Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 137 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
wonderful
 from new jersey,  Sep 9, 2011

pain in butt to put together but once its done it looks really nice...i put it on its side with an electric fireplace from overstock over it...looks amazing....the circled stickers look cheap but you really dont see them once you fill the display cabinet with knick knacks..worth the money looks expensive from far away...

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. scratched easily...shows dirt
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful shelves!
 from Lancaster, PA,  Jul 22, 2011

Again, we are doing a revamp to our small living room and were looking for shelves to place on either side of our picture window, but didn't want traditional bookshelves. These shelves have an awesome transitional/ modern design and look very expensive. Assembly for these shelves was relatively painless though you definitely have to follow the directions to the letter. We did run into a snag with our first shipment as one of the units was damaged upon arrival. We contacted Overstock.com and they immediately put in for a replacement part. It took about a week to receive the part and we did have to contact them a 2nd time to get the ball rolling, but they did ship a replacement and it was a whole new unit not just the damaged piece. These shelves are not solid wood, but they are very well engineered and extremely sturdy. They look awesome in our space and we've received numerous comments on the uniqueness of the design and how nice they look.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty close though the walnut depicted on the site is a bit darker in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This product is very sturdy, but is not solid wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The onsite description was very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look for the money.
 from Connecticut,  Apr 19, 2011

Versatile piece of furniture, as it can be used either vertically or horizontally. Instructions can be daunting, but if you follow the pictures one step at a time it does go together pretty easily. I reccommend a better alen key than the one provided as it can be wearing on your hands. Very happy with the product and service.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful bookcase
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Jul 2, 2011

Takes a while to put it together but worth the time, it is a studding and unique bookcase when completed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is dark brown, just like the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Biloxi, MS,  Mar 5, 2011

My only concern was I had about 2 or 3 boards without letters on them and I had to figure them out by process of elimination. Also 1 screw wouldn't lock in, not fully where there was no gap, but close enough that it was secured (and I have a lot of experience putting things together, been doing it for years & I enjoy it). Overall I love the product and it looks nice in my living room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Neat Bookcase!
 from San Antonio, TX,  Jun 27, 2011

As many reviews have noted, it isn't real wood, but it looks like it from a distance. If you get close and look, it is obvious it's not. The plalstic stickers that cover the screws can be seen for what they are if you look closely. So think about where you will use it - the surrounding furniture, the light on it, its position, and decide if the "pretender" can pass for the real thing in your situation. We bought two and put them on either side of our elegant antique French armoire that is used as an entertainment center. They aren't as deep, and the color blends, so we like them fine. I especially like the variety of "boxes" you end up with - lots of possibilities for display. I've received compliments from picky people - they are looking at the display, not the bookcase itself. I got a bargain and am happy with it. You must be VERY careful to follow the directions exactly. My husband began his usual way - dumped it all out on the floor, looked at the picture and proceeded. It didn't come out right. He even drilled a hole in one piece to try to make it work. It still didn't come out right. I had him take it all apart, then we organized each piece by letter and followed the directions step-by-step. You guessed it - it came out fine! You have to exactly match the lettered piece - especially watch the predrilled holes - they must be in the same position as the illustrations for it to come out correctly.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, the Walnut is a dark brown, as expected.
  • How is the quality of the product? It isn't solid wood, just some sort of "plastic" wood-tone laminate over pressed wood. But from a distance it looks like solid wood.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 Nov 20, 2010

I am over 50 and usually have a hard time following picture directions. I did this myself and it was easy. You do need 2 people to stand it up when you are finished. Looks beautiful. Very sturdy. Love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have purchased numerous pieces of furniture from overstock and been very happy with them except this piece which is just okay. The bookcase does look very nice behind my couch in my family room however the quality is not what I expected and appears cheap to the touch. When I was looking at this piece and read that it was made of WOOD / Veneer, I was expecting a solid wood frame (or at lease a very nice Veneer over MDF or particle board) with the shelves being veneered particle board, which is fairly standard to do. Instead, there is not single piece of wood in the entire piece... Just particle board. The outside frame is hollow / not solid and flexes when you put pressure on it and the veneer is made of a faux wood grain / plastic material. Definitely not made of actual wood veneer. Again I am happy with the piece but the material definitely detracts from the overall appearance. Standing next to it you can tell that it is made from a cheep material and as a result I give it 2 Stars (better material and I would have given it a 5 as I love what it did for the room). Just a Fair review. I wish I would have paid the 30 dollars more and purchased the solid wood bookcase but it did not come in black and did not return it because of the hassle.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT
 from Florida,  Apr 14, 2011

I LOVE this piece. I was i need of something to put all of my Grandmother's glassware on, so sturdiness was very important to me. We use it horizontally, and at first I was worried it would tip but it holds up perfectly. We have two growing boys ages 4 and 7, and even with them playing around it on a daily basis I have never seen it budge. When they get older I plan to use it vertically, but I still dont trust something that tall around the children! The assembly was simple, I did it myself with no problem. My only wish was that the little stickers you use to cover the screw holes could have had better adhesive. However, they have held just fine and the color matches the finish; giving it a nice solid look. The various sizes and shapes of the nooks also leave room for rearranging my knickknacks, so every time I dust it looks different! Everyone who visits compliments this piece and my Grandmother's glassware sits beautifully on it!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good, Sturdy
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All the room I need
 from Seattle,  Jan 18, 2011

It provides all the room I need for all my stuff, it was easy to set up about 30 minutes, and the 3-4 days deliver is great! The bookcase looks very nice and very sturdy like others say, it's true!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just fantastic!
 from Aurora, IL,  Nov 13, 2010

This is one of the best purchases of my life. My room looks entirely different because of this and everyone who comes to my house compliments about my beautiful rack. Assembly was a little tricky but completely worh it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Highly Recommend
 from Jersey City, NJ,  Nov 5, 2010

I really admire the styles and uniqueness of this bookcase. The color is really nice and goes with all my furniture. I put all my schools books on it and it looks great. I am trying to put some pictures frames up and I am sure it is as nice. Assembly was very easy for me and it didn't take long.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5 star product, 5 hour effort...
 from Ferndale, MI,  Sep 23, 2010

I considered giving a 4 star review, due to the amount of time it took me to put the shelf together. But the final product (incredibly well designed, level, sturdy, attractive) deserves 5 stars. It definitely takes time to put this together, and be sure to have enough open floor space to work on. Though not every angle will allow it, have a power drill handy to speed up the process a bit. I purchased only one of these shelves, but I'm planning to order another - it's worth the effort. Lots of compliments. Also, I found a couple minor errors in the directions, but if you just look at the images of the next steps, you'll see that they just flip-flopped letters in one or two of the steps but what you had already put together was right. Don't let it worry you. The letters are corrected later. Good luck - and enjoy! Karen

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice
 from Durham, NC,  Oct 11, 2011

This fits perfectly into a nook in my office. I'm not sure how sturdy it would be in a less protected area, but it looks great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bookcase
 from Madison, WI,  Jun 23, 2011

Great product for the price. Obviously not wood but then again I would have been paying twice as much for the bookcase; so it is perfectly priced for me. Did take a long time to put together (3.5 hours) but looks great, very sturdy and unique. Would highly recommend this product

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
i love item
 from Neptune, nj,  May 25, 2011

Had no problem putti g bookcase together. Definitly need a screw driver. What they provide will get stripped quickly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This bookcase is a great focal point of a room. The design is interesting; I've received nothing but compliments since I bought it! Some other reviewers say that the instructions are hard to follow and that it is difficult to built. I don't agree. The instructions are very easy to follow. All pieces are labeled with stickers and match to the instructions. The construction time, however, is very long (as one should expect when building something with this many pieces). It took me 3 hours to build by myself, and I'd say I'm quite experienced when it comes to building furniture. Besides the time it took to build, everything about this bookcase is great! It's very sturdy and my books, DVDs and other decorations look right at home.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice
 from Fairfax, VA,  Jan 21, 2011

What a lovely piece. It also compliments my other furniture. I get very positive comments. I am going to order a second piece. LOVE IT!! Delivery was prompt and well packed. Thx Overstock

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to assemble
 from chadron,  Jan 18, 2011

Great sturdy shelfs for all my books and overstock got it to me right away which was great, I needed something fast. I got it and it only took me a short amount of time to set it up. perfect.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High Recommendation
 from Accokeek, MD,  Jan 11, 2011

I'm so glad I bought this bookcse, I almost got the other one I saw in some furniture place by my house. I needed a big bookcase for all the books that all my children left behind when they went off to college and saw when I saw this I jumped on it and bought it. I'm glad I did because I was able to fit all the books of all my children and then some and they all look very nice on the bookcase. The bookcase is tall and very strong wood, I even needed help from my son with assembly because all the wood panels were very heavy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 137 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought