Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Do not buy!!!!
 from Shelbyville,Kentucky,  Jan 3, 2008

I have owned this cabinet for over four years to date. I paid over $400.00 for this. I thought I was getting a quality piece of furniture, I was wrong. This is the cheapest MDF constructed cabinet I have ever bought. It is made of MDF with black vinyl for the exterior. It has collapsed twice, I had to almost rebuild it both times reinforcing the cabinet with glue. The hardware for assembly is not positioned correctly. Furthermore the cabinet doors will not open or close properly. I can go on and on about how much pure junk this is. In addition the locks are cheap and do not work mainly because the cabinet will not line up. I am looking to replace it if anyone has any sugestions for a high quality cabinet. Prepac must either re-design this cabinet, or dis-continue manufacturing it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall, definitely worth it!
 from Houston, TX,  Sep 9, 2006

OK, granted, I think this item is a little overpriced (surprising from Overstock!) but - it was worth it. (I coouldn't find this cheaper anywhere else. Make sure you check the measurements because it's surprisingly tall. It was painfully easy to put together. The directions even include suggestions for where to put the "permanent" shelves to proper layout for the types of content (vhs, or dvd, or cd, etc.) It has gobs of space and mine is no where filled. The quality of this piece is definitely not fine furniture, but more like sauder or bush stuff. The laminate is thin, so expect wear if it's in a kid's room or something. My piece had a few surface scratches from movememt during delivery (mostly wear on the edges), but a color-coordinated marker was included that covered the scratches well enough. One other thing to consider is how you decide to layout the adjustable shelves and, ultimately, load the cabinet. Bec`ause it's fairly light (made of light wood particles) and tall & thin, think out item placement to put the heaviest, largest item in the body of the cabinet on the bottom. Overall, we're very happy with it and it was the best deal for a cabinet of this size that I could find and I looked a lot!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Jan 30, 2006

I wasn't very impressed with this item for the price I paid. It has a cheap finish that peels off and it is very unstable. I made sure to keep most of the weight in the bottom shelfs and it still kind of wobbles.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Three Stooges put this cabinet together.
 from CA,  Jun 22, 2012

The instructions were not explained thoroughly and was missing pieces

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Good, but Up Close Not so Great
 from San Diego, CA,  Aug 4, 2010

It took a while to assemble and probably need a 2-man team to do it. Once assembled, it look great with its simplistic design. However, the quality of the wood isn't so great, It's cheap and has that "Made in China" feel to it. There were a few nicks and dings after we got it up. It would've been better if it's made out of higher quality wood. The price is a little too steep for what it is. No more than **** would've been fine for this type of quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
recommended
 from Boston,  Nov 16, 2010

well built, excellent directions, only issue has to be the locking mechanism on each side, especially the left. To reach it you have to open the right side, move some DVD and reach inside the cabinet, there should have had the same locking mechanism on both right and left sides

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Grande Locking Media Storage Cabinet
 from coweta,ok,  Apr 22, 2008

looks good arrived in good shape. took quite of bit of assembly to get it all together

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love it.
 from gloucester, MA,  Feb 1, 2008

The case looks great, in my bedroom, and holds soooo many dvds, it's just what I needed, It took ,my boyfriend forever to put it together, but definately worth the time. My only problem was the price! I would say this piece is worth $200 and not a cent more. still a great piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great storage unit
 from Columbia, MO,  Sep 12, 2006

Great storage unit. I'm finally able to store all my DVDs in one place. It looks great in my living room. My only beef is that the doors don't stay closed unless it's locked. Overall, I'm very satisfied.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Florida,  Jan 30, 2006

The media storage is exactly what we were looking for. I'm very happy with the item and the instructions were accurate.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Hopewell Junction, NY,  Jan 30, 2006

I am happy with the product, it is what I expected. Lots of space for my DVD's and it looks nice enough. Not the highest quality, but that would cost way more than this piece does. The black fits perfectly with the rest of my living room. The hole for the interior locking mechanism was not in the correct spot so I was only able to use one screw to hold it in place. Still both doors stay closed even when unlocked.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a long time to assemble
 Jul 8, 2016

If you buy this cabinet, make sure you have large space to spread out all of the parts before putting it together and an easy way to move it into the spot you want it in. It is not light to carry and arrives in two heavy boxes. Make sure you put it in a spot where you can anchor it to a wall since your floor may not be as level as you think it is. Once it is assembled, it is big and spacious enough to put dvd cases of varying heights on it's adjustable shelves. The only problem is the design doesn't allow enough space to reach around the separator to open and close the inside lock once you have dvds on the top shelf.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
JJB
 Feb 3, 2016

Good quality item. Lock was a bit off.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Waste of money.
 Nov 15, 2015

We had to Jerry-rig this unit with shims to keep it from falling over forward. When filled, the doors are very heavy and impossible to keep closed. We had to modify the unit with exterior sliding locks. Wish I had looked longer for a better storage solution.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Buy!
 Oct 22, 2015

Hey it arrived on time and it was easy to put together, the instructions were very clear, if you have a little knowledge of how to put anything together it shouldn't be hard, but you have to follow the directions to the letter or it will come out wrong especially when you are working on the door hinges, the only other thing was the lock is cheap, but I just went to lowes and bought another one for like 5 bucks...to make it work (in case this does happen to anyone else) you have to bore out the hole, but after that it works the same....other than that it is a great buy and holds many CD's, Games, and Movies, etc...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Service Manager
 May 14, 2015

Item received was as described- arrived in good condition. The assembly instructions were clear and easy to follow. Nice storage with plenty of room for CD's, DVD's and other media.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Storage
 from NY,  Feb 2, 2012

Lots of storage space. Relatively easy to assemble. It is just not built with enough durability to withstand constant moving. It needs to be built and put in one place and kept there or it might start to fall apart.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, but would not withstand constant moving; Must be set in one place & left or might fall apart
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good instructions and assembly, one issue.
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 18, 2012

The strange thing about this is there is no mechanism to keep the doors closed if not locked and/or if the left door latch isn't engaged. The left door has a slide latch to lock the left door and this is difficult to engage when storage cabinet is loaded with DVDs. To right door has to be locked to keep the right door closed when fully loaded. To solve both problems, I put some velcro strips on both doors to keep the doors closed without locking or engaging the latch. So my issues are solved and the cabinet stores loads of DVDs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Product Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Online description was accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Would recommend for DVD collectors
 from Tacoma, WA,  Aug 26, 2011

The cabinet is perfect for my DVD collection. I have close to 400 and they all fit. Putting it together was kinda a pain in the butt and took a few hours because the instructions weren't very clear on some parts, but we got it together. Love it now that it is all set up! I love that it can close up and when you want to see what you have, can open the doors up.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Barely worth the price
 from IL,  Jul 14, 2011

Overall I would not buy the product again and would not recommend to my friends. Pros: Cabinet is very large with movable shelves. Looks very nice. Cons: Must be on a very level surface for doors to work properly, my plush carpet offset it to much and doors wouldn't stay closed. Had to drill holes for the lock screws and then the lock fell apart after only 2 months. Had to use the touch-up pen until it went dry to hide all the dings and scratches from shipping and assembly

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought