Your coupon has been activated.
Up to 45% off Dining Room Furniture* Up to 65% off Jewelry & Watches* Up to 70% off Select Area Rugs* Up to 25% off Select Bedroom Furniture*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 70 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
replacement parts a hassle
 from Kansas City, MO,  Jul 18, 2010

I highly recommend this bench for looks and functionality. It's a quality piece of furniture and was not difficult to assemble (I did it myself in about 2 hours) - but you will need an electric drill/screwdriver if you want to do it in less than half a day. My reason for only awarding 3 stars is the hassle we went through getting a replacement basket for a defective one. instead of just sending us a basket, Overstock shipped an entire new bench with baskets. We were instructed to substitute the defective basket for one in the replacement order, reseal the box and return the whole thing via UPS. It doesn't sound like a big deal, but lugging a big, heavy box of bench into and out of the house a second time just to get a basket seems a terribly inefficient way to provide a simple replacement part and an unnecessary inconvenience to the customer. As always, though, Overstock paid all the freight, so it didn't cost us anything but time and trouble.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We bought this bench to hold my son's toys instead of a toybox in our family room. It's great to have it as extra seating (note that cushions are not included). Only complaint is that after less than a week of use,the baskets have already done noticeable damage to the finish on the front edge of the bench. I plan to put felt on the bottom of the baskets and then re-stain the front edge.Other than that, love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE the bench... baskets are so-so
 from WA,  May 1, 2010

This bench is EXACTLY what we were looking for! It's a very high quality piece. I love how it looks with the baskets, however, the baskets WILL scratch the surfaces that it touches in the cubbies. Our solution fixed this problem entirely: buy fabric (felt/fleece material) at the fabric store, cut out squares to exactly fit the bottom of each basket, glue-gun each fabric square to the bottom of each basket. Also, buy small felt pads and secure them to the rear sides of the baskets with a glue-gun so the baskets will not scratch the sides of the bench as well. This sounds to be a lot of work... but it is SO worth it! I bought a bench cushion for it at pottery barn~ it was the only cushion I could track down with the same measurements. This bench has been a lifesaver for cleaning up all of our family's shoes that accumulate by the front door!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product
 from Austin,  Mar 11, 2011

Very solid and easy to put together. I agree with the other reviews that the baskets are rough and can scratch the wood. I put a piece of felt on the bottom of the baskets to help them slide easier and to avoid dmaging the wood.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than I expected
 from Indianapolis In,  Feb 19, 2009

Love this bench. It is very sturdy and the baskets are deep. One suggestion, put felt on the bottom of the baskets immediately or they will scratch the bench. I learned that the hard way. Its great in my mudroom! The value was unbelieve, I purchased this bench with a 10% off a special price weekend!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bench
 from Brooklyn, NY,  May 10, 2011

This bench is beautiful and easy to assemble. It looks great in our entryway. The only negative is that that baskets were extremely smelly (made our whole place smell) for several days until I left them outside to air out for 48 hours. Other than that, I can't think of any negatives.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Attractive storage bench
 from Livingston, NJ,  Dec 9, 2009

I purchased this storage bench because I needed something low profile to hold clothing in my bedroom. I was very pleased with Overstock's delivery schedule - even with the cheapest shipping option I received the bench within 5 days of placing my order! The bench looks nice, is true to color shown, and I assume is true to the stated dimensions since it fits in my room nicely. I had to give the bench a 4 star rating for a couple of reasons. 1. The bench was delivered to my house in a huge box that probably weighed 80 lbs. It was cumbersome to move on my own. You should have no problem if you have a helping hand. 2. Assembly instructions (which I followed) showed that I had to keep the back piece vertical while attaching the cubby sides to the back. With one person assembling this was awkward and frustrating. You'd do better to lay the back piece down flat and push the cubby sides in perpendicularly, in the vertical position. Total time to assemble on my own was about 1 hour. Note that you need an allen key to assemble (along with a Philips head screwdriver and a mallet). 3. The baskets look nice but are very scratchy. I wish they were made of a more flexible or clothing-friendly material. To compensate, I lined the baskets with fabric purchased seperately. For the price, I think you shouldn't have to add anything, but since it looks so nice I won't complain too much about value vs. functionality. Like some other reviewers suggested, I attached felt to the bottom of the baskets to prevent them from scratching the wood. Overall, a good purchase, and if they improve on the basket material I would give it a 5 star rating despite the issues with assembly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Bench!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Aug 13, 2008

I had misgivings about buying a bench that was priced so much lower than some other expensive retailers' models. I was not disappointed. The wood has a rich look to it, and is very heavy and sturdy. It was so easy to put together, I did it myself in less than an hour. I am so glad I saved my money and bought this bench.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, beautiful bench!
 from Long Island, NY,  Jun 15, 2013

We love this bench for our entryway. We used our own baskets as the included ones are scratchy. It feels very sturdy and could hold three people easily. We had to purchase a custom cushion which was a bit pricey however. It is a beautiful bench. I took away one star for the lack of a cushion.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Beautiful deep brown color- as advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high quality, heavy wood- no cushion included
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great storage piece!
 from Commack, NY,  Sep 20, 2012

I bought this piece to serve as a storage piece for toys and books in a combination reading/ play room. It is the perfect size. My only complaint is that the baskets had a strong odor initially. It dissipated quickly, and was gone before we moved it into the room. Also, the baskets didn't fit together easily. My husband had to drill new holes in the baskets to put them together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is actually as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wood is high quality. The baskets did not fit together well andy husband had to drill a new hole to put one together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Bench !
 from UpState NY,  Aug 6, 2012

This bench exceeded our expectations... even tho we had to assemble it... The solid wood is beautiful and so are the baskets. It is incredibly sturdy and I am so happy I decided on it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? YES
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. EXCELLENT QUALITY
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? EXACT
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with the Bench. HEavy?strong
 from new jersey,  Jul 10, 2012

The bench took about an hour to put together. You could tell as soon as you took the pieces out of the box that it was going to be a good heavy Bench. Very happy with it. May actually be too nice for the intended spot.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. heavy duty great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect, except for drawer scratching wood
 from Denver, Colorado,  Apr 10, 2012

This was perfect for what we were looking for. It looks great under our window. The only thing is how the baskets scratch the wood when you pull them out. I picked up some foam paper. I'm gonna see if that works so the bottom does not keep scratching up the wood. Otherwise, a great buy and exactly what we were looking for.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality except for baskets that scratch wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice product
 from MA,  Jan 29, 2012

I love this bench. My kids each have a basket and we keep all their shoes in the baskets. It really cleaned up my hallway. The baskets are hard plastic and have left scratches on the wood from sliding them in and out of the cubby. I did put felt pads on them but they didn't stay in place. I have bench in part of house that is not visible to guests, so it doesn't make much of a difference. I like the product and it has lasted for a couple of years. Not flimsy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great find
 from White Plains, NY,  Apr 5, 2011

I am extremely happy with the Hampton Storage Bench. Before purchasing, I took the time to read most of the more than 200 customer reviews, which persuaded me to purchase the bench. Iím so happy I did! I was looking at an exact bench in *** for double the price, and it was mostly made from MDF. Include the tax, shipping and baskets and the purchase would have been well over $500. This bench is exactly the same, even better because itís solid wood. Iím a little disappointed in the baskets; they scratch the surface of the bench. But even without the baskets, the bench is beautiful and an incredible value. If your hesitant to order this bench, donít be. Youíll be as happy as me!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well made, worth the price
 from GA,  Jan 18, 2011

Item is very well made. Holes lined up for easy assembly. It is amazing how simple it is to put together a piece of furniture when it is well made such as this. Very sturdy, strong piece of furniture. No regrets, glad I took the chance and purchased this item instead of the one commonly sold at the ***** store for lots more. Overstock is awesome. Item was purchased during the "everything ships for free" period and it weighed 80 lbs.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality
 from Ashburn, VA,  Jul 6, 2010

You can't beat $2.95 for shipping when you see how heavy the shipping box is! Despite a dent in the outer cardboard, the bench was well packaged and undamaged. Construction directions were easy to follow, taking about 40 minutes. When I saw the quality of the piece, I was very impressed. It is solid wood, not laminate. The baskets have a gap at the bottom seams, but that was solved when I applied the felt, to prevent scratching, as others have suggested. After looking at several other benches, both in stores and online, I am very satisfied with my selection of the Hampton Storage Bench.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect !
 from Imperial Beach, CA,  May 25, 2010

I have been looking for several months for a storage bench to put at the end of my King Size bed. I initially was looking at upholstered storage benches but, when I came across this I knew it would be perfect. I didn't want to have to lift up a lid to get to my things. My bedroom furniture has a darker pine finish. I was worried the dark wood of the bench was too much of a contrast but, to my pleasant surprise with adding the lighter wicker baskets the two colors blended in perfect. I did read other people's reviews and followed their suggestion to put felt under each basket to not scrape the finish. A very smart suggestion! It took my husband about an hour to assemble. Note, he's very handy with tools and assembling things. He used a power screwdriver which sped the process up.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hampton Bench
 from Columbus, OH,  May 10, 2010

We purchased this product because it is one of the few that can be found that is made out of hardwood and not MDF. The assembly is fairly basic and the instructions to do so were very good. This is a very nice looking and quality piece of furniture. The only drawback is the baskets. They are rather rough to the touch and they mar the finish of the bench when you pull them out. We simply purchased some felt and hot glue gunned them to the bottoms. I would recommend doing this right away as they mar the finish on the first use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Glad I waited!
 from Chicago, IL,  Apr 27, 2010

Initially this bench sold out, so I had to wait months for it come back in stock. Was it worth the wait? Absolutely. Good materials, easy assembly, looks great. Delivery was quick and very well packaged. I was on the brink of going to ** to get an almost identical one and shell out $200 more. Glad I didn't. I'm very happy with this piece of furniture. Another great find at Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 70 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought