Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 46 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Lumpy cushions
 from CT,  Oct 11, 2012

The griffin sofa is covered in nice thick brushed textured fabric with seat cushions that are not reversible since they are attached at the bottom with velcro. The cushion covers have zippers for easy removal to clean. I have not yet had to clean them. The 1.8 density foam cushions are topped with a loose layer of polyfil that has shifted after 3 months of everyday use creating a lump rather than a smooth seat cushion. We have had to reposition the seat cushions to give them equal wear and also to minimize the lumpy effect. Since we bought a better quality firm sofa at the same time at a furniture store, we noticed that their seat cushions have a 1 inch thick polyfil layer on both sides of their 1.8 density foam. I will probably have to glue or replace that layer of polyfil in the future. I do not anticipate that this sofa will last for more than 2 years of daily use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description but could add details.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Sofa For The Price!
 from NC,  Jun 25, 2011

This is a great sofa! It took my husband and I less than 15 minutes to set it up, the hardest part was probably taking the packaging off of it! It arrived quickly, and it looks great! It is a firm sofa, which is what I like. If you're looking for a super squishy sofa look somewhere else. The bottom cushions go all the way to the back of the sofa and the back cushions sit on top of them so they won't sink down which is excellent. The fabric is soft against skin and sturdy enough to hold up against dogs. I have 2 very furry dogs in the heat of shedding season right now and fur easily brushes right off this sofa. I'm so happy with our purchase, if we had the room in our house I would buy a second one. The throw pillows in the picture come with the sofa as well!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to assemble, love the color!
 from Arlington, VA,  Jun 22, 2011

This couch arrived in 2 separate packages. It only took 20-30 minutes to assemble. Very easy! The cushions are quite firm, but the couch is still very comfortable, and I love the soft fabric. The accent pillows that came with are wonderful.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? It was slightly darker than I had expected it.
  • How is the quality of the product? The cushions are quite firm, but the fabric is very comfortable.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Griffin Charcoal Sofa
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jun 22, 2011

This couch is perfect for small areas. I have never assembled a couch before, and was a little apprehensive about doing so when it arrived in pieces, it did though assemble quickly and is sturdy. I would recommend purchasing this couch.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Above Avg.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
what I wanted but...
 from W.DC,  Aug 10, 2011

Good Couch. Firm and structured so in that way it was exactly what I wanted. Long enough to lay on and I'm 5'7" but would guess a 5'9" would be fine. Smells strange -- I think all the chemicals from the package seeped in. doing my best to clean and should be gone soon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality although the velcro is strange - I'm not sure why the manufacturer did that. It does keep the cushions in place and doesn't sound strange but... just odd
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, but took a while to assemble
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Dec 28, 2010

I love this couch: the fabric is nicer than regular microfiber, but it still has that sleek finish. The color is very true to the picture, and the accent pillows have a cherry blossom pattern that I really appreciate. The only downside is that putting together the frame was a bit difficult at times, especially when installing the middle braces. The cushions are firm, but I like that in a couch because it means that the cushions won't be droopy in a couple years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice couch
 from Cincinnati, Oh,  Dec 21, 2010

Very nice charcoal color. Looks just like the picture. Back cushions are softer than seat cushions (seat cushions were very firm the first few days, but have softened up a little). Definitely would recommend this couch. We were nervous ordering a couch online, but are very happy with it! Arrived very quickly too. (Came in 2 different shipments...couch pieces in one, cushions in another). Very comfortable!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sofa
 from West Virginia,  Jul 11, 2012

I purchased this sofa when I downsized into a one-floor house. I have four cats (two longhair) who seem to shed all the time. I wondered if the dark gray upholstery would show every hair, but much to my surprise, the fur just comes off with a swipe of my bare hand! The funny thing is, there is hardly any hair to swipe off, even though my cats lie on the back cushions to see out the window, and nap on the seats! If I didn't see this for myself, I really wouldn't believe it. But it's true! I love the sofa. It's comfortable, looks great and looks like it cost twice as much as I paid for it. I couldn't be more happy with my purchase, and would highly recommend this sofa to anyone who has cats. Overstock, you came through for me onoce again!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color a good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy, easy to put together, comfortable, looks exensive
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Quality, Great Look
 from New York, NY,  Jun 11, 2012

This sofa fits our small Manhattan apartment perfectly. It arrived on time and my husband was able to put it together in about 20 minutes. The cushions are firm, as other reviewers mentioned, but that's one of the things we like about it. They're supportive, but comfortable. The pillows that came with it are very nice and have washable, removable covers. The color is truly charcoal, which gives it a more modern look than traditional brown or tan sofas. We love this piece -- it was a great buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well-made and sturdy construction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gotta love it
 from Brooklyn, New York,  Dec 14, 2010

I got this couch a week and a half ago and fell asleep on it the very first day. It's sturdy and very comfortable. I have two boys that are over six feet tall and weigh well over 190 lbs each, it remains to be seen how it will hold up. I think it will do fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Couch but No Directions Included
 from New Jersey,  Jul 5, 2012

Very nice couch, looks great in our Den. The only downfall was there were no directions included and a slight defect.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looks like the color on the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. There were no directions and a minor manufacturer defect, otherwise it's a nice couch.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Color, Easy to Assemble, Firm Couch
 from Bronx, NY,  Aug 29, 2011

I wasn't having much luck looking for furniture offline, so I decided to take my purchase to the web. As this was my first apartment, I wanted a couch that was inexpensive, but that would last me awhile. All I knew at the time, however, was that I preferred three-cushion sofas to love seats, and that I was sick to death of brown couches. Seriously, shades of brown are the most common. So drab! After a while, the only alternative color seemed to be a very distinct, brick red sort of color, which I was OK with, though it also seemed trite. After finding the "'Winter Plum' 5-piece Oil Canvas Art Set" on Overstock (see my review there as well), I began to entertain the idea of a grey couch, though the red would have sufficed as well. Having narrowed my preferences down so much, the search was a challenge, but the "Griffin Charcoal Sofa" was absolutely perfect. Not only did the grey work well with the painting I purchased to accompany the couch, but the included pillows fit the theme of the painting as well. With a red throw blanket draped over the couch, the living room really seemed to pop! Assembly took about 30 minutes after some minor difficult with hooking the pieces onto the prongs in the bottom of the couch. Even though it wasn't extremely necessary, a hammer helped us to put the pieces together. I was a little concerned that these pieces were plastic and seemed to have some minor wear (scratches) but they seem to be holding up fine. The best part is, the couch appears to be easy to disassemble, should it ever be deemed necessary. Finally, the couch is very comfortable, just firm enough that I don't sink into the cushions, but not so hard that my butt gets numb after a while. The material has a nice feel to it; not too itchy or hot, and easy to clean. I'm also grateful that the cushions are attached with Velcro, so they don't slide around when we sit. I am glad I gave O.co a shot. The couch was a great buy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was very accurate, perhaps only slightly lighter.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality, though the assembly pieces were just slightly inaccurate, so that we required a hammer to put it together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? While very brief, it was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice little couch. Good value buy
 from Long Beach, CA,  Feb 15, 2012

Ok, I must admit that when I opened the boxes and saw this little couch, I thought, What the H$!!? But once I put the plastic pieces together and velcroed the cushions to the couch, I thought, "this is a very cute, very stiff little couch"., but I needed a quick redo of the family room and the size fit the bill. Months later, my family and I love this little couch.... It loosened up over time and it's comfortable and really durable, shockingly durable. I did toss the cheap little pillows that came with the couch, but other than that, this little couch was a great deal. Friends cannot believe it when I tell them it came in two boxes and is held together with plastic pieces. Do not let the cheap, easy construction fool you, this is a real couch.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True to description and picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute couch
 from Virginia,  Aug 1, 2011

The couch came packaged very well and there were no scratches or issues with the couch. It was very easy to put together. I am a 20-something female and it took me about 20 minutes once everything was unpackaged. As other reviews have stated, the couch is VERY VERY firm. Not a complaint because hopefully this will help prevent sagging but was a little surprised at just how firm the couch really is. Great price, cute couch.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great design, Great deal!!
 from Keokuk,Ia,  Jul 31, 2011

This was my first time ordering furniture online. I was to say the least scepticle of the quality of furniture I would be receiving. However when I received my order I was very pleased!! This sofa is so beautiful, it looks exactly like the photo. It is very sturdy, the material is soft, and the cushoins are firm. It was incredibly easy to assemble as well. I'm glad I decided to take the chance and order online...I am one happy customer!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exceptional quality; very sturdy, and very comfortable!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE the sofa, hate the customer service....
 from Boston, MA,  Mar 19, 2013

First of all, the sofa took about 2 weeks to arrive, so that was slow. Opened the box and found the back brace plastic part that clicks the pieces together broken. I called immediately and informed the customer service. I was told the parts department would call me asap. A week later I got an email from them...they were sending out the part. Two weeks AFTER that I am STILL waiting for that part. It's literally a month later from when I ordered this couch. After the first week I decided to glue the piece together to see if it would hold out til the new piece came. So far it has. I could not wait anymore because it was taking up the entire living room. This is ridiculous customer service and I will never buy another large item from them again. No excuse that its a month later and I still have no replacement part. The couch itself is beautiful and I love it. It's solid and fairly easy to assemble. The color is slightly darker than the picture shows, a true charcoal. The fabric is sort of a corduroy-type material, but its not really. It's very soft, comfortable, and the cushions are very firm. The pillows are removable & have Velcro to stay put. The seat cushions have zippers to remove the covers as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great, Sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice sofa, but a little firm.
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Aug 22, 2012

I'm pleased with this purchase. The couch looks nice in my space and I feel like I got exactly what I was expecting based on Overstock's description and the reviews I read beforehand. Like many other reviewers mentioned, the seat cushions are VERY firm. I'm not sure if they will soften up a bit over time, but if not then it will never be a super comfortable sofa. That said, it looks nice and is comfortable enough for me for the price. It also makes me feel like the couch will probably wear well because I can't imagine the seat cushions ever looking saggy or deflated. If you are looking for something really soft that you sink into upon sitting, I wouldn't purchase this couch. Otherwise, it's great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was what I expected from online pictures.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is what I would expect for the price. It's a nice sofa, but it's a teeny bit wobbly after assembly and it doesn't look or feel like a more expensive piece of furniture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Griffin Charcoal Sofa
 from Rochester, NY,  Aug 9, 2012

I am so glad that I purchased this sofa. I have 29 inch doorways leading up to the third floor of my house and needed a couch that could either fit through that doorway assembled or unassembled. I was unsure how unassembled this couch would arrive so I was hesitant to purchase it. After numerous chats and emails with Overstock representatives confirming that the unassembled couch would fit through my doorway, I ordered the couch. It was slightly difficult to put together but I am not the most handy person in the world. Once assembled, I realized that the corner of the front rail of the couch was broken. I emailed Overstock and they sent me a new front rail at no cost, and told me to dispose of the broken piece as I saw fit. In the end, I could not have been happier with my purchase. Overstock customer service is excellent and now I have a beautiful couch to complete my 3rd floor living room. Thank you Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color of the couch is even nicer in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the sofa is very good, expecially for a couch that arrived unassembled.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was ok, but I still had many questions about the product.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice couch for the price
 from Georgia,  Jul 18, 2012

nice couch, decent size, very firm but will probably loosen up a bit.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great couch for the family room
 from Jamestown, RI,  Jan 3, 2014

I purchased this couch for my family room. As someone who likes a new couch every couple of years, I was looking for one that was attractive, easy to keep clean (since I have 3 dogs) and comfortable. This couch met all of my criteria with flying colors and was very reasonably priced. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great family room couch.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 46 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top