immediately put to use to clean and oil the blade. There are very good video instructions on how to do this at Youtube). This was a great first-time Overstock.com transaction for me and I have already recommended this sword to a fellow taekwondo student.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth every dime and then some.
 from Myrtle Beach, SC,  Oct 5, 2010

I don't know about the other reviews complaining about the "wood chips" on the blade etc. I've been a collector for years, and that is common in samurai swords. When they are new, you have to clean the shavings and oil off of the blade. This sword is easily worth $150 or more. It is made by a very reputable company. The blade is high quality steel, and comes with a decently sharp edge. The maintenance kit with the hammer, resin, and cleaning cloth along with the wood storage box is worth the price alone. The box this sword came in is very well made, and appears to be cedar. The sword itself could easily fetch $200 in a specialty sword store. It blows my mind that this sword is available at this price. If you are a collector - get one, or two at this price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
prety good
 from sacramento, ca,  Sep 27, 2010

this is a great sword its not as sharp as razor sharp its great for display and it comes with a nice box

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought