Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 61-80 of 92 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 3 4 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

This was my first time ordering on Overstock and I wasn't aware that prices fluctuate. Unfortunately, I purchased this piece when it was on the high end. It was still, however, half the cost of "the other place" and I think just as beautiful. I had read previous reviews that this piece was a beast to build so I hired my trusty contractor to do it. It still took him over 4 hours and he also mentioned there was an error or two in the directions. Overall I'm very pleased.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Frederick, MD,  Dec 28, 2010

I was a bit worried about buying an expensive piece of furniture that needed assembly but ended up truly amazed with the quality. This is as solid as it gets. Putting it together was not as bad as some of the reviews had said but it did take a few hours. This piece looks great and you would never know it was assembled on site. This is as good a quality as the ones you see at ***** and other retailers and sells for 1/2 the price. Also, in regard to another posting about it being a "shiny black"...not true. That reviewer must have opened the box containing the drawer sides. Those are shiny black... I did the same thing. Luckily, I opened the rest of it and realized that it was just the sides and back of the drawers that were black. The rest is a beautiful brown wood as pictured. Don't hesitate, if you like the photos of this thing, buy it. It's worth every penny!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 Dec 27, 2010

Great quality product and a great value. Took a few hours to put together but well worth the time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from Traverse City, MI,  Dec 21, 2010

I really love this piece...my husband was out of town when it arrived and I couldn't wait to get started assembling it. I was pleasantly surprised that the assembly process was not nearly as difficult as I expected. I do have to say that I should have waited for help to place the top on...but I struggled through it and did it myself (and I am a small person). I do have one concern that the screws that were provided to put the catches on the doors are too large...there was some slight splitting of the wood...I'm watching carefully to see if it worsens. It's beautiful, high quality and worth the effort to assemble...just be patient, read the instructions carefully and definitely use a drill with a screwdriver bit!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Very solid!! Beautiful piece. But like other reviews (that I should have read first) be very careful when when installing. I put two pieces in backwards. One was very obvious after I finished construction. I undid almost to the beginning and put back together. Then I noticed the other piece. I left that one because it is not as noticeable although I KNOW its there. Not a rating to avoid buying I'm buying more, it's awesome.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks great but it's hard to put together
 from Woodbridge, VA,  Dec 13, 2010

either the instructions weren't the clearest or my i'm really bad at putting stuff together. i didn't have any issues w/ shipping, and no one 'had' to be home to get this delivered(at least to me it didn't, i chose standard shipping). there's a lot of pieces and if you plan to put this together by hand(there's a billion screws) then good luck to you!! i would very much suggest power tools for this. as others said it helps to read the instructions before actually starting, and making sure every part is complete before moving on to the next step. we sort'a rushed through it and missed the long part above the cabinet doors where the latch should go, so once we were 'done' we saw the piece against the wall and realized when it was too late. ended up pushing it into the opening(don't do it!) 'cause we were lazy to undo everything only to put that in. it fit, but i've yet to add the latches so i'm not sure if that would suffice and/or line up. anyway, it looks pretty gorgeous and if you have wine/alcohol laying around(like me) it's a great place to store it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
brown wine rack, buffet table
 from Baltimore, MD,  Dec 7, 2010

very nice item, I love it and I am so glad that I ordered, in fact I waited for the item because when I first tried to order it , it was sold out , so I asked to be emailed when the item comes in, so I am very happy with this item. Thank you so much.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wine Storage and Style
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Dec 2, 2010

My husband and I were keeping my older sister's more casual wine rack while she and her husband were overseas in Peace Corps. When she returned and wanted her furniture back, our entry room was left very empty. We debated for a long time before purchasing this one. The dark finish really dresses up the room. We really like it. It is a great length as well, which will come in handy when entertaining. My husband worked on it a little after work each night for about three nights. Make sure you have your drill charged and it will take even less time. ;) My only complaint, the price jumped up while we were away on vacation and remained the high price, though still listed on sale. I guess cautious shoppers who snooze, will lose.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Halifax Brown Wine Rack/ Buffet Table
 from new york city,  Dec 2, 2010

this is a good buy, i really love it and the quality is really good, this is most important to me.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This buffet is comparable in style to the Montego buffet from PB but at 1/3 the price. The only obvious difference is that there are 16 wine compartments instead of only 12 which is great! I will say that assembly was kind of a nightmare. Upon opening the boxes, we noticed that the pieces had a VERY strong smell, but we starting putting it together anyway. About 30 minutes after opening the boxes, my husband and I were both lightheaded from the smell. We had to move all the pieces outside and let them air out on our porch for several days before bringing them back in and putting the buffet together. Then we encountered several problems with the directions, and one of the steps was flat out wrong. After figuring out how the piece should actually go, we didn't have any other major problems, but it was extremely time consuming. All that said, we are thrilled with the finished product. It is a heavy, solid piece of furniture and really beautiful. I figure several miserable hours of assembling the piece (I would give assembly 1 star) combined with a 5-star finished product is a 4 star overall rating.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this buffet
 from Berwyn, IL,  Nov 18, 2010

I started looking for a good buffet about 3 months ago and was surprised to find only a few in stores. I was reluctant to look online but several friends gave the thumbs up for purchasing furniture online. I was overwhelmed with choices but settled on this one because of price, the buffet and COMMENTS! Aside from all the positive reviews about the actual buffet, the COMMENTS about delivery and assembly were a huge help. And like everyone else has said - this buffet is great! I, too have seen similar buffets at stores for almost twice the price. The wood is very sturdy, the color is a beautiful rich expresso and it matches our dining room furniture perfectly. Because of the precise comments about the assembly, my husband was well prepared and took extra time in reading instructions which helped a lot. The comments about the UPS delivery were helpful because it prompted me to call UPS ahead of time and make arrangements for delivery if we were not home. I ordered this item on Nov. 10, received on Nov. 16 and my husband is putting the final touches on the buffet today. Just in time for Thanksgiving. We are very pleased and happy with this product, the service from Overstock, definitely the price and especially all the consumers comments everyone took the time to write.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Sturdy Piece
 from TN,  Nov 16, 2010

Hi Guys. My husband and I finished assembling this a couple of days ago. I took us about 4.5 hours total and we used a electric screwdriver(a must). The piece is very sturdy(It came in 3 boxes weighing about 150 lbs total). It is a lighter finish than the picture on the computer. A couple of hints to help with assembly. 1. Lay out all the parts and screws before hand. (I think a couple of screws were numbered wrong in ours) 2. work in very good lighting. The instructions refer several times to the 'finshed side'. The finished side and unfinished side look very similar unless held up in very good lighting.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall excellent purchase!
 from North Jersey,  Nov 10, 2010

Product arrived in less than a week and I couldn't be happier with it. I saw similar buffet tables at ***** and ****... I would say this product is very close in comparison to both. Also, don't worry about the assembly. I consider myself only somewhat handy but I put it together that night after work, approximately 4 hours total... Just be sure to have a good, fully-charged power drill and you'll be fine. I highly recommend this item!.. plus it's a steal for the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great copy cat piece
 from Red Lion, PA,  Nov 10, 2010

Assembly was ok, but having 2 people is a must for adding the top. Piece is heavy, so assemble close to where it will be placed. Looks like the picture, and is much cheaper than a similar one from a popular furniture store. The only negative was: if you choose to return the item, you will pay big time (arrived in 3 VERY Heavy boxes).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome finished product
 from Idaho,  Oct 31, 2010

The finished product is awesome, but getting there was not easy. It took me 7 hours with a drill..much longer than expected or other reviewers indicated. I do wish that both sides of the pieces were finished as we were sent an incorrect piece (M) and there was no way around getting it to fit expect to have the black side show. However, that piece sits directly below the top that untrained viewers can't tell its black vs. brown. As the directions get a bit confusing, I also think that there are a few parts that are wrong as other viewers have noted. On step 5, for piece M & N, I used the #2 dowels instead of the #1 that is required. The #1 do not fit when you attempt to assemble as they are too long. We were also provided with so many extra #2 than the directions indicated, we still ended up with extra after substituting at this step. I also used different screws on step 14. The instructions call out for #5, but I used either the #3 or #4 (I don't totally recall) but they were much shorter. The #5 screws split the drawer as I was screwing in the slides. Overall, I would still suggest to others as the final product does look great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice piece of furniture
 from washington, dc,  Oct 22, 2010

this buffet table fit perfectly in our alcove. it looks great, and is of qaulity wood. the only problem is that it took hours to assemble, and we installed some of the pieces backwards so the black finish was facing forward instead of the wood. it would have been such a hassle to disassemble the whole thing just to reverse 1 piece of wood, so we let it just be. i wish they finished both sides the same, so this mix up wouldn't happen. otherwise, it's a great piece of furniture that people compliment on. I'm the only one who notices the mistakes, but it pangs me everytime i walk by.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Halifax Wine Rack/Buffet Table
 from Westbrook, Maine,  Oct 20, 2010

Definitely a quality piece of furniture. Fit our needs for storage and looks wonderful either in the kitchen or a sitting room. The one and only drawback was the instructions for putting it together. Some of the instructions were not very clear. It took a total of 5 hours to put it together but it was well worth the time and effort. Love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Piece
 from Seattle, WA,  Oct 18, 2010

After considering purchasing a very similar piece for a lot more money, we found this. Shipping was cheap and quick and the piece is solid and beautiful for half the price. Took about three hours to put together, but worth the money we saved! Thanks Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great piece
 from Orance County CA,  Oct 9, 2010

Easy to assemble, should take about 2 hours with the right tools and the slightest idea on how to assemble something. The finished product looks great and is sturdy. I would recommend this.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCEPTIONAL!!
 Oct 7, 2010

I was absolutely impressed with the overall size, weight, and complete rigid build of this unit. The components are all high end and not the typical pressed wood and cardboard found on many similar products. The piece is clearly high quality with solid wood components, excellent fit and finish, and built to last indefinitely. Assembly does take some time and technical savvy but overall it went pretty well. I would recommend the product to anyone in the market for a quality piece of furniture at an exceptional price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 61-80 of 92 reviews for this product
Previous 1 ... 3 4 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Island 2-door Buffet
Today $443.99
(29)
Hartford Buffet
Today $455.99
(107)
Back to top