Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A nice touch
 from Langley, BC,  Jan 19, 2013

This bench is a little bit lower than other entry way benches I have sat on but it does fill in our little cove nicely. The product is light and easily assembled. The only part I had trouble with was the spring arm that opens and closes the storage lid. When installing this piece initially, it was somewhat confusing as it looked like it was bent the wrong way. After assembling it together and closing it, the sound that it makes the very first time, sounds like you are going to tear the wood apart and the screws would rip out. That is the only thing that concerns me. We are now scared to even open and close it for storage because the arm is so strong.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Colour is true to website pictures
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average build quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description is accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Definitely not what it's all cracked up to be
 from New Orleans, LA,  May 1, 2013

This piece came very well packaged and was not damaged. My husband is very adept to building items out of wood, and he's had much experience putting furniture together after buying our new house, I thought this would be cake for him. With his knowledge, patience, and skill, it took him considerably longer than expected. He's a perfectionist, and when he encountered the defect of the lid not being able to be brought down without scraping against the arm of the bench, he tried his best to reposition and re-align the lid, though the bench comes with pre-drill holes. Drilling new holes when the lid is just off by a hair will result in an even larger hole since it'd be so close together. It's a beautiful piece, don't get me wrong, but after purchasing it on sale with a fantastic coupon, I still regret blowing my money on this. The quality just isn't there, quite disappointed. Also, another thing to mention, I purchased this piece, wanting something that was taller than most benches because of the higher ceilings in new houses. Well this is a taller piece, but I didn't take into consideration that it's a short back and because it's "taller," the seat is actually lower than most benches. I'm 5'5" and it is not comfortable. My knees reach at an awkward position. This looks like a child's piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? although I did measure, it looks more like a child's piece of furniture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair, certainly not worth what it's sold for. Screw holes not properly lined up and after many adjustments, we did what we could and the seat still scrapes the arm of the chair when bringing the lid down
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great touch to entryway
 from South Carolina,  Apr 25, 2013

While this lovely addition will grace your foyer or entryway, be warned, it will make the most patient of husbands cuss like a sailor when being assembled! But it's worth it ;) (sorry honey)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Could be Better
 from New York, NY,  Feb 19, 2013

While the product is beautiful, the quality of the material was very poor. The bottom of the bin cracked as soon as I took it out of the box and the hinge support is very stiff. Extremely difficulty to open/close. I've chosen to leave it off for now, but beware because without the hinge support, the top slams closed. Very dangerous for little fingers.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The product color matched what was on the site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be low quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Good
Wood Storage Bench
 from Alabama,  Oct 17, 2014

Very satisfied with my new entryway bench. It was more difficult and time consuming than I anticipated to put together.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Good
Nice sturdy bench
 from Dowling, Michigan,  Sep 17, 2014

As stated by other reviews, this bench is very hard to assemble. My husband & I spent two hours assembling this bench only to experience a problem in the end. The problem in the end was our fault and I felt sick about it considering how much money we were paying for this bench. Contacted customer service and they were wonderful. I have honestly never received as much support from a customer service staff as I have found from Overstock.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Nice Entryway Bench
 from Fairfax, VA,  Aug 9, 2014

After reading several reviews and comparing to other benches, I purchased this. This is a nice bench that will go very well if you have light or bright colors in your entry way. It suits its purpose, and allows 2 people to sit at the same time. The storage space is not much but enough to keep some small items. Assembly was quick, the most difficult part being screwing in the reinforced sides with around 48 screws. If you have a powerdriver that might be quick, but then I am not sure if the material will hold and NOT crack. Overall took me around an hour to put it together. Otherwise simply a great and a classy choice!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Bench Storage Review
 from Monroe, Washington,  Jul 30, 2014

My husband and I took our time and followed the directions to assemble the bench. We needed a power drill and it went together nicely. It looks so perfect in our entry way. It is sturdy and holds many pairs of shoes. Just what we wanted.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Good
Fits perfectly
 from Irvine,CA,  Jul 25, 2014

I loved the bench, it fit perfectly in the spot that I needed it for. It is very strudy and was easy to assemble. I love the color and is also easy to clean.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Good Style : Good

Received on time ... Not so easy to install. but eventually got it fixed. Then i coat it with a good quality varnish. took me few days to finish it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Average Style : Good
Handy hubby made it work
 from Montgomery, TX,  Oct 21, 2013

Thank goodness my husband is an aircraft mechanic by trade. I don't know that you'll need that level of skillset to assemble, but he faced a number of challenges that would have had me sending it back. The first challenge was when some of the hardware crumbled. Literally just fell apart. So off he went to the hardware store to replace thom as best he could. The holes did not match up, as reported by other users, but he just ignored it and used a drill to put the screws in place rather than redrilling anything. He also glued in the dowels. Not an issue, but seemed like a good tip. And, as reported by others, the lid does not align properly. We just decided that was an 'undocumented feature' since almost every commenter has mentioned this. As per other comments, it is very low. Unless you are under 4 feet tall, this probably won't be the bench you will choose to sit on. But I really purchased it for a little extra storage and to put under a window that I did not want to block, so it works great for us.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Excellent
Hard to put together
 from Dyer, IN,  Oct 15, 2013

Something that should be easy to put together, but holes were too small and hardware were messed up. Made it much easier to put together with powerdrill to make your own holes. The bench door is a little hard to lift up. Looks nice. Overall happy with purchase but just be aware that it tests your patience!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor Style : Poor
furniture
 from southern california,  Sep 27, 2013

The entire product had problem. First the screws that they supplied broke when we were installing, it took 2 weeks to get replacement parts. Once we began installing we realized that the fittings did not have holes that were pre-drilled. We had to drill all of the holes in order to install. It took us a very long time to assemble the product.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Like it so far
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Mar 25, 2013

Looks exactly like it does in the picture. Good quality wood, not the cheap stuff that falls off easily. A little trickily to put together. You will need power tools to get the whole thing to come together perfectly. Several holes were missing in mine and I had to use the drill. The bottom piece is tricky to get in without some force. I eventually got it in with some sheer force and pounding. Happy with the product. Very sleek in my foyer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good solid wood construction. No cheapness to it so far.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute but smaller than it appears
 from Orlando, FL,  Mar 12, 2013

Bench is very cute but way smaller than I thought it was going to be. It looks so tiny in our bedroom. It was also a pain to put together. Hopefully once I put some cushions on top of it, it won't look out of place.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color matches great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Looking, Sturdy Bench
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Feb 27, 2013

Great looking and sturdy bench for the cost. My only complaint is the wood is rather soft. As a result it seems to dent and scratch fairly easily.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
review0109
 from Michigan,  Feb 20, 2013

The overall product was good but the hindges we were not happy with the hindges. It took a long time to put together but would recommend it. We are happy with the bench

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Normandy Tobacco Brown Entryway Storage Bench
Sale $160.97
Was $178.86
Compare $199.99
Save 20%
(31)
Riverside Dark Coffee Entryway Storage Bench
Sale $179.99
Was $199.99
Compare $219.00
Save 18%
(2)
Raleigh Entryway Storage Bench
Sale $141.74
Was $157.49
(2)
Back to top