Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 94 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

Our house is furnished with walnut and cherry antiques and with various odds and ends from that upscale furniture store that starts with a "p". This piece fits very well into the mix for a mere fraction of the cost that we have paid for the other pieces. Now, here are the negatives. Yes, it did take a long time to put together (about 8 hours for one person)...but the real negative is the quality of the back panel. The panel comes in two parts with tape adhering the the two together, but ours had chips in between the two panels and when it was unfolded, there was this nasty white/brown line/gap across the center of the back. Now, as long as you use the display exactly as the picture shows, then it doesn't matter...but if you want to leave the wine rack out, you will be able to see that line. Also, another caution - when putting in the drawer tracks, make sure that the tracks all are put with the slight track bend pointed down. If you don't pay attention to this small detail (which is not stated in the instructions) then you will end up with wonky drawers.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? slightly lighter than the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent with the exception of the back panel
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfectly accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice piece of furniture
 from washington, dc,  Nov 2, 2010

This is a great buffet! It looks fabulous in our dining room and holds a good amount of dishes/glassware. Putting it together is not easy and not something you can do by yourself. We put ours together in about four hours using an electric drill, which I highly recommend as there are numerous screws used to hold the piece together. As other reviewers have lamented, the instructions aren't completely clear so read through them at least once before you even start. The only complaint that I have is not with the buffet or overstock.com but with ups. This is shipped in 3 boxes (four would be better) that each weigh between 45 and 88 pounds. If your home has any stairs at all, ups will do everything they can to NOT deliver these boxes. Everyone is aware of their standard business practice of delivery attempts at your home, during the day when you're at work. Times that by 1,000 and you get some idea of what I went through trying to get this delivered. It was a nightmare, and it's too bad overstock doesn't use a furniture delivery company (even if it costs extra) to avoid having to deal with the rudeness and lack of professionalism of ups.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Piece of Furniture
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Apr 3, 2012

The buffet is a beautiful piece of furniture and is of very good quality. As other reviewers have mentioned, assembly does take some time (my husband did it in exactly 3 hours - although, he is very handy), but it definitely worth it. Be sure that the drawer slides have the slight curve facing down, and be extra careful when you install the hinge screws (they are cheaply made and we had one break off as did another reviewer). There was a small scratch on the top piece, but was easily covered with a black marker and a furniture touch-up pen. The wine storage is nice, but you can leave out the dividers and only have a shelf across the middle if you like. Overall, we are very happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of work!
 from Miami, FL,  Dec 8, 2010

Although this piece of furniture is beautiful, it took alot of hard work to get it together. The assembly process is tiresome and took hours with my husband, many times leading to immense frustration. The individual furniture pieces are labelled alphabetically, and the hardware numberically but it would be really helpful for labelling to include 'front/back' and 'top/bottom', as almost all of the pieces are finished in a stain and it is hard to tell which should face forward. If you are not handy and don't have patience, this item is not for you. After over 8 hrs at it, we gave up altogether and we are having a handyman come to assembly the doors as we can not get them to hang correctly, despite taking the hinges off several times and putting them back in alternating positions.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from cincinnati, OH,  Oct 11, 2010

We received the three boxes on Friday and it definately took 3 plus hours to put it together. Directions could be better, we did make some mistakes in assembly, but were able to fix them. I'm glad I read the previous reviews before purchasing this product. I even researched the kind of woood it was made of and with all this extra knowledge we were confident in purchasing this buffet.. We are happy with the end product and would reccomend it to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT CASUAL DINING ADDITION
 from Connecticut,  Dec 18, 2014

This piece is an excellent addition to my casual upscale dining room. My chairs are upholstered so I wanted to dress down a bit and this piece does that nicely, plus offers lots of useful dining area storage. It was assembled by my son-in-law who is good with tools and following directions and it did take him a couple of hours but he had no complaints about parts or instructions.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous!
 from NC,  May 19, 2014

After reading other reviews, I was torn on if I should order this or not. So glad I did. It is a gorgeous piece of furniture and has received a ton of compliments. Yes, you have to put this together and it does come in a "million" pieces. The directions are very clear and the pieces are clearly identified. If you read the directions and pay attention, you will not have any problems at all. It was a little time consuming, but for the value of this piece of furniture, it was worth it. This is a very nice quality piece that we look forward to using for many years to come.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Expensive look at a reasonable price
 from Tulsa, OK,  Mar 25, 2014

This piece of furniture was relatively easy to assemble (solid wood is heavy so two people is nice). The pieces fit nicely and once completed it looks and feels like an expensive piece of furniture. The doors hang well and close snugly and the drawers roll in and out smoothly. I'm very satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, not great.
 from Fairfield, OH,  Mar 11, 2014

Other reviews gave us good information. My hubby used approx 3.5-4 hours to assemble. We agree the directions could be more informative, but he had no real issues... though he has practice at this. The finish was not exactly what I expected. There was more of a mottled appearance to the wood. But when assembled, the item was quite solid. But it is important to note that the back is quite cheap looking. So if it is not going to be against a wall.... purchase a different item. But for our use, it is a wonderful addition to house for wine, glasses, and other entertaining items. We had one drawer that did not open smoothly, but not a huge issue. We use this drawer for napkins and items we do not use on a regular basis. Overall, I'm quite pleased for the price. We do plan to order a glass top to protect the wood when entertaining so we can preserve the finish.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A beautiful heavy piece of lasting furniture
 from Mankato, MN,  Dec 14, 2013

