Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Just as advertized
 from Leesburg, VA,  Feb 11, 2012

I changed from a traditional king size mattress with attached pillow top to this mattress. I did a lot of research about the history, lineage and current memory foam manufactures. As always, you pay for what you get, so going on the low end will likely result in problems. The uppermost tiers offer incremental refinements and perhaps some curb appeal and perhaps bragging rights about brand name. The incremental cost for those features however is very high relative to the features that I feel are important like quality, function and comfort - I figure I'm buying a bed, not a Ferrarri. This bed is like a BMW. I have had this mattress for 4 months. I am extremely pleased. Here is a short summary of my experience: My research indicated that common complaints of crossover folks like me would be the curing smell of the mattress, hot or cold retention and inherent differences of bounce behavior between traditional and memory foam mattresses. My findings are that most complaints (and I looked at thousands of blogs and reviews) are not due to the brand of memory foam mattresses per se, but more to due with the general transition from traditional to memory foam mattresses. THEY ARE DIFFERENT experiences! I break softness and hardness into 2 categories: Initial entry and sleep. Initial entry is experienced when you 'hop' into bed. Traditional mattresses are like hard dry golf greens where memory foams are more like soft golf greens. In traditionals, you get the bounce boost on your knee or behind to get you into the bed (especially if your bed frame is high). On memory foam, there is no initial bounce - instead your planted appendage sinks and you ungracefully tumble into bed. So it takes a while to adjust to. Sleep softness is the feeling once you are situated to go to sleep and again is different from traditional mattresses. Hard memory foam mattresses take a little longer to comply with your shape than medium or soft. Also hards won't comply as much to your body contours as with mediums or softs. People reviews take this to mean - the bed is as hard as a rock. For those that like to sleep on their stomachs or sides like my wife I suggest getting a medium or soft. Back sleepers will like medium or hard. I compromised with a medium which my wife and I are happy with. Also be aware that traditional mattresses, unless worn out, will bounce back immediately after you roll out of a position you have been in whereas memory foam will take a minute to 'forget' you. During that time there will be a body depression which some have commented that memory foam mattresses are lump or leave big sink holes. Smell. I have a high tolerance to smells. I grew up in the 50's and 60's when air pollution made the air acidic and nearly everybody smoked all of the time. I will say that the smell was noticeable and I can see how in this day and age of health-smart over achievers people comment that the smell is bad, to way bad, to I had to call 911. The smell took about a week or two to fully go away. In the meantime I had fond memories of my polluted America childhood. Lastly my comments on the hot and cold difference between traditional and memory foam mattresses. My wife sleeps cold and I sleep very hot. My wife says that the cold component is the same in both mattresses - net neutral. I think that this mattress sleeps cooler than a traditional - for me it's a great thing. After 4 months we are really satisfied with this mattress. It has not changed its behavior one bit which is good. Some less expensive memory foam brands had complaints by this time where soft spots were starting to form. Of course I have had high end traditional mattresses over the last 30 years that have started to have sag spots after 4 months. Conclusion: I would buy this again. Overstock offered a great value and great service.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color presented in the picture ad very closely matched the real color of the item
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is excellent. The ship wrapping was both efficient and effective. Initial quality and longer term (I have now had it for 3 months) is great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The ad text was very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I wwant to sleep more
 from Seattle, WA,  Nov 17, 2011

I'm writing this review at 6:00 in the morning. I usually get up at 5:00am. After hitting the snooze button several times I finally talked myself into getting up. This mattress took some getting used to. Originally I had a very old and worn spring mattress with a foam and feather topper. I thought sleeping on a foam mattress was going to be similar, but it's not. This mattress is very firm when you first lie ontop of it. The first couple of nights were so so, but I read that it would take some getting used to which I totally agree with now. There was no smell to the mattress and it expanded to it's full size quite quickly. After the third night I slept through the whole night and didn't wake once. I sleep so soundly and deeply that I crave more time in bed. I don't feel the mattress move at all and I don't adjust or turn very much at night either any more. I went out on a limb when I got this mattress and I am so glad that I did!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? slightly different, but didn't matter
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Choice after much research!
 from Houston, TX,  Apr 4, 2012

I researched a very long time and anywhere I could get information before finally moving forward with the purchase of this bed. The background for our story was my husband had been sleeping on an air mattress and eventually the couch because he has lipomas on his back that cause him great discomfort. We had been on top of the line plush, pillowtop and memory foam toppers but the springs still were an issue. Long story short; I was afraid being a stomach/side sleeper I would suffer back issues but was willing to try for his sake and I am grateful I too have had no issue. For the first night in over a year my husband and I were able to sleep in the same bed and he woke up with no back ache whatsoever! He fell alseep in minutes. Usually on any of our other beds 4 hrs was the longest he could stand. The quality of the bed was wonderful! The smell was minimal and did not last. It was full size within a few hours. Shipping was great! inexpensive and on time. I have already recommended this to others. I don't feel like there is a heat issue, my topper felt warmer to me. I read so many reviews but the one thing I am glad I read was the medium firmness. It's perfect. Too soft would have hurt my back. Having read the reviews of too firm being compared to a rock didn't sound appealing either. Not having a lot of money to hit or miss with made it a little scary to 'blindly order online' but I am SO grateful for the people who took the time to share and for those reviews to help me find the right bed for our family. It really is worth it! I do really love love love this mattress and have shown it off as well as tell everyone about it. The picture they use I believe is the next one up. (14 inch maybe?) but it is still beautiful and well made.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Highly recomemded
 from Chesterfield, MI,  Nov 26, 2011

Bough the mattress for my elderly parents, mid 80"s for Christmas present. Delivery quick, quality excellent as expected. They really love it! They both are sleeping better with good support. Little to no odor on opening.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent mattress
 from Lexington, NC,  Nov 27, 2012

I researched memory foam mattresses for several months before purchasing this one. After the first night of sleeping on this mattress I am extremely satisfied with my purchase. I own a Tempurpedic Cloud Supreme for my home bed but could not justify purchasing one for a vacation home. But after sleeping on a memory foam mattress for the last 5 years my husband and I couldn't sleep together on an inner spring mattress. I can honestly say this mattress compares to the expensive Tempurpedic brand. I just hope it will hold up as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Mattress
 from St. Louis,  Apr 26, 2012

I was a little skeptical about ordering such a big ticket item online without seeing iti inperson, but after reading the reviews and researching the warranty information, I decided to take the risk. I couldn't be more pleased with my choice. After one night, I noticed a difference in how I felt the next morning. The mattress felt perfect and arrived in only three days. I love this mattress.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accuate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW WOW WOW!
 from Alabama,  Mar 21, 2012

This mattress is AWESOME. I was concerned about buying a mattress online without trying it first, but i read the reviews and did research and I am SO GLAD I finally bought it! My grandmother and parents have a Tempurpedic and this mattress is comparable, maybe a little softer. I'm so obsessed with it that I raved about it to my sister, who bought one as well and LOVES it. If you like the feel of the Tempurpedic you will love this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not applicable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Amazing!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Bed! Absolutely LOVE it!
 from Cypress, TX,  Mar 17, 2012

I love this bed! Before my husband and I bought this bed, we had a double spring mattress. My back always hurt when I woke up despite numerous attempts to make the bed more comfortable. But, the Grand Hotel memory foam mattress is a God send! The mattress arrived very quickly and was wrapped up well to prevent damage (you could tell that the mattress had been through A LOT by the damage done to the wrapping). It is VERY heavy, so don't try to move it without help. The bed expanded to about 10 inches within 30 minutes. By the end of the day, it was at its full 11 inches. There was a slight chemical smell to it at first that seemed to get worse as time went on. But, simply airing out the room took care of it quickly. The first time I lay down on this mattress, I was in heaven! My back wasn't used to having so much support, so it hurt a little bit, but it it felt wonderful at the same time. I got the best nights sleep the first night on this mattress! My husband had to talk me out of bed to go to work the next morning because I was just too comfortable to get up! This bed is great! You don't bounce when you get into it, it's the most comfortable bed I've ever had, the shipping is quick, and the price is great! I am 110% satisfied with this purchase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was the same as the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Mattress!
 from WV,  Jun 4, 2013

Just got this mattress and I love it! It expanded to its size in no time and the smell was nothing unbearable. It was gone after a few hours. I feel like some of these people who write these reviews just like to complain. Is there a smell? Yes. It is overbearing like some of these people describe? No. Overall, I LOVE this mattress. It's firm, yet still conforms to your body. I would definitely purchase again and I'd recommend to others! :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing bed
 from Cranston, Rhode Island,  Mar 16, 2013

I was totally amazed how easy this was to set up. I read tons of reviews before purchasing it. Everything I read was right on. The bed unrolled onto my platform base and looked like it had been sitting in the showroom. It seemed to be totally filled out. We opened our window and ran the ceiling fan a few hours before sleeping on it that night...I can honestly say I did not get an odor. It is, as stated, on the firm side. Was concerned...at first touch seems soft. Came off sleep number bed and am happy so far. Need to get used to it as it is firmer but comfortable at the same time. I do have a 3" topper that I used on the sleep number bed but I don't think I will need it. I am a very happy customer and encourage anyone to try this one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent choice!
 from Texas,  Nov 24, 2012

The mattress arrived in only three days! Not wanting to spend high prices on most memory foam, we took a chance on trying this one. It was a great decision. The support on the mattress is very good. I had tried out a Tempurpedic at my parent's house, and ours feels just the same. I have joint pain, especially from an old knee injury, and I comfortably sleep through the night now. However, I do think it is foolish to by a memory foam mattress without purchasing the pillows also. They really add to the comfort level. Don't scrimp on this. Advise for buyers: Let the mattress air out before using it. We waited a whole week to do so -- no odor problems afterwards. Our only negative: No handles on the mattress for moving/turning. My hubby balanced the mattress on its side on top of its shipping cover. That way, we could slide it across the floor without harming the mattress. Even then, it requires two or more adults to move!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is fine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality -- comparable to Tempurpedic.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Night Sleep!
 from Tumwater, WA,  Sep 29, 2012

It took many months and a lot of product research before I chose this bed. I have not been disappointed! It came quickly, smell was minor and only last about 4-5 days, and the comfort is unbelievable. Before I bought this I really wanted a Temperpedic but couldn't bring myself to spend that kind of money. This bed is awesome; every part of my body is supported, comfortable, and night time temperture is much better than the 3 inch memory foam topper we were using on our old bed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is very good! Very nice and suttle design on the fabric!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Mattress is Awesome!!!
 from Rhode Island,  Sep 1, 2012

It seems risky ordering a mattress online but we are SO glad to have made this purchase. The local furniture stores had memory foam beds from $3500 - $6600 and this one compares to any of them. I would rate it soft but firm if that makes any sense. It has an initial firmness but you quickly conform to your body shape and it relieves all the stress off of your back and spine. We like a high bed so I discarded the old mattress and placed this one on top of the box springs from before. And the 11" size means that all of our sheets now easily fit this mattress. Odor was only slight and we aired it out the first two days as preventative. As others had posted I did my homeworks and reviewed an awful lot of mattresses. This ones seem the best value for the money. My neck and back are already thanking me for this purchase. Installation was a breeze. Once I cut the inner vacuum seal it expanded to full size in about 90 seconds. Well packed with about three layers of sheating to protect it. Nothing but good things to say. This one had some of the highest overall reviews and I totally agree. A great purchase!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same as photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Highest Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from Bemidji MN,  Jul 24, 2012

After hearing complaints of backaches from the hubby, and experiencing neck pain myself, I took a giant leap! I visited stores and bounced around on their memory foam mattresses-with no intention of buying--as they were all so expensive. I am very happy with the mattress I chose after 1000's of reviews and many hours of research. It did, indeed, have a smell. It mostly went away within the first few days but faint whiffs of it are noticeable after 3 weeks. I am sure it will go away forever soon. No more complaints about backaches from hubby and my neck pain is still there but not as bad. We sleep SO WELL on this mattress. We are sold!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So Far So Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This mattress is so comfortable.
 from Los Angeles,  Jul 10, 2012

I would buy this bed for every room in the house and I want to take it with me when I travel. Not practical, but still want to. We are in a new house and are still arranging furniture so we have it in a room just off the living room. Anyone who sits down on it can't resist stretching out completely and staying there a while. It's firm, but it is cushion-ny at the same time.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's perfect.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is absolutely exactly as described on the website.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great mattress
 from Massachusetts,  May 23, 2012

great mattress, but I would reccommend airing it out for a week before use. very comfortable and affordable

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from Ocala, FL,  May 16, 2012

Unbeatable value! I have had this mattress for over seven months and feel that I could not get a better mattress for the money spent. Extremely comfortable, perfect amount of firmness and has certainly improved sleep quality!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Extremely high quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Foam mattress
 from Walbridge Ohio,  Jan 27, 2012

It is wonderful and the delivery was so fast I was amazed how great everything went. I just wish I would have seen that is was medium firm and I really needed firm but all in all everything was perfect.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice I love it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the Memory Foam!
 from Hollidaysburg, PA,  Oct 31, 2013

We wanted a nice king-sized memory foam mattress for a great price, and this one was perfect!!! It comes within a couple days, my husband dragged it upstairs, and we opened the package. It expanded beatifully, and we let it air out for 48 hours. It's so comfortable, I can't even tell when he comes or gets out of bed. I bought this on a recommendation and would recommend it to everyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I'm well pleased
 from Chattanooga, TN,  Sep 23, 2013

It's been a while since i bought this mattress and i don't usually write reviews. But since I'm back shopping for a smaller version of the same mattress for my brother, i thought i would go ahead and give the "Grand Hotel Collection" its props on comfort. I want my brother to sleep well like me. It's been 1 year and going strong with my king size. And loving it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 74 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought