For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Do not buy!!!!
 from Shelbyville,Kentucky,  Jan 3, 2008

I have owned this cabinet for over four years to date. I paid over $400.00 for this. I thought I was getting a quality piece of furniture, I was wrong. This is the cheapest MDF constructed cabinet I have ever bought. It is made of MDF with black vinyl for the exterior. It has collapsed twice, I had to almost rebuild it both times reinforcing the cabinet with glue. The hardware for assembly is not positioned correctly. Furthermore the cabinet doors will not open or close properly. I can go on and on about how much pure junk this is. In addition the locks are cheap and do not work mainly because the cabinet will not line up. I am looking to replace it if anyone has any sugestions for a high quality cabinet. Prepac must either re-design this cabinet, or dis-continue manufacturing it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall, definitely worth it!
 from Houston, TX,  Sep 9, 2006

OK, granted, I think this item is a little overpriced (surprising from Overstock!) but - it was worth it. (I coouldn't find this cheaper anywhere else. Make sure you check the measurements because it's surprisingly tall. It was painfully easy to put together. The directions even include suggestions for where to put the "permanent" shelves to proper layout for the types of content (vhs, or dvd, or cd, etc.) It has gobs of space and mine is no where filled. The quality of this piece is definitely not fine furniture, but more like sauder or bush stuff. The laminate is thin, so expect wear if it's in a kid's room or something. My piece had a few surface scratches from movememt during delivery (mostly wear on the edges), but a color-coordinated marker was included that covered the scratches well enough. One other thing to consider is how you decide to layout the adjustable shelves and, ultimately, load the cabinet. Bec`ause it's fairly light (made of light wood particles) and tall & thin, think out item placement to put the heaviest, largest item in the body of the cabinet on the bottom. Overall, we're very happy with it and it was the best deal for a cabinet of this size that I could find and I looked a lot!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Good, but Up Close Not so Great
 from San Diego, CA,  Aug 4, 2010

It took a while to assemble and probably need a 2-man team to do it. Once assembled, it look great with its simplistic design. However, the quality of the wood isn't so great, It's cheap and has that "Made in China" feel to it. There were a few nicks and dings after we got it up. It would've been better if it's made out of higher quality wood. The price is a little too steep for what it is. No more than **** would've been fine for this type of quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Jan 30, 2006

I wasn't very impressed with this item for the price I paid. It has a cheap finish that peels off and it is very unstable. I made sure to keep most of the weight in the bottom shelfs and it still kind of wobbles.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

The instructions were not explained thoroughly and was missing pieces

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
recommended
 from Boston,  Nov 16, 2010

well built, excellent directions, only issue has to be the locking mechanism on each side, especially the left. To reach it you have to open the right side, move some DVD and reach inside the cabinet, there should have had the same locking mechanism on both right and left sides

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Grande Locking Media Storage Cabinet
 from coweta,ok,  Apr 22, 2008

looks good arrived in good shape. took quite of bit of assembly to get it all together

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love it.
 from gloucester, MA,  Feb 1, 2008

The case looks great, in my bedroom, and holds soooo many dvds, it's just what I needed, It took ,my boyfriend forever to put it together, but definately worth the time. My only problem was the price! I would say this piece is worth $200 and not a cent more. still a great piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great storage unit
 from Columbia, MO,  Sep 12, 2006

Great storage unit. I'm finally able to store all my DVDs in one place. It looks great in my living room. My only beef is that the doors don't stay closed unless it's locked. Overall, I'm very satisfied.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Florida,  Jan 30, 2006

The media storage is exactly what we were looking for. I'm very happy with the item and the instructions were accurate.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Hopewell Junction, NY,  Jan 30, 2006

I am happy with the product, it is what I expected. Lots of space for my DVD's and it looks nice enough. Not the highest quality, but that would cost way more than this piece does. The black fits perfectly with the rest of my living room. The hole for the interior locking mechanism was not in the correct spot so I was only able to use one screw to hold it in place. Still both doors stay closed even when unlocked.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Storage
 from NY,  Feb 2, 2012

Lots of storage space. Relatively easy to assemble. It is just not built with enough durability to withstand constant moving. It needs to be built and put in one place and kept there or it might start to fall apart.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, but would not withstand constant moving; Must be set in one place & left or might fall apart
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good instructions and assembly, one issue.
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 18, 2012

The strange thing about this is there is no mechanism to keep the doors closed if not locked and/or if the left door latch isn't engaged. The left door has a slide latch to lock the left door and this is difficult to engage when storage cabinet is loaded with DVDs. To right door has to be locked to keep the right door closed when fully loaded. To solve both problems, I put some velcro strips on both doors to keep the doors closed without locking or engaging the latch. So my issues are solved and the cabinet stores loads of DVDs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Product Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Online description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would recommend for DVD collectors
 from Tacoma, WA,  Aug 26, 2011

The cabinet is perfect for my DVD collection. I have close to 400 and they all fit. Putting it together was kinda a pain in the butt and took a few hours because the instructions weren't very clear on some parts, but we got it together. Love it now that it is all set up! I love that it can close up and when you want to see what you have, can open the doors up.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Barely worth the price
 from IL,  Jul 14, 2011

Overall I would not buy the product again and would not recommend to my friends. Pros: Cabinet is very large with movable shelves. Looks very nice. Cons: Must be on a very level surface for doors to work properly, my plush carpet offset it to much and doors wouldn't stay closed. Had to drill holes for the lock screws and then the lock fell apart after only 2 months. Had to use the touch-up pen until it went dry to hide all the dings and scratches from shipping and assembly

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Difficult
 from PA,  Dec 27, 2010

This unit was difficult putting together.. I now have it up but it is not totally together yet.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
media storage cabinet
 from Chatanooga, TN.,  Feb 19, 2010

This cabinet was just what we needed. I thought the quality was fair for the price. The directions for putting it together took some time to sort out as none of the pieces were marked. We were able to store several DVD, VCR, and CD's. Holds Bluerays too. Actually holds more than the ad says. I would recommend it if you are looking for a storage cabinet that holds a lot.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My Review
 from Arizon,  Feb 18, 2010

I can't think of anything to say on the downside. Service was great, price was outstanding. Product was everything I expected and more. I won't hesitate to shop throught Overstocked.com again

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a pain!
 from Kansas,  Jan 24, 2008

This item didn't come with all of the products for assembly and no directions. It looks great and holds the DVD's that we have collected, but thought it was pretty pricy for Overstock.com.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Storage case
 from MD,  Jan 7, 2008

The storage case was what I needed because I have a large music library and having them all in one location is something I had been wanting a while. The case was little hard going at first, but made it through the instructions. For the price, it was the best I could fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Locking Media Storage Cabinet
Today $120.99
Compare $160.17
Save 24%
(53)
Tall Locking Media Storage Cabinet
Today $182.99
Compare $234.67
Save 22%
(39)
Back to top