This is a very fine piece of furniture that you would fine in a nice home furnishing store. The savings on the do it yourself assembly more than justifies the 2 hour assembly. I read previous reviews in which posters reported assembly times of 3-5 hours for "above average or handy" assemblers, but was pleasantly surprised when I had it from box opening to in place in almost exactly 2 hours. You may need a 2nd person during installation for a step or 2 when moving the piece, and you absolutely will need 2 people to move it into place as it is heavy. The directions are not as clear as many "ex. Ikea", but for people who have put together desks or other furniture, you will get the idea pretty quickly so don't be scared and enjoy the buffet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Yes I gave it A+++ for a rating - the finished product is BEAUTIFUL -- but the assembly was absolutely***horrendous***. The quality of the finished product warrants a great review. If you are willing to make the commitment to put this piece together that is up to you. I did read the other reviews but it's almost like, until it happens to you, you don't realize what you are getting into. Even for a skilled "assembler" like my husband, this took literally hours and hours to complete. He does projects like this all the time but this was absolutely mind-blowing because there are hundreds of pieces, screws, drawer sliders, etc etc. It's like buying a 500-1000 piece puzzle. The instructions were very small which didn't help. In the end, he traded a personal day off of work/nearly a whole day of his life to put this together. It took about 7 hours of methodical installation. Our unit had no nicks or scrapes or anything. You will need a drill bit screwdriver or power screw driver for time saving reasons. We had no difficulty with mis-sized drill holes like others so all screws fit in easily. Bottom line: We saved *** from the one we originally wanted from the upscale store that begins with a P. We know we got a good deal with the finished project, but you have to weigh the value of your time (3-7 hours depending on how methodical you are) vs the savings on the item. AND IT REALLY LOOKS GREAT.. BTW, it is VERY heavy completed so it is not something a person can put together and move on their own. If you haven't got move helpers, assembly should take place in the location in which you intend to display it. We immediately ran out to fill the wine rack because we are going to need a few drinks after this very challenging experience.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome piece
 from Idaho,  Aug 22, 2013

Just like everyone else said...its a huge pain to put together....but its beautiful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Somewhat difficult assembly but nice looking
 from Madison, WI,  Feb 4, 2013

Assembly of this piece took a lot of time. We've had it for four months now and we've had some issues with the doors not want to stay shut. They pop open and we have to slam them to keep them shut. I like the looks of this piece and the price was right.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I like it but very hard to put together
 from Napa, CA,  Feb 15, 2012

I love this buffet table! I'm talking off a point because of the fact that it is hard to put together. Some how we ended up putting something on backwards and screwing holes on the front side. So now there are screw marks on the front side. I read the reviews on how difficult it was to put together, so I paid extra attention to the directions and was very organized while putting it together. They need better directions. Other than that very hight quality wood! The top part is a very heavy nice slab of wood.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic buffet table
 from Issaquah, WA,  Jul 21, 2011

I love this wine rack/buffet table. Saw the same thing in Pottery Barn for twice the price. It's against a wall in our kitchen nook where we have a round dark brown pedastal table and the 2 pieces go very well together. We needed it for storage but it also looks great. Besides storing wine, we use it to store wine glasses, drinking glasses, extra plates, etc. - in the bottom two cabinets. The top 3 drawers hold some napkins, wine openers and such, and a variety of odds and ends. Be warned that this takes time to put together, and some skill. We hired a guy who does work around the house to do put it together and it took him 4 hours. Cost us an additional *** but we still saved a bunch of money (would have paid *** in a brick and mortar store plus tax and shipping).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, what I expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Way too Many Parts
 from Wellington Florida,  Aug 7, 2010

It took me 12 hours to assemble over a two day period. Instructions are not that clear. It looks good once I was finished, but I have learned my lesson and will never buy a large piece of furniture like that again with so many parts and complicated directions. I almost headed to divorce court over this!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from AZ,  Nov 25, 2014

Very nice product, but it was timely putting it together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stunning!
 from Albany, NY,  May 12, 2014

I love this piece, it looks absolutely stunning in my dining room. It did take a few hours to put together and at the end I realized i had put the Top on backwards, which was a bonehead move. But other than that I love the piece and the great delivery and customer service I always expect to have from O.co!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful buy for your money!
 from Iowa,  Mar 11, 2014

This was truly a beautiful piece of furniture. Like most, I was wary about ordering it sight unseen as so many times the product does not match the description and reviews can be misleading. This piece arrived in perfect condition and was packaged well. Truly solid and heavy wood, a beautiful color just like the picture. Would definitely recommend. Just a side note: one reviewer had said that he had recieved the hutch in black instead of the brown and the first box I opened contained the sides of the drawers which are stained black, but I found that the other pieces that actually show to the outside of the buffet are the brown stain so make sure to keep looking through the box!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice solid, heavy piece.
 from York, PA,  Dec 9, 2013

Although it did take my husband several hours to put it together, it was well worth it, nice sturdy piece with lots of room for storage.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 94 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought