Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-31 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
good for the price
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Sep 14, 2010

I got the sword quite fast, shipping was great. The sword is nice looking, the only down side is that is not as sharp as they say it is "razor sharp". I won't be using it for cutting so I'm ok with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice sword!
 from California, CA,  Aug 20, 2010

I would say the quality is 8/10 but for the value I gave it five stars for two simple reasons: it looks great as a decorative piece and IT IS usable with a bladed edge. Great price for the sword, comes with little accessories and a storage case. If your looking to buy a sword, I recommend buying this one. Note: Sword is greasy and may be covered in sawdust. Made in China and has that branded on the blade.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very solid weapon.
 from Santa Monica, CA,  Aug 17, 2010

After UPS screwed up the delivery of this item and I had to go to downtown Los Angeles to retrieve it, I opened the box to find a dark brown stained wooden case. Opening it up revealed the sword in it's black bag, a small cleaning kit with powder ball, awl/brass hammer, mineral oil and a soft cloth. I took the sword out of it's bag and was immediately impressed y the detail of the wrapping, the fitted pins holding the blade in place inside the handle, and of the blade itself. This sword is extremely sharp right out of the box, but covered in grease and sawdust from the wooden scabbard, but cleaned up very nicely with the enclosed kit. I was a little disappointed when, after cleaning and sheathing it, I redrew the blade to find it covered with grease and sawdust again. I imagine this will go away with time and use as the offending materials work their way out of the scabbard, but it's kind of a pain to have to clean it every time I show it off. I did not buy this sword as a display piece, I bought it for home defense, and I feel better already just having it around. It's heavy, solid (no wobble or give to the blade or fittings at all), and reliable. I'm going to shop around and see if I can't find a replacement scabbard, but if you need a sword for recreational or personal USE, this is your deal. All in all, totally worth the money, this sword will be with me for many, many years.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hand-forged Japanese Samurai Sword
 from Annandale, VA,  Aug 12, 2010

Very pleased with the quality of this sword. It arrived in a nice presentation box and looks much more expensive than the actual price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice for the price
 from wasilla ak,  Apr 6, 2010

not a bad show piece... The case needs a finish to it other wish great for the price...blade had an edge.. wow most do not,, neat little authentic care kit too..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sword
 from Tulsa, Ok,  Feb 21, 2010

I bought this for my boyfriend for Valentines Day because he studies martial arts and is extremely knowledgeable about weapons and he loved the sword. He only found ONE imperfection which was that the sword falls out of it's cover after removing it a few times.. it gets kind of loose. But he fixed it very easily. I was extremely impressed with this sword, especially for the prices! You won't regret it. It's heavy was 10 pounds pulling it out of the packaging. Including the cleaning kit and wooden display box.- which by the way was not carefully crafted however we liked the imperfect look to it. But if you want a sword to actually carry around and play with this one seems to be working for that purpose. If you want something for decoration you might get a prettier one. This one is more plain and durable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sword
 from Dallas, TX,  Feb 19, 2010

Item arrived very quickly and just as described. I went online and purchased a upright stand to compliment its beauty, now no one has entered my living room without asking me where i bought it. Very glad I bought this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Again?
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Feb 12, 2010

I have bought five of these sword and written at least two reviews prior to this one. Obviously, "Overstock" doesn't pay attention to details like that, because they keep pestering me to write a review each time, as if something had changed (?). Basically, one more time, I think this is one of the best deals on the market today. A remarkably high quality sword, in a very attractive, sturdy and useful wooden box, with all of the accessories of a $250 to $300 sword. Darn good deal.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sword
 from sonoma, ca,  Jan 4, 2010

For the price it's worth it. The box that the sword came in was broken to begin with and one of the biggest issues was that the civer to the sword did not fit right. It slipped off very easy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful...
 Dec 16, 2009

Has me waiting for Christmas impatiently so I can give it to my husband...The only issue I have with it is the box doesn't close perfectly.It may be something that happened in transit, since the box did apparently get bumped or dropped on the side that doesn't sit quite right. It still closes, and locks, theres just a small gap from about the middle to the left end. No big deal, as it will more than likely be displayed open. =)But I do absolutely love it. and I am sure he will as well. =PBeen thinking about keeping it myself. LOL.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for a beginning collector
 from San Diego, CA,  Sep 11, 2011

Bring honor to your home with a hand-forged Japanese Samurai sword -[pwz] Be sure to study up on your feng shue Sword placement in the home is extremely important to Prosperity an Health. Collectible sword features a high-tempered carbon steel blade - [pwz] blade is of average composition and presents well. Razor sharp sword comes with a solid wood scabbard - [pwz] not hardly, although definitions vary as do opinions, what they call razor sharp, I call it barely sharp. Scabbard is wrapped in genuine ray skin and heavy gauge cotton for superior grip - [pwz] as I am not able to test the claim, I’ll have to take their word for it, it looks good though. Full tang - [pwz] yes Blood carving line on blade - [pwz] nice touch since the Japanese were the first to incorporate the feature into their weapons, for obvious reasons. Comes with a solid wood display box, cleaning kit and protective cover. - [pwz] probably the best feature of this buy, although the bottle of blade oil had spilled out in shipping and the cover is not the customary raw silk but it looks good none the less. Overall length is 41 inches – [pwz] the length varies, the one I received is 40.2 inches, Blade length is 28 inches – [pwz] as above, the blade is actually a little shorter than advertised, but nothing to get in a twist about, after all these are not from master craftsmen (made in china) in the manner of the Saichō monks of Japan or other sects for that matter. All in all I give it a B+ it looks good on the wall and it has some weight to it when handled. Since it is for decorative use it’s was a good buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Minimal variances in the product, but nothing worth a return
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for display, the sword while sharper than a display sword or a practice Katana, but it is not razor sharp.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As well as can be expected from a sales organization, taken with a grain of rice.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-31 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought