For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 221 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 12 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice,very nice...
 from Northeast, PA,  Jan 2, 2011

I had shopped extensively on the internet for a small secretary desk. I found Overstock.com by far had the best prices! Make sure you measure your area, and take note of the desks' dimensions before you order! This desk is much darker-more like a cherry/walnut stain then what is shown in the display pics. It is beautiful! It was very well packaged- LOTS of styrofoam. It wasn't too difficult to unpack, but the styrofoam makes a pretty good mess. Here's a bit more info. regarding attaching the legs that was omitted from other reviews I read. There's 8 really long screws that get screwed into pre-drilled holes. The manufacturer includes a hex-head type tool to use. But about the 4th screw, my hand really hurt. For a woman I do have a lot of hand strength...it still was a bit difficult. If you have a ratchet w/ a hex bit get it out. The slot shelving is removable, it just slides out if you'd like more space. In the picture it shows items on the top shelf...FYI, that shelf is 7" depth. And the side section supports slide out automatically when the desk is opened- very cool! :) There are drawer-stops inside at the top of all the drawers that get turned downward preventing the drawers from coming all the way out. Just feel around for them. The one reviewer stated that they added some knobs. The drawers have carved-out sections for you to grab onto to open the drawers. But fold down door does not. You have to grab it from the sides and pull it down. Not difficult at all. I did not bolt it the wall as some have. I had stored some heavier items in the bottom drawer which no doubt helps prevents it from tipping. With the exception of a few areas where they missed a spot in staining (I just touched it up w/ furniture stain markers) the desk is well made and worth the money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mixed rating
 from CT,  Aug 30, 2008

I purchased this desk and am very pleased with the look as well. I am unhappy about the drop down part of the desk because when you close it, the pull out support on one side does not go all the way in so it is not flush with the desk. I am constantly walking by trying to push it in.This was discovered after all of the unwrapping and assembly. It was too much trouble to pack back up return and hope for a replacement without this manufacturer assembly error.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and well made desk
 from Pacific Northwest,  Jul 26, 2006

This is a winner. I gave all catagories a 5 as this product deserves it. I chose to take the easily removable insides of the desk out, and put the little shelves on top with candles, etc. on it. Then on the inside of the compartment, I put all of my makeup and brushes, put a little ornate half chair up and sit and put my makeup on every day. The drawers are well made and hold my extra facial tissues and swabs. Again, this product is very well made, looks much more expensive than it is and is extremely sturdy. You can't go wrong.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small Office Secretary Desk
 from Olympia WA,  Nov 8, 2010

Excellent piece of furniture, easy to assemble, timely delivered. Looks like the photo with lovely carvings; the wood's stained darker by a few shades and has highly functional, easy sliding 3 drawers. Exact size I needed for a small office. Solid wood construction.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DESK
 from KANSAS,  Jan 9, 2009

This is a very nice desk and shipped quickly. I was a little unhappy with the size you can not put much in the inside of the desk top part is is only about 10 inches. If you are looking for a place to put a few items this is a good piece of furature. The little drawers will not hold a 12 inch ruler and the bottom draw will hold only haning files you can not put any taps on the folder if you do the draw will catch. Over all it is a nice desk and looks good in a small space. I did keep it and am trying to make it work. It is more of a writting desk not for all your bills.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not the quality I expected
 from Shrewsbury, MA,  Dec 15, 2010

If this thing is solid wood, it's only a few pieces. The back is completely plywood. Many of the pieces have a hollow sound when knocked, especially the two side pieces of the large, down-folding door. I was shocked at how light-weight this item is, easily picked up and carried around. You need to put something heavy in the bottom drawer if you plan on using the fold-down drawer to keep it from tipping over. It looks nice, but that's about all I can say for it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
New York, NY
 from New York, NY,  Sep 28, 2008

The desk is small, which is fine if that is what you are looking to purchase. I found this piece was not made satisfactorily. It is not a quality piece of furniture. In the picture, the wood stain appears to be light in color, but the actual piece is much darker, perhaps a dark walnut finish. Also the seams on the front and sides of the desk where the wood meets have places that the wood is actually unstained or lighter in color, almost bear. These are thin lines, but noticable if you look closely at the piece. There are a few dings in the wood and dents on the top of the piece. This was not done in transit as the stain covers the dents and had to be made at the factory that built it. Also the desk is slightly wobbily after the legs are put on. Assembly was easy. The desk looks good from far away, but upon close inspection it is not made very well. Overall not a satisfactory purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad, but could have been better
 from Columbia, MD,  May 31, 2007

WHAT I WANTED: I wanted a secretary desk that would look good, fit in my bedroom and absorb some important file folders, loose papers and odds and ends that were just setting around. I also wanted a place to write in my journal other than just sprawling on my bed. WHAT I GOT: The desk arrived packed security with no damage. All I had to do was install the legs. Yes, there is a smell of lacquer, but it isn't bothersome. Just leave it all open to air out for a couple of days or so. I was surprised that it was smaller than I had imagined, but the dimensions are correct. Just make sure you know this is a small desk. The actual color was darker than the picture showed, but I still like the shade. The writing surface is small but adequate, and since the unit is not very deep, it isn't all that stable to lean on while writing. PROS: Looks fancy. Fits in smaller spaces. CONS: The slots for the file racks are too high, so it is impossible to have tabs on the file folders - the drawer will not close with them. That is my primary gripe. Also, the paper slots are fragile and not very deep. The middle drawers are quite small.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Little Desk
 from Bridgeport, TX,  Nov 17, 2012

Our house isn't as big as I would like it to be and we don't really have a home office, so I got this little desk to have a central location for files and various office supplies. It works wonderfully for that purpose. All the parts arrived in the box and there were no damages to speak of. The desk was also easy to assemble. All I had to do was screw on the legs. The desk looks great, doesn't take up much space, and does a good job of hiding the bills. If only it could pay them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautful but small
 from Colorado,  Oct 8, 2011

The only issue I have is there is a pretty big dent in the top edge of the peice caused from the strapping placed to hold it in the box. It's almost enough to send back but since that would be more hassle we have decided to color it in with furniture marker. The packing needs to be tweeked for sure!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk is ok
 from Nevada,  Apr 1, 2011

The desk works for what I needed it for. A little small. I like everything about it except the file drawer on the bottom...hanging folders don't fit, they get caught when trying to close the drawer. A little pricey.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good value!
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 12, 2010

I just unpacked this desk and am very impressed with the quality of this furniture. The construction is very sold. It was also delivered very quickly -- I ordered it on a Saturday and it arrived on Monday. Wow! At first, I was a little concerned because the outside of the box was damaged, but the desk was packed EXTREMELY well -- absolutely no damage to the furniture. Very easy assembly -- only had to attach the 4 legs, which took about 15 minutes. As mentioned in the other reviews, the color is darker than the picture -- more of a cherry than oak or walnut-looking finish. The dimensions are small, but perfect for studio apartment, or college dorm room. The fold-out desk is a great size for a Netbook or Notebook computer. All-in-all, I am very pleased with this purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Secretary Desk
 from Greenacres, FL,  Dec 9, 2010

Pleasantly surprised with the secretary desk. I needed a desk for a small area with the width the hardest to find. The 11" width is perfect for my needs. The desk is attractive and provides spaces to keep the clutter off my counters, although the insert is not attached. Good value for the price paid.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Secretary Desk
 from Arkansas,  Aug 6, 2010

This desk is a perfect size for our small bedroom. It is a well-built and an attractive desk for the price. Because it is taller than it is deep it can easily tip forward when the front door/writing surface is lowered. I attached a single bracket to the rear of the desk into a wall stud to eliminate that problem. Hanging file folders cannot be used with the bottom drawer due to height constraints. There was a little bit of an unpleasant smell from the finish applied at the factory but a single wipe down with "Orange Glo' oil eliminated the original scent.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not great at all
 from Corvallis Or.,  Nov 11, 2009

one of the drawers was already broken upon arrival. Had to glue it back together. Has a very strong offensive chemical odor. flimsy wood.I am keeping it, only because it is too cumbersome to repack and return. I can use it, but am really dissatisfied with it's quality.Extremely difficult to get out of the box, had to have 2 others help me. Im not an invalid, but a regular type of 50 year old lady. would NOT recommend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I was looking for
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 20, 2009

I had a small space available to me and wanted to fill it with a desk where I could pay bills and park my laptop. As I shopped around on the web, and in brick-and-mortar stores, I got the feeling that I was going to have to choose between an expensive desk in the style I preferred, or a cheaper, kid's desk in a style I was most emphatically not thrilled with. When I found this desk, at this price I thought there had to be a drawback, but so far it's been exactly what I wanted. The look is good, it's the right size, and the price was the best I'd found anywhere for this type of desk. It's fantastically easy to put together, requiring only a few minutes to attach the feet. My unit did come with a significant crack at the back, but as it doesn't show and doesn't compromise the function, I didn't feel it was something that needed to be addressed. However I would advise buyers to check their units before destroying the packing. The wooden insert for bills and such is adequate to my needs, and the drawers (two small and one larger) are good and deep, if not particularly large overall. I'd offer one caution: If you tend to push off on something as you stand up, don't do it on this desk. It's likely to tip forward.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice but chips easy
 from tx,  Aug 29, 2008

The look of the desk is exactly as shown in the picture. It looks really cute, petite and has good storage considering the size. The big flaw for me is that is chips REALLY easy! I think it is over priced for the overall quality of how it chips. It looks expensive but it will not with stand regular use. If you are using it for show and won

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
How Cute Is This?
 from Las Vegas Nevada,  Aug 5, 2008

This is the cutest little secretary I have ever seen. If you look at the measurements ahead of time, you know it is petite, and it is exactly what I was looking for. When you pull the lid down, the side bars automatically come out to support it, so you don't have to do this manually. Beautiful carving. You can smell the stain when you take it out of the box, but it goes away quickly. The workmanship is very nice. The file drawer is narrow, but I put my files in expandable folders, and they fit facing forward. If you have a small space, I don't see how you can find anything better. Love it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
would have given 5 stars
 from Texas,  Sep 2, 2010

totally not the color as shown. it is very dark, like a dark walnut. the piece is very nice and well made BUT very dark. not maple at all.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
linney102
 Aug 29, 2008

I love the product although it is a little darker thab the picture represnts

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 221 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 12 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top