Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
GREAT!
 from Virginia,  Mar 26, 2011

Absolutely great sword! It is sharp and is full tang. It has a nice balance to it as well. The box was very nice to. I can't believe the price. This is a steal. It could be a high end sword.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wow
 from d.tx,  Dec 8, 2010

this sword is amazing,it comes with a cleaning set,the word case is very nice,i wish all of the swords came like this,very good deal,very impressive set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome sword & more!
 from NW Indiana,  Oct 20, 2010

I received my sword yesterday and was totally impressed by the craftsmanship that went into it. It is simply beautiful in every aspect. I also loved the wood storage/presentation case and the sword care kit that came with it (which I immediately put to use to clean and oil the blade. There are very good video instructions on how to do this at Youtube). This was a great first-time Overstock.com transaction for me and I have already recommended this sword to a fellow taekwondo student.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
amazing
 from ny, ny,  Mar 28, 2011

fast delivery, amazing craftmanship. this is my first sword and its not often an online purchase beats your expectations. the wooden box is a great case too

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
tsok
 from OH,  Mar 12, 2011

Not spectacular, blade is not completely straight. But for the rpice, acceptable. If I had paid more I would be disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth every dime and then some.
 from Myrtle Beach, SC,  Oct 5, 2010

I don't know about the other reviews complaining about the "wood chips" on the blade etc. I've been a collector for years, and that is common in samurai swords. When they are new, you have to clean the shavings and oil off of the blade. This sword is easily worth $150 or more. It is made by a very reputable company. The blade is high quality steel, and comes with a decently sharp edge. The maintenance kit with the hammer, resin, and cleaning cloth along with the wood storage box is worth the price alone. The box this sword came in is very well made, and appears to be cedar. The sword itself could easily fetch $200 in a specialty sword store. It blows my mind that this sword is available at this price. If you are a collector - get one, or two at this price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Longquan Sword
 Jun 22, 2010

I was hesitant about buying this sword,but at the price I thought I couldn't pass it by. The sword is handmade and excellent craftmanship was put into making it. I looked up the history of the makers of the sword. The Longquan Sword has been made in China for several generations and has been presented to people as a gift of friendship and loyalty. President Nixon was presented one of these swords when he visited China. All I can say is that anyone who purchases swords know that this sword is worth $250.00 to $350.00 at any dealer who sells martial arts weapons and collectable artifacts. The sword is made very well and the case it comes in is ideal for showing off or displaying for others to see. Right now I'm thinking of buying a couple more for gifts to my other friends. Anyone recieving this will be pleased with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a beauty!
 from New York,  Jan 8, 2014

Got it as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend, everybody was impressed by it and he was in shock! He love it! No plastic or lacquer, has weights and a lot of presence. The wood box got screwed up by shipping but overstock immediately send a replacement. Overall Awesome good product and perfect unbeatable costumer services. Thanks Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It is good for the price
 from Tucson, AZ,  Aug 21, 2013

It is good for the price. but the sword it's self is average quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the money but...
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Mar 14, 2013

For what you pay, this is a good buy, however there are some details that are NOT correct in the description. I just finished dissasembling mine and heres what I found- Yes, it is full tang, but it has only one pin and the blade is glued in. The tang is extremely rough and unfinished. It's a tight fit because the grip is hammered on. I needed to take mine apart because the fittings were loose and I wanted to see the quality of construction. The sword has a fake wire-brushed "Hamon". It is supposed to be differentially hardened, but the fake hamon covers the real one if it has one. I think I might be able to see a little of it in a tiny spot on the blade. I do not see any evidence of the sword being made of folded steel. There are no layers or patterns at all. The blade is also not very sharp. It doesn't slice paper. It does feel very heavy and solid. The surface and polish of the blade is good. The scabbard is well made. Overall I would say it's a great buy for the price, just know what you are getting. Looks like a strong blade but the fittings are cheap.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice katana
 from miamiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii,  Dec 26, 2012

buy ittttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very nice good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Forged sword
 from Mt. Clemens, MI,  Oct 27, 2012

Only problem was slight damage to the wooden gift box, and the oil container had sprung a leak and there was oil soaked everywhere in the cleaning kit box.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exelent sword. exstremely good deal for the money.
 from florence oregon,  Sep 7, 2012

got my sword ontime opened it and was suprised to see a nice handcrafted box ive only seen with swords costing 4 times as much. its made of good quality carbon steel and razor sharp. i use every sword i buy. i have 25 top quality sword and 10 midrange and this sword ranks up there with some of my most exspensive ones. i would recamend this to anyone who wants a high quality sword a a extremly low price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. supurb quality exelent craftsmanship
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I was impressed
 from Florida,  Apr 18, 2012

When this sword came in I was very impressed with the quality for the price. Even the the case it came with gave the whole kit a nice touch. The only reason it did not receive a five out five from me was because the box came in damaged. However as usual overstock immediately sent me a new one and it arrive fairly quickly. Overall I would definitely purchase this item again as a gift.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality of the sword, other parts are okay
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very acurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Katana
 from Fort Worth, Texas,  Sep 19, 2011

This is a really good deal. Nice sword for the price. Yes there are a lot of others on the internet, but for the price you really can't beat this. It had a small mar on the handle, but I'm not going to fret about it. Heavy, solid blade with a nice feel to it. It is NOT razor sharp, but that can easily be remedied with some oil and a whetstone. Nice presentation box and the care kit that came with it is a really nifty extra. If your looking for your first katana, I can't think of a better place to start. I don't think you could find anything comparable on ebay or anywhere else. Definetely worth the $xx!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fair
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gift,is very happy
 from tamarac fl,a happy camper,  Aug 8, 2011

this is a gift to a collector, he went nuts! avery hard person to get vocal, he was very, a true success.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. top quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
prety good
 from sacramento, ca,  Sep 27, 2010

this is a great sword its not as sharp as razor sharp its great for display and it comes with a nice box

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good for the price
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Sep 14, 2010

I got the sword quite fast, shipping was great. The sword is nice looking, the only down side is that is not as sharp as they say it is "razor sharp". I won't be using it for cutting so I'm ok with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice sword!
 from California, CA,  Aug 20, 2010

I would say the quality is 8/10 but for the value I gave it five stars for two simple reasons: it looks great as a decorative piece and IT IS usable with a bladed edge. Great price for the sword, comes with little accessories and a storage case. If your looking to buy a sword, I recommend buying this one. Note: Sword is greasy and may be covered in sawdust. Made in China and has that branded on the blade.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very solid weapon.
 from Santa Monica, CA,  Aug 17, 2010

After UPS screwed up the delivery of this item and I had to go to downtown Los Angeles to retrieve it, I opened the box to find a dark brown stained wooden case. Opening it up revealed the sword in it's black bag, a small cleaning kit with powder ball, awl/brass hammer, mineral oil and a soft cloth. I took the sword out of it's bag and was immediately impressed y the detail of the wrapping, the fitted pins holding the blade in place inside the handle, and of the blade itself. This sword is extremely sharp right out of the box, but covered in grease and sawdust from the wooden scabbard, but cleaned up very nicely with the enclosed kit. I was a little disappointed when, after cleaning and sheathing it, I redrew the blade to find it covered with grease and sawdust again. I imagine this will go away with time and use as the offending materials work their way out of the scabbard, but it's kind of a pain to have to clean it every time I show it off. I did not buy this sword as a display piece, I bought it for home defense, and I feel better already just having it around. It's heavy, solid (no wobble or give to the blade or fittings at all), and reliable. I'm going to shop around and see if I can't find a replacement scabbard, but if you need a sword for recreational or personal USE, this is your deal. All in all, totally worth the money, this sword will be with me for many, many years.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought