Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Quality has really dropped!
 from Menlo Park, CA,  May 7, 2013

I bought my first GE Profile Spacemaker microwave in 1989, when we redid our kitchen. It was compact, solidly built, a great price, and worked great. We built it into the cabinet system and it looked great. For 12 years, that microwave worked like a charm. Then it finally started having issues (we'd have to unplug it to get it to reset the fuse). Not surprising: 12 years of service was quite acceptable. We limped along with it for a couple of more years until the fuse issue became a daily occurrence. So, time to replace it. Of course I assumed right away that I should purchase the same model. Naturally, it was no longer available, but I researched the updated replacement models, and was happy to see what LOOKED like a somewhat improved model. The dimensions were identical to the original microwave, so we were confident it would fit in the same "built-in" space. So we purchased this model. Well, the dimensions ARE the same, officially, but the structure is different. The older model had a VERY solidly built framed in door. The new one the door is very plastic feeling and not framed, so it takes about 1/2 inch more room to actually open, making it a poor fit for the location. The back of the unit is oddly shaped, so we had to rework the wall behind the unit to get it to fit (remember, the dimensions were listed as being the same, and technically WERE the same). The door mechanism is probably the most disappointing. It doesn't function well at all, and you frequently have to use two hands to open it. We seriously considered returning the new unit and going back to our OLD microwave, despite having to do the unplug/replug action daily (and the plug is in the back of a cabinet, so it isn't convenient). But because of the costs associated with returns, we've decided to just suck it up and deal with this dramatically inferior product from GE. I probably will never purchase another GE microwave again, and if I could get my money back on this one without a loss, I would in a flash. By the way, the description and images on Overstock.com were very accurate. It is the product that doesn't live up to expectations. I will say that mechanically, the microwave seems to work just fine, and is very quiet. Too bad the physical properties aren't up to snuff.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was accurately displayed on site.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The GE Profile microwave quality is not what it used to be.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Site description was very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product
 from NJ,  May 1, 2013

We had to replace our current GE microwwave, which is built-in. Overstock always has the best prices and best selection, so this purchase was easy and without any problems.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. GE always makes a quality item
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The microwave turns on when you push the button.
 from .gig harbor, wa,  Nov 26, 2012

very pleased with product and service At least fifty charascters. Have nothing more to say.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just right
 from Rochester, NY,  Aug 10, 2012

This microwave was just the right size; the exterior dimensions leave a lot of room, and it is still big enough inside for a 9x13 pan. I was a little hesitant because the unit is only 800 watts, but we have found it more than adequate for our needs; I don't find myself wishing it heated food faster like I though I would. The one touch sensor cooking buttons do a great job reheating food without 'nuking' it to death. These units do have an optional mounting kit to allow them to go under your cabinets, another great feature. So far I am very pleased with this purchase; I will be even more pleased if it lasts me a few years

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was the same as depicted
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Product But Not Happy with Short Life
 from Laguna Beach, CA,  Jul 27, 2012

If you have a custom kitchen with expensive fitted wood cabinets that can only accept this size microwave, too bad. Our first GE lasted abut 12 years and then failed. After searching for a replacement that would fit the custom space and finding none, the next GE Spacemaker lasted just over two years. The low cost of the unit makes it insane to repair, so we just got a new one and just installed it in the same space. It works fine and we like all the features, just hope it lasts for more then two years.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great features on the PEM series that we like
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 from Buffalo ny,  May 31, 2012

Arrived on site and in good condition. Started using it immediately. No issues.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far so good
 from Cleveland, TN,  May 30, 2012

This is the second time in 5 years I have purchased this particular model. I bought it for the under-the-counter mounting feature. I use it constantly so I think a 5 year life span is pretty good. I read some of the other reviews before purchasing again and was somewhat concerned but went ahead and bought it due to my personal past history with the product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far so good, it is the second one I have bought; the first one lasted 5 years
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
compact
 from Ocoee, FL,  Apr 26, 2012

it really helped me to clear space on my counter & it's easy to use. Looks shiny & easy to clean.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? no variation
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cost reduced, but still works well
 from San Jose, CA,  Apr 11, 2012

The performance seems similar to our old microwave which was an 8 year old GE Profile Spacemaker microwave. The old microwave did not have the turntable. The turntable does reduce the effective size of dishes you can put in the microwave because they must rotate. There is a way to disable the turntable though on the control panel.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The door and handle to open the door are a bit flimsy, but the specs for this microwave are the same as the Monogram version that is twice as expensive
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great microwave!
 from Firth, Idaho,  Jan 7, 2012

We purchased this for my inlaws to replace their old spacemaker micro...they really like this new one too!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